Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Mountain Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llangadog > Black Mountain Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Black Mountain Caravan And Camping Park
Llanddeusant
Llangadog
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA19 9YG
Tel: 01550 740217
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 28 Reviews
                7/10 from 28 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   No Bar   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kev43 1 review from this member

Lovely little site with facilities for Caravans and Tents. My wife and I stayed there last week in a Tent with EHU. The facilities were very good.

Toilets and showers were very clean while we were there. There is a nice 40 minute walk to Hay on Wye direct from the campsite. Note there is no shop on site.

It is not the quietest site due to the road noise but that did not really bother us. What did was a fellow tent camper who had his TV on very loud until way after midnight. Very inconsiderate. Fortunately the site owner sorted that out the next day and we had no more issues.

Speaking of the owner (James), he was very helpful in describing the walks from the campsite and the local pubs.

Recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tubby2 20 reviews from this member

This campsite has two areas on either side of a very quite road next to the Red Kite birds of prey feeding station. We saw loads of them in one evening. The facilities are adequate and basic with 50p coin showers. The view from the field camping area is beautiful of the mountains. In the other area are mobile homes as well as spaces for caravans and campervans and more tents. No pub. This is a very quite area. Well maintained grounds for camping.

Owner had no problem in leaving car on site whilst we went off for a few days, small fee.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulc5545 2 reviews from this member

We have used this site for nearly 5 years now, coming every year with a DofE group practicing for their Gold award.

The facilities are basic, but exactly what we are looking for. The toilet block has showers (needing 50p's) and adequate facilities, and there is a washing and drying machine in th enext room (although we do not use this at all).

There is no shop, so arrive self sufficient. Coming that time of year, the field is usually quiet with perhaps one or two other small groups there as well. As previously mentioned, it is a shame the pub has gone although the cafe is very good.

However we are usually still on the hill when it shuts, and are long gone before it opens so do not often get the chance to visit it.

The site is excellent for access to the Black Mountain and area and for the Red Kite Feeding Station next door if you are there at the right time of day (again we never are).

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahthesheep 3 reviews from this member

We have been coming to this site for years for the fantastic views and peaceful location. It is a site where you can lie in your tent and look straight out towards iconic Brecon Beacons ridgelines. Great for walking, exploring the local area and bird watching - plenty of red kites to be spotted. Facilities are basic and sadly the pub opposite has closed. Still remains one of our favourite locations though!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mcaulsc 1 review from this member

Great little site, basic but perfect for us. Nearly, the pub that was there has been turned into a licensed coffee shop that closes at 5pm! No more evenings by a roaring log fire with a pint.

Had camping field to ourselves again with the excellent views towards the mountains. Really good site for some walking on the Black Mountain.

Shower and toilet block is basic but adequate, 50 pence needed for the showers, (also the washing machine.Dryer if you use it).

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Dewin 2 reviews from this member

If you don't like remote location's & need the usual facilities provided by larger parks then this site is not for you. We on the other hand loved it for these very same reasons!

A small well kept park, clean & tidy vans with plenty of space between them. Prices were in my opinion spot on for what you got. Clothes washing facilities were available, though a tad expensive. There are no play facilities for children.

The field where the statics are is not too big and we were comfortable with letting our children (age 2, 4 and 10) play around our static. Resident static owners were very friendly.

Only downside to this location is that there is NO mobile phone/broadband signal and TV signal reception was often poor despite a digital aerial being fitted to the van. Although it means you do get a holiday with no interruptions! I think that if the owners provided WiFi it would be great (Hint, Hint). And secondly most supermarket's/ local shop's are a fair distance away but the drive to them is worth it.

Q: Would I return to the park?. Definitely would.

The area itself is simply gorgeous, fantastic scenery, many attractions/castle's etc. To visit and is quite simply an amazing place to holiday at. A walk around the town of Brecon is highly recommended, there's a good Chinese takeaway in Llandovery. Nearby Ammanford has most shops that people will need to visit for supplies.

We covered some distance trying to cram everything in, and realised that a week's stay was not long enough for this area.

There are LOT'S of small single track roads around the site & in the surrounding area so careful navigation is needed. Or else you'll end up in the middle of someone's farm!

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Tim Hallam 1 review from this member

A great location with access to walking, caving etc. Dan-Y-Ogof showcave only 20 minutes drive away across the beautiful moors (one of the most dramatic drives for views I know).

Lovely pub serving great food on the edge of the site.

Very reasonable prices and very comfortable vans, just need to remember to bring your own bedding and towels - which you probably would anyway!

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mandz 2 reviews from this member

Really welcoming campsite. We had booked a static for 3 nights and expected it to be cold as it was November, and it was FREEZING!. Caravan was very well equipped with lots of heaters. Some of the other caravans had their water frozen due to weather, but we were lucky and all ok. Brilliant views of the Red Kites with the feeding station practically next door. The pub as recommended by others had unfortunately closed down. We would definitely return,when warmer.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Worthingtonfamily 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a three night stay here. The weather was awful but we had a lovely time just getting away.

The site is quite remote. There is no local shop so be prepared. You really need a car to investigate the beautiful area. The pub on the corner was very welcoming and the food was delicious.

The statics vary in size and spec. The static we stayed in was clean and in good order apart from the flimsy windows which were VERY drafty (but the weather at the time was particularly cold, wet and windy). My parents were also on the site and their static had much better windows but, unlike us, they had no microwave. My sister was also on site with her family and their static was not as updated as ours and smelt a little musty but was fine apart from that.

If you have young children I would recommend taking socket covers with you as there are some toddler-height sockets, very accessible, especially in the bedrooms. I did like the plastic coating on the mattresses in the single bedrooms as I thought that was very hygenic.

The statics were not too close. There was plenty of space between them. The field where the statics are is not overly big and I had no hesitation in letting my three older children (age 7, 5 and 4) play behind our static or visit their grandparent's or aunt's static. The site felt safe and secure.

And yes, the red kites are spectacular.

The prices were very reasonable. I loved the site and the area and I would have no hesitation in visiting this site again.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Suzyg81 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a fantastic three night break in a static caravan at the Black Mountain campsite. We enjoyed every aspect of our holiday, from the spacious, clean and warm caravan, to the amazing scenary and the welcoming Cross Inn pub (where we actually enjoyed watching England lose the rugby world cup due to the local banter!) There are lots of things to see and do in the area, we really enjoyed exploring the mountains, visiting the red kite feeding station, and enjoying one of the coldest but most memorable days of our lives 'wet gorging' at the Black Mountain activity centre (40 mins drive from the campsite). We would recommend this as a holiday for anyone who enjoys life.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3571 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019