Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flusco Wood Holiday Lodges

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Flusco Wood Holiday Lodges
Flusco
(lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0JB
Tel: 01768 480020
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Lodges Only Now
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shal5633 6 reviews from this member

Just had 9 days holiday at this fantastic site. This was our first visit to Flusco but it won't be our last. We were made very welcome by the lovely lady warden who was kind enough to loan us her cool box for the week as we had forgotten ours. The views from the site over the mountains were amazing, perfect dog walking on site(always a bonus)wild life everywhere. The toilets and showers were pristine, always lovely and hot. The site is just a few miles from Penrith and close to lakes. Shop on site sells basics and small children's play area and picnic area.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phishing 19 reviews from this member

Really nice site. Access is barrier controlled with code and is very easy access from wide road 2 min from A66. Location is ideal for north lakes touring. Pitches are big enough for van and awning and we used the fully service pitch which was ideal. The touring pitches are laid out in very generous circles with about 8 vans per section, well spaced and very easy access to turn and park the van. Facilities were very high spec and spotless, toilets, showers, wet room with disabled facilities, etc. The site is lodge, seasonal and touring. Open areas were very nice with huge landscaped and wooded area for dog walking. Nice views, friendly reception and shop, warden on site. This is a very good site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 175 reviews from this member

We liked - friendly booking process and welcome; excellent extensive off-lead dog run with cracking views to the Lake District hills. Roomy new toilet block, and recycling facilities. We were allocated a double hardstanding with its own standpipe, as the site was almost empty of tourers (site about 3/4 full of largely unoccupied seasonal caravans: a bit spooky!). Convenient for Penrith and Hutton-in-the-Forest (for Potfest and open-air plays). Pretty villages with pretty village pubs all around.

We disliked - all the signs: I have never been to a site with so many! from the unnecessary 'pick up your dog litter' to the downright bizarre 'do not use the showers to wash your dog'. My husband reported that the signs in the gents' shower had been defaced - maybe others were equally exasperated. The shower is powerful but the pulse button delivers the hot water in 10 second bursts. Relatively expensive (about 22 pn with EHU) and you have to pay a deposit on booking. And those glorious views from the pitches are now being blocked by massive lodges. I was unable to tune out the persistant loud constant whine from the 'works' across the road (landfill site, recycling depot etc) - these are not visible from most of the site, but something happens there which is very audible and the main reason that I would not wish to return as it was louder than my tinnitus and just as irritating.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DONNYDISCO 6 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site, extremely pleasant and helpful wardens, pity we weren't there in the summer months!

Comes highly recommended for short or long stay.

Marvellous views from the extensive dog walk area.

Nice little shop on site for those 'oops forgot to bring one of those' items. Pitch choice was a bit limited due to seasonal 'vans taking up a lot of pitches, but had a choice of three, so decided on one which was sheltered by the trees, good job, because, due to the location, it can get a little breezy, very quiet when we stayed.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DogsandCo 18 reviews from this member

Handy site for stopover as only about ten minutes from the Penrith junction of the M6 but at the same time a quiet, spacious site with lovely views to the west and decent facilities.

Yes, a lot of pitches were occupied by seasonal caravans but we were given a perfectly friendly welcome and a choice of several different pitches (even though we were only staying one night). And considering this was a Saturday I was pleasantly surprised by how peaceful the site was.

The site is spread over a large area so although there are cabins these don't particularly detract from the caravan area. I got the impression building work had ground to a halt when we were there. Loads of space to walk the dog. I certainly preferred this site to the CC site at Troutbeck Head nearby. It is a bit expensive - we paid 21.50 a night, 2 adults and 1 dog.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy3 1 review from this member

This is a very peaceful campsite, mainly occupied by caravans staying for the whole season rather than the usual hub bub of touring caravans. We were given a spot right near the toilet block, which was immaculately clean, and thank fully not all that busy. We had a bit a difficulty reversing up into the hard standing pitch, lots of clutch burning smells. Once pitched up, the electric hock up and water tap were just by the caravan, very handy. Definitely one of the nicest sites we have stayed at, David Bellamy visited during our stay, this was quite exiting. Reckon the wildlife can really flourish here as there was very little noise or activity.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PGNew 3 reviews from this member

Not overly impressed. Clean yes but got the feeling that touring caravans were not welcome. The newish area for tourers had incredibly small pitches and the hard standing material appeared to be road planings and difficult even with heavy duty steel pegs (glad I take a 2.5lb lump hammer) Good views and sunsets, but expensive.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ricky69 3 reviews from this member

We spent 3 nights here. The weather was awful, but the site was great.

The wardens couldn't be more helpful.

The site is accessed by a security coded barrier which is a falling bollard. At night short posts are installed that narrow the road which should prevent any caravans being removed.

The pitches themselves are all on gravel with individual taps and drains, so mains kits are useful. You might need steel pegs for your awning, but we never bothered to put ours up.

The shower block also has a laundry area,payphone, boot wash area, and drying room.

The washing machine costs 2.50 per wash, the dryer is 50p for 10 mins, about 2 to dry a full load.

The shower block was immaculate and vey clean. The showers had great pressure and were hot!

There was a small play area for kids.

There is an area earmarked for future development, more log cabins.

The dog walking area goes past the log cabins and through a grassy area, where there are some benches with stone wall wind breaks that have some fantastic views.

The site is easy to get to from the A66 and Penrith is not too far away for facilities. The big supermarket there is Morrisons which also has petrol.

We would definitely visit this site again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a base to visit the Lakes.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Miss baritone 11 reviews from this member

We spent 5 pleasant days here. The site was ok, the shower block was clean and well maintained and the wardens were very friendly. The stop on site was only open limited hours but we were told on arrival if we needed something and the shop was closed just knock the door of the wardens house and they would open up for us.

On the downside log cabins were being built while we were there so it did spoil the site a bit but once finished they should look very attractive. We were also disappointed we couldn't put the awning up on our new van as we only had plastic pegs and they wouldn't go into the shale hardstanding

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WRR1 1 review from this member

Just spent a great week at Flusco Wood. Greeted by very pleasant and extremely helpful Wardens who found us a great pitch with fantastic views towards Blencathra.

Site was peaceful and well maintained, all facilities excellent and spotlessly clean. Site really well laid out and great dog walk for our couple of lively terriers. Site shop had everything required of a shop site!

A wonderful find and we'll be back next year all being well!

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019