Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Dower House

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

The Dower House
Touring Park
Thetford Forest
East Harling
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR16 2SE
Tel: 01953 717314
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
                8/10 from 99 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dazscuba 2 reviews from this member

Booked this site as a last minute due to Anglesey catching the end of the ISA hurricane.

On site facilities are good and you get a great welcome from the staff at reception. Shown to our pitch and the site explained.

The pitches are set in small fields boarded by trees and bushes so it does not seem too big even though it is. The site is in the middle of a Forrest so some great walks with the dog.

Canít comment on the pool as it closed the day before. Pub open Friday and Saturday while we were there.

Would I go back? Probably not due to the very very bad and potholes road which is about 3/4 mile long. This shakes the begibers out of the caravan and is sure to do some damage.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pcjjsn 4 reviews from this member

Top tip, look at the map before you leave, as Sat Nav may not be accurate. 1 mile access road is a bumpy ride with a caravan on the back.

It's a well kept site, good sized pitches, facilitates could be cleaner, but it was half term week and really busy. Lots of kids around. I took my lot, so I can't moan!

Swimming pool was heated and busy, some kids jumping in dangerously with no parents accountable.

Onsite Pub with free WIFI was pleasantly quiet. Plenty of woodland walks with direct access from the site.

Looking forward to visiting again.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Family on tour 1 review from this member

We really love this site for the forest location, however over the bank holiday weekend noticed that the facilities for the number of people on site were stretched to the limit, with a full park and only 7 showers (male) at peak times there was a long wait. Also looks like the facilities are in need of a spruce up with paint flaking. Site staff appeared to be stretched and not very friendly. The disabled shower is used by all with no radar key, my son (wheel chair user) regularly waited over 15 minutes to access the toilet/shower.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scotzlynnie 3 reviews from this member

My two daughters (12, 9) myself and four other families have just returned from a 3 night stay. We were welcomed and shown to our pitch which was very generous in size. Slight downside is the EHU unit was quite far from the tent and despite our long cable it was difficult to reach. Luckily I was pitched next to my friend so I ran the cable across her pitch. Could have been a bit akward if it was a stranger.

Despite the site being large we didn't queue for the showers or washing up facilities which I was very pleased about. The showers aren't the best I've encountered but they get the job done! Only 5 showers (ladies) for the whole site but well maintained and clean.

Kids loved adventuring in the forest, swimming in the pool was a big plus. They were in there rain or shine. Take a chair to the pool as there's lots of space but no seating provided. We spent all three days on the site and kids were happy and made their own entertainment. Parks, football, table tennis, futsal, pool table - what more could they have wanted! My daughter was desperate to watch Women's UEFA semi final and wifi wasn't behaving - a very helpful waiter in the pub restaurant helped us sort out an alternative way to view, which made my daughter very happy despite the result ☹️

Overall I'd recommend the site and would visit again and perhaps explore the surrounding area as there is quite a lot to do locally.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: B4zza69 7 reviews from this member

We are a family of 5 who Visited In April for 5 Nights and will return and recommend.

This is a fantastic campsite set in the forest, it is really peaceful and there are fantastic walks to be had but also many great facilities on site.

The staff keep the site looking clean and tidy and seem to really enjoy what they do.

There is an outside pool for the summer months, a bar and restaurant with a small play area outside and a larger one on the main field to the front of the Dower House, there is a well stocked shop with little bits for the kids to buy. My eldest son enjoyed using the football pitch area on the field outside reception/shop and was in and around the bar area with friends most of the time. The pool table in the bar is also a big hit with the older kids.

This is a very pleasant site with spacious pitches in a great setting, I really like that you drive a couple of miles into the forest to get to the site.

Excellent!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jamesworts 1 review from this member

This is our 2nd trip to the Dower House touring park,

As a family of 5 with 3 boys aged 4, 8 and 15 we find it a perfect place to visit, we take all of the bikes with us and enjoy cycling around the forest and various cycle tracks, there are miles and miles of track to follow.

As for the park itself, the pitches are very large and provide good level ground with electric hookups very close by. There are plenty of water points and waste points. There are only a couple of toilet waste points but are easy enough to get to.

There is a park on site for the kids to play at and a pub for the adults ;-)

They have recently opened an on-site restaurant which I cannot rate as of yet due to not trying it out yet.

There is a pool table that costs 50p ago but it is in dire need of refurbishment.

The outdoor swimming pool is an excellent feature, however wasn't open in April, but was open last October when we visited last.

There is a reasonably well stocked and priced shop on-site.

I haven't used the shower blocks, however the wife has used them, unfortunately she doesn't rate them particularly highly, although they are clean. They are the typical push button pre-set temperature ones.

Toilet blocks are kept very clean also.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RD2015 1 review from this member

2 adults + 2 kids (10/5), for a 2 night stay 18/19/20 September

Quiet campsite, felt that we had the pitch area all to ourselves, imagine would be busy in main season though.

Went knowing that the on site swimming pool would be closed but had activities planned so not a problem.

Kids didn't use the play equipment so much as they loved playing in the forest directly behind tent.

Toilet/shower block v. Clean and tidy, plenty of hot water. All communal areas(+site ) kept very clean.

Found the Information Point very helpful, and up to date.

Onsite Pub, with some entertainments, which were enjoyable.

Onsite shop, had basics but end of season so could understand a shortening of supplies.

Access road a little rough, but most potholes filled in.

Some lighting from the field to the shower block would be helpful, even if it was some luminous stripes on the fencing.

Will put it on list for a return next year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: T07zombie 20 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 10 day visit at the dower house with our caravan.

Good points

Very nice setting in the woods

Nice pub on site

Playground for the kids and a number of play areas

Swimming pool which is heated and kids loved it

Very relaxing place

Nice walks in the woods

Staff very pleasant

Not so good points

Shop needs to sell more shopping items don't even sell eggs or news papers.

9 miles to the nearest shops

Pub only opens at night, had red hot days, site was full and I'm sure the pub would have been full in the afternoon if it was open.

Wifi is only in the pub not on the site.

The road to the site is 2 miles long and is horrendous, bumps, pot holes shakes your car and caravan all over the place you don't want to go out for the day because of facing the long road out of the site and coming back onto site.

Toilets need updating - not enough for the size of site.

Staff seem to be over stretched at times.

Bins always seem full and not emptied enough

Take torches no lights on the site at all - only inside toilets

Dont get me wrong the owners and workers tried there best and we had a lovely time but just seems they are over stretched and amenities need updating.

When we got there on day of arrival -

No running water

Some of the toilet waste was out of use as they where blocked. The one you had to use was at the back of toilets in the woods not good if you need to empty in the dark

No food at the pub as they had staff sickness so we had to face to horrible road again to go out.

Will not go back. Sorry.

Management response: That Saturday we had a major electrical failure and power surge that took out power to all facility blocks, shop/reception,the office, bar and house plus all computers and most importantly our bore pump thus leaving us without water. It also destroyed all sorts of equipment incl tills, chillers, computers etc. So yes we were short of staff as we were dashing around trying to sort broken systems, going out to buy bottled water to distribute to campers and deal with our normal daily jobs without some of the services that we rely on. The power was off from approx 8am until 5pm. We have owned this site for 30yrs and this was my worst day and thank heavens not a typical one.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fuzzy37 6 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely 4 night stay here. Very friendly welcome from reception and warden Gordon who took a shine to our little dog Bella.

Pitches are very large, plenty of space for an awning, day tent and car. Good play areas for kids which my daughter lives and of course the swimming pool which although busy still had room for 3 more!

The site was exceptionally clean although it was full, even the wash up area was cleaned in the day. The warden was always seen about and very friendly and obviously cares about the site and surrounding environment.

There is access directly into the forest with some lovely walks.

There are supermarkets in Thetford about 5 miles away and a small shop on site for essentials.

Brilliant site for families and good value as there are no additional charges for dogs or awnings. Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smegster1977 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weeks stay at the dower house costing £220. We travelled for 6 hours and couldn't wait to set up and rest. The lane which takes you to the site is just short of a mile long which is VERY bumpy with lots of potholes. We were shown to our pitch which was in the perfect spot. A stones throw from the park and less than a minutes walk to the pool and pub. The surroundings are beautiful. The main outdoor pool was warm. The small toddlers pool was cold! Everywhere on the site was spotlessly clean. Small shop stocked all essentials. Nice woodland walks. Park area was great for the kids. Visited the pub 3 nights we were there. Only opened 7pm til 10. 30pm and no food was being served. Would have been nice if they served lunches, the site was full so would have been very worthwhile. The beer garden did get plagued with lots of teenage children at night.

Banham zoo about 25 min drive away. (Take some leaflets from information shed on site as there are free child vouchers inside worth £14) sainsbury aldi lidl halfords about 15 minutes away (after reaching the top of the bumpy Road! )

All in all, a great week and would definitely stay again.

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2601 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019