Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Plough Lane Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Chippenham > Plough Lane Caravan Site Reviews

Plough Lane Caravan Site
Kington Langley
Chippenham
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN15 5PS
Tel: 01249 750146
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 52
Open: 12/03/2021 to 04/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 102 Reviews
                9/10 from 102 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 90 reviews from this member

 An immaculate site with free wifi. 25 pn.

Buses are hourly. There is a constant hum of traffic noise which some will find annoying. They should seek a pitch as far away from Reception as possible.

The Plough pub across the road is derelict and for sale. The nearest is now the Huntsman in Kingston St Michael, a pleasant mile walk but no pavement or street lighting which makes walking back at night a bit of a challenge!

An enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lita 9 reviews from this member

 Not what it used to be, the previous owners have retired. What was a pristine site lovingly kept by Helen and Roger to a high standard is no more.

We decided to try it even though we knew that they had retired, It is still nice but not to their standards the grass needs cutting which was not done whilst we were there, the shrubs and bushes were getting overgrown with weeds and brambles.

The bins were overflowing. The staff were not very welcoming. There is no one on site after 5. 00. There is no information file anymore just a leaflet. There is information in the reception but it was nice to have that file with so much info in it.

The toilets are clean but not as clean as they were, if you have been here when it was run by the previous owners you will notice the difference so beware.

I personally will or be coming back again after coming since 2007. IT is with a heavy heart I give this site low marks 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Meridienmick 6 reviews from this member

 We have used Plough Lane several times and have always found it to live up to its name as a "tranquil site". The shower block has always been immaculate and the site extremely well kept.

On this visit we discovered that the owners, Roger and Helen, have retired and the site is under new ownership, so potential customers should be aware that the standards may change.

Certainly, some rules seem to have been relaxed, for instance arrivals are now accepted before 1. 00 pm and we noted a couple with three dogs whereas the website still limits numbers to two dogs. Of greater concern is that the beautifully manicured shrubs and borders do not appear to be quite as well kept, and there are no staff members on site overnight.

The site is protected by a security barrier for which there is a 10 deposit, which is fine except for the fact that the lady owner didn't roll up in her Range Rover until 9. 20 in the morning by which time there was a queue of people waiting to leave who couldn't do so because they wanted their 10 back.

My credit card receipt shows the business name as Little Wood Campsite, Chipping Sodbury, so one must amuse that these are the new owners. There are some pretty unfavourable reviews for Little Wood, so I view the future for this site with some trepidation.

Having said all this, we enjoyed our stay, the showers were still very clean, shampoo and liquid soap provided. Rubbish and recycling bins were full to overflowing every day so should be emptied more often, or more bins provided. Plenty of places to visit, Lacock, Avebury, Devizes, Bath etc. The pub across the road has closed down and is currently up for let. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Foley799 16 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Clean as a whistle, all pitches tidy and level. Hardstandings all excellent, firm but not too hard as long as you use good rock pegs, gravel is all round, no sharp flints.

Hedging is lovely, well clipped, high and make a lovely screen between small groups of pitches. Very quiet site (adults only), not much road noise.

Wash blocks spotless, never seen cleaner ones. A bit small if a few go at once but that's the same everywhere.

Just 5 mins from Junc 17 M4, so a very easy trip.

We'll go again. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ystalyfera 3 reviews from this member

 First. We have made many very good visits to the site. On this occasion the electricity was off for one day (you were no warned on booking) We went out for the day.

Next day internet was unobtainable all day and TV reception was static on many occasions. (Change a real system but no good) Left a day early.

Not for us in future. Generally very good site but we now move on. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Babstreefern 27 reviews from this member

 Our second trip to this adults only site, the last time was exactly 5 years to the month. Anyway, not a lot has changed, still the brilliantly clean and well kept amenities site. There are normal pitches where the electric is shared by two other parties, and there are water taps spread around the site, and there are also fully serviced pitches.

The personnel were really, really helpful, especially when we had lost our remote for the mover (since when, we got a phone call from the storage where we store our caravan, as we had a slight mishap, and someone had handed it in, so we can pick it up on Monday). We drove to Swindon Caravans, who helped us, but because it was after 5:00, it was too late to phone Truma (they supply the Powertouch(?)), but they gave us their number.

We got back to the site, and next day, the lad on reception just handed us their phone to contact the company and next day, it was received (signed for by Plough Lane).

The amenities were spotlessly clean. The gardener cut the grass, and there were no clippings about to tread into your caravan. There is no shop on site, but there's a small shop in the village on the other side of the main road, there's also a large Morrisons (with fuel as well), and there's also an M&S Simply Food at the services on the roundabout.

I agree with a lot of people that the road is noisy, but no blame to the site. I would still go again, and intend to do so next year as this site isn't open all year. You also need to have a 10 refundable deposit for a key card as there's a barrier. You also receive a file of all info that you will possibly need, which you hand back at the end of your stay. This was really, really useful.

Well done to Plough Lane, can't say enough about them 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackie18 14 reviews from this member

 Trust all the reviews, this is a great site!

On your arrival you are given a folder with lots of great information in. This is a great idea and we found it very helpful. Having said that the reception is full of info too and all the staff we came in contact with are friendly and helpful if you prefer to speak to someone.

True the road noise is the biggest downside to this site and it will vary from person to person to how much of a nuisance this is.

The amenities block is kept very clean with thoughtful extras (hand cream, sweets, magazines and in the showers, there is a dispenser for shampoo, shower gel and body lotion). I think it would be a great addition to add towels instead of the hand dryers! There are 2 showers, 4 toilets, 3 basins and 1 private basin in the ladies. If the site is busy and the unisex/disable, shower/toilet room is free you are ok to use this, I had to use it once in the week of our stay.

The local town of Chippenham is a great little town, plenty of shops. The local pub is a short walk, we only visited once and it was empty (at about 4. 00pm) but seemed ok.

The city of Bath is a great place to visit as is many other places, too many to mention.

Despite the traffic noise we will return! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beerstalker 12 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, a little expensive perhaps but conveniently located. Spotless facilities and helpful owners.

Some noise from the nearby dual carriageway and the motorway but not noticeable inside the van even at night.

We visited during the long hot spell and there isn't much shelter from the sun.

I thought that the gents toilet and shower facilities were more limited than I would expect for a site if this size but I never saw a queue. Perhaps that is because many of the pitches are serviced.

Very handy for Chippenham which was our reason for visiting. Supermarkets and fuel close by and a pub across the road (which I didn't visit). 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Minddhyg 17 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 night midweek break here at Plough Lane in our campervan, and the site has a lot going for it. The site is well located for touring the area and I would not put you off. The bus service timetable is the usual rural type service, but is good from Chippenham. As others have said the welcome pack is awesome and has everything you need to know in it.

The toilets and showers are the strongest point of Plough Lane, they are immaculate. The other on site facilities are well up to standard as well and I cannot say anything bad about those either. TV reception needs a booster and the wifi struggles when lots are using it.

As others have said there is one downside to Plough Lane and this being that the site is located on the main A350 dual carriageway between the motorway and Chippenham. Traffic road noise can be irritating at times if you are sitting outsde and wind direction plays a big role in this, but that's where the site is located so you accept this and know about it before you go. Some it worries and others it doesn't - that's life! The site does not have a drive over grey waste emptying drain/ point for motorhomes.

There is a very big Morrisons which is only 15 minutes walk from the site or take the motorhome as the car park is massive. Also at 1. 23 a litre for diesel fill right up!

Any keen gardeners should take a visit to Whitehill Garden Centre, again they welcome motorhomes and the overflow car park is gigantic. Lacock village is well worth a visit before the garden centre and the pay car park at Lacock can easily cope with motorhomes.

Bristol is also within easy reach from the site. The free park and ride at Long Ashton has ample midweek parking for motorhomes ( welcomed here and nice to know ) and then just jump on the bus ( every 10 minutes ) into Bristol City centre which has plenty to offer. Bath is nearby but has become very foreign tourist oriented now. Castle Coombe village is another place worth a visit.

Hopefully this review is balanced and a good read of the other site reviews will paint a fuller picture before you decide to book or not. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doverover 30 reviews from this member

 Adults only, easy access, reasonable weather - what more could you want?

Yes there is almost continuous road noise but it's fairly muted and didn't bother us. Yes the most local pubs restaurant wasn't busy and we found out why.

Can't think of much else to comment on, but then this is the level of service you should expect from a modern caravan site and we would definitely use it again. 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Plough Lane Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Plough Lane Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Plough Lane Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chippenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3701 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement