Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Dower House Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > East Harling > The Dower House Touring Park Reviews

The Dower House Touring Park
Thetford Forest
East Harling
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR16 2SE
Tel: 01953 717314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 25/03/2022 to 30/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 105 Reviews
                8/10 from 105 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Majorenglish 1 review from this member

 Just fabulous setting and congratulations to the team for keeping it that way. Massive pitch making it very easy to set up.

Totally dog and children friendly with pitches in adult areas. Wonderful walks through forest paths and of beat tracks on site shop open all day for those essentials and a lovely bar and restaurant (food great)

All in all a first class idyllic location for all dog lovers and ramblers and also fantastic site for children as you can pitch around the park next to swimming pool making it easy to maintain security of children always playing in sight

10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vlmccl 1 review from this member

 We wanted somewhere local to try our caravan for the first time.

We loved the site - beautiful forest with great walks, pool and the food vans are a brilliant idea.

My only criticism would be the road into the site. It is full of potholes and very bumpy. 5mph tops if you want to keep your wheels! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gelab 3 reviews from this member

 Bear in mind that facilities were not yet fully open due to Covid-19 requirements. That said, the staff were very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome.

The food choice was limited but we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The track through the forest was far better than some previous reviews had suggested that they might be.

There are certainly innumerable trails nearby and the going was pretty easy. We'll be back 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Adrian 1 review from this member

 Lovely location the roadway approach could do with some attention very dusty and bumpy mile long track leading to site.

Well run, friendly staff, good amenities

Would definitely recommend we have rebooked for a later date 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Arlet1 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights with electric.

We stayed here with friends n we both have boys 8/9yrs old and a 1yr old baby. Boys like the park.

Pros:

We were put in a double pitch in Ash which was great (lots of space).

Site is clean.

We were met by a young guy (tied Dark wavy hair) who was very friendly, polite n helpful.

Plenty of walks surrounding the campsite.

Kids enjoyed the park.

Cons:

Road to the campsite is is BAD. 5mph if you don't want to damage your car. Potholes needs filling!

Amenities could be updated!

Some of the staffs could smile and be more friendly.  
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dazscuba 2 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as a last minute due to Anglesey catching the end of the ISA hurricane.

On site facilities are good and you get a great welcome from the staff at reception. Shown to our pitch and the site explained.

The pitches are set in small fields boarded by trees and bushes so it does not seem too big even though it is. The site is in the middle of a Forrest so some great walks with the dog.

Canít comment on the pool as it closed the day before. Pub open Friday and Saturday while we were there.

Would I go back? Probably not due to the very very bad and potholes road which is about 3/4 mile long. This shakes the begibers out of the caravan and is sure to do some damage. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pcjjsn 4 reviews from this member

 Top tip, look at the map before you leave, as Sat Nav may not be accurate. 1 mile access road is a bumpy ride with a caravan on the back.

It's a well kept site, good sized pitches, facilitates could be cleaner, but it was half term week and really busy. Lots of kids around. I took my lot, so I can't moan!

Swimming pool was heated and busy, some kids jumping in dangerously with no parents accountable.

Onsite Pub with free WIFI was pleasantly quiet. Plenty of woodland walks with direct access from the site.

Looking forward to visiting again. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mikehorne 1 review from this member

 Having stayed at Dower House over the years has given us some memorable Holidays and weekends away, for us as a family we have used tents, trailer tents and our next visit probably with a caravan.

We first camped at DH back in 2007 with our friends as we were planning a road trip across Canada, pretty much every year we have returned as DH is only 90 minuted drive from home, this experience has given us plenty of knowledge of the park and surroundings that has been covered in length bu most reviews.

My review will focus on two parts of the park that need addressing, they are the only two gripes I have as the park is VERY good indeed.

1, the access road is TERRIBLE with pot holes, I'm not sure if the surface has been repaired since my trip but it really did need attention.

2, the shower blocks are very dated and need an overhaul, even at quiet times the water could be hotter.

I have emailed the park about the above and await their reply.

Please don't let the above put you off the Dower House its fab, our 9 yr old goes off with his new friends after breakfast and comes back when he's hungry or thirsty, a very safe park for kids 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Family on tour 1 review from this member

 We really love this site for the forest location, however over the bank holiday weekend noticed that the facilities for the number of people on site were stretched to the limit, with a full park and only 7 showers (male) at peak times there was a long wait. Also looks like the facilities are in need of a spruce up with paint flaking. Site staff appeared to be stretched and not very friendly. The disabled shower is used by all with no radar key, my son (wheel chair user) regularly waited over 15 minutes to access the toilet/shower. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scotzlynnie 4 reviews from this member

 My two daughters (12, 9) myself and four other families have just returned from a 3 night stay. We were welcomed and shown to our pitch which was very generous in size. Slight downside is the EHU unit was quite far from the tent and despite our long cable it was difficult to reach. Luckily I was pitched next to my friend so I ran the cable across her pitch. Could have been a bit akward if it was a stranger.

Despite the site being large we didn't queue for the showers or washing up facilities which I was very pleased about. The showers aren't the best I've encountered but they get the job done! Only 5 showers (ladies) for the whole site but well maintained and clean.

Kids loved adventuring in the forest, swimming in the pool was a big plus. They were in there rain or shine. Take a chair to the pool as there's lots of space but no seating provided. We spent all three days on the site and kids were happy and made their own entertainment. Parks, football, table tennis, futsal, pool table - what more could they have wanted! My daughter was desperate to watch Women's UEFA semi final and wifi wasn't behaving - a very helpful waiter in the pub restaurant helped us sort out an alternative way to view, which made my daughter very happy despite the result ☹️

Overall I'd recommend the site and would visit again and perhaps explore the surrounding area as there is quite a lot to do locally. 


Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Dower House Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does The Dower House Touring Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Dower House Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Dower House Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Harling      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3951 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement