Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Siblu Villages Bonne Anse Plage

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Les Mathes > Siblu Villages Bonne Anse Plage Reviews

Siblu Villages Bonne Anse Plage
Route Du Phare De La Coubre
Les Mathes
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17570
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Statics only
Open: 20 May - 9 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jueypooey 11 reviews from this member

Stayed at Bonne Anse Plage for 6 nights in tent/camper courtesy of Tesco clubcard vouchers.

Booked a small pitch with electric (large were already fully booked) Approx £68 per night. On arrival we were escorted to our pitch, which was helpful as the site has lots of little roads which we still couldn't master by the end of the stay.

We use our VW just for me and husband to sleep in and have a drive away awning and the kids both have a pop up tent. We kept the awning as a separate utility tent as the shape of the pitch (a v shape with 3 trees in the middle of the wider half) meant we couldn't have it attached to the van. Was a bit miffed about this initially, but looking around we were very well off. Other pitches had room for a small tent and car and that was it. So their pitches vary greatly, many being odd shapes and levels.

Showers were really spacious, really hot, and I thought really good. Each one also had a sink and mirror, shelf and hanging hook. Toilets had seats in the ladies, although I'm told not in the mens. Toilet roll dispenser on the wall outside each toilet block. This ran out late afternoon most days. No where to hang anything in the toilets or nearby area. Toilets were a bit dated, although France doesn't seem to do toilets like we do, so maybe that's the norm. There were often some really bad drain type smells coming from one of the blocks. Washing up area really needs updating as the tiling around the sinks was grotty and unhygienic. We boiled the kettle and washed up on our pitch instead.

On site mini mart was good and not too expensive. Freshly baked bread and pastries every morning and rotisserie chicken later in the day along with all the usual essentials.

Kids liked the pool area and slides. Lots of lifeguards and very clean.

Didn't go to the evening entertainment or restaurant, so cant comment on that.

Nearest beach a short walk from the site is a sheltered 'lagoon', which although tidal is protected from rough waves and good for small children. We went at low tide and the water was lovely and warm with tiny fish to try and catch. Once further along the beach is open to the Atlantic and quite sloping.

We hired bikes from the site one day, which was a great day out on one of the many nearby cycle tracks.

La Palmyre was a nice place. Quite touristy, but many nice restaurants all with the local speciality - mussels. Market each morning and craft market on Weds eve. Small Spar and a Shopi.

La Palmyre Zoo was a great day out. Quite expensive, but really big with all the big animals we don't see so much of in this country.

The main reason for staying on a big site like this is for our 15 and 12 yr olds to be able to enjoy the pool and slides and to prevent them getting bored if we wanted some quiet time.

We enjoyed our stay here. Would I return though? I'm not sure.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camper Bunnies 3 reviews from this member

This is a very big site, for very busy families. The pitch we had was great, level and large enough for our tent. The site was very clean and tidy (although being woken up every morning at 5. 30 by the dustmen emptying the bins was exhausting).

Toilet blocks, we counted 3 toilet blocks that were out of use, which meant that the main block was very busy during the evening, and supplies ran out about 30 minutes after the cleaners knocked off.

The pool complex is good for the kids although gets very busy. The on site shop is very good, and amazingly some items are cheaper than from the shops in town, always stocked with wonderful bread and croissants!

Kids clubs are well organised - evening entertainment was very loud and even though we were well away from the main area of the site it was still pretty noisy. We were then subjected to packs of pre-teens tearing round the site on their bikes until well after midnight.

The site is located in a beautiful area near to some wonderful beaches, as previously said, if you can take a bike there are great cycle paths here too.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Moonoo 1 review from this member

We have been to Bonne Anse 12 times three times pre kids and with them. We love the area and now feel confident finding our way around.

We have seen many changes to the site and all for the better as in the services they offer. Its a very clean and safe site.

We always take our bikes with us and find its the best way to get around. The beaches are just fab in one direction calm family beaches and the other side is wild surf and deserted beach.

La Palmyre town is fab lovely little shops restaurants,market,harbour and Zoo which are all worth a visit. The sea food restaurant at the harbour is an absolute must sitting outside watching the sunset munching a tonne of mussels!

The only thing that has disappointed us is that Siblu have taken over a vast amount of the site and the evening entertainment is rather loud finishes 11pm prompt but we prefer to chill at our base so its far enough away from the entertainment. It is very good and pulls in a huge crowd but not for everyone.

The pool complex is awesome lots of life guards and great slides our kids love it.

The shop is handy and the take away deli is well stocked but can be a little expensive. There is a Champion in Le Tremblade which is only 5 mins away.

It can be as lively or as quiet as you want it but I couldn't recommend it enough if you have kids all ages seem to enjoy.

This year we are taking our own tent the first time with the kids, what with the credit crunch every penny helps.

This is also a great base for visiting La Rochelle, Rochfort, Congac, Saintes and ST Emillion all these place's are just lovely and not just for grown ups.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littlenose 3 reviews from this member

They do, do tents and quite well.

We were there for 7 days, using Eurocamp independent. We were expecting guaranteed weather, but should not have been as naive, but hey a little overcast some days, a few showers on some and only one day of heavy rain (the kids still swam everyday). As in other reviews before, big site, nice pool, near beach, in wood, tad expensive, good entertainment (kids), it’s all been said.

To add, that if you like an international site it’s great, if you are a bit brits abroad there are a lot. Toilets, my favourite camping subject (after fast drivers and dog owners) are ok in Bonne Anse. Yes the urinal in our area did seem to smell and get blocked and the lights going out in the shower required a towel clad (sometimes) dash to the one switch three cubicles down.
We were there with relatives, spread throughout the sight, so had a genuine reason for visiting communal toilet blocks. They were more modern and better designed. The block we were close to was fine and if I really wanted to, I could stroll to the next one.

The surrounding area is great for bikes and I would urge anyone coming here to bring their own if they can, or hire at the start of your visit. There is access to town and the beaches by cycle path, or even just a nice cycle, through the surrounding woods and area, which seemed quite level. You do not need to worry about cars breaking the speed limit on the camp site, its kids on bikes that could be the problem.

The location in a pine forest is good, (still prefer grass with occasional trees myself), and little cul de sacs and knolls for pitching tents, which is a nice effect. Pitches vary in size quite a lot, but they seem to know what can go where. Most of the tents are away from the main “bazaar” area, which is great since the noise in the evening until late, can be quite intrusive.

Getting into Royan was a nightmare, so if you shop big, do it early or late. Roads round Las Palmyra could get kind of chocka at the wrong time, bikes could solve this problem though.

The only thing that is quite misleading is the proximity to the beach. The private access leads to a beach that you really cannot swim from, and when I was there you could not even use for games safely.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dionne 5 reviews from this member

Spent 12 days on this site in August 2008 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Although the weather wasn't as hot as we thought it would be it was still lovely. We were on a pitch right at the back of the site backing onto to the cycle paths which lead to the beach (pitch CS27) which we booked through Eurocamp independent. Our pitch was huge and easily fit our folding camper, awning gazebo, car, washing line and still had space for sunbathing. The toilets/showers were adequate, have seen better and worse! The site has been taken over by Siblu so the evening entertainment was very good, didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked busy most nights. It is very expensive in this area, 12 euros for a cooked chicken on the site! There are a couple of champion supermarkets nearby and an eleclerc in Royan for shopping.

We visited all the local beaches which were very nice, the zoo in La Palymre is worth a visit and there is also a go ape type of tree top assault course in La Palymre which was great fun.

I don't think we will visit this site again as it was a very long drive from Zeebrugge and the weather wasn't fantastic, will probably try south of France next time purely for good weather.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rufus T Firefly 1 review from this member

Just got back from a couple of weeks here in a Eurocamp tent and we all loved it, we will go back next year.

Very big site, some pitches can be noisy due to location and because of the amount of people but each sandy pitch is surrounded by a hedge and large pine trees provide shade at some point in the day. We were on the edge of the campsite, by the beach and it was shady and quiet - just right. The pitch was well drained which was a relief because we did see a fair bit of rain on a couple of nights.

Shops provide most things you would need including fresh bread, wine and meats as well as pizza and chips. It was quite expensive though for France, seemed to be only slightly cheaper than the UK.

The bar and restaurant were nice and the food was good.

Toilet facilities were cleaned throughout the day but mostly (the gents) did not smell very nice and my boys commented on the smell most times, but they were clean. Toilet roll is on one big dispenser outside the cubicle so you need to plan your usage! Very good clean showers. Dishwashing facilities were good, lots of sinks and hot water.

Recycling bins situated throughout the camp.

The swimming pool complex is great with a big central pool and 3 slides. Lots of space to lounge around. Of note to brits, us men dont have to wear speedos in the pool, any swimming shorts are fine.

Our kids did not go to the kids club but they looked well organised and other kids enjoyed going. The arcade has babba football, air hockey, pool tables and the usual shooting and driving or riding games. There is crazy golf, a climbing wall and trampolines, all extra cost but reasonable. 4 or 5 Euros each.

Lovely location near to the beach and excellent cycle trails through the forest and to the lighthouse and down to La Palmyre, the nearest village. The circus visited once a week with a show and animals.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coolboarder 1 review from this member

We had a fantastic holiday hear with my wife and 3 children, 8, 14, 15. Facilities are good on site bakery is excellent and the pool complex is excellent. It really has everything going for it but for me the best thing was the fact you hardly need to use your car apart from your food shop. There are many beaches within easy reach on a bike. This area has many cycle tracks linking the nearby towns.

The only negatives i have is that its a touch too big for us although its really well run and also perhaps a touch expensive. If you dont mind this size of site and dont think its expensive you should try this site.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaybee 2 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd visit to this site.

We went with Eurocamp Independent. Our children (7 and 4.5 yrs old) had a great time. They enjoyed the kids clubs and the pool with its large water slides.

There are things to do for children of all ages. There are lots of different nationalities on site.

If you are going to this site then take bikes. There are loads of cycle paths through the forests, along the coast and to the nearest town (La Palmyre). The only time we used the car was to go to the hypermarket in Royan.

You do get traffic problems by the zoo so a bike is the best transport. You can hire locally but by the time you've paid the hire fees for 4 bikes for a couple of weeks you could have bought a new one.

There are some great beaches but you need to cycle (or get in the car) to reach them.

The site owners keep updating the facilities. If you want a quiet site - this is not it!

Reviewer: Ninja overload 1 review from this member

May 2004
The obvious highlight of this campsite is the truely excellent pool complex which caters for children of all ages. The staff seemed courteous and the site (in May) was fairly quite.I will probably visit again one day. The local area had some wonderful beaches along the cote savage with low tide providing water pools safe for the younge children to play in while also allowing for some fine surfing.

Reviewer: Floydfan 12 reviews from this member

August 2004
We booked this site as one of three that we'd visit on our holiday this year. The site's a fair distance outside of Royan, a fairly 'new' town on the west coast of France. Mostly rebuilt after being subjected to heavy allied bombing raids during WW2. Close to the zoo at La Palmyre, the site is huge, holding well in excess of 600 pitches, a good proportion of these are statics owned by holiday companies mixed with pre-erected tents. The pitches themselves tend to be of a decent size, though they do vary, we had to change due to a tree being in the centre of the allocated pitch! All facilities are clean, plenty of opportunity to get wet with the flumes, large pools to swim in, and the beach a short stroll off site. better beaches are to be found a short drive away, at la Palmyre, and villages along the coast road heading into Royan. if you're looking for surf, cross the river by the ferry at Royan, and head down to Hossegor etc. The zoo's particularly worth visiting, and for those of you in search of the 'real' France, take a trip to saintes, or Cognac. you will not be disappointed! Free cognac tasting 'caves' are all around, although courtesy demands you buy at least a bottle!
All in all, we thought this was a site more geared to our three children aged 12, 15 and 17! they made loads of friends, and enjoyed the disco's and the rock climbing wall as well as the pools etc. On-site supermarket is expensive, better to seek out the local Leader Price, or Intermarche for provisions. Take-away on site closes at 9pm, be warned.
One of the major gripes was the fact that the site security barrier is closed between 11pm and 8am. You have to leave your car outside close to the main road outside these times if you arrive after the barrier is down! Unlike other sites we visited, you cannot get in or out between these hours. Other sites have an arrangement where you can get out, but not back in, which we felt more comfortable with, especially in case of emergencies! Given that lots of stuff in the area is open until the wee small hours too, we felt it a little too 'oppressive' for our tastes. Site security are quick to stamp out any noise after 11pm, including people chatting in awnings etc! the list of site rules is lengthy, and largely unnecessary. NO radios, NO TV's, NO talking after 11pm!
Nice site in terms of daylight hours, but we won't be back!

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Les Mathes      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4866 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019