Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Applewood Countryside Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Banham > Applewood Countryside Park > Reviews

Applewood Countryside Park
Kenninghall Road
Banham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR16 2HE
Tel: 01953 715319
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/02/2024 to 02/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ChezP 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic and very well maintained site.

We were out of season so very quiet, even next to the zoo!

Excellent facilities, plenty of hot water, very clean and wonderful showers - large shower room, plenty of hooks for clothes, space and vest of all under floor heating ( a bonus in a chilly March)

We would recommend for a short or long stay. Staff were very friendly. 


Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andy Gosling 2 reviews from this member

 Weather wasn't great

But that was our only disappointment

Site was in good condition considering the amount of rain that had fallen previously

Welcome was first class

As were facilities,

Banham Zoo next door was real value for money.

Local shops and pub also worth a visit.

Will be back in summer

10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kencain 4 reviews from this member

 So glad I found this site. Was looking for somewhere to stay while visiting Snetterton over the weekend.

Booking (only the day before arrival) was simple and made easier by the very friendly / helpful reception staff.

I have to say that the showers are probably the best I have ever found on a campsite. Pressure was excellent, temperature was controllable, push button had a very reasonable delay time.

All that housed in a cubicle with a proper shower tray and glass doors. That then meant that the tiled floor outside the cubicle stayed nice and dry.

Pub just across the road and also other shops should you need them. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: EltonExplorers 3 reviews from this member

 A wonderful campsite!

From booking through the easy to use online booking system, arriving and staying for 2 nights, we would have to say this has been the best getaway for us so far in our VW.

The campsite wasn't very busy which surprised us (pleasantly), pitches are large and 6m apart from eachother.

The facilities, especially the new shower block, are the best we've visited to date - modern, clean and large!

You can find the zoo next door to the campsite which is a great day out, 2 minute walk to a shop, butchers and pub!

We did a 9 mile pub crawl which was lovely.

We will definitely be returning 10/10! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Athey 3 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site

Plenty to do as we have electric bikes so could get around.

Facilities are good with the upgraded shower block

The site has a large field for children to play 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Seanpl 1 review from this member

 Lovely place to stay,

Spoilt by plenty of drug taking in other nearby tents, not the campsites fault in anyway but it stank.

Facilities we clean and very easy access to the Zoo, which some of our party went to and enjoyed very much. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mick S. 37 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here before a couple of times, but I don't think I would return again. There must have been half the site taken up with tents this time, I haven't seen this before - anywhere. And tents, in the main, = noise. Its not their fault that tents have zero insulation, but I don't want to be pitched among them, thanks. And I say this as an ex-tent dweller myself.

This aside, the site was kept very clean - of litter etc. Want it wasn't clean of was grass cuttings. It had been left over-long, then cut and left to let it trail everywhere.

While I saw the female wardens diligently cleaning the blocks - which were spotless, I only ever saw the blokes sunning themselves. Some of the grass among the pods/chalets will have been 9 inches long. And I think where we were had been something similar prior to mowing (they could have bailed it had they left it another week!).

The internet was intermittent at best, and this was before it busied up at the weekend. So it wasn't over-usage.

There is a cracking butchers over the road, and a mini-mart.There is also a good chip shop that sells chicken drumsticks - which were nice. Throw in an array of food vans that visit, and you are spoilt for choice. We took our granddaughters to the nearby Banham zoo.

But I wouldn't recommend a visit till all the restrictions are over, as there is still too much closed for the prices they are charging. Some bits still hiding behind covid - unnecessarily in my view.

Though the site was also on the bandwagon with a 'no guests' rule. We could see our grandkids at the site entrance and zoo, but we couldn't have them at the van. How mental is that! Obviously, we fully complied, and they definitely didn't have their lunch with us in the van prior to attending the zoo. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: ScottDJ 3 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet little campsite if you want a peaceful stay. Stayed her for 2 nights in a tent with electric hook up. Pitch was nice and even and grassy, good sized.

Toilets are nice enough, not the best but certainly not the worst. New showers are really nice however. Lovely and modern, with individual rooms with shower/ sliding door then changing area with sink and mirror. Very nice!

Not a great deal to do on site. There is a kids play park. Banham zoo is next door which is a good day out. You do hear the animals making different noises at night, which is an experience in itself!

We used the nearby shop just over the road. Seemed well stocked (in other words, the beer selection was good!) there is a pub and a chippy but we didn't use these.

All in all a decent stay, nice and peaceful 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 77k196 1 review from this member

 Nice site. Clean and organised with plenty of facilities for self catering units.

Very close to a shop, chip shop and village pub.

We would definitely come again. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hmv4u 57 reviews from this member

 A quite large site situated right next to Banham zoo and you go through zoo car park to access site, as we were on that side of park there was some noise from the zoo, guided tours in the day and animals at night including something that likes to 'bark' into the wee hours-recommend ear plugs if a light sleeper.

The pitches are big and you can select your own on the booking web site. There are separate toilet and shower blocks which appear newish, wifi is provided ACHPUBLIC but is pretty poor fading in and out.

We did see cleaners and staff litter picking on occasions. Visited the local shop and also had a few takeaways from the chip shop (not massively impressed with their chips tho)-

If you are going for a week its cheaper to join the 'club' as its costs 30 but you get 20% off which in high season works out saving 7.

Nearest large supermarkets are Tesco and Morrisons in DISS about 6 miles. There are a lot of country lanes so beware towing via sat nav although the road into Banham from the A1066 is ok 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Applewood Countryside Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Applewood Countryside Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Applewood Countryside Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46616 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement