Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Plough Lane Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Plough Lane Caravan Site
Kington Langley
Chippenham
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN15 5PS
Tel: 01249 750146
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 12/03 To 04/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 97 Reviews
                9/10 from 97 Reviews

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Babstreefern 26 reviews from this member

Our second trip to this adults only site, the last time was exactly 5 years to the month. Anyway, not a lot has changed, still the brilliantly clean and well kept amenities site. There are normal pitches where the electric is shared by two other parties, and there are water taps spread around the site, and there are also fully serviced pitches.

The personnel were really, really helpful, especially when we had lost our remote for the mover (since when, we got a phone call from the storage where we store our caravan, as we had a slight mishap, and someone had handed it in, so we can pick it up on Monday). We drove to Swindon Caravans, who helped us, but because it was after 5:00, it was too late to phone Truma (they supply the Powertouch(?)), but they gave us their number. We got back to the site, and next day, the lad on reception just handed us their phone to contact the company and next day, it was received (signed for by Plough Lane).

The amenities were spotlessly clean. The gardener cut the grass, and there were no clippings about to tread into your caravan. There is no shop on site, but there's a small shop in the village on the other side of the main road, there's also a large Morrisons (with fuel as well), and there's also an M&S Simply Food at the services on the roundabout. I agree with a lot of people that the road is noisy, but no blame to the site. I would still go again, and intend to do so next year as this site isn't open all year. You also need to have a 10 refundable deposit for a key card as there's a barrier. You also receive a file of all info that you will possibly need, which you hand back at the end of your stay. This was really, really useful. Well done to Plough Lane, can't say enough about them

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackie18 10 reviews from this member

Trust all the reviews, this is a great site!

On your arrival you are given a folder with lots of great information in. This is a great idea and we found it very helpful. Having said that the reception is full of info too and all the staff we came in contact with are friendly and helpful if you prefer to speak to someone.

True the road noise is the biggest downside to this site and it will vary from person to person to how much of a nuisance this is.

The amenities block is kept very clean with thoughtful extras (hand cream, sweets, magazines and in the showers, there is a dispenser for shampoo, shower gel and body lotion). I think it would be a great addition to add towels instead of the hand dryers! There are 2 showers, 4 toilets, 3 basins and 1 private basin in the ladies. If the site is busy and the unisex/disable, shower/toilet room is free you are ok to use this, I had to use it once in the week of our stay.

The local town of Chippenham is a great little town, plenty of shops. The local pub is a short walk, we only visited once and it was empty (at about 4. 00pm) but seemed ok.

The city of Bath is a great place to visit as is many other places, too many to mention.

Despite the traffic noise we will return!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beerstalker 12 reviews from this member

Excellent site, a little expensive perhaps but conveniently located. Spotless facilities and helpful owners. Some noise from the nearby dual carriageway and the motorway but not noticeable inside the van even at night. We visited during the long hot spell and there isn't much shelter from the sun. I thought that the gents toilet and shower facilities were more limited than I would expect for a site if this size but I never saw a queue. Perhaps that is because many of the pitches are serviced. Very handy for Chippenham which was our reason for visiting. Supermarkets and fuel close by and a pub across the road (which I didn't visit).

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Minddhyg 17 reviews from this member

Just returned from 4 night midweek break here at Plough Lane in our campervan, and the site has a lot going for it. The site is well located for touring the area and I would not put you off. The bus service timetable is the usual rural type service, but is good from Chippenham. As others have said the welcome pack is awesome and has everything you need to know in it. The toilets and showers are the strongest point of Plough Lane, they are immaculate. The other on site facilities are well up to standard as well and I cannot say anything bad about those either. TV reception needs a booster and the wifi struggles when lots are using it. As others have said there is one downside to Plough Lane and this being that the site is located on the main A350 dual carriageway between the motorway and Chippenham. Traffic road noise can be irritating at times if you are sitting outsde and wind direction plays a big role in this, but that's where the site is located so you accept this and know about it before you go. Some it worries and others it doesn't - that's life! The site does not have a drive over grey waste emptying drain/ point for motorhomes.

There is a very big Morrisons which is only 15 minutes walk from the site or take the motorhome as the car park is massive. Also at 1. 23 a litre for diesel fill right up! Any keen gardeners should take a visit to Whitehill Garden Centre, again they welcome motorhomes and the overflow car park is gigantic. Lacock village is well worth a visit before the garden centre and the pay car park at Lacock can easily cope with motorhomes. Bristol is also within easy reach from the site. The free park and ride at Long Ashton has ample midweek parking for motorhomes ( welcomed here and nice to know ) and then just jump on the bus ( every 10 minutes ) into Bristol City centre which has plenty to offer. Bath is nearby but has become very foreign tourist oriented now. Castle Coombe village is another place worth a visit.

Hopefully this review is balanced and a good read of the other site reviews will paint a fuller picture before you decide to book or not.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doverover 22 reviews from this member

Adults only, easy access, reasonable weather - what more could you want?

Yes there is almost continuous road noise but it's fairly muted and didn't bother us. Yes the most local pubs restaurant wasn't busy and we found out why.

Can't think of much else to comment on, but then this is the level of service you should expect from a modern caravan site and we would definitely use it again.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuartwt 2 reviews from this member

When we booked the holiday a full service pitch was not available. After we booked we were offered a free upgrade if one became available, which was a nice offer but alas the site was pretty full Easter Weekend despite the bad weather.

On arrival the site is secured by a barrier. There was a very nice welcome which included a welcome pack with lots of detail about the site and surrounding area.

Although there was a lot of rain we were on a hard standing pitch and although the grassy areas got a bit soggy the hard areas were pretty well drained.

The facilities were very good always clean and there were a few nice extras, free aftershave and chocolates Easter Sunday. However one of my pet hates was the push button showers especially on an adult only site.

The site dog walk was ok and would have used it more had the weather been better.

We had a power out one night due to the weather the wardens came straight out and got everything working in no time at all. Reading other forums seemed the weather was causing power outs on sites all over the country.

My son visited for a few days and I though the 5 per night for the extra car was a bit steep.

Saw some comments about noise from the road but really did not notice it, if you listen for it you will hear it but really not a problem and we were on part of the site nearest the road.

Overall I was really impressed with the site.

One more thing if you are thinking of a visit to the Plough Inn for a meal don't do it, limited menu and not very well executed, below average and not cheap.

Drive a little further to the Jolly Huntsman lovely pub and well worth a visit, good specials board and very welcoming.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeff261159 9 reviews from this member

In the run up to our 5 night stay, the communication was great. The staff were helpful in getting us an extra night at quite short notice. Sadly our 5 night stay was shortened to 2 nights! It was our choice to leave, but after the shambles following an electrical fault, we felt it was best we departed.

The electricity went off, across the whole site. Communication, when urgent, is via a push button intercom that automatically connected you via telephone, to the wardens. The reception area, although open, is not manned and there is no intercom in there, they choose to locate it in a old red telephone box! After speaking to the owner on no less than 3 occasions in the space of less than an hour, reporting to them the electricity was off, on, off on, I was then told that it was going to be off until the following morning! At 5pm this didn't sound as if like the owner had actually explored all avenues to get the problem sorted.

They then decided to do what they should have done at the start, isolate the problem by unplugging all the units from their respective pillars and systematically plugging them back in until the system trips, thereby identifying the source of the fault! The fault was obviously located, and subsequently cleared later that evening but the owner didn't feel it necessary to inform everyone!

We loved the site and have been there on many occasions but sadly we wont be going back!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lenandlou 10 reviews from this member

Excellent overall.

We stopped for a few nights on way to Cornwall, and can fully recommend. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. Top class.

The facilities for those of us who need to use them were perfect, being clean, available and with lots of extras. The information regarding walks, busses etc. Available is as good as I have ever experienced.

We enjoyed Malmesbury, Laycock Abbey and Devizes.

Beware crossing the road to the pub!

Good company in pub, but food was not great, and not many eating. A quiet evening perhaps.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 21 reviews from this member

We managed to choose a very hot few days and Plough Lane was pretty well full (a change from our last visit) despite that it didn't feel crowded. Facilities are as great as ever, very clean and with nice little touches - shower gel, shampoo, hand cream, magazines and sweets provided and even though some people think there aren't enough showers for a full site, we never had to queue.

The information pack is still very welcome, more stuff being added as they go along, the welcome is friendly and the owners are always ready for a chat.

We note that some people have had TV reception problems - we got over 100 channels including radio - maybe we just have a better aerial!

Very handy for the road network, supermarkets etc. And lots to see and do in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lita 8 reviews from this member

Just come back from another brilliant holiday. The site was up to its usual standard. Helen, Roger and staff were welcoming. The pitches are kept to a high standard. The grass that is at the side is regularly cut. The whole site is kept pristine no litter anywhere. As for previous reviews I suggest they pick a campsite on the moon, what do they expect, the site is in the country so there will be animal noises in the morning. Because the site is easily accessible from the motorway there is going to road noise, but not that bad, we were pitched nearer to the road than pitch 18 and it didn't bother us. As for the dog noise go to a camp that doesn't allow dogs or sell your van and stay at home. There is a brilliant pub near Castle Coombe for meals and is quite reasonable on its prices. Also if you are going to Avebury and you have a blue badge you can park in the village car park for free and it is closer to the stones. From the camp there is loads to see and do, in the reception there is files that give you information on everything you may need. I can't praise this site enough we have been coming here for approximately 10 years and plan to come back again

Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2738 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019