Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newgale Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Newgale Campsite > Reviews

Newgale Campsite
Wood Hill
Newgale
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6AS
Tel: 07539 906611
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 15/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Maureen1 5 reviews from this member

 Site is mainly surfers but everyone very friendly.

If it's been raining the lower field gets very waterlogged so go higher.

If you don't have a dog go on the hill and you'll get a sea view.

Staff lent us tent pegs and we were also able to use parts from broken and abandoned tents to repair ours which was blown flat, ripped and poles broken by wind on third night.

Adjoining pub has lots of live music.

On site surfing school was great. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Frenchcamper 8 reviews from this member

 Not our sort of campsite. We went on a booked rally, but was not impressed. This is really a beach bum type of campsite where the main aim is pitch up and spend a few days trying to surf.

This is little more than a grass field across the road from the beach.

I would not recommend this site unless you want to surf.

Facilities could not be more basic.

Location is poor for anything else. I cannot understand how the ratings are so high. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Birdsr 7 reviews from this member

 Great location, just over the road from a gorgeous beach.

Friendly vibe on site.

Facilities cleaned regularly and immaculate.

Local bus handy for getting home after a long walk. Lots of dogs too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TrippLoso 8 reviews from this member

 Probably the coolest campsite in the UK. Across the road from Newgale Beach.

Facilities are reasonably good. Take lots of 20p's for the shower.

Great star gazing on clear nights. 20 minutes from Haverfordwest for the supermarket.

A reasonable crowd on August bank holiday, no real late night noise issues.

You can have fire pits (they hire them out).

I highly recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 We really loved this site.

It's right by the beach, though as others have said you8 have to climb a shingle protection bank to reach it but it really was worth it.

The site is well organised. And, where we were on an EHU pitch, very flat. You could choose to camp on the hill from which there were great views but you would need big chocks. Part of the site allows dogs and the other part is dog free so best check you're in the right part when you check in.

The EHU pitches are in the centre and along the back of the site. They are a good size and separated by low hedges/vegetation. For non EHU you can set up anywhere there is a space allowing groups to camp together. The site was quiet at night.

The facilities were modern and clean and the site staff worked hard to keep them clean. They were also well lit and warm which was very welcome.

There was a food van on site near the entrance selling burgers, coffee etc as well as breakfast baps. The Duke of Edinburgh pub has had some bad reviews recently but when we went it had just had a change of management and the service was excellent. The food was good and very plentiful.

Apart from the campsite and pub there is a cafe selling sandwiches etc and a surf shop that offers lessons. The bus to St Davids and Haverford West stops outside the cafe and runs quite regularly.

We really loved this site and are planning a return soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Siebellis 24 reviews from this member

 Located near the beach. Booked as I expected a see view, not to be:-( due to a large banking of pebbles ( sea defence).

Toilets really good, really warm for when you've been on the beach. A trailer serving pizza on site. Can be a bit breezy, most awnings disassembled themselves so we couldn't put ours up.

Some of the site a bit soft if the weather is wet.

Would I go again? Probably not. Well not until my wife allows me to buy a kayak anyway. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Nicola 1 review from this member

 To start it was busy as BH weekend but was totally gutted when I first arrived on the chaos of how many campers were crammed in to the field.

The ground was so soft I was worried I would get my MH stuck. No organisation on where to pitch up. Advised you couldn't book and they ever turn people away, they turned people away.

Gutted they charged adult price for my 13 year old and thought it was expensive for non ehu.

Once settled we were very happy and the beach is amazing, outstanding sunsets and waves to die for.

The Duke of Edinburgh pub does lovely meals and would recommend staying there for less than half the price. £10per night.

Toilet facilities on site well looked after but shame they close the whole toilets daily to clean.

Recycling man very cheerful and helpful. Dont forget to recycle. Would return 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Ian29 9 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as part of a tour around the south west corner of Wales. I can honestly say I was knocked back by the view of the sea as I approached the site.

The site owner Mike was very helpful and makes you feel welcome. The site was rammed but we were fine as we had pre booked a pitch with EHU and these are clearly marked.

Looking across the site the non electric pitches looked chaotic but WOW! What an atmosphere, so friendly it took me back to the 60s. Site facilities are a little tired but to be fair they’re kept very clean.

The beach is reached by crossing a pebble bank which I would imagine is for defence and what a beach, beautiful and clean.

There is a pub adjacent to the site ‘The Duke of Edinburgh Inn’ which serves good food and there are vans serving pizza and Mexican food on site.

I definitely recommend this site as long as you don’t expect a C&MH type site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tumbletent 4 reviews from this member

 Newgale is a cracking site! We camped with two other families and the kids loved it, though they wished there was a playground area. Even though the 2018 heatwave was paused while we were there, replaced by wind, mist and the odd shower, we all still had a great time.

The massive beach is a very short walk, and we had some great waves to play in. There were two very nice cafes within easy walking distance and a pub with very decent grub (including veggie) on the edge of the site. The site facilities were fine with a good number of loos and showers (£1 for 10 mins).

The new owner (Mike?) was very helpful, charging phones in his van, and approving of us having an off-the-ground fire, even though the 'rules' say no fires - I think they were the previous owners' rules.

Most of the site is flat, but if you don't mind sleeping on a slope, there is a hill available which would provide lovely sea views. All in all, we thought the site was great and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2018  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ratty 317 reviews from this member

 A cracking campsite located just yards from Newgale Beach.

We phoned to enquire and was told to turn up, pay on arrival and find our pitch, so we did just that. The drive in is stunning with great views of the campsite and the beach and the site is very easy to find. We arrived and were charged £10 for me, the dog and the campervan. I also purchased a shower token for 50p. Owner is very friendly and happy to chat and answer any questions.

The site is split into three areas, electric hookups, dog field and non hook up field. We of course went in the dog field and there was plenty of space. Dog of course must be kept on the lead and we were informed of this and duly obeyed, and brilliantly the site owner enforced this as people both sides of us decided not to follow the rule and their dogs were running around and winding ours up, however he came over and asked them to put them on leads, and that solved the problem for the rest of the stay.

There is a toilet and shower block which also houses the chemical disposal point, fresh water and the bins. The toilet block had three urinals, four toilets and four shower cubicles. This block was extremely clean and well looked after and always fully stocked. The showers required the token and the slots are just outside of the cubicles and you get around 5 minutes and they were really nice, a power shower with temp control and shower head control. The also have a seat and a couple of hooks. There is washing up facilities, a freezer, laundry room and tourist info spot behind the facilities block. There is also disabled facilities which is key access only.

They offer free wifi, however the signal is not great, but it is usable for a bit of surfing to find the next campsite, or check your emails.

Newgale beach is simply stunning when the tide is out and stretches for miles and is dog friendly too. There are loads of caves to explore and rock pools too. The waves can be quite big making this a great beach to surf, body board, etc, and there is a place next door offing lessons and equipment hire if you want to surf, kayak, etc.

There is no playground on site, but you don't need one what with the open spaces and the beach across the road. All the children I saw here were happy playing in the fields or on the beach.

The coast path runs both ways either side of the beach and offers miles of great walking with stunning scenery.

There is a pub next door that is open all day, every day, and they do food too. The range of drinks was good and the menu was varied and reasonably priced. I opted for chicken and the dish was simply huge, too much for me to finish, but it was delicious.

If you forget any supplies there is a small store in Solva, about 2 miles away, and they sold most things, not the cheapest but fulfils your needs.

The owner told us he had only had the site for a few weeks and was making improvements every day and one of those improvements is a mobile shop, so that will be handy if that happens.

This is a great site, nice and relaxed and for £10 for the night you simply cannot go wrong. A site I will return to when in the area again as it ticks all the boxes for me. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Newgale Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newgale Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Newgale Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haverfordwest      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2448 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement