Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fallbarrow Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Fallbarrow Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
Rayrigg Road
(lake District)
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3DL
Tel: 0843 290 2857
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/03 To 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

Photos (9)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swapeman 13 reviews from this member

This site had been highly recommended to us some time ago and we were not disappointed. Fallbarrow is extremely well run, the staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the local area well worth future visits. The site is easy to find, well signposted, even though it is in the middle of the town. The local public transport is amazing, with buses every few miuntes to most of the surrounding attractions. The facilities are excellent - altogether a very pleasant experience and one we are keen to repeat.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Demmo 16 reviews from this member

We have camped here before without any problems and have always enjoyed our stay but our latest visit may be our last. The site as always has good facilities and is great to be so near the Lake and the shops but the people camping around us ruined the stay. Their inability to speak to the person sat next to them without shouting meant we couldn't sit outside and relax without listening to them airing their views on life! This seemed worse because of how close together the camping plots are. We had a flat battery after 3 days and asked at reception for local garage that could put it on charge overnight and they couldn't help us out. We called in at Rayrigg motors next door and they couldn't have been more helpful, charging it up overnight for us. We got the impression on this visit that once we had paid our money they didn't want to know us. Looking back the price we paid was overpriced for 3 nights camping.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PeteLuc 22 reviews from this member

Used this site as a couple of nights stop over whilst returning home from a tour of Scotland. As we pulled in to get booked in the entrance area had two large statics that were parked waiting to be moved onto site, which meant other than driving off site we had no choice but to block the road for anyone trying to get in or out. Not a good start. Reception was easy to find. After standing in a queue of me for about ten minutes whilst the 1 member of staff saw to a customer, another member of staff who had been moving around the reception asked me if they could help. Instructions of where to go and some guidance as to where things were on the park and off we went to our pitch.

First impressions of the pitches are that they were an afterthought, or someone trying to over maximise the available space. With space for the unit and an awning, there was little room for anything else. Cars park in front on the road which meant manoeuvring was tight. The pitch was a fully serviced hard standing for the van with grass for the awning. Having all facilities at the pitch is a definite bonus. Water and waste, toilet waste and TV point. The pitch itself was completely line with high bushes so you did get a good privacy level. The main toilet and shower block was a little dated, not exactly spotless but was ok. Bins were hidden behind the block and if it hadn't have been for someone pointing them out as I wandered around with rubbish looking I would have ended back up at reception!

The site itself was kept clean and tidy and was well placed to be on the lakeside and only a few minutes walk into the town. There was a kids play area near the main reception and bar. They do serve food but we elected not to bother and to eat in town. A small shop on site with a cafe area seemed to be ok if not a little overpriced. The price of the pitch I think was a little excessive at around £32 for two people per night. I have stopped at many far better sites in just a good a location at £10 less per night, so I do feel that they overcharge. If y want to explore the area and have access to the lake then yes this site ticks those boxes. The town has most facilities you would expect and is obviously catering for watersports with plenty of hire facilities. On the food front, try the Albert which is a few minutes walk into town. We thought the food was excellent and fairly priced with a good selection of drinks available. Leaving the site was as good a customer service issue as arriving. The wife got fed up of waiting to hand the barrier key back after about 7 minutes of being ignored so just simply left the key and walked off.

Would we return? I doubt it which is a shame as the location is great.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Phyll a 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from Fallbarrow after a lovely 4 days in the lake District even with the rain. The campsite is very well maintained and the pitches are very private. It has took us all season to obtain a pitch as they are booked up quickly due to it's excellent location no doubt. The toilet block is in need of upgrading but seems adequate at present, the utility room is big and lots of hot water available, my main moan was the wifi coverage, which was pretty useless at times

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bevie21 4 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights here. Beautiful location and in walking distance of Bowness and Windermere. Handy for us so we didn't have to move the motorhome when going out. We ordered passes for the leisure complex at the time of booking and at that time we were told it was only a mile away. It was actually situated about 3 miles away so rather than move the motorhome we didn't use the passes. We have got bikes but after riding 3 miles you would not feel like any further exercise. We felt the pitches were rather small, with towing vehicles being made to park in front of the caravans, so leaving your pitch wasn't exactly an easy manoeuvre. The touring pitches are level but do feel a bit of an afterthought, with the majority of pitches being statics. We went to the bar one evening and had a meal which quite frankly was disgusting. The bar is dated and the staff, one man, wasn't very welcoming. We barely touched our food and left. My husband used the toilets and showers and said they were ok but tiles were lose and they too are dated.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JOHN G W 18 reviews from this member

Stayed here for six nights at the end of August, we have stayed here twice before and always choose here when visiting the South lakes, we love its location on the edge of the lake and its closeness to the main town, our pitch was very clean and fully serviced, it can be a bit tight getting on & off, the toilets and facilities were clean & well maintained & although the site was full there was no queuing, the reception staff were very friendly & welcoming. The site has everything you could want, there is a nice little shop & Deli on site which also serves coffee & food etc, there is also a nice bar /restaurant which was very nice but did appear a bit under used, but this is not surprising as you are spoilt for choice with the array of places in Bowness, the site is mainly populated by static caravans and lodges, we had our young granddaughter with us who loved the new playpark. The site closes Mid November for tourers, it would be nice if it stayed open for longer as there would definitely be a market for people to visit year round like some other sites with these facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chriscable 38 reviews from this member

Ok good points

It is 2 mins walk from Bowness which is right on Lake Windermere

The dog walk has the best views of any site we have ever visited as it is along the shoreline of the lake

The shop and coffee bar are great and everything is really fresh - fab breakfast

On site bar

The pitches are really private as they have a nice hedge round

Dog friendly

Bad points

Facilities are dark and old and odd lay out - never had a shower that had a toilet in it.

Also very small area in shower no room to swing anything let alone a cat

Second block up near bar but were not told about it - little better

Very pricey £140 for 3 nights

Smallest dog walk we have ever found

Would we go back - definitely because of location which is the best

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Maccaslass 1 review from this member

This was our 2nd visit to Fallbarrow, which we chose for its lakeside location and closeness to Bowness. Its well maintained and very picturesque, the staff work constantly to keep it perfect. All pitches are flat, fully serviced with hard standing for the van, gravel for the awning, a small grassy area and hedges for privacy. The toilet block is a bit dated but perfectly adequate, there is a playground for children, an on site pub, takeaway, café and shop. You have everything needed here, even free Wi-Fi. The best part is the lakeside location, which is ideal for those who like to boat and fish or just sit to look at the lake or feed the ducks. If you want to go fishing take everything you need with you as there is nowhere to buy bait or tackle nearby, also there are no caravan shops close by to get supplies if anything goes wrong with your van. The only downside is that there are only a few touring pitches and weekends are booked up well in advance. The site is dominated by statics and lodges which appear to be underused. The small town of Bowness is a short walk away with its abundance of pubs, restaurants and shops and lots of boat and ferry rides available from the lakefront. Beware of the constant traffic in the daytime, with no crossings its very dangerous, also it gets so packed with day visitors you can hardly move. At night Bowness is not so packed and the roads are much safer.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Tedster 5 reviews from this member

As others have said this site is wonderfully maintained and in a superb location with access directly onto the lake and Bowness on the doorstep.

Have to say though for £35 per night the toilets were a little out of date and there were a fair number of wasps in the men's block both mornings we were there. We waited half an hour for the utility room to be opened past the allocated time and eventually I had to reception as we were late for an appointment as it was. Also the shop was closed early on the second day. When checking out I mentioned these complaints to the receptionist and she was quite defensive and mostly talked about how the shop was shut due to a power cut. No apology. If the campsite weren't so expensive I would not have probably even said anything other than to let them know about the wasps.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lazyleyden 8 reviews from this member

Had a brilliant time here, possibly helped by good weather. And being on the shores of lake windermere £24 p. N. Includes electrics, own water tap and good sized hedge enclosed pitch, hardstanding with grass surround for tables chairs etc.

Kids playground

Toilets perfect, well stocked deli shop, and restaurant/bar

Lovely of a late evening to walk down through site to lake shore

This c/site right in middle of Barrow on Furness with its shops pubs and ferry/cruise boats.

Best for us was fact also 20min bus service on open top bus to windermere, ambleside, and grasmere and all picturesque points inbetween.

And also bus no 555 which goes from kendal to windermere ambleside grasmere and keswick. Such mountain scenery, don't bother with m/home. £7 all day ticket, incl honiston rambler, or seniors bus pass. Will definitely return

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2906 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!