Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castel Chateau De Lez Eaux

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Saint Aubin Des Preaux > Castel Chateau De Lez Eaux > Reviews

Castel Chateau De Lez Eaux
240 Avenue De Lez Eaux
Saint Aubin Des Preaux
Normandy   (Browse area)
50380
Tel: +33 2 33 51 66 09
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 229
Open: 15/04/2024 to 10/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 58 reviews from this member

 We’d booked this for a treat as our last night on 12th July…. Sadly it was a real disappointment. We’ve always liked the castels settings, and indeed this is a lovely spot. But at not even three quarters full, the facilities were overstretched.

The new ‘waterpark’ is quite small; it was packed and not a pleasant place to be; the outdoor pool is nice but just not big enough.

The sanitaire nearest to us was unisex and too small for the numbers wanting to use it and there was no distinction between washing up and laundry sinks.

Pitch was a good size - it was a serviced pitch near the chateau and was around £36pn - but needed blocks and we had to put the moho right on the edge or we would have been in complete shade as many on that row were.

There's lots to do for kids but probably better early in the season if you are child-free; the play areas etc are right in the middle of the site - convenient for parents but no escape for others !

The bar is nice but the snack bar was the biggest disappointment- €12 for a salad in a cardboard carton is not on, and my pizza was virtually inedible. Not fun. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 45 reviews from this member

 The site is within the grounds of a chateaux which provides a spectacular backdrop to many of the views around the site.

Pitches are on grass and most come with a tap and a drainage point. Pitches felt a little exposed when it came to neighbouring pitches but this did allow views into the nearby fields and the grazing cows.

The toilet block was clean but felt a bit utalitarian.

Didn't use the bar or shop but both looked good.

The stand out part of this site is the pool facility. There is one smallish outdoor pool and a larger indoor pool complete with two flumes, one of which is longer, and various other water features in a fun pool. Great for kids young and old alike.

Handy for driving to St Mont Michel which is under an hour away. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ammdkids 29 reviews from this member

 We stayed here just one night with eurocamp on our way back to Caen having spent 3 weeks in our trailer tent.

We liked the site. It had a really nice, calm family feel to it.

The pool was good especially as the weather wasn't great. It had a good play area and space for badminton etc and it was lovely to see families playing together.

There were 3 toilet blocks and one was really good with separate sex toilets. We would stay again if passing. They are advertising a new outdoor pool for next summer as the current one is very small. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Albourneboy 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 12 nights from 22nd June to 4th July. After a very cheerful welcome from the friendly reception staff, we were taken to our pitch which was at the far end of the site and had water, waste and EHU and great views off over the surrounding farmland.

The pitch itself was huge and a little uneven but even though our mover decided not to work, positioning the caravan wasn't a problem as there was plenty of space to manoeuvre it into position with the car.

One of the site's 'tree houses' was at the end of our pitch and seemed to be a very popular place for successive small groups of people to stay for a short time though all the comings and goings got our little dog barking at all these people entering 'his' territory.

The site itself was quiet when we first arrived and we found the the toilet block nearest to us was closed and stayed that way until the end of June. The other block was adequate for the number of people who were there at the time so it was never a problem and it was always spotlessly clean.

The site has a small shop selling a fairly limited range of goods but as there is a large Casino supermarket 5 minutes up the road by car, there is little point in having a large on-site shop. Bread has to be ordered daily up until the beginning of June but this is seems to be fairly standard on French campsites and something we are well used to.

We used the small takeaway a couple of times and enjoyed some very tasty pizzas. Only used the bar once but very nice it was too. Can't comment on the swimming pools as we never used either the small, outdoor pool now the much larger indoor complex.

The weather, being largely cool and indifferent, also prevented other people from using the outdoor pool and we never really saw that many people in the indoor one either.

Our friends had booked a Gite about 4 miles away and joined us for part of our holiday. The plan was that after exploring the area together, they would join us on alternate evenings for a drink/barbeque.

It was then that we discovered that the site charges one's visitors an outrageous 8 euros 50 per person. As they are a family of 4, it would have cost them 34 euros every evening they spent with us. Needless to say, we knocked that idea on the head and spent our evenings together at their Gite. A token charge is one thing but I cannot see how the site can possibly justify 8. 5 Euros per person.

The site started to fill up toward the end of June though initially, it was filling with support staff for the 2016 Tour-de-France which was due to start from the Mont-St-Michel on 2nd July, remaining in the area until the 4th. However, as more holiday-makers arrived, we discovered that the site seemed a little ill-prepared for the start of the peak season.

In particular, the washing machines and dryers. There was one of each in the toilet block we were using and to start with, we had no problem getting to use them (beware however, the gas-powered dryer! As if seeing the flames in the back wasn't alarming enough, the heat generated was tremendous and it didn't take long to dry your clothes.

I would think twice about putting anything delicate in it!). When the other toilet block eventually opened, we found that it contained 2 washing machines and another gas-powered dryer - none of which worked. To make matters worse, campers were coming down from another part of the site laden with washing because not one of the 3 washers in their toilet block worked either. You would think that the campsite staff would check all such equipment before opening for the season.

We visited the D-Day memorials and museums at Omaha and Utah beaches, St-Mere-Eglise and Bayeux and also visted several military cemeteries including the very sombre German War Cemetery at Huisnes-sur-Mer containing the remains of around 12000 fallen German soldiers, exhumed from all over France and gathered together in this one place. This sad but strangely beautiful place is a moving reminder of the cost of war and is well worth seeking out.

We also visited Honfleur (a longish drive but well worth it!) Avranches (where we witnessed the Tour), Mont-St-Michel and St Malo. One of our two visits to Granville included a splendid meal at the Restaurant de la Mer.

I've since noticed that reviews of this place hadn't been very good but it seems it changed hands early this year and things have changed for the better. Certainly, the meal we had was excellent and very reasonably priced. The service was excellent too - the young waiter who served us even filleted my niece's sardines for her when he noticed she was having a problem!

I doubt we'll come back to this site. Not because it's a bad site - far from it - apart from the broken washing machines and the ridiculously expensive visitor's fee, it's a very good one. It's just that we decided that in 2016, we would explore the D-Day beaches etc and having done that, we will spend future holidays in our more usual haunts farther South where it's a lot warmer. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrisfj 6 reviews from this member

 My wife and I and our dog booked to stay here for a week at the beginning of May. It is easy to find and is just off the road into Granville with easy access, it is also on;y a couple of hours drive from Caen. The entrance to the campsite is lined with trees and is really quite impressive. The staff welcoming you are very good and show you to your pitch if it is not the one that you want ask and they will tell you which ones are available. We had a large hard standing pitch and these are absolutely enormous -- twice the side of a lot of caravan club pitches in the UK.

There is a bar and takeaway restaurant, but no on site restaurant which is a shame as this is something that we like to use, also the bar area in the evening is in the shade which is also a shame. Also there are not that many shower blocks for the size of site -- this is a large site with a lot of static homes and Eurocamp caravans on site - but it is not crushed

The outside pool is only worth mentioning for its lack of size and suitability -- it was shut as was the bar during the day when we were there. The indoor pool is superb --- for KIDS as is the whole site.

It is marked as 5 stars and for kids it is but for adults I would put it at a 4 star.

A great site, clean and tidy with pleasant and helpful staff - out of season very quiet and somewhere I would consider for an 'instant spur of the moment' break. Easy to get ferry to Caen, Le Havre or Cherbourg - all within easy distance and also easy to get on out of season -- but very busy in season and also at French Bank Holidays -- check as we were surprised when Ascension day was when we were there and the campsite absolutely filled up. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DDJC 5 reviews from this member

 We booked a comfort plus pitch at Lez Eaux on the internet and paid a deposit. You pay the balance 30 days before arrival.

Entry is down a tree lined avenue, so if something else is coming, wait. However, once into the entry area, it is plain sailing. Reception is very friendly. All staff seem to speak excellent English. The information given is very thorough. There is a bit of fun whereby the staff leap into a golf buggy and you follow them to your pitch. All I will say about that is that I couldn’t keep up!

The campsite is level and the access road well made. Pitches are well laid out and although there is a slight slope, the ramp was sufficient. We paid for a comfort pitch which was huge, over 150m2, with water, grey water, EHU, external fridge, small charcoal BBQ and a host of garden furniture. EHU had REVERSED polarity, so check. No problem pitching. The ground is grassy and takes pegs well. Some of the pitches are in full sun (rain) and some are very shaded. The site is very popular with British campers and caravanners

The setting is superb. It is not a massive site and everything is a short walk away. The Chateau is charming with the shop, games room, bar and takeaway being housed in the outbuildings. Quite a good shop with many essentials, but also including local cider, calvados and cheese. The games room we didn’t use, but the takeaway and bar are excellent. Waiting time for takeaway is twenty to thirty minutes, so dive into the bar and grab yourself a local vieux Calvados. Although fast food, it was good and I think Les Eaux are missing a trick by not expanding their food into a sit down café/restaurant, partners with the bar. Far from a criticism though. The atmosphere was relaxed and quiet with the camp silent every night from about ten.

There were bouncy castles, fishing, table tennis, an excellent playground and an activity room for children that was well equipped. Didn’t use any of them because I couldn’t get my kids out of the pools! Neither swimming pool is large, but we were there at the end of the season and we had no problems at all. The Jacuzzi bubbles in the indoor pool were a hit with my boys and they loved the three flumes. Opening times are linked to High/Low season times and it was a shame that the opening times of the pools were restricted for last two days of our stay. The insistence on trunks rather than shorts is irritating, mainly because Daddy couldn’t hide his paunch inside baggy shorts! Far from being a deal breaker though.

Good ablutions with plenty of toilets, sinks and showers, cleaned twice a day. Shower cubicles are a good size, and the showers brilliant. Laundry machines 2 euro a go.

Around and about there is loads to do. I recommend driving the coast route from Avranches to Jullouville to Granville. You obviously have Le Mont St Michel about 35 minutes away. Granville is a lively town and every type of hypermarche can be found in Avranches. About an hour away is Bayeux, worth seeing for the cathedral as much as the tapestry. The church and museum at Sainte Mere Eglise, the Normandy beach landing sites and Caen are within a seventy minute drive.

We enjoyed our stay and can thoroughly recommend the site. Now that we’ve done Normandy, we are unlikely to be returning. Nevertheless, we liked it so much that we might break our rule. Good for a half term week in May perhaps? Take the ferry to Caen or Cherbourg and it’s a two hour drive towing. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dtscully 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for Whitsun Half Term with 3 kids - 8, 5 & 2, with friends and family on adjacent pitches as well. We all had a great time. It was very quiet when we were there, with a handful of pitches occupied. We are going back next year which says it all really - although like many sites, not sure how well it would cope in the high season?

Pros:

Very nice setting around the Chateau with countryside views all around.

Nice little bar and terrace.

Fantastic indoor pool for the kids (3 Slides, paddling pool area and small swimming area)

Great Playground and big green open space next to it.

Reasonable takeaway - mainly used for chips to add to our cooked meals.

Small games room but not OTT - Pool, Table Football, Couple of arcade games

Very Spacious 'premium' pitches around the chateau (bit smaller to other side of site and wedged between caravans)

Clean Facilities

Near Mont St Mitchel

Granville a nice little town

Selection of beaches

Cons

Shared toilets but not found any different in France?

Speedos compulsory in the pool! (Again, not found any different in France)

No changing rooms for the pool

No soap in the changing rooms

Most pitches slightly sloping but not too bad, and grass a little long, a lot are quite shady as well

Although very safe and child friendly, paths are fine gravel so no good for scooting! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr Jones 5 reviews from this member

 We had high expectations of this site being rated as a 5 star but there are a few items that in my opinion should be addressed to make it 5 star.

We stayed down towards the bottom end of the site near the toilet block in one of the 'large' touring pitches. When positioning the caravan we noticed there was a ditch running the full length of the rear of the pitches making part of them unusable, so even though you may think you are booking a 150 sq mtr pitch they are more like 100 mtr sq.

Please take leveling blocks as most of the pitches are not flat. We didn't, and realised on day 2 of our hols that we were slightly lopsided - not a big problem but could have been avoided.

The lighting on the site is extremely poor so if you are walking back from the bar after dark you will need to take extreme care. The only real lighting is from the awning lights of the caravans.

Lots of pitches are underneath trees and would rarely see any sun, so if you are booking, ensure you specify a sunny pitch, luckily ours was mostly in the sun.

The toilet block only had cold running water for the 2+ weeks we were there and no soap to be seen anywhere? (Gents or ladies side) so had to wash my hands in the caravan each time I used the loos.

Our electrics (and our neighbours) were reversed polarity, so remember to take a reversing lead. I don't know if all the site is the same but a lot of British people all said the same thing.

The lights in the toilet block seem to be on a timer, so if you BBQ or eat just before it goes dark and want to wash your cutlery you will have to do it in relative darkness. Unfortunately we seemed to always time it wrong and had to 'wash-by-feel' which also meant washing the BBQ grill properly when I got back to the caravan.

The entertainment was not great but there again, my expectations were not too high in this area as it seems to be quite poor at most sites in France.

I'm not an angler, but over the 2 weeks I only saw 2 fish being caught, so I don't think the lake is stocked particularly well - or maybe I'm a worse angler than I thought. !

The indoor pool was very busy and overcrowded, but this was August so probably to be expected but it is quite small to service the volume of people. The outside pool is postage stamp size and we only used the indoor/outdoor pool once.

Beware of prices in the bar - 7 euros for a pint of Leffe or Hoegaarden (approx £6). Stella was cheaper at 5 euros and Cocktails at 6. 50 euros were a bit on the expensive side.

There is no restaurant on site, there is a limited takeaway where you can eat on the terrace bar.

There are not too many things do do in the area. Mont-St. Michael and Alligator Bay were very good but if you have teenagers, I can imagine it being difficult to keep them occupied/busy for 2 weeks if the weather was not good. Luckily our weather was fantastic for the 2+ weeks.

There are a lot of good points to the site as well:

Access from Cherbourg couldn't have been easier and the site is literally just off the main road, so no long narrow lanes to negotiate with a big van on the back.

The staff are extremely helpful and take you to your pitch on arrival.

We ordered 3 large frites from the takeaway and realised that large meant 'buckets' - way too much and we could have had small portions. Small are 2. 50, medium 3. 50 and large 4. 50 euros. Not particularly cheap but good value considering the portion sizes.

Kairon beach is not great for bathing (1km walk or 4 km in the car) but a beautiful beach is only 10 mins drive away in Carolles.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Toni Endersby 7 reviews from this member

 The ditch last reviewer mentioned was next to kids playing field, which by the way was full of mole hills, the ditch was full of stagnant water a haven for mosquito.

Now to our pitch C08 a standard pitch: If it was 100m2 then must have bribed man with tape measure, we a camper with rear awning and are about 9mt in length and with side sun canopy 6mt wide and we filled it

Under trees so no sunlight so ultimately no grass ok in dry but as soon as the Normandy heavens opened it turned into a mud bath

The site is not within walking distance of any shops, restaurant or any entertainment

Granville is nice and a market on Saturday is ok 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveh64 5 reviews from this member

 This was our first time camping abroad and we were a little apprehensive but Lez Eaux was probably the best campsite we have been to.

The facilities were good and kept very clean although they are unisex which was a little unexpected but actually did not matter at all.

The site is in the grounds of a small chateau and is very picturesque. We had a premium pitch which was enormous (our sizeable tent looked a little lost on the pitch). We also had use of a fridge, garden table and chairs and a bbq. We thought the extra cost well worth while.

Our daughters (15 and 12) spent most of their time in the 2 pools. I was particularly impressed with the indoor pool that has 3 very good slides although the outdoor pool was pretty nice too but a little small. The only disappointment, as mentioned in some other reviews, is that the pools are not large enough to swim properly but that is a minor issue. There is a rule that no shorts are allowed in the pools, only trunks. This is in all the literature so should not be a surprise although we saw a number of people being turned away from the pools for wearing shorts. There are other sport facilities available but we did not use them.

There is a small shop, a games room, a take-away and a bar. The croissant and pain-aux-chocolate we had from the shop in the mornings were the best we have had. Would definitely recommend them. We used the bar and take-away as well and were impressed.

The nearest beach is 4km away but can be walked or cycled quite easily. Granville is a sizeable town which is closeby and has some nice restaurants although does get very busy. There is also a large supermarket about 5 minutes drive away.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and always helpful. We could not fault them at all.

We were sad to leave. We would definitely stay here again. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Castel Chateau De Lez Eaux child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel Chateau De Lez Eaux have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel Chateau De Lez Eaux?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel Chateau De Lez Eaux dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Aubin Des Preaux      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3355 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement