Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tristram Camping And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Wadebridge > Tristram Camping And Caravan Park Reviews

Tristram Camping And Caravan Park
Polzeath
Wadebridge
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 6UG
Tel: 01208 862215
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 145
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 28 Reviews
                7/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mcc75 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week’s stay over the Bank Holiday weekend for which the site was pretty full.

Without a doubt the site is situated in a beautiful location with stunning views of Polzeath beach with easy access to the beach and nearby shops, restaurants and surf hire facilities.

The coastal path passes the bottom of the site ideal for walkers and runners.

The cost of camping is the highest that we have ever paid in the 12 years of camping and so expectations were high.

The site owners have recently built a new shower/toilet block which was close proximity to the Gold pitch that we had booked. The new block was as you would expect in excellent condition although we could not help but notice a couple of snagging issues such as poorly fitted toilet seats and taps that do not flow water directly in the sinks in the washing up area and subsequently floods the floor. The owners must be aware of this last issue as their answer is to place a 'Caution Wet Floor' sign and mop and bucket in the area - which no one uses.

Previous comments regarding the showers has been met with a compromise of residents being issued with a shower token 1 per guest per day. If you wish to shower more (or you have used all of the tokens) then a charge of 50p per use is in place. Showers will last 6 mins. There is another debate as to whether this is long enough.

As the site was quite busy (if not full) we never experienced queuing and these facilities were always well cleaned and maintained.

Many of the pitches are on an incline with the Gold pitches offering the least amount of inconvenience but at a price.

There was no evidence of a no noise policy which unfortunately for us resulted in having a 'conversation' with a large group at 10:30pm. In fairness, they respected the time subsequent evenings but had there been a clear indication to all as to what is acceptable then this would have avoided such a conversation and awkwardness on both parties.

The site is perfect for beach lovers and those who surf or wish to learn - at this point we would highly recommend “Surfs-Up” whose instructors were brilliant and managed to get my son and I on our feet within 2 lessons and only a 2 min walk from the site.

Its the site's close proximity to the beach that gives it licence to charge the premium rate that it does. Have we stayed in better sites for less - yes we have, but would we go back to Tristram - yes we would.  


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skiiddy 10 reviews from this member

 Tristram cannot be beaten in terms of its close proximity to the beach and shopping within Polzeath. You could literally leave your car parked in the car park for the duration of your stay and walk to all the attractions of Polzeath which is fantastic. However, the site owners mission is clearly to shoehorn in as many campers and naturally, in July & August is full of families. If you want peace and quiet and a lie in, seek it elsewhere or, avoid late July and the whole of August!

We were pitched on number 43 which was described as a 'large family pitch' measuring '10m x 10m' which was nonsense - more like 9m x 8m and etiquette in regards to imposing on your neighbours pitch in terms of guy ropes and windbreaks is clearly ignored in spite of the pitch boundaries being clearly marked! All the pitches are sloping in this field, some on 'the terraces' are level and one or two to the front (99, 98, 97) are good but you are close to the public coastal path and you will pay significantly more as the view is supposedly better; there is a high fence so you will need to to stand on the fence edge and peer over the top to get the best view!

We like children, but listening to their detailed whining at 7am, just isn't our idea of fun and relaxation. We didn't really mind the £70. 00 per night (for a large tent) or the additional 50p you have to pay for the showers but the pitches are almost on top of one another so be prepared to hear detailed conversations and snorers too! We used the upper shower block in St Hilary Field (47, 48 are the most level pitches by the way) which were never busy and very well maintained, plenty of of hot water for your 50p but only 5 minutes duration!

The site is generally in good order but avoid pitch 19 which is right next to the bins (why they cannot relocate them a little further in to the car park is beyond me - its not as if it is along way to walk or would deprive the vast car park (same owners as the campsite) of too many spaces. Speaking of the car park, if you are staying at Tristram and want to park your car in it as opposed to trying to squeeze it on to your limited pitch size, its free.

The Cracking Crab on site restaurant and bar offers a great menu with a takeaway service too. Light meals or just a drink are also available. As mentioned, if you do not want to venture to other parts of Cornwall, you could easily survive on what Polzeath offers, ; plenty of shops and really good Spar that carry a huge choice of stock but be aware, its pricey! Sainsburys will deliver as will Tesco's, straight to your pitch if desired and there are plenty of bars, pubs and restaurants to choose from within 5/10 minute walk.

Walk to Daymar bay in 30 minutes and Rock in 50 where there is a regular ferry across to Padstow; the walk is beautiful and if you make it to Rock, the Blue Tomato offers great food and service!

We would return to Tristram but definitely outside of peak season. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris4 18 reviews from this member

 When we visited the campsite itself was closed for re-seeding but we were able to camp in the adjoining car parking field. It was amazing; we parked well away from the campsite next to the coast path with the beach a few metres below us and at night we had the whole area to ourselves. Only a few cars came during the day when we were out walking and they all left before it got dark. We don't surf but enjoyed watching dozens doing so in the bay below from the warmth of the campervan. I have seen this campsite from the beach during the school summer holidays and it looks horrendously busy and packed and so would not be our choice but out of season it was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the toilets were adequate. It is expensive (particularly as we were actually in the car park and did not use the site facilities)but well worth it for the position, the views and the sunsets. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Allweathercamping 2 reviews from this member

 Although fully booked on the website, we managed to secure a pitch at Tristram Campsite just by driving up and asking at reception. Initial thoughts upon arriving were good, especially with the main attraction of Polzeath, being the beach, only 50 metres away. Pitches are expensive, however being so close to the sea and with the campsites cleanliness it seemed feasible. At reception you can also buy bottles of gas, refills, soap etc. The campsite also has a Indian restaurant, although we can't comment because we didn't visit it.

Our pitch was on the right side of the campsite( if looking at it from the entrance), about halfway up the field, which was fantastic, as we had toilets on either side, and the walk to the gate which led onto the beach was merely 100 metres away. Our pitch was ever so slightly slanted, but this wasn't noticeable, and it was quite sizeable, with enough space for a Outwell Birdland 5 Man tent including just about enough space for chairs, tables and a windbreak at our tents entrance.

The toilets were clean, with many sinks, showers and loos for times when the campsite was busy. The showers required 50p tokens, however were adjustable in temperature and power, and ran for a surprisingly long time. In terms of washing up there is a large room with big sinks and bowls for washing and trays for drying, which was perfect. There were also bins for rubbish and recycling at the entrance into the campsite which were maintained regularly.

When we visited the campsite was in fact busy, which was noticeable, with all the pitches packed closely together, however as long as you don't mind your neighbours seeing what you are eating, then it's hardly a problem. Being on the cliffside means that ultimately the campsite is windy, however with many surrounding tents we were protected, and hardly noticed the breeze during the day.

Polzeath itself is a wonderful place to visit, and we find camping is certainly the best way to experience it. A gate from the ‘back’ of the campsite leads onto a path, which you can go right into town on, or left around the cliff on. Going straight over this path allows you to walk onto a grassy patch just above some rocks, which is a stunning spot to watch the sunset in the evenings. Walking down these rocks lets you onto the beach, which is affected so drastically by the tides, with low tide providing a massive beach, which in summer becomes cluttered with the drab colours of cheap windbreaks and single coloured towels dotted by thousands of people, and high tide covering up almost everything except the final 500 metres or so. Crossing to the other side of the beach allows you to get onto a coast path which you can follow right to the end, from where you can look out to sea and watch the sun set. If you have a spare clear evening I definitely recommend doing that!

A single road runs through the village, which passes Tristram campsite, winds down right along the beach, then up right out of Polzeath. There are numerous car parks in Polzeath, including one at the campsite and one on the beach itself. In town there is a SPAR, which is where we( and everybody else it seemed) bought our food and other supplies. Other places to note include two surf shops and a nice restaurant overlooking the beach.

In terms of surf, Polzeath can have very good waves, which means that good surfers can have a great time out back, or very small waves, in which case the water becomes saturated with hundreds of people, which can be very off putting. The water is divided by flags for swimmers and body boarders and separate flags for surfers. There are two surf schools in Polzeath, and numerous places to hire all types of boards etc.

There are no clubs around, however there is a pub on the road down into Polzeath, which serves till 12, if you fancy that sort of thing. If you are looking for entertainment the Valley campsite down in the village offers something different, for example an acoustic or Bingo night, in its clubhouse every night which is usually a bit of a laugh. This all means that at night Polzeath is quiet, with the only noise being the gentle rolling of the ocean at night, allowing for a good nights rest at Tristram.

Overall we had a great stay, and would definitely recommend the campsite for keen campers who want quick access to the beach or Polzeath village, and also want a quiet campsite with good facilities.

SUMMARY

GOOD

1) Clean toilets.

2) Fantastic location, being very close to the beach and shops.

3) Well sized, flat pitches.

4) Useful, clean facilities.

BAD

1) Expensive.

2) Pitches are quite close together.

3) Can be very exposed to weather conditions. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DaisyD 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights. The only negative things were the closeness of the adjacent tents/motorhomes and the cost per night (£44. 50). When you phone up to book, you have to pay an additional fee of £10. The site charged 50p per shower and you got plenty of hot water. They toilets and showers were kept very clean.

The site is a short walk to the beach were yoy find mainly surfers. Found a place that served two 12' pizzas for £10!

If you are wanting a relaxed beach holiday where you can leave your car for a few days, then this is the place for you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Devonroadie 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here camping over the Easter Bank holiday weekend.

Wasn't aware of the price before hand so nearly choked when was told it would be £50 for two nights, never stayed in a campsite any where near as expensive all over the UK!

Second blow was learning you had to pay 50p for the showers, ridiculous considering the price we paid to stay.

The site wasn't that busy but we were still bunched up next to other people which again wasn't ideal.

The location was good and the staff were friendly but I won't stay here again 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcb1989 1 review from this member

 Warm welcome when we arrived. Got shown to the field and told to park next to the van and set up there. We weren't given a specific pitch number.

Showers are 50p to use. Only two in each block- I imagine a pain when the season is at its peak.

No mention of the on site 'cafe' being an indian takeaway. We went to go in for coffee and got told to either sit outside (in the rain) or on a 2 seater sofa next to another person. Please bare in mind the restaurant was empty with plenty of tables to sit at.

If we had been aware the 'cafe' was not a cafe, we would have bought amenities such as coffee and tea and breakfast but were willing to fork out just for one morning. I would suggest that the website states this for future reference as not everyone is a fan of Indian food.

Gorgeous weather slowly turned dull but we still enjoyed ourselves none-the-less. The view of the sunset (on a nice evening) was simply breathtaking. It made our trip sitting on the cliff watching it. The beach is less than a one minute walk away (down the cliff) or 5 mins on the path.

Spar shuts at 9, though no sign to tell you that! Also, the fish and chip shop in town is not recommended. I took one bite and had at least a mouthfull of pure grease... Not a pleasant experience! Other cafes were friendly and welcoming.

The Waterfront Bar and Grill was simply delicious. We had prawns and bread for something to nibble at lunch and they were the most amazing prawns we've ever had! Definitely recommended. (Service was a bit poor however, but the prawns made up for that!)

Not much to do in Polzeath but surf. A short drive or 1 1/4 mile walk to Daymer Bay is recommended. Walk along the estury and you'll find yourself facing Padstow! A gorgeous beach in a stunning location.

I would definitely recommend Tristram to anyone wanting a peaceful camping experience with stunning sea views. We had a fantastic time and will be returning in the near future! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TheSyddies 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 3 nights in the May half term in a motorhome. The only good thing about this site was it's location right next to the beach, which is great if you're really into surfing, or you have older children who can go down to the beach by themselves.

It was very expensive (£40 a night) and on top of that you had to pay 50p for the showers. The slot machine to pay was outside the shower cubicle, so if you were longer than 5 mins, which you probably will be when you're trying to shower yourself and young children, you have to wrap a towel around yourself to run outside and insert another 50p.

In the morning the showers were hot, but in the evening when everyone has come off the beach, they were cold and you had to queue. They also weren't that clean, but this was probably because the site was very full and busy.

The pitches were very close together and you have no privacy. Because of the slope at the site, we put our motorhome on ramps, but the tent behind us was pitched so close to us, when we came to leave there wasn't enough room for us to reverse back off the ramps.

There were lovely walks along the coast path and it was a 2 min walk into Polzeath for the shops. There was also a pub near the site entrance. The site had it's own Indian restaurant with a lovely terrace, but there was a strong smell of curry most of the time if your pitch was next to the restaurant.

If you were able to visit this site outside of the school holidays, when it is not so full and busy it would probably be better.

I was really looking forward to going to this site, but was very disappointed. I'm glad we hadn't booked for two weeks. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Misshiggi 1 review from this member

 Returned yesterday from a fab two night stay here. Agree the pitch price is steep but wow wot a fab location the view was great, the pitch easily fitted our T4 van, awning and windbreaks making a rather nice area for us. The site was only half full so I can imagine in busier times you can feel slightly camped in. Staff very helpful and polite nothing too much trouble.

Facilities were spotless I certainly don't mind paying 50p for a clean shower, before you insert your money just check the shower is turned off by turning the dial anti-clockwise no need to strip and run you can easily get undressed in the cubicle and enjoy the full 5min shower!

The weather turned out fab on saturday so after a stroll around the shops a nice cuppa tea and tea cake we headed back to lay in the sun on the site and enjoy nothing more than chilling out. A perfect weekend only spoilt by the british weather had planned a day on the beach sunday but instead came home and cooked roast and watched the rain pour down!

Cant wait to head back there next spring now. :-) 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sjd29 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site last week on the first day of a weeks holiday. Only stayed one night.

Price of £20 for a pitch 2 feet away from the next tent and 5 feet away from 2 vans, and on a slope. No privacy. Before we pitched we asked if we could move somewhere else.

Position of campsite fantastic - gorgeous views possible if you pay for a premier pitch. 50p for the showers is extortion - given the amount you have already paid for the pitch.  


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tristram Camping And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tristram Camping And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tristram Camping And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wadebridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2066 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement