Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Yellowcraig Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Yellowcraig Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Dirleton
North Berwick
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH39 5DS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 136
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Delzer 7 reviews from this member

Passed this site last year while we were in area but travellers were camping near by which put us off. Glad we changed our mind and came this year. Brilliant site and a dogs paradise.

Massive dog walk just off site with numerous doggy bins. Dogs have to be kept on lead on this walk and I can understand why as there are a lot of wildlife.

Woods just across the road and the massive beach plus s shower where you can wash the sand off yourself and your 4 legged friend. Like the way the site is laid out and you just choose where you would like to go and then just go to reception and tell them where you are.

Facilities are spotless and nice and warm. Good information hut and travel timetables if need. Small selection of essential food at reception also.

Lovely ice cream/coffee shop in village highly recommend it. Lovely walk if weather nice. Play park and den on site but also play area in the woods opposite site.

We were advised that if we donít want to be disturbed by child running about donít go between end of June to August.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VenessaR 8 reviews from this member

My most visited site. Perfect for dogs, although maybe more suited to my Labrador than my mini spaniels, as they tend to disappear in the sand dunes!

Yellowcraig is a hidden gem on the East Lothian coast. A bit of effort to walk through the dunes rewarded by the best beach I've ever been on.

Campsite is nicely split by large hedges, so many pitches feel very private.

Immaculate like all CMC sites

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 41 reviews from this member

The bad thing about Yellowcraig is not its location, but getting there along a series of 'long and winding roads'. It was also the first time I visited a site where dogs appeared to outnumber the campers!

Other than that, it is a popular large site with a well kept mix of hardstanding and grass pitches in a number of varying sized areas. The facilities block is large and spotlessly clean - the standard that you come to expect of CAMC sites. Unfortunately, because of the size of the site, some pitches are quite a walk away. There may well be a case for a second toilet block.

There is a reasonable beach a few minutes walk from the site, and a good variety of wildlife in the immediate area. For anything else, there is a well signposted walk along the coast and a number of good museums within a short drive away.

A good site for a short stay, but either the Edinburgh or Berwick on Tweed offer more scope for easy sightseeing.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Artel 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site for a week in early May and were quite fortunate to have good weather for the majority of our stay. The site is a mixture of grass and hard standing with a lot of the pitches arranged in small groups separated by trees or bushes which does seem to give the impression of it being a smaller site than it is.

Only the one toilet block but plenty of water and waste points around. WiFi is only available in the area of reception if anyone needs it.

The site is only a few minutes drive off the A198 and is handy for the town of North Berwick and also the smaller towns/villages of Gullane, Dirleton and Aberlady. The nearest supermarket for shopping would be Tesco at North Berwick.

The site has its own dog walk just outside the gate on the right but a ten minute walk takes you to the beach where you literally have miles of walking. Also woodland and dune areas for walking as well.

There is a small play area which would best suit younger children.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chappies43 27 reviews from this member

On arrival we thought 'Oh no, what have we come to?' as Yellowcraig seemed remote, too out of the way and it has a very curious layout. A cool sea fret also didn't help with first impressions either and this was present every morning but burned off by lunchtime.

Be warned when you are looking for a pitch, some of the roads are dead-ends and this is very disconcerting when you need to turn around with a caravan on tow - study your site map very carefully! Also, very unusually, some of the pitches are sideways and the markers did not make it clear at all where you needed to line the caravan up, nor were we told about this on check in.

We followed what the 2 caravans in front had done and pitched with the marker by the front corner (by the way, we could not possibly got on this pitch without the motor mover) and got level, legs down etc and were starting to put the awning up when a warden came over to make sure we were correctly pitched. He told us in no uncertain terms that we had done it wrong and needed to move so the marker was central.

We felt like naughty children and really did not appreciate his tone, especially as we were tired after having travelled for 8 hours. He started to say he had told us on check-in but quickly realised he hadn't when my husband reminded him of their conversation.

I begged him to let us leave it where it was so he measured the distance between us and the unit behind and allowed us to stay put. This could have been because I pointed out that we would be too close to the 2 in front if we moved forward as he was suggesting.

They had obviously made a mistake in pitching themselves but their awnings were already up so he wasn't about to make them move as they clearly should have been told on arrival too. I've got to admit, the warden did upset me and I felt uncomfortable for the first couple of days whenever I saw him but he did then make an effort to be friendly after that so I forgave him!

Anyway, moan over - now about the site! The facilities are lovely and clean as you would expect from a CAMC site and there is a useful dog shower for washing off the sand from your 4-legged friend.

The area around Yellowcraig is absolutely lovely with a multimillion pound housing estate just minutes away from the site along the coastal path at Archerfields. We spent a lovely day walking from the site to Gullane, home of the Scottish Open at Muirfield, and back.

The beach which is just a few minutes walk away from the site is beautiful and uncrowded with gorgeous walks both ways into North Berwick or Gullane. We sat on the beach one evening to watch the sunset and didn't see a single soul.

We walked to The Castle Inn in Dirleton on another evening and found the staff very friendly and welcoming and it has a very pleasant beer garden which welcomes dogs.

In North Berwick itself there is a super park to exercise your dog and a great ice cream parlour which produces its own ice cream in loads of delicious flavours. We had pizzas and kebabs from the Turkish Kebab House on North Berwick High Street and they were very tasty and we would highly recommend them.

Also in North Berwick is the North Berwick Law which is a dormant volcano but is basically a big hill that you can walk to the top of for breathtaking sea views. There's a Sea Bird Centre too but we only went in the shop there so can't comment on that.

All in all, after a shaky start we found Yellowcraig to be a super site that we would love to return to - don't let first impressions put you off!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 47 reviews from this member

This is a peaceful level site. There are several small areas which are dead ends, so it doesnít feel like a huge open field. The toilet block was clean and tidy.

Easy walk to a great sandy beach, and you can walk all the way to North Berwick along the beach.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravanjojo 3 reviews from this member

Nice site very close to a beautiful sandy bay less than a 10 minute walk away, with its very own island and lighthouse just offshore. Hence a very good site for families.

Pitches well spaced out in clusters of both grass and hardstanding. Small information shed with limited leaflets but more than adequate. Good clean facilities kept to the usual high standards of the Caravan and Motorhome Club.

Liked the idea of a separate utility block housing the disabled bathroom, chemical emptying point and laundry etc. The raised banks which surround some of the caravan clusters have been left to wild flowers which look really pretty and the way the wardens are managing this and the biodiversity of the site is commendable.

A nice place to be and Dirleton village itself is beautiful with its castle and pub overlooking the village green.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Acerrober 2 reviews from this member

Yellowcraig is a lovely park, it's well kept, with excellent facilities, there are great walks for dogs too, with the choice of a wood, dunes or the beach.

The wardens are always friendly and very helpful. This is our favourite site, we have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed.

Just a few miles away is North Berwick, a lovely town, with lots of good eating places and good shops in the Main Street, plus you have a Tesco store and an Aldi Store.

There is no Wifi, hopefully this will come soon.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Podbods 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights. Nice quiet site near to the beach. Unfortunately no sea views.

Toilets were clean and plenty of hot water for showers. Showers are free and there is a hairdryer in the ladies. There is no shop or other amenities close by. Quite a walk into Dirleton to the hotel.

Lots of kids around using the site as a cycle track, don't pitch near the play area unless you don't mind the constant coming and going of children.

The site in general was clean and tidy, even noticed the wardens sweeping and tidying around recently vacated pitches.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rodeoflip 3 reviews from this member

Great location, handy for the beach and the John Muir Way. Easy walk to Gullane or North Berwick, but seems really tucked away.

Lots of hedges or banks means the site never feels too big, and great for kids, lots of places to explore, like 'The Den'. Small playpark on site and a bigger one just outside the site.

The only downside was the distance from the hook-up points to some of the pitches, you need a 25m cable. Ours was 10m, and we struggled to find a pitch we could reach.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1711 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019