Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Shannon Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Ollerton > Shannon Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Shannon Caravan And Camping Park
Wellow Road
Ollerton
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG22 9AP
Tel: 01623 238403  or  07747 882694
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 57
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 4/10 from 13 Reviews
                4/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arma3 5 reviews from this member

This could be a very nice camp site, although its clear when you arrive it's owned by travellers!

The Toilet block is basic and to say we arrive in March they was no heating was on! The Showers cost £1

Which on top of the £15 we were charged for one night for a small tent in off season is to say the least expensive.

Overall we think the place is worth only 4/10

It's ok BUT!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Quizzeyk 5 reviews from this member

On first arrival to the site we were unsure if it was the right place as their was no name anywhere. The site is off a main road and you enter through large gates but then their is a type of caravan storage area right at the front.

An unusual site that doesn't look like your typical camping site. Most of the other units apart from us and two others appeared to be semi permanent caravans and most had builders vans with them.

The site has one large toilet block which is situated in the main caravan area. The facilities were clean & tidy, but the showers were £1 a time which I feel is very expensive as like many we like to shower everyday but with two adults and two children this would have been to expensive.

The washing & drying machines are situated in the back of the female toilets and their is only one sink for washing up at the side of the block. Their is also a toilet disposable area.

The main caravan area has both hard and grass standing and plenty of fresh water taps and electric hook ups. But the camping field had nothing. At the back of the site is one small climbing frame for children but nothing else.

The on site warden was very friendly. Their is a small Asda, a Farm foods & Tesco about 5 mins drive away and a lake within walking distance but not really much else.

Although the site was ok, I wasn't that comfortable on this site and wouldn't stay here again.

We had a caravan and didn't put our awning up. Two adults, one child and one toddler and paid £19 per night which is quite a bit for you get I think.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vergo 5 reviews from this member

We visited this site with friends in a tent and when we arrived the staff were very friendly.
 
The field was fine and we were able to pitch with our friends in the tent (this is impossible in most camp sites!)
 
The showers were clean but think they were very expensive at £1.00 - I only needed 1/2 the time and wasted the rest! 
 
The Chemical Disposal Point was very unhygienic - right next to the pot washing facilities, and the warden actually said I could fill my AQUA roll using the hose pipe attached (that was used to clean in the inside of the porta loos!)
 
There is no shop or children's play area and not that much to do within walking distance - you need to drive to the nearest shop or pub.  A lot of the other guests seem to be pitched there long term and many had large builders vans - with many young groups (age 20ish).
 
Our stay was OK - I think it rather a lot of money for what you are actually getting

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dayglow 2 reviews from this member

Nice clean site no electric in tent field and very dark. Only one block with two showers for the gents and three in ladies. NOT enough hooks and the ones in basin area are over the sinks so cannot hang coats etc whilst having strip wash. £1 (yes one pound) token for shower with luke warm water, if it comes out fast enough. However a good site to stay at if passing for few days.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmy1980 29 reviews from this member

Booked this site but were quite put off when got to it. We had tried multiple times to ring to confirm our booking but had not got an answer. The site was just off a main road, which I would imagine could be quite noisy on a morning. Although the entrance looked impressive you are presented with some sort of caravan storage park at the front of the site. The camping field literally is that, an open flat field, which looked a bit too exposed to the elements to take a large tent that can move quite a bit if the winds get up! There was one small toilet block which was located next to the caravans. As we weren’t impressed by the site we didn’t actually stop and instead went to Sherwood Forest Holiday Park, down the road. Overall this site is probably better suited to people with caravans or someone who just wants an overnight stay in a small tent.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daijames 7 reviews from this member

Not too sure what to say about this site; very little info available before hand, the best on this website, no obvious sign when you do get there, staff that don't communicate with each other, despite phoning to book a ehu, on arrival they were not aware, so we were lucky to get one.
A very unusual site we thought, in so much as 70% of units appeared to be semi permanent caravans with accompanying builders vans, etc. Next to a busy road, popular with bikers, noisy early on but quiet later, close to some good pubs in Wellow, Rufford Country Park, etc. Toilet block, limited, showers @1.00 a time, after paying 16 for 2 adults, hook up and awning seemed a bit steep.
Although we may go again, it wouldd'nt be our first choice.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Morag MacDoodle 20 reviews from this member

Stayed in the large field with our tent for a night. No hot water but showers where clean and spacious. They cost £1. The owner is friendly and can be found in the caravan opposite the toilet block if the office is closed. Take the car if you need to get to a shop as the nearest is a supermarket and is five minutes drive away. Would come again.

Reviewer: richard norris 7 reviews from this member

august bank holiday weekend
Excellent position for Clumber Park and Sherwood Forest. Clean toilets, though with only 2 cubicles and 2 showers in both sexes facilities, it got very busy. Hot water was a problem, but the warden was getting it altered. Only one sink to wash up in, so had some good chats whilst waiting.
All in all a nice site, we were in the large tenting field near the houses at one end, they had around 8-10 noisy resident children, up till quite late, so try and get a pitch away from the far end of the field, though would definately go back and use as a base again.

£1 for shower, don't take too much in as there is only one hook!! but nice and hot.

Reviewer: Jamie

July 2003
Well kept nice area. Clean facilities. Tenting field is a bit wide open, though it is level.

Reviewer: Richard turner

July 2003
A bit noisy as it's close to a main road popular with bikers, but that's not a problem at night. Friendly and helpful owner. Recommended for a stop over if visiting Sherwood Forest.
Good pub food at the Durham Ox in Wellow, 10 minutes walk up the road. Great value for money and there's a family room.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ollerton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3124 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019