Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Applewood Countryside Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Applewood Countryside Park
Kenninghall Road
Banham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR16 2HE
Tel: 01953 315719
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 160
Open: 1st February To 31st December

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Duster 1 review from this member

Arrived and booked in for Easter weekend and was surprised to be told that reception shut every day at 2pm (tourist info was in here). Wardens were in caravans nearby but on all campsites I've been on for the past 20 years you only go to them if there is a prob.

By Sat evening there was a problem with main shower block which closed them for the duration and were still closed when we left on Wed. Which left 2 showers for male and 2 for female on 160 pitch site.

We were there 4 nights. Every night between 6pm and 8pm electrics went off 2 to 3 times whether field was full (30ish units) or quiet (3 units). Very frustrating. No wardens to explain what was happening just relied on other campers.

Showers were cramped, smallest I've ever been in.

Pitches were good size.

Being near to Banham Zoo was great.

Dog exercise area not enclosed so used Rally field. Was told not to exercise my dogs in there by a camper as there was 20 to 30 Huskies in it. The field was massive. Have met these Huskies at a campsite in Dorset and they were the same there.

Combination of electric outtage and small showers has put me off unfortunately.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cluskey Clan 12 reviews from this member

We booked this last minute for 1 night on a bank holiday weekend when most campsites nearby were fully booked. Much cheaper than most places. We had a massive pitch with lots of space around us in the far field. Lovely & quiet at night. Clean facilities. Next to Banham zoo though we didn't have time to go. Opposite a shop & fast food. Brilliant pub nearby called the Garden House which had a beer festival on, great prices on food & drink & great hospitality. We visited Reedham & South Lopham fen which is a lovely nature trail walk. Would definitely stay in the area again.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wurley 7 reviews from this member

Pros: Near the zoo. 5+2 nights offer. Friendly site staff. Pay once offer for the zoo. Near a Londis shop, chip shop. Quiet site. Tractor available to tow you out of your pitch when you get stuck.

Cons: Slightest rain turns most if not all pitches into a mire! Have to queue for the zoo every time (even when you have the return ticket). Not much to do in the local area.

Arrived at the site to be told we were to be moved to another pitch as outs was boggy. The new pitch wasn't much/any better - there were ruts from the last occupants. We set up camp and put the squidgyness down to recent rain, but we were wrong. The site is made on clay soil so wets up easily but doesn't dry out beyond soft. Messed up all our ground sheets and awning skirts with mud of the consistency of poop. Several other campers had to be towed off pitch by the camps tractor (which suggests my experience is common. )

The toilets were adequate but I don't feel they were cleaned as well as they could have been. There are no loo brushes so if someone messes up the loo they have to stay that way until the next clean (not a nice thing to see). I never used the showers as we have a good one in our caravan.

We made use of the zoo offer of pay once and enter for the rest of your stay for free - this is the offer that brought us to the site. We used the passes 3 times to see the bird shows (worth a visit) and play in the park - the downside is that you need to queue up with all the people coming for the day. At one point there was only one window open so it was a tad frustrating (there should be some sort of fast track entry for season ticket holders or prepaid tickets. )

The zoo is good for a day out but gets boring after that. There is a small Sunday boot sale near the car park.

There is a Sainsburys and Lidls in Attleborough nearest McD / KFC is Norwich! Dominos Pizza in Thetford. I was surprised at how little there is to do locally unless you have little children (Bressingham). I took the children to Swallow Aquatics to look at all their fish (worth a visit East Harling B1111) next door to this is The English Whiskey Co.

If you don't mind the squidgy site and love zoos you'll like this site. It's fairly quiet and set well off of the road.

Would I return? To be honest, No.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cutechloe 4 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit, a well maintained and friendly site with a good play area for our children. The wardens were approachable and helpful. Added bonus of discount to Banham Zoo, we went three times and adults and children had a thoroughly good time. The local Londis store was well stocked, good opening hours and friendly staff too. Thank you to all, we will return again

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Clare LH 2 reviews from this member

We stayed in a standard Camping Pod (as no 'Posh Pads' available) for 2 nights - Friday/Saturday. Location ideal as right next door to Banham zoo - and yes you could even hear the animals. Takeaway and Londis shop nearby if you need something and don't want to go far. Whilst there were some Children on site (particularly as end of half term didn't find them particularly noisy and the wardens ensured they weren't)

Wash facilities nearby - a bit dated but clean enough. Though only 3 showers and not much room to change compared to other campsites we have stayed on. And as other people have commented they are push button that doesn't stay on for long - but they were at least hot.

Whilst it didn't 'spoil' our holiday it was a shame about the lack of attention to detail in comparison to other pods that we've stayed at. Whilst there isn't much in a pod as you bring your own things, what was there was broken/didn't work! We managed to use the blind manually but the actual pull cord was already off and we couldn't get it back on, the heater was broken (apparently a fuse) and there was either low or no electric (our neighbours electric kept going off) due to constant outages - whilst it does state you can't plug in high electrical appliances you should be able to at least charge your phone!We reported it straight away the next morning and they came too look at it and stated would sort it but by time we came back later in the day, nothing had been done and the office closed! But when we went to see the Wardens on site they couldn't more helpful and quickly managed to find another heater for us. Whilst these things can seem relatively 'small' you want to get full value for your hard earned money!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Saxonplace 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 night to go the the Applyard Fayre across the road.

Helpful on reception and found pitch no problem, site is very well kept and was quite busy.

Showers were ok, hot but a little cramped and not much space to keep your stuff dry.

Pitches arranged around a central road with tents in the middle, probably groups.

Overall a good site, little pricey as they wanted me to be away by 10 am but it suited my needs.

Will stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adarke 3 reviews from this member

Great campsite, well set out and great location for banham zoo. Few downs but does not effect the holiday, these are showers could be better (push button not great as have to hold in making you a expert at one hand washing by end of stay). Play park could do with swings and slide (but my two young girls enjoyed anyway as still a good park) and when they cut the grass, could do with collecting all the cuttings up, as wherever you walked your feet got covered in grass especially when damp. Other than those things a lovely park, my girls loved the fact that you can hear the animals from the zoo on the campsite. The toilet blocks are good apart from what I mentioned about the showers. It was quiet when we visited so there was no noise at all at night (apart from the animals). A definite winner for short family trips top notch site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dotcomplex 9 reviews from this member

Generally we opt for campsites that allow camp fires and are more back to basics but this bank holiday weekend we opted for something with amenities and a few mod cons. As our requirements were not extensive we were very happy with this site. Based on other reviews we would say the toilets etc had probably moved on a bit and seemed quite clean and well maintained. Yes there are kids playing everywhere (including our own) but that's what being a kid is all about - I'd rather kids were running around enjoying themselves and making new friends than sitting glued to a computer game. Anyway, even though it was a bank holiday weekend and the weather was glorious there was still ample room and our two families had empty plots either side of us. We also brought our dog and although ours is extremely friendly and eager to say hello to everyone we kept him tethered and were pleasantly surprised to see everyone else sticking to the rules. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful - all in all a great site, very neat and tidy, we'll laid out and maintained.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wandering Stars 10 reviews from this member

The pitch for our week's stay was large and grassy and there was no noise at all at night. Downsides were the kids playing football very near peoples caravans / motorhomes, playing about with the water taps etc. There were a group of youngster kicking their ball against the wall and door of the (somewhat scruffy) shower block. My wife asked them to stop and just got some cheek - they carried on.

We never saw the wardens at all, their caravans are there alright but they used to drive off in their cars every morning at the same time and not return till evening so no-one on site to make sure everything is okay.

Okay site if you have unruly kids otherwise best avoided.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Vicar 7 reviews from this member

On Safari in Norfolk ! Well you could be. Sitting outside in the evening sun listening to the animals in the zoo. What a cracking site.

Large pitches, big field for campers-with little restriction on where you pitch or indeed the size of your tent.

Toilets, whilst a little bit dated, were clean, and there are more in the rally field which are a lot newer, and don't seem to get used as much.

With a Londis store outside the gates, with a great fish and chip shop next door. For lovers of cider and real ales the Barrel Pub is there as well.

Well worth a visit, but as previously reported, this site attracts those with young children who can get lively before bedtime. However peace after 10-10. 30 pm.

A warden is on site to ensure the noise is kept to the minimum, and this must be one of the quietest night time site we have been to. Apart from the noise of the animals in the zoo. Brilliant.

PLUS: No charge for awnings or Dogs !

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2283 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!