Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Sunelia Interlude

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Le Bois Plage En Re > Camping Sunelia Interlude Reviews

Camping Sunelia Interlude
Plage De Gros Joncs
Le Bois Plage En Re
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17580
Tel: +33 5 46 09 18 22
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 148
Open: 01/04 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 44 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice site with all the facilities you could possibly need, and a few steps away from a wonderful south-facing beach.

But it is very expensive and if you don't want all the kids' entertainment options, football pitch, table tennis, free barbecues etc you might be better off choosing a cheaper site from amongst the 50 or so listed by the Ile de Ré tourist office, and cycling, walking or getting the free shuttle bus to the beach of your choice. Also, the site would only accept a booking from us for a full 7-day week, not what we at first had in mind. I think they are drifting towards being focussed as a 'holiday village' with many rented chalets (not static caravans - a whole class higher than that).

Here are the positives, alongside the beach location - extensive clean shower/loo/washing up/laundry facilities; very good powerful free wifi; nice sandy shady pitch; helpful and informative reception; a pool which adults can comfortably use (nice after being on the beach)

. - and the not so positives - shop with tired vegetables and a poor selection (except for the excellent boulangerie); kids using the football pitch noisily and unsupervised until at least 11pm every evening.

The centre of the village of Le Bois Plage en Ré is about 7 minutes by bike, where there's a good supermarket, a nice traditional indoor market and a daily outdoor market as well as at least one excellent restaurant. And the Ile de Ré is a leisure cycling (not Lycra-clad racing cycling) paradise with miles of hard-surfaced cycle-only tracks, many well away from any roads, although they are busy in high season. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greatskua 5 reviews from this member

 This is a good quality site offering full holiday facilities. It has a mix of cabins and camping pitches for all types of camping. The pitches are fairly level and all are sandy. The site is fairly well covered with trees giving good shade.

The loo/shower facilities are excellent and always clean. The site has other facilitates too. Children's play area (excellent), full recycling, swimming pool (indoor and outdoor), restaurant, shop and very good access to a fabulous beach.

The security is good with gates at the entrance which read vehicle number plates and access to the beach using a password to come back into the site. Île de Ré is a truly lovely destination for a one or 2 week holiday.

There is lots to do and all of the island is very accessible with bikes. There is a lot to see too. Restaurants are first class and nearby St Martin is an unmissable destination. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Longcol 10 reviews from this member

 Our 5th stay here (3 in a tent, 2 in a 'static') in 8 years so I thought about time I reviewed it!

Crossing the bridge to the Ile de Re always feels to me like crossing a couple of climate zones - it adervitises itself as the sunniest part of France outside the Med.

The site is located right next to a 7 mile long sandy beach. The beach shelves very gently so is extremely safe. Some days there are decent breakers which make surfing possible. Surfing and swimming areas are segregated and strictly enforced by lifeguards.

Shower / toilet facilities are pretty good. On site shop is OK - bread / croissants and pain aux raisin are very good indeed - although two big supermarkets are available at St Martin less than 10 mins away by car. In high season there is also a free mini bus service to and from the site into Bois Plage for the market.

The on site restaurant is very good although if you like seafood I'd recommend you visit one of the 'cabanes' on the island for unforgettable oysters / gambas / fruits de mer. Some of these can be reached by bike - the island is pretty flat and has miles of dedicated cycle paths - bike hire available on site.

The take away adjoining the restaurant does a good take away chicken, moules frites and a large selection of pizzas.

We've never used the swimming pool - the sea is so much better.

I've no doubt we'll be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Molsign1804 5 reviews from this member

 We travelled here from the tunnel, 8 hours and stayed here for 9 nights in the summer. We found the staff to be welcoming and polite. The only criticism is when someone had their bike stolen the security man said what do you expect it is a campsite!?

We had a residential pitch, I was expecting a larger pitch to be honest glad we didn't chose a smaller one! However we are a large twin axle and there was enough space.

The pool area we found delightful, probably the only pool that we could get a sunbed at 90% of the time. They don't advertise slides so not sure why anyone would expect them.

The beach was beautiful, warm sea and the kids had great fun in the surf.

It was nice to cycle into the local villages. The only sad thing is that my daughter had her helmet stolen, our bikes were chained and her helmet clipped around the frame.

We ate out a few times, but you have to book everywhere which seems odd when you are on holiday. We also ate twice at the campsite (make sure you book) We found the staff rude when we turned up unannounced.

We found the food not just at the campsite but everywhere very expensive and generally not good at all. We found it 4 times more expensive than the greek islands.

I found the toilets clean and there always seemed to be a cleaner in there. They are mixed gender but all behind closed doors and that is the norm in France generally.

The wifi only works at reception generally.

One of the down sides was the kids entertainment, it was awful!

Overall a good campsite, probably the best on ile de re. A word of warning the tolls are very expensive, one was 90 euros, I think they thought we were a lorry! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claregirl70 5 reviews from this member

 We arrived at Interlude on 23rd June after a long journey from Clare->Rosslare->Roscoff->Ile de Re (30 hours in total).

As our tent is 8m x 4m I had booked the largest type of pitch available (Residential) and we are very happy with the pitch allocated to us. The area of the site that we are in is lovely as it is just tent/camper/caravan pitches, with lots of lovely tall trees and feels nice and spacious, as opposed to other areas where there are some pitches mixed in amongst the chalets/cottages and in parts it looks quite crowded.

As an aside, I have to say that in some parts the chalets/cottages are really on top of each other and knowing how much it is to rent one of these per week, I would not be happy if I had one of them.

Facilities

Playground: A lovely sandy area with a slide, a couple of swings, a play/climbing thingy and a couple of see-saw type things. Our 6 year old loves it and is happy to spend hours there, so much so that we've had to drag her out of there to go to the pool or beach or to eat.

It is also nicely shaded and there are plenty of benches and tables there for parents who need to supervise very young children. We are very lucky that our pitch is only about 50-60 metres from it so we can let her off on her own comfortably.

In this area there are also a number of table tennis tables, a volley ball pitch, the pétanque area and the kids club tent. There is also a bicycle rental shop here but as we brought our own we haven't had need to check this out.

Soccer/Basketball area: This is another lovely area, with an all weather surface, located by the pool and is adjacent to the entertainment area/bar/restaurant. This is where our 2 older girls (11 & 13) can be found if not in the pool, and every evening/night. They have accumulated a large group of new friends and play soccer here all the time. Even though it is at the furtherest part of the site from us, because of their ages and the fact they they go together, we are very comfortable letting them cycle off there on their own.

Pool: The pool area consists of an indoor heated pool, an outdoor lesser heated pool and a kids paddling pool. The indoor pool is odd in that it is broken up into various very small areas including a 'jacuzzi' area. Ideal for kids but certainly not for swimming.

The outdoor pool is fine but I would consider it to be small for a site this big and a bit 'ordinary' in comparison to other similar French campsites. Also the sitting area and number of loungers available around the pool are inadequate for the site size.

Shop/Snack Bar: The shop is very well stocked with practically all you might need if you didn't have a way to get to the large supermarkets in St Martin, and appears to be competitively priced. In addition to the yummy fresh baguettes and croissants there is a wide selection of fresh fruit & vegetables, dairy produce (including fresh milk), meat, camping supplies, cereals, etc, etc. The snack bar offers take away pizza, chips, etc and coffee, pastries, etc with some tables outside to sit at if preferred.

Bar/Restaurant: We have eaten in the restaurant once - the food was good enough as was the service. I have heard anecdotally that others have received appalling service, including a family of 6 who arrived from Ireland yesterday, and were refused entry to the restaurant due to there being no food left. At 8 - 8. 30 pm and the restaurant is open until 10pm!

For the last 3 Saturdays the bar and restaurant have been closed off to site residents due to being booked for weddings. This was also the case for a private party last Thursday or Friday (can't remember exactly). This has been quite inconvenient for site residents, particularly as Saturday is a popular arrival day and, as happened with us, when we finally got here at 5pm all we wanted to do was get everything set up and go to the restaurant for a convenient dinner.

In addition some of these events have gone on until 4am with music, etc. We are lucky to be on the far side of the site and therefore the noise was in the distance and didn't disturb us or prevent us from sleeping. However, other families that we've come to know who are in chalets over in that area were seriously disturbed. This doesn't quite comply with the sites' stated 'Total silence is expected between 23:00 and 08:00' policy.

Sanitary Facilities: There are 2 mixed gender sanitary blocks on site, each one consisting of an area of toilet cubicles, an area of shower/washbasin cubicles, an area of baby bath cubicles (each with an overhead heater) and an area containing dish washing sinks, clothes washing sinks, washing machines and tumble dryers (€4 charge for each).

The numbers of each are adequate in my opinion and the water is hot most of the time (I've been unlucky twice to shower just after peak evening showering and dishwashing time and got cold water). However, they are not being properly cleaned. The toilet area in particular stinks. All the time! From what I have observed they get a cursory clean a few times a day, but this is far from adequate and far from thorough.

The 'Reception Guide' that we received on arrival says that the 'hygiene team' work from 7am to 7pm in low season and 8pm in high season, but the cleaning sheet is only filled in 3 times a day and the latest time seems to be 5pm! For a 5 star rated site this is simply sub-standard and is letting down an otherwise good site.

The shower/washbasin/dish washing areas are locked from 11pm - 8. 15am, leaving only the single sink in the stinking toilet area for hand/teeth washing during these times. NOT pleasant! I have complained at Reception about the cleanliness of the toilet area and will be looking out for any improvement.

TV Room/Spa: Haven't looked at or used.

WIFI: Is available but quite expensive and not always a speedy or reliable signal. Also, signal does not extend to all parts of the site - you really need to be relatively close to the Reception building (which we are) to have any chance.

In general this is a good site, nicely laid out in parts, in a fabulous location with direct access to a lovely beach. Are it's 5 stars warranted? Not in my opinion. Simply because of the dirt of the sanitary facilities and the size of, and lack of equipment (slides, etc) in, the main pool.

Other than my complaint at Reception about the sanitary facilities I haven't had any dealings with management, but I've spoken to a number of people who have approached management with valid complaints and have been dealt with with appalling rudeness. Including one family being told that they should have stayed at home if they wanted certain (standard) kitchen items missing from their chalet!

All in all, we are enjoying our time here and our kids are having a blast. The site feels secure and safe and there is a good mix of nationalities - Irish, British, French, German and Dutch. We will be sad to go home on Saturday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bushbabydixson 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 11 nights. Emplacements grand espace was just the right size for a 5 man tent plus gazebo and was very private. Only real downside of the situation was being right next to toilet blocks which were pretty noisy, especially first thing.

Toilet blocks cleaned regularly and contain loo roll and soap/dryers. Showers are great, with wall mounted heaters that just take the edge off on a chilly morning (few and far between). Animation fine and balanced ok given that site population roughly 50:50 French:English.

My single gripe was the appalling translations into English around the site which rendered a lot of things utterly incomprehensible. Funny though. Swimming pool complex was superb. Indoor pool great for a cloudy day. Outdoor little pool perfect and shaded for little ones, with a remarkable scale replica of Fort Boyard acting as a slide. Bigger pool has a diving board which was v popular.

Site restaurant was fine with good choice and lovely location. Beach was one of highlights, shallow for miles out, brilliant for bodyboarding and just as good for rock pooling. As for the island, we covered much of it on bikes.

The cycle paths are everywhere and it's just a joy to cycle through the sweet smelling pine forests, the vineyards and the lovely towns and villages. Perfect for runners also. Can't recommend enough for families with young kids. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grumpyman 27 reviews from this member

 This is my third review of this site. We stayed there this time for 16 nights as we love the area. You need to monitor the pricing as for us up to the 26th June it was 15 euro then until 30th June 26 Euro but come July a staggering 42 Euro.

Most of the work on the outside pool is now complete and a entertainment area on decking has also been completed all looks very nice. Sadly the shower Blocks although better than a lot of sites are showing their age.

If you have children a ideal location with lovely beach 50 yards walk. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kirstygarratt 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a four night stay at this campsite and have to say that we had a fantastic time. Although that might have been helped by the gorgeous weather.

The campsite is located very close to a lovely beach, which we made good use of. There is also an indoor swimming pool. However the outside swimming pool that is advertised in this years brochure is currently being redeveloped so not in use at the moment.

We have a 7.5metre motorhome and on arrival were allocated a pitch, however when we tried to get in the entrance to the pitch was too tight. We went back to reception and they were quick to sort us out with an alternative. Be aware if you have a large vehicle some of the pitches can be a little tight. We saw a lot of people having trouble getting in and out and we had booked a grand espace pitch.

You also need to be aware that they have reversed polarity at this site, however the electrical sockets on the pitches are standard three pin ones.

All in all a lovely site they we would be happy to return to. I would agree with some other reviews in the fact that the shower block is a little run down, however it is perfectly usable. Nice and quiet at night (after 11pm) as the security guard comes round and makes sure anyone making noise is quiet (he is quite persistent!) 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Edthecamper 3 reviews from this member

 This site is lovely, beautifully laid out, very private with individual pitches for everyone.

The site was very quiet when we were there, and we chose a grand espace pitch opposite the toilet block and park due to having a potty training toddler in tow.

I can image that at busier times, this pitch would be very noisy, but when we were there it was fine and very convenient for us.

The restuarant is very nice, and opens onto the lovely indoor swimming pool. The outdoor pool was I think unheated, because it was freezing cold, but indoor was fine.

The shop is adequete, and isn't too expensive.

The beach is within 50 yards of the site and is just amazing, miles long and very shallow, the sunsets are unlike anything you will see.

The island itself is beautiful and great for cycling. We took our bikes with us, but in hindsight we would have left them at home and hired bikes from the site, very reasonably priced and would save on the fuel on the way down.

We spent a week and didn't leave the island, going back and forth would become quite costly at €16 a time.

The site is reasonably prices if you take out one of their membership cards. €30 for two years and then the price is around €14 per night out of season. It was 30 degress every day when we were there, so worth taking the risk and going slightly out of season.

I would highly recommend this site, and this island, and I hope to return again soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grumpyman 27 reviews from this member

 I submitted a review on this site from June 2009 and praised the site and so we visited again this year. I am sorry to say the standards have dropped.

Previously we had been allowed to select our own pitch on this occasion we were told of 4 of which we could choose. They were not brilliant and asked about 3 others which were empty but told they were booked. Two of the three in the 2 weeks we stayed there were used for 4 days by different customers.

Again for 4 days they hired out huts to around 90 students but this time it was clear they were there for a good drinking session and so there were numerous complaints about the noise. On their last night they ran riot in the showers leaving my Wife in tears and the showers broke for 4 days. I complained to Reception and after 4 days a Manager spoke to me asking if we could identify the culprits now they had left.

The site is still lovely but the wash areas are starting to age.You will find most times in June the bar can be closed at weekends as it is hired out for functions.

Do not let this put you off attending just question which week the Students take over and avoid it if possible. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Sunelia Interlude child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Sunelia Interlude have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Sunelia Interlude?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Sunelia Interlude dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Le Bois Plage En Re      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4469 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement