Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ty Newydd Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Ty Newydd Farm
Uwchmynydd
Aberdaron
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8BY
Tel: 01758 760581
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60+
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jv0901 1 review from this member

I’ve been visiting Ty Newydd for the past 35 years. I’ve seen it evolve from a farmers field with a tap and a toilet, into the well run inviting campsite with fantastic facilities. It’s located in Uwchmynydd, just outside Aberdaron, North Wales.

Toilets are clean, showers are operated by coin, some 50p and some 20p. All are powerful and hot. Sheltered washing up areas are fantastic and convenient. Hookup available for many pitches, but if you prefer to camp basic, non-hookup is also available.

Great cafe with good food and non-alcoholic drinks. Perfect location, away from the hustle and bustle. One of the few places you can escape strong phone signals and really ‘disconnect’. Should you want to remain ‘plugged in’ there is on-site WiFi by voucher and there is a limited mobile signal on some networks.

Wonderful walks and activities in the surrounding areas. Stunning views and sea fishing off the rocks is fantastic for pollock and mackerel.

Plenty to do in the surrounding areas too, lovely coves and beaches, some sheltered, some exposed, but all stunning.

Just a ‘common sense’ reminder that is that it is in the UK. You’re not travelling to the Canary Islands! Don’t plan for wall to wall sunshine every day, it rarely happens in the UK. We’ve just had a full week of lovely warm and sunny days, but it isn’t guaranteed. Plan some activities you can do whatever the weather.

I couldn’t recommend this site highly enough.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Parahandy 12 reviews from this member

A bit of a trek out of Aberdaron, along narrow B road(10mins Drive) but well worth the effort. Friendly staff quiet atmosphere, nice flat sheltered pitches. Some electric hookups and numbered pitches. Clean well maintained Toilet block, hot showers 20p or 50p. Pot washing area. Also Wifi paid by voucher. I visited through the week so there was plenty of space and choice of pitches. Seemed Mostly touring caravans. There's a small cafe on site open through the day.

Note other than the campsite the nearest shop( Spar limited stock0. The Ship Hotels nice for a drink or food, Fish and Chip Shops/Restaurant and pizza place in Aberdaron.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fruitbat43 1 review from this member

This is the first time at Ty Newydd farm. I must say it will not be the last. !

The friendliness of the owners is second to none, very homely and welcoming with food on site if required.

It has great views of Bardsey Island and the coastal area around Lynn peninsula. Quiet and relaxing but a great base for nearby beaches.

This is a real child friendly and safe.

I've saved the best until last. On a clear night you will witness the most unbelievable stargazing views right on top of your head.

If I could I would give criticism but everything about Ty Newydd Farm is great for a most relaxing break.

Steve Fletcher

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Liz x 1 review from this member

Ty Newydd is a very friendly campsite, it is a family run site and the staff are extremely helpful, they will do anything they can to make your stay more comfortable. The pitches are a good size for any type of unit and the site is friendly to well behaved dogs and their owners, it is safe for children, you can also have the choice of a hook up or none. The showers are fantastic and the toilet block is always clean and well kept. The site is situated close to the local village of Aberdaron and is perfectly positioned for local walks and beaches.

We started coming here a few years ago after a very upsetting experience at another local campsite, the welcome we were given then, and the experiences we have had since will keep us coming back for many more years to come.

Thank you everyone at Ty Newydd.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rosietoo 5 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site and we were not disappointed. It is in a beautiful area with views of Bardsey Island just a short distance away off the headland and lots of opportunities for walking without the need to take the car.

The pitches are a good size and all pretty flat which is quite something in this part of Wales! We don't have young children but it is obvious that this is a family friendly site but there isn't a play area so be prepared and bring something to keep them amused. Well behaved dogs on leads are also welcome.

The shower block is a bit dated but there is always hot water in the washbasins and in the outside pot washing area. The showers are 20p and on a short timer or 50p for a family one but I don't know how long those run for. The owners are lovely, really helpful and good to deal with. The cafe serves good basic fare, freshly cooked to order as well as ice cream and gifts. It's a short drive to Aberdaron with its sandy beaches and eating places but be aware that you may have to book at the pub or hotel if you want to eat at busy times.

The roads are a bit tight so go carefully round corners - especially so if you are towing anything! But most of all, enjoy your time on the Llyn - it's a magical place.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hmb68 1 review from this member

Just returned from a great week at this campsite.

Although the facilities are limited they were always clean and plenty of hot water. The pitches are spacious and level.

Local shops and pubs are highly recommended especially the bakery and fish and chip shop in Aberdaron.

We will be back next year!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nick56 8 reviews from this member

Value for Money Site, I doubt you would find better for the price.

The Camp site is situated about 1. 5 miles past Aberdaron along a narrow road, there are passing areas but you would be wise to watch what is coming towards you, visibility along this road is good.

The camp site is roomy and the pitches are quite big enough, the EHU is a maximum of 6 amps, so you wont be able to use your electric kettle and toaster at the same time.

It has a nice little cafe, the food is good. The owners are friendly, welcoming and they keep the campsite in a lovely clean condition. There are only 2 male sit down loos and 4 urinals and 3 ladies loos, 'a bit of a rush in the AM'. 4 showers two of which take 20p and two taking 50p, the showers were clean and tidy. It is a dog friendly site, but your dog must stay on a lead. You are very close to the tip of the LLen Peninsula, a 15 minute walk away, the views are stunning. There are many little beaches and coves close by, but most will need a little hike to get to them. Aberdaron has a lovely long sandy beach with a few restaurants and gift shops and even a pizza takeaway, if taking your children to the beach do remember that this is the Irish Sea, 'its Cold', however the water is shallow I did note a few hardy people swimming in it. So all in all a very nice long weekend, nice camp in a lovely area, we will be going back at some point in the not too distant future. If bringing your little ones with you, be prepared to bring bats and balls and play with them.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jehpesto 9 reviews from this member

We spent 4 nights at this site at the very end of July and really liked it. We were lucky with the weather, which helps!

The campsite is amazingly flat for this part of the country and there was lots of room in the overflow or new camping field we were on. Nearer the toilet block it was a bit busier (the caravans are here) but still a pretty quiet site. It was a bit of a trek to the loos but we managed.

There is a really good little cafe here and I have to say I was particularly impressed with the cafetiere coffee! We also had the cooked breakfast one day which was great. They sell milk (semi only) and a few baked goods but it is not a shop as such. What was really amazing was the price. £10 per night for a large family tent with 2 adults and 2 teenagers!

The toilets and showers were very clean and well stocked with loo paper. There are either 20p or 50p showers, which is fine. My only comment would be that 2 basins is not enough in the ladies. There are 3 loos, which is barely enough, but there needs to be at least 3 basins too.

Dishwashing was fine too, though there is only one draining board for 2 sinks. But there is another dish sink nearby with draining. And plenty of hot water.

NB. Whist they have obviously extended the number of showers there is no disabled toilet yet despite what the web site says. We only just managed and to be fair the lady owner was very honest that they had meant to get it done for this year but hadn't managed, she says it will be done for next year. There is an accessible shower I think.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KateB1975 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Ty Newydd Farm for 8 nights in July 2012. The day before we arrived there had been torrential downpours in the area and we were worried about what state the camping field would be in - no need to worry, the field was incredibly well drained. Getting to the site involves driving along some narrow country lanes - not a problem but just something to be aware of, particularly if you are towing.

We were greeted by the owner, on arrival and told to basically pitch wherever we liked. The camp site was quiet while we were there - at the peak there were 9 units on our field, plus some occupants on seasonal pitches. However, even if it is busy, the pitches are generous and I don't think you would feel cramped.

Our weather was mixed and we did have a considerable amount of rain but the field only really looked a bit waterlogged one morning and that was after 5 hours of torrential - and I do mean torrential! - rain the previous night.

We paid £10 per night for our pitch, plus a couple of pounds for EHU and £1 for the dog - I thought this was incredibly good value. The facilities were basic but always clean - the showers took 20p pieces but we found that OH needed 40p and I needed 60p for a decent shower including washing my hair etc. However, given that the site was so cheap, I didn't have a problem with this.

We had breakfast at the cafe on the site one day and it was lovely, and good value for money.

The location is beautiful - views of the sea from the field - it can get a little windy but it didn't cause us any problems. The site is very quiet, no club house or playground, but loads of room in the middle of the field for children to play.

It is quite a long walk to the village, I would say really that other than walking the coastal path you need to drive to get anywhere. This didn't bother us but it is something to think about. Aberdaron is a tiny village - there is a Spar and another shop, but these are expensive and not particularly well stocked, so I would advise stocking up elsewhere before heading back to the campsite. We ate in one of the pubs, The Ship, a couple of times and it was lovely. Excellent food, a warm welcome, and dogs were welcome in the bar area. We didn't get such a warm welcome at the other pub in the village, so they didn't get our custom!

The beach at Aberdaron is lovely, and there is both a dog free area and a large area where dogs are allowed. There are lots of lovely places to visit in the area, but just be aware that Aberdaron is at least a 20 minute drive from Abersoch and 30 minutes from Pwllheli - again, this didn't bother us but it wouldn't suit everyone.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at Ty Newydd and would definitely return. It is a reasonably basic site which offers clean facilities, incredible value for money and a quiet, relaxing holiday. Would we visit again? Without a doubt :-)

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Keithydee 21 reviews from this member

The access is via a country lane in a quiet area of the Lleyn peninsula. On arrival we had a warm welcome by the staff, the pitches were adequate in size and level and for the pitch and EHU it was £12 per night, good value. There are two shower blocks (we used the new block 50p a go)which were kept clean in the main and there seems to be lots of return visitors here.

The site could do with a kids area perhaps.

Downside? well, a few chavs turned up and we heard arguments, threats and swearing between these on one night across the field, they should have been thrown off but were not. This could've happened anywhere on any site as unfortunately that's some people for you,

The site was fine but would probably try another the next time as there are loads in the area.

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3777 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1055