Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Applewood Countryside Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Banham > Applewood Countryside Park Reviews

Applewood Countryside Park
Kenninghall Road
Banham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR16 2HE
Tel: 01953 315719
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 51 Reviews
                8/10 from 51 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: ScottDJ 2 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet little campsite if you want a peaceful stay. Stayed her for 2 nights in a tent with electric hook up. Pitch was nice and even and grassy, good sized.

Toilets are nice enough, not the best but certainly not the worst. New showers are really nice however. Lovely and modern, with individual rooms with shower/ sliding door then changing area with sink and mirror. Very nice!

Not a great deal to do on site. There is a kids play park. Banham zoo is next door which is a good day out. You do hear the animals making different noises at night, which is an experience in itself!

We used the nearby shop just over the road. Seemed well stocked (in other words, the beer selection was good!) there is a pub and a chippy but we didn't use these.

All in all a decent stay, nice and peaceful 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 77k196 1 review from this member

 Nice site. Clean and organised with plenty of facilities for self catering units.

Very close to a shop, chip shop and village pub.

We would definitely come again. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hmv4u 43 reviews from this member

 A quite large site situated right next to Banham zoo and you go through zoo car park to access site, as we were on that side of park there was some noise from the zoo, guided tours in the day and animals at night including something that likes to 'bark' into the wee hours-recommend ear plugs if a light sleeper.

The pitches are big and you can select your own on the booking web site. There are separate toilet and shower blocks which appear newish, wifi is provided ACHPUBLIC but is pretty poor fading in and out.

We did see cleaners and staff litter picking on occasions. Visited the local shop and also had a few takeaways from the chip shop (not massively impressed with their chips tho)-

If you are going for a week its cheaper to join the 'club' as its costs 30 but you get 20% off which in high season works out saving 7.

Nearest large supermarkets are Tesco and Morrisons in DISS about 6 miles. There are a lot of country lanes so beware towing via sat nav although the road into Banham from the A1066 is ok 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marge2020 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite. Spacious pitches, especially the end ones. Lovely new individual shower rooms with dressing area.

All staff very friendly. Cleaners were doing an amazing job, particularly during Covid when they were having to do extra deep cleans regularly.

Facilities were spotless. Also loved the really easy booking system, not available with a lot of sites, where you could check availability and choose your own pitch which is a great idea. There is a One Stop literally across the road with a pub, hairdressers, chip shop and an amazing butchers.

We had sausage and bacon baps 2 mornings, very reasonable and tasted amazing. We bought some of his award winning sausages and bacon to take away with us to our next site. Amazing cakes as well.

Visited nearby Diss and Beccles, both very pretty market towns. Would definitely recommend site. Wish we lived closer, would use it a lot! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ladyda 1 review from this member

 We spent a night camping at Applewood, the site itself is absolutely lovely. Friendly and helpful staff.

Plenty of facilities and spotlessly clean too, and Banham zoo right on the doorstep.

Such a shame we couldn't stay longer, but will definitely be visiting again very soon. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Duster 1 review from this member

 Arrived and booked in for Easter weekend and was surprised to be told that reception shut every day at 2pm (tourist info was in here). Wardens were in caravans nearby but on all campsites I've been on for the past 20 years you only go to them if there is a prob.

By Sat evening there was a problem with main shower block which closed them for the duration and were still closed when we left on Wed. Which left 2 showers for male and 2 for female on 160 pitch site.

We were there 4 nights. Every night between 6pm and 8pm electrics went off 2 to 3 times whether field was full (30ish units) or quiet (3 units). Very frustrating. No wardens to explain what was happening just relied on other campers.

Showers were cramped, smallest I've ever been in.

Pitches were good size.

Being near to Banham Zoo was great.

Dog exercise area not enclosed so used Rally field. Was told not to exercise my dogs in there by a camper as there was 20 to 30 Huskies in it. The field was massive. Have met these Huskies at a campsite in Dorset and they were the same there.

Combination of electric outtage and small showers has put me off unfortunately. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cluskey Clan 12 reviews from this member

 We booked this last minute for 1 night on a bank holiday weekend when most campsites nearby were fully booked. Much cheaper than most places. We had a massive pitch with lots of space around us in the far field. Lovely & quiet at night. Clean facilities. Next to Banham zoo though we didn't have time to go. Opposite a shop & fast food. Brilliant pub nearby called the Garden House which had a beer festival on, great prices on food & drink & great hospitality. We visited Reedham & South Lopham fen which is a lovely nature trail walk. Would definitely stay in the area again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wurley 7 reviews from this member

 Pros: Near the zoo. 5+2 nights offer. Friendly site staff. Pay once offer for the zoo. Near a Londis shop, chip shop. Quiet site. Tractor available to tow you out of your pitch when you get stuck.

Cons: Slightest rain turns most if not all pitches into a mire! Have to queue for the zoo every time (even when you have the return ticket). Not much to do in the local area.

Arrived at the site to be told we were to be moved to another pitch as outs was boggy. The new pitch wasn't much/any better - there were ruts from the last occupants. We set up camp and put the squidgyness down to recent rain, but we were wrong. The site is made on clay soil so wets up easily but doesn't dry out beyond soft. Messed up all our ground sheets and awning skirts with mud of the consistency of poop. Several other campers had to be towed off pitch by the camps tractor (which suggests my experience is common. )

The toilets were adequate but I don't feel they were cleaned as well as they could have been. There are no loo brushes so if someone messes up the loo they have to stay that way until the next clean (not a nice thing to see). I never used the showers as we have a good one in our caravan.

We made use of the zoo offer of pay once and enter for the rest of your stay for free - this is the offer that brought us to the site. We used the passes 3 times to see the bird shows (worth a visit) and play in the park - the downside is that you need to queue up with all the people coming for the day. At one point there was only one window open so it was a tad frustrating (there should be some sort of fast track entry for season ticket holders or prepaid tickets. )

The zoo is good for a day out but gets boring after that. There is a small Sunday boot sale near the car park.

There is a Sainsburys and Lidls in Attleborough nearest McD / KFC is Norwich! Dominos Pizza in Thetford. I was surprised at how little there is to do locally unless you have little children (Bressingham). I took the children to Swallow Aquatics to look at all their fish (worth a visit East Harling B1111) next door to this is The English Whiskey Co.

If you don't mind the squidgy site and love zoos you'll like this site. It's fairly quiet and set well off of the road.

Would I return? To be honest, No. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cutechloe 4 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit, a well maintained and friendly site with a good play area for our children. The wardens were approachable and helpful. Added bonus of discount to Banham Zoo, we went three times and adults and children had a thoroughly good time. The local Londis store was well stocked, good opening hours and friendly staff too. Thank you to all, we will return again 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Clare LH 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed in a standard Camping Pod (as no 'Posh Pads' available) for 2 nights - Friday/Saturday. Location ideal as right next door to Banham zoo - and yes you could even hear the animals. Takeaway and Londis shop nearby if you need something and don't want to go far. Whilst there were some Children on site (particularly as end of half term didn't find them particularly noisy and the wardens ensured they weren't)

Wash facilities nearby - a bit dated but clean enough. Though only 3 showers and not much room to change compared to other campsites we have stayed on. And as other people have commented they are push button that doesn't stay on for long - but they were at least hot.

Whilst it didn't 'spoil' our holiday it was a shame about the lack of attention to detail in comparison to other pods that we've stayed at. Whilst there isn't much in a pod as you bring your own things, what was there was broken/didn't work! We managed to use the blind manually but the actual pull cord was already off and we couldn't get it back on, the heater was broken (apparently a fuse) and there was either low or no electric (our neighbours electric kept going off) due to constant outages - whilst it does state you can't plug in high electrical appliances you should be able to at least charge your phone!We reported it straight away the next morning and they came too look at it and stated would sort it but by time we came back later in the day, nothing had been done and the office closed! But when we went to see the Wardens on site they couldn't more helpful and quickly managed to find another heater for us. Whilst these things can seem relatively 'small' you want to get full value for your hard earned money! 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Applewood Countryside Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Applewood Countryside Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Applewood Countryside Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3346 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement