Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of White Horse Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > White Horse Holiday Park Reviews

White Horse Holiday Park
Dunston Fen
Metheringham
Lincoln
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN4 3AP
Tel: 01526 397039  or  07784 202843
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 16 Reviews
                6/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barry-721  reviews from this member

 We came here last year for may spring bank

And to be honest it was a huge let down the toilet block wasnt up to much and the managers were not that helpful

We left it to late to book anywhere this spring bank so we gave this site another chance

What a difference new managers Nigel and Fiona couldn`t do enough for you toilet block painted with hanging baskets the site was looking beautiful yes we were on a hard standing but our neighbours were very nice and we have made new friends we are definitely coming back this year

The pub had entertainment on and James and Lou who run the pub were really nice and friendly the food was brillant 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mcdougals 1 review from this member

 When 1st arrived at the site we were not sure what to expect. There was only the sales lady there who is in charge of selling the static caravans. She said that the new wardens were not on site at the moment but she would show us to our plot, this was a concrete base for a static caravan.

The warden did turn up after a couple of hours & explained that they were new to the site & had not had a chance to sort out the cold showers & that the mens toilet was not working so I would have to use the lady's toilet.

Good job that we have a toilet on board our motorhome, because I did not like the idea of using the lady's loo.

What the warders failed to tell me was that when I went to empty the toilet at the chemical disposal point I could not get to it because it was now a store for gas bottles & the outside tap was not working or turned off?

Sorry lady's for using your toilet for chemical waste but had no choice.

Bad points of the site:

All the above

Good points:

Good pub, with good food seved.

Site was quiet

People in the statics seemed nice.

This site does not seriously cater for touring motor homes or caravans. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Andy2 1 review from this member

 I would like to let you all know that as of last year the site has been bought by new owners,

Although mainly static caravans, other plots are allocated for tourers who are very well catered for, the great pub is still the same and still serving great meals and fine ales. Further works are going on to improve this little site, static caravans are still available to rent as well as to buy.

New park managers, friendly and help full,

Although children are welcome I haven't seen many on my numerous recent visits 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jasper9966 1 review from this member

 Visited with our tourer van over August bank holiday weekend. Placed on static concrete bases which we found excellent especially for awning erection, water supply and drain.
Three day traditional beerfest at the adjacent White Horse Inn with live bands was fantastic over the August bank hol.
We were really impressed with the friendliness from the static van permanents, the other tourer people and the tenting guys{and gals}. 5 miles off the main Lincoln road on a backtrack which terminates onto the river witham
Keith and Linda look after the site. They are gems
Got a tent? Keith will sort a spot for you.  


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jim yorkshire 2 reviews from this member

 This site no longer appears to be a touring site. We ended up being pitched on a concrete base that was intended for a large static caravan. Very odd feeling being in the middle of a mobile home park!
 
The only bit of space you could put a tent or caravan is next to the pub and kids play area. This area I would estimate to be about 40 yards by 40 yards. The rest of the site is taken up by static mobile homes which most of the people appear to live in.
 
The toilets were not up to much, very grubby. The shower was a nightmare, freezing cold then with out warning hot enough to scald you. Not what you would expect for 50p a go!.
 
The pub does have some good beers, people in the mobile homes are very friendly.
 
The people who run the site are ok and are very helpful if you need anything.
The site location is very remote and peaceful. Good fishing on the river. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cadmasa1 19 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night stay here in a tent.  In the middle of nowhere, we were convinced we had missed the turn off, but eventually at the end of a single track road you find this site.  First impressions weren't great, mainly static caravans, with building works taking place made it not pleasing on the eye but overall a wonderful place for some peace and quiet.  Facilities adequate, tent area furthest away from the toilets (sorry but this really winds me up) maybe needed a good clean and the light in the ladies not working but generally good.  Pub on site was fantastic.  Well kept real ale and good value home cooked food.  Great area for walking and spotting wild life.  We had a family of hedgehogs that came out to visit us in the evening.  £10 per pitch per night for 2 adults in a medium sized tent.  Would recommend, for those who appreciate simple camping in beautiful surroundings.  People on site really pleasant and helpful too.  


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jules16 1 review from this member

 Very quiet and  friendly location. Used heavily by seasonal caravanners who offered us hot drinks, gave the children chocolate etc etc. Our three children (8,5,4) were kept occupied for two days with the park and lovely walks along the river. Pub serves excellent food booking is essential as they get very busy. Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: June 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fat freddys 3 reviews from this member

 We love this place, slap bang in the middle of nowhere next to the river whitham. Next to a great pub run by friendly Fen folk. A hidden gem this one. Only 10 pitches so you should book. You wont hear any road noise here, just wood pigeons and owls. The facilities were good 7/10  


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Nannapepsi 11 reviews from this member

 A pleasant small, clean site well off the beaten track. More suited to couples or families with very small children as there is limited play facilities (a small play park behind the pub. A nice walk along the Fen bank but this became overgrown after about one mile. Only takes a dozen tourers. 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Mikew 15 reviews from this member

 Site is quiet. Unless like us you are pitched next to the Beer Garden of the pub. Children squealing for what seemed like hours on a very pleasant and warm Saturday evening. Probably lesser of two evils as they were all from the site and came from very large tents in the "official" campimg area.

Surprised to be asked for a £5 deposit for toilet keys, why not use keypad locks? Showers 50p I thought this a bit steep for the 4 minutes or so. How ever a walk along the river bank in the early evening you can see Barn Owls hunting. Will possibly return at a quieter time amybe mid week during school time.
 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is White Horse Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to White Horse Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is White Horse Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lincoln      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7546 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement