Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Magor Farm Caravan & Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Magor Farm Caravan & Campsite
Tehidy
Camborne
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR14 0JF
Tel: 01209 713367
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Easter To The End Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FraFra 4 reviews from this member

This is a very sheltered, spacious, peaceful campsite just a short drive from 'civilisation'. It's great to be woken up by the birds in Tehidy Woods.

Facilities are basic, which I'm fine with, but they could do with some more upkeep, for example getting the lighting sorted in the toilets so you're not going to the loo in the dark (even during the day time). The showers are free to use and have plenty of hot water with good pressure. Again, a bit of upkeep would be good, to fix the hooks in the showers where they've gone missing, etc.

The owner and warden are lovely, possibly the friendliest we've ever come across.

There is plenty of room, which is ideal for large family groups like us. Unfortunately we were unlucky with the weather and our end of the field got sodden.

To freeze ice blocks you have to take them up to the farmhouse a 5-10 minute walk up the lane. This isn't a major issue, there is always someone friendly there to answer the door and the freezer works well (unlike at some campsites where nothing ever freezes properly because of the door being opened so often). However, it would be just that bit easier if it was on-site.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Juliarm 4 reviews from this member

Basic campsite in sheltered location which was fine by us, however there are no wardens on site. When we arrived at first it was very quiet. During the latter half of our stay one group arrived that played loud music from early evening till late at night. The day following their arrival we mentioned this to the site owners and asked them to have a word with the group. We mentioned this again following a second noisy night, during which I got up and asked the group to be quiet. Nothing was done by the owners and the music continued every night until the end of our stay. So if you want a site that enforces a quiet / no noise rule then this is not it. We got the impression the owners weren't bothered as we had already paid up front.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

Just spent the weekend here at drop of a hat, last minute get away for us to visit family close by. This site suited us perfectly. I explained we were setting off from yorkshire and expect it to be 10 - 14 hour drive so could not gaurantee an arrival time, this was not a problem I was told over the phone about the site and that the owner would see us over the weekend at some point. I did explain that we were going to be in and out of the site often but didn't want to appear that we were avoiding him to pay up, its ok was the response.

The site is down a fairly narrow lane but the traffic is nearly non existent so its not a worry, how ever, the blue pin on the map is slightly out, scroll left along the road until you see the sharp bend with the river/stream. The site is right on the corner with a board on the entrance you cannot miss it, we backed upto the stream on site. We paid £17 per night which we thought was on the money for the site. Electric never tripped out toilets we clean how ever there are a few cobwebs, shower was nice and hot for me and there is a small play area for the kids. We had the site to ourselves and it was great, if it was full I cannot see any problems with the site as it is large enough to cope and has plenty of toilets and showers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helenkt 1 review from this member

I found this site by using the ukcampsite website. Had a quick nosey on the website and thought it sounded OK so thought I'd risk a booking due to the pricing and it being quite cheap but I need not have worried. Gave them a call to reserve a pitch for a full week and was set. Got to the site to find the farmer on site in his tractor to be told I could pitch up anywhere apart from on the left near the shower/toilet blocks as they were the hook ups. The field was HUGE and we chose an area in the corner by the fencing (we probably didn't even need to book at there was so much field). Later that evening the site warden came around asked us to fill in a form and he could sort payment then or the next day. The site has 2 adequate male and female shower/toilet blocks plus a room with 3 sinks to wash up. 1 women's shower/toilet block also has 2 plug sockets. There are also 4 swings and a seesaw for the kiddies to play with, the farmer also gave my son 2 cones to play with to use as football nets. It's situated right on the edge of Tehidy Country Park too. We really liked the site as it was friendly, clean and very relaxed. The site did get busy at times through the week but as there is so much space it didn't feel crowded. The farmer and site warden visit the site many times everyday and are very friendly and approachable. I would also say it's a great base for visiting places such as St Ives, Lands End, Penzance etc. The local areas aren't too far either (Redruth, Camborne and Hayle) and all have supermarkets and petrol stations.

Overall we really liked the site and it's facilities and if a trip to southern Cornwall was on the agenda again we would definitely stay here! Can't fault it!

May I add that the showers are amazing! Great force and plenty of water comes out of them! They are like swimming bath showers where you push a button to keep them going but that's not a bother when they are not a trickle shower. I want 1 for home!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sixmum 1 review from this member

A lovely camping haven on the edge of Tehidy Woods. The camp has 2 toilet/shower blocks with plenty of free hot water, a washing up area with large sinks and an Elsan point. There are 10 electric pitches. The site is well run and is visited regularly by the warden. There is a seesaw and swings to keep little ones entertained. The site is very basic, but ideal for getting out and about walking through the woodland and feeding the squirrels, swans, ducks etc.

A couple of miles away you will find Tesco extra, B & M's, a Market with car boots at weekend. The town centre is only a couple of miles in the opposite direction. You are only perhaps a mile and half from the sea.

The prices are very good.

This makes a brilliant base for going to Lands End, Flambards, Penzance, Cape Cornwall (the most Westerly point of England), The Lizard (the most southerly point of the UK). Truro with the cathedral with 3 spires and much much more. Botallack (crown mines), St Ives, Newlyn (fishing village), Mousehole, St Buryan church (largest peel of 6 in the world), Gwithian, Falmouth, Hayle (Golden sands), Portreath the opportunities are endless.

We are returning soon and will be going on a regular basis.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TandB 8 reviews from this member

This was our second visit, fortunately kinder weather than 2012 when we were nearly blown/washed away. This is a lovely site, plenty of space, good enough facilities and close to the coast and major towns for shopping. The stars were beautiful!If you are looking for a fantastic value for money place this is it, only £12 a night for August.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chalkey 1 review from this member

We visited this site again for the fourth consecutive year and again the weather was wonderful. The setting, facilities and cost all prove to be great inducements. The coastal path is an easy walk from the site which gives wonderful views at any time of the day but offers wonderful evening sunsets. The site is quiet well maintained and regularly monitored by the owner who is a real character. I am already looking forward to next year’s visit. Regards, Graham W.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emy-21 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the beginning of June. The campsite is lovely, clean and plenty of space. The toilet blocks were clean and very user friendly. The prices very reasonable for a peaceful stay tucked away in the countryside! We definitely would have stayed longer if it weren't for the unpredictable British weather, we will definitely be returning again and would recommend to a friend!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennyingall 2 reviews from this member

We visited this lovely little site on the August bank holiday weekend & spent 3 nights there altogether. It was just what we were looking for, clean, basic facilities, quiet nights & lovely surroundings.

Our sat nav took us on a roundabout route joining the A30 each time we went anywhere, but a good tip for visiting beaches like Gwithian & lovely views, would be to use an ordinary map, turn right as you exit the site & go on the little 'undigitalised' road to the coast road. This avoids congestion on the busy A30 at peak holiday times & takes only minutes to get to Gwithian etc:-

The owner was really nice, friendly & helpful & there was plenty of choice where to pitch our tent, with the families or the surfers or in the little secluded field where we went.

I've scored 10 out of 10 for the site facilities because although they were basic, they were exactly what's advertised. I think an improvement would be a microwave & kettle so oldies like us don't have to take all the cooking parerphinalia & could make a cup of coffee & hot water bottle, but that's just a minor detail.

All in all a great site & excellent location & base to explore Cornwall from.

A little gem & affordable too!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lexiec 13 reviews from this member

We had a brilliant 3 night stay at Magor Farm. We drove through the gate to the second field where we had masses of space. It was a bit of a walk for the toilets, showers and washing up, but there were only about four other families in that field while we were there so it was really quiet and private. It was busier closer to the facilities, where the electric hook ups are, but each unit had plenty of space and of course, it was more sociable. There were no problems with noise - it all went very quiet once it was dark.

There were loads of showers and toilets. As others have said, these are quite basic, but we they were cleaned regularly and there was plenty of loo roll and hand soap. The showers were piping hot and the ones I used worked for a long time each time you pressed the button. We never had to queue for washing up, although it was peak season and there were only a few sinks.

The woods behind the campsite are lovely and peaceful at this end, away from Tehidy Country Park. It was a bit of a scramble up from the campsite itself, but not far to bike or walk round to the proper entrance.

We went to Gwithian beach, but preferred Godrevy which had a lovely cafe in the car park.

The wardens of Magor Farm were really friendly and visited several times a day to take payments, answer any questions and give advice, or simply to have a chat!

We would definitely like to stay here again and have more time to explore the area.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3174 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019