Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tantallon Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Tantallon Caravan & Camping Park
Dunbar Road
North Berwick
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH39 5NJ
Tel: 01620 893348
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: 8th March To 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 73 Reviews
                8/10 from 73 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jen+Fred 8 reviews from this member

Location, layout and facilities very good, but not impressed with administration.

Chose this site due to its close proximity to North Berwick, 30 minutes walk from the site, via footpaths and the coast road. A pleasant seaside town overlooking the Firth of Forth with sandy beaches, shops, cafes, pubs etc. North Berwick is also home to the Scottish Seabird Centre, from where it is possible to observe wildlife on the nearby islands, such as Bass Rock, by video link or by boat trip. On the Southern edge of town is a conical shaped hill, North Berwick Law, with panoramic views and a glass-fibre replica of a whale jawbone at the top. North Berwick has regular train and bus services convenient for day trips to Edinburgh and other places on the East Lothian coast.

The campsite was well laid out with flat grass pitches, sheltered by trees, and two clean toilet/shower blocks for campers. A bit more expensive than some sites, due to a minimum charge per pitch that assumed it would be needed by at least 2 adults and a car. We were two adults in a small tent with no car.

We booked online to stay 7 nights 7 weeks before our arrival date, but when we arrived, at 5. 30pm on a Wednesday, reception had closed and there was no message to tell us where to pitch our tent. Therefore we chose a vacant pitch and went to check in at reception next morning with a copy of our booking confirmation. However we were told that, unknown to us, our booking had been amended, so they no longer expected us to to be there on the dates booked, and the pitch we had chosen would be needed over the weekend by a family who had also booked the pitch opposite. Therefore we were asked to move our tent. Since, according to their computer booking system, the campsite would be fully booked over the weekend there were no spare pitches and we were asked to move to an emergency, unnumbered pitch. Fortunately this was not far from where we had pitched, and a member of staff helped us to move. Over the weekend 2 more tents shared this pitch with us, leaving very little space between tents. Meanwhile the pitch next door was left vacant. We were told that similar problems had previously occurred with the computer booking system. Therefore we recommend phoning the site a few days before arriving to ensure that the booking has not been changed.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jimagallan 10 reviews from this member

Great view to sea, on a good day. A large site mixture of touring area and residential. Toilet blocks in process of upgrade when we visited. Well stock shop and reception area. Paved access to a lovely town with loads of nice small shops. Tesco and Aldi 10 minute walk away. Entire site slopes to the coast so ramps are essential to get to somewhere near to level.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: V8kenny 2 reviews from this member

Nice enough site, location is very good, we deliberately picked a grass site with views to Bass Rock, downside of this was we ended up a fair way from shower block although there was a separate toilet block a bit closer

Long way from hook up point though so had to move pitches slighty to reach, even with a 20m cable, I was offered a lone of a longer cable though, surprised at 10 amp connection in this day and age, tripped out a couple of times at night so had to be careful with what was switched on

A dog friendly site which was a bit of a problem, witnessed too many owners allowing their dogs to defecate on the grass, sometimes close to caravans, disgusting folk.

Stayed 6 nights, plenty to do in surrounding area and would use again if back in the region

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MaryKin 9 reviews from this member

Our review of the site will be pretty much an exact replica of the previous one. We had stayed at Tantallon a few years ago and remembered a very warm reception, amazingly fabulous views and decent facilities - all of them coming at considerable cost.

This time the welcome was far from warm - the fellow in reception was very offhand to the point that we felt it a shame for the many overseas visitors there. We were allocated a pitch and told that much of the site was flooded - indeed as soon as we got to the grass pitch we had to change into walking boots as we were sinking into the squelchy grass.

There were loads of fresh water and grey waste points - one drawback being that to fill the aquaroll involved getting soaked as the taps had no fitting that our home made hose attachment could fit (it fits everywhere else we've been).

The toilet block nearest the grass field is a bit tired but clean and adequate. The main shower block is a bit of a curiosity (and according to the plans up on the wall is due for a revamp). The showers actually comprise small and very badly designed bathrooms with shower, toilet and wash basin. Not enough hooks, no surface to put anything on and a half mast shower curtain meant that showering was an bit of an ordeal rather than a pleasure. For gents since there are only urinals in the toilets they have to queue for a shower room if they need a toilet.

As has been commented on many times before the cost of the site is very high. We were over 30 for a sodden grass pitch with EHU, no awning, no kids, no dogs.

But then there is that view.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisjwilcox 6 reviews from this member

The positives first. Excellent location, easy walking distance into North Berwick, great views if you are lucky enough to get a pitch on the perimeter, great for children I guess, there is a well equipped playground for them.

The not so positive. We chose this site for the location, so we knew it was going to cost more than our usual club sites, however 40. 00 per night for two adults, two dogs and an awning, I'm surprised they don't charge for the air you breath whilst you are there ! With that in mind I believe the site is in need of some investment, toilet blocks are adequate, just, the site has a neglected feel about it, probably the result of being part of a group. The grass pitches are nearly all sloping, chocks / levellers are essential. Granted we have had a poor Summer and the grass had not had much of a chance to dry out, but they do get VERY wet ! I would not like to be here when the site is full, the pitches are way too close to each other.

The guy in reception was obviously not too happy in his job, wasn't the most welcoming or helpful chap.

Having said all of that, we enjoyed our 8 night stay and may well return at a quieter time, once I have saved up !

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jsun 19 reviews from this member

Good Location and nice views. The hard standing pitch that we were allocated was on quite a slope and even though we used our levelling chocs the van was not level. Also we were a long way from the electricity point, two cables only just reached. The shower arrangements could do with improvement and at 33 per night I don't think this site is very good value for money. Its also quite crowded.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 29 reviews from this member

Very easy site to find and access. The lady at reception was very welcoming even though we arrived an hour early (check in is at 2pm though as the pitch was empty she let us on). We had a fully serviced pitch, large and well spaced, it backed onto the main road, a little noisy during the day, but no problem at night. The toilets are very nice and very clean, but the showers are in small rooms with toilets and sinks and are very cramped, would be better making them showers only. The actual showering area is very small, the curtain is very flimsy and too short, so water goes all over the floor and there is nowhere left dry to get dressed. There are only 4 showers each so not enough for the size of the site. The views from the site are lovely, the walk to the centre of North Berwick takes about 30 minutes down via the golf course and the beach, Tesco is a level 10 minute walk from site and Aldi a further 5 minutes. There is a small dog walk in front of the grass touring area. As North Berwick is so near Edinburgh it is quite expensive to eat out, for a light lunch if you follow the road out of town towards Aldi/Tesco you will pass the tennis club that has a nice little cafe with indoor and outdoor seating, good food at very reasonable prices and you can watch the tennis while you eat! Would we visit this site again? Yes.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heartofscotland 1 review from this member

Great location, scenic and serene for the most part. Great links with North Berwick and surrounds. Local supermarket and beach access. Not so great with toilet facilities. Small level of facilities available for the overall size of park. Not enough staff available, although infrequently cleaned by one person.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Murieston 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here with friends for a couple of nights at the end of the summer holidays. The site is very well catered for and has lots of amenities (most of which we didn't use). The site was busy the weekend we were there, but despite this the toilets and showers were kept clean and tidy. The toilet blocks have loads of toilets in them, and a couple of showers. The showers were hot (after you endured the arctic blast of cold water. Wakes you up for sure!) and I never had to queue for a shower in the morning. The site is a 15 minute coastal walk from North Berwick and a 10 minute walk from both Tesco and Aldi. The weather wasn't the best when we were there and so on the Saturday night we decided to hire the BBQ hut. For 25 you get the exclusive use of the BBQ hut for 3 hours, which is just great. The hut is a custom made hut, with a circular seating area with a chimney BBQ in the middle, worth every penny! There aren't many downsides to the site, it's a bit pricey (but there are loads of amenities), it's near a busy road (you are aware of this if camping) and I'm not sure the noise curfew is adhered to (but didn't cause us a problem). In all a great site, large pitches and somewhere I think I would stay again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katymg 1 review from this member

Just back from a fabulous 2 night (tester) stay at Tantallon with 2 x Mums and 2 x kids (8 and 6). Nice welcome at reception (whilst kids eyed up all the sweeties) which is open until 5pm - some camping equipment and basics in reception shop as well as lots of tourist info. They will also re-freeze your ice packs (subject to room in the freezer). Access to games room with 2p machines and other more expensive arcade games which kids were also eyeing up. Great park with flying fox adjacent to games room (and a laundry which we didn't try out). We found our pitch with a little reversing and getting out of car to check pitch numbers (on concrete slabs so you can't see them from your car). Ours was pitch 34 - sunny, close to toilet block and a wee wooden BBQ house that you can hire out. We loved our pitch and would ask for it again. Large pitches with plenty room for your car, tent, chairs, outdoor cooking area etc. We were right opposite a picnic bench which we used for breakfast as it was in the morning sun. Kids had a blast - quickly making friends via the large grassy area opposite and then roaming around the whole site together, going to park, games room etc. Adjacent to toilet/shower block was the washing up area (not covered) with two sinks. Water posts dotted everywhere. As pitches are quite large electricity posts can be quite far from you - our longish extension was only just long enough to just reach into tent - we mostly charged phones outside or in the car but this could be an issue if it had rained much more than it did. Lovely walk to beach through golf course, big Tesco very close, Aldi tiny bit further.

Only tiny things on wishlist to make this place 100% perfect: 1) only two showers per block, although there were plenty hooks behind door there are no hooks or benches or dry laying areas outside showers and the showers are soooooo strong (and shower heads not moveable) everything got drenched! Bring lots of plastic bags to put your dry clothes, towel etc in and hang them on back of the door. 2) cafe or a latte machine would have been v. Cool! 3) bacon butty van (which their sister site at Mortonhall has) would have been amazing!

Definitely going again.

EH15 gang

Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


908 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019