Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sunelia L Atlantique

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Fouesnant > Sunelia L Atlantique Reviews

Sunelia L Atlantique
Kerbader Rte De Mousterlin
Bp 11
Fouesnant
Brittany   (Browse area)
29170
Tel: 00 33 2 98 56 14 44
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 432
Open: 20th Of April To 8th Of September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Allybongo1969 4 reviews from this member

First time abroad in a van and it was a fantastic adventure. If things could go wrong it did - hydraulics failure in Devon, and my son having a half inch piece of glass in his foot at Benodet beach in France. The site was good with lots of facilities such as pool and sports field. The staff were okay but more or less left you to get on with it so did not have much engagement other than the night service man who was a Scotsman from the Isle of Man. He was a gent. I feel the site is a bit run down in parts and the roads leading up to pitches could do with tarmac as a opposed to gravel which believe me is a pain when kids fall or even the dust build up. Trees and common areas are also overgrown. A lot of the site is a bit tired and could do with a revamp but it does look as if some areas have already been worked on. That ad hoc entertainment tent has no signs or itenerary on it to tell whats on, and even the tent itself does not identify itself other than a large tent tucked away in a corner. In fact this is where this site falls down. Information is very ad hoc or non existent around the camp but the reception will help out if really needed. If it were not for the excellent families we met from France and Holland the holiday would have dragged in for me. Also if you are going here in a van, invest in a small twin tub. The site is ripping people off with their laundry charges at 6 euros for a wash and then another 5 to dry. I have young kids so a constant supply of clean clothes is an essential. They charge for the soft play which in my view should be free. The bar and restaurant areas is a bit of a joke and it is like a spare room has been created with a couple of ancient tables and chairs thrown in for good measure. There has been no thought as to how all their services and provisions are put together to work for their customers other than of course to spend money which I don't mind if customer service in all areas is professional, and facilities are good quality and value for money. Compare this site to Point St Gilles in Benodet which is the same company and the difference is clear. Its a bit like having sega mega drive compared to a playstation 3. If this site is revamped it would be fantastic.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HannaS 12 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights - had seen the site in our camping cheque brochure but on arrival decided to pay 33 euros a night for a deluxe pitch with private bathroom as the normal pitches are very small.

The site is large with a lot of families and children - however the pitch we chose was away from the areas where families were.

Overall we liked our pitch - it was large with sun all day - however there was no water anywhere near - we had to fashion a connection from the washing up area in our bathroom. Also no waste water point. We had to put our 20m electric lead across the neighbouring pitch to reach the electric point - luckily we had no neighbours!

The location of the site is great a 5 minute walk to a fabulous beach - we also used the pool which was fine to cool off in. However the site looks tired - it needs a good team of grounds staff going through - weeds and patchy grass on pitches - hedges and verges overgrowing etc.

We had no hot water one night after the reception had closed - the bar staff were great and it was sorted within 5 minutes.

Not sure we would return as not normally the type of site we would like but for families I imagine it would be ideal.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: A11 GEE 14 reviews from this member

This site was a huge disappointment to ourselves, firstly we found it quite difficult to get to the site, narrow lanes through small villages with a 24ft caravan is scary.

Upon arrival we knew we wouldn't like it as the wristband came out and we were implored to wear it at all times.

We had a choice of pitches which were all nice, however very regimental which is not our cup of tea. Adapter required for the 10amp hook up, with water points not too far from pitches.

Facilities clean, but not many showers, could be a problem in high season. Also did not like the chemical waste point being located at the side of the ladies toilet door.

Lovely wooded walks and direct access to the beach. We picked this site through Alan Rogers camping cheques as it stated it had pond fishing on site. There was no pond and no fishing. Told the management who in turn told me to tell Alan Rogers not them. False advertising.

Pool ideal for children, with emphasis on child friendly activities, the shop was very nice and the bar and restaurant looked ok, however we did not use them.

A mix of touring caravans and statics on site. Overall too Holiday Camp for us.

Overall far too 'Butlins' for us, would not return.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: David + Barbara 6 reviews from this member

We stayed in a Venue tent for 12 nights. 4 tents in all (we came with 3 other families) with children ranging from 10 to 18. The site was approx a 2hour drive from Roscoff ferry.

Pitch size was adequate and everywhere was separated by high shrubs so a good degree of privacy on most pitches. Our closest toilet block was a small one with 3 toilets, 2 showers and 3 washing facilities. No problems there, or the larger one was a 5 minute walk away. Had to guage what time to take a shower as sometimes they were cold.

The pool was great and the kids were in everyday. The indoor waterpark in Fouesnant is worth a visit but be warned swim shorts are not allowed as all the males in our group found out as we had to hire them speedos ( and we wont let them forget that in a hurry!)

The walk to the beach was a lovely 10 minute stroll through woodland, stopping on the first bridge to watch the otters too. We walked into Beg Meil along the coastal path one day and had chips from a chippy van when we arrived. The beach itself is sandy and the sea shallow. A short walk towards Beg Meil and there are rock pools.

There are lots of places to visit and the walled town of Concarneau is worth it, we also visited Benodet, Pont L'Abbe, Lorient, watched the sunset at Penmarch and our friends went to Pont Du Raz ( Lands end of France) and said it was beautiful. We spent a day at Odet Loisirs, a brilliant parc with nothing mechanical in there. All zip wires, inflatables etc and our daughter 10 and 2 sons 16 & 17 enjoyed it. Plus it was only 8 euros each to get in!

Back to the site: The shop sold delicious fresh baguettes and croissants and basic items. But supermarkets aren't too far away. There is also cycle hire and go kart hire for the kids, plus pony rides.

Evening entertainment we didn't go to ( we entertain ourselves around the tents) but it finished around 12 and no noise after that. Seems midnight is the cut off point for noise as we were told to shush by security then.

Overall we all enjoyed it, I think the only bad point was because of where it is situated unless you walk along the beach you have to drive everywhere through tiny country roads. But it never bothered us and we would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Warbis66 28 reviews from this member

This campsite is set in beautiful countryside. The area around is stunning, lush, flat and excellent for cycling around.

The roads are quiet and safe and we were happy to take our older kids on the roads (11 and 10).

The campsite is very well equipped and out of the 11 4* campsites we have stayed in in Brittany I would say that the swimming area here was the nicest. It is heated and well laid out with plenty of space to sit and relax. We however are more beachy types and what a great base for a beach holiday.

The walk through the marsh lands and forest to the beach (10mins) is really quite a treat and at the end you come to a very pleasant beach. However within 20 mins on the bike you come to loads of other beaches which are great if you like a little bit of a swim and then some rock pooling.

The pitches are well laid out, although are quite packed in. It was half term when we stayed so the site was relatively quiet but I would imagine it could get quite busy come peak season.

Superb play area, nice tennis court and a small crazy golf. Bike hire expensive but worth it as the cycle paths nearby are great.

Good shop for basics and electric and carrefour within 10 mins drive.

Only down side nowhere to walk to if you want to go for a meal or a browse.

Would I recommend, yes I definitely would. You will love it.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DEL101 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site for 15 days with 2 children (aged 12 and 10 years) and also 2 teenagers, my son (18)and his friend (17).

The pitch was a fair size, but the roads around the camp that lead you up to the pitches are very narrow and if you make a mistake with the caravan on the back there is nowhere to turn around. One fellow camper ended up hitting a tree and caused a fair bit of damage to his van.

The pitches were separated by hedges and allowed for a fair bit of privacy.

The pool complex was great, kept all ages entertained.

The site has inadequate numbers of showers and toilets for the amount of people camping, (not everyone uses the shower in there caravan) and at peak times there was always a queue. The best facilities are the main ones near the pool, these were clean and have more of them. The ones near the tour operators although cleaned daily got in a right mess with mud all over the floors.

The shop is fairly well stocked and reasonably priced. The entertainment was ok, pool tables for the teenagers and a really friendly atmosphere. Our teenagers made some good friends and had some great nights in the bar.

The area is beautiful and I would recommend bringing your bikes with you as the paths around are perfect for cycling. Benodet is a really lovely town with some great seafood restaurants. Concarneau and Quimper make very good days out also.

Overall I would say this site definitely had its faults but overall a very nice campsite with a lovely water complex.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lisa bellew 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 15 nights and really felt like we had had a holiday. Our kids 12 and 9 had a ball.

There is a small water park on site which was great and a 5 minute walk to a stunning beach.

The site facilities were clean, we had to queue a couple of times for the shower but it wasn't a problem. The shop was well stocked and had fresh bread and crossiants every day - very tasty.

The soft drinks in the club house were expensive but reasonable in the restuarant and bar.

There are a mix of statics, euro-tents (run by eurocamp etc), tents and caravans.

There were plenty of places to go in Fousenant and the nearby towns. The markets are fantastic.

We had a great holiday and would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Smithm 1 review from this member

A lovely site in an exceptionally beautiful part of Brittany. The site itself has plenty on offer for children of all ages and the pool complex is a great attraction with a shallow area for the very young.
If you intend visiting the site I would advise anyone to request a pitch nearer the top end of the site, i.e. Nearer the main reception or play area as this was much tidier and less boggy than the areas on the other side of the pool complex. Be aware that some of the fencing and gate posts in these areas are in need of upgrading - my son received a nasty graze to his arm at the tennis courts.
Neighbours of ours hired bicycles and this seemed expensive given the condition of some of the equipment and if you can I would recommend bringing your own. We thoroughly enjoyed the great cycle paths that could be accessed from the site and made many trips to Beg Meil (about 20 mins) often staying for lunch or dinner.
We also made many trips along the paths/quiet roads to Fousesnant which we felt were safe even for our 7year old. It's a good idea to cycle on market day as finding a space for the car is a nightmare.
Although the beach next to the site is lovely we much preferred the one at Beg Meil, very picturesque and  safe for the children. Cap Coz beach, a short distance from the site is also well worth a visit.
Back to the campsite itself, and one of the only things we were disappointed with was the on-site restaurant. The food was VERY basic and we missed the restaurant style food we had enjoyed at other campsites. The static we stayed in was tired to say the least and while I would prefer not to mention the company by name I would urge people to get some guarantee as to the quality of accommodation that can be expected as peeling vinyl, mouldy seating and a rusty kitchen can put a damper on your holiday! Not all brochures display a true picture.
To sum up I would say L'Atlantique is certainly worth a visit but be choosy where and which company (if any) you book with.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Driach 6 reviews from this member

A wonderful site for kids - ours are 9,7 and 2 and there was something there for all of them. The pool complex is wonderful, the waterslides are great fun - there's even a little one for the toddlers in the paddling area. The beach near the site is great - but we preferred the one ten minutes drive away at Beg Meil which has more little coves with rock pools etc. Cycling in the area is really safe with quiet roads and cycle paths and the site does a reasonable hire - about £35 for 24 hours (two adult, two children's bikes).
The shop is very well stocked and our kids got very good at asking for their croissants in French. The play area is excellent - the free table tennis tables a bonus and the basketball area. The site is well kept and tidy. We were near the entertainment room and it was a little noisy til 11.30 some nights (but what do you expect in high summer).
The only down side is that it is in a very rural area so you have to use the car to visit villages/towns etc. (although Beg Meil easy to bike to).
I too would recommend the site to friends - especially if they love swimming as the pool is the best asset.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Cmjmcarter 1 review from this member

Overall a great place for a family holiday. The swimming pool was large and had great slides. Cafe and bar were OK. Toilets, laundry and shop were OK. Nearby beach was outstanding as was cycling in the local area with cycle paths and quiet roads so even the smallest kids were safe. Benodet, Concarneau and surrounding towns interesting to visit and had family friendly eating. Only draw back was the size of the pitches which were not suitable for a large family tent in certian parts of the site. It pays to have a look around at the pitches before accepting the one they give you. Recommneded.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Fouesnant      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7751 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019