Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Beuvelande Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > Channel Islands > Channel Islands > Jersey > Beuvelande Camp Site Reviews

Beuvelande Camp Site
St Martin
Jersey
Channel Islands   (Browse area)
JE3 6EF
Tel: 01534 853575
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: 1st April To 30th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sigmund 4 reviews from this member

I spent one week in a small tent here, had planned 2 weeks, but my small tent became too uncomfortable in the long run. The toilet block is in one end of the campsite, and if you stay in a tent in the other end of the campsite it is quite a trek. The toilet block is most of the time kept impeccably clean, and (with one exception) there was always enough warm water in the showers. The pub / restaurant is fine, with good food, but does not open before 18:00. The campsite store has the necessities for breakfast. The swimming pool is only 1 meter deep, and better suited for children than for adult swimmers. The best thing about the campsite is the staff - they are very friendly and helpful. Pre-erected yurt-type tents are available for hire. Regardless of type of accommodation, you have to pay the whole amount in advance, and their prices are not cheap. The nearest bus stop is about 1 mile away.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Float54 6 reviews from this member

Well where to start, we first went to this site 5 years ago and thought what a great place, well 5 years later what a difference

Firstly it has changed hands and what a disappointment

This site was for holiday makers but now they let locals on for the weekend that just turn up get drunk and make loads of noise, the tents are also mixed in with the caravans, also they let same sex groups on site, but for facility it is very good, toilets and showers very good, tilleys bar good excellent food, and well stocked shop, the roads to the site are a bit narrow but its rare that you meet anything coming the otherway, me personally I would not go back there, but I would return to jersey

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SirReginald 2 reviews from this member

Ok, good points first, fantastic location, some great beaches a short drive away, not a bad little shop, didn't try it but food looked good in the bar, pleny of hot water in the shower block, always a shower available even during busy periods, never had to queue for a shower.

Now for the bad points, on arrival we were only offered two pitches, I do like campsites where you pick your own from the pitches available, the two pitches that we were told we could have were right next to the kids playground. I don't mind noise in the daytime this is only to be expected, it's part of camping, especially in the school holidays. The guy showing us to the pitch did assure us that after 11. 30 there was a no noise rule, great. The no noise rule was never enforced, there were people on the playground, sometimes as late as four O'clock in the morning, at one point two girls / women had a fight which seemed to go on all night. I did ask a group on people on the park at one point, these were not kids, if they minded keeping the noise down, I was verbally abused, didn't want a fight on holiday so left it at that. To make matters worse there was also a summer house that contained a TV, this was never switched off, it had the volume set at 100% and was usually on all night unless myself or one of the other campers turned it off when the summer house was empty, usually around 2 to 4 PM.

OK enough about the noise and lack of sleep. The advertised free WIFI, there wasn't any.

Towards the end of our 10 day stay we had a walk around the backend of the campsite and to my surpise there were loads of empty pitches, I had presumed that the campsite was full and that was why we were not given a choice of pitches, this was strange because where we were pitched tents, caravans and campers were packed in like sardines in a tin, wish we had taken a look round the whole site earlier in the week, would have asked to move pitch.

Oh last thing and there were a lot of complaints from other campers about this, the entertainment. Nightly entertainment was advertised as was a band and live music, my son really looked forward to this, didn't happen, every night was bingo or quiz.

Lastly, a point my wife noticed, was that security wise the site was open and at one point a group of blokes, from outside the site, were hanging around the bar on the terreced area, this is right next to the toilets, gave her a bit of a fright, when she went to the toilet in the early hours.

I was glad to be back from this holiday, just needed to sleep.

Would I go to the island again, yes, it is a great place, however, I'd stop at the Rozel, we had a look around whilst we were in the area and had a chat to some of the campers there, it look lovely also had a better pool.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 90 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the first week of our fortnight on Jersey. The site is tucked away down some narrow green lanes. Being the end of season the pool was closed and the bar/restaurant only open at the weekend. There is a games room, shop and kids play area so the site is really set up for families during the summer holidays. We didn't use all of these facilities although we felt we'd paid for them at 20 per night for two of us and a tent. This appears to be the going rate on the island. The wash/shower/toilet blocks are kept clean and tidy and overall we enjoyed our stay.

The pitches are level and surrounded by high hedges so don't expect a sea view. St Martins is a 15 min stroll away where you can catch the Liberty bus to St Helier for 1. 70. All journeys are 1. 70 so get yourself a timetable and make use of them.

We really enjoyed Gerald Durrell's zoo, Mont Orgueil, The Orchids and in St Helier, the markets and museums. For eating out the Navigator at Rozel is excellent, as is The Hungry Man kiosk, also on the quay at Rozel. The Lamplighter pub in St Hellier is a must for real ale drinkers.

A pleasant, family orientated site, good for exploring the East end of the island

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adrsmith 6 reviews from this member

Stayed in one of the provided set-up tents at the end of the 2012 season. Met on arrival by friendly staff, (despite the ferry being very late), and the staff were helpful and friendly throughout. The tents there are large with plenty of space for our family of 5. They are quite close together, but each has its own outdoor area, although it is all a bit close together. There is a well-provided for shop on site, bar-restaurant and a (cold) pool. The hsop does great bread and crossaints in a morning, but you need to get there early! The pool was popular with our kids and the bar puts on entertainment. The bathroom, toilet and washing up facilities are all good and cars are kept away from the erected tents, so that, while you need to carry everything from the ample car park to your tent, there is no traffic going past the tent. There is a noise curfew at night, which was respected.

Quiet rural location (it is Jersey)! Close to the coast and other attractions, although tricky to find the first time down tiny windy lanes. Shops and pubs in nearby villages and cafes at local beaches.

We would go again, the only downside being that there really wasn't an attractive seating area outside the tent, where you could bbq and admire the view, unless you liked looking closely at the other tents!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roadhogg 9 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Jersey having previously stayed at a different campsite, but this is far superior, the facilities better & the staff a lot friendlier. We were greeted on arrival, given a choice of pitches & made some fantastic friends during our 10 night stay.

The restaurant & bar are wonderful & provide an array of different entertainment.

A long journey from Ireland, but would we go again, WE CERTAINLY WOULD.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chunk1 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from our fourth visit to this site. We took our own tent this time (we have stayed in ready erected before).

Toilet and shower facilities are kept clean, always hot water and the shower cubicles are a good size. There is an excellent laundry room with washers, dryers and irons.

The site shop is well stocked with essentials and lovely fresh bread daily. The bacon and egg rolls were also very nice! The bar/restaurant is popular and also provided evening entertainment. The food is good value and they will also provide take away meals.

The pitches were spacious and we were given a choice of where to pitch. There is a play area for the children and also a field for ball games to avoid children playing by the tents.

Finally the staff are very friendly and helpful. Site is in a lovely location and the whole island is easily accessible by car or bus, and cycling seemed popular.

We had a great time and cannot wait until next year!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melcj 5 reviews from this member

We stayed in one of the campsites own

Pre-rerected tents for a week in Aug, this was a first for us as we always use our own tent, but I was tempted by the 'new for 2012' claim.

Unfortunately the tent was anything but new and was in a fairly poor state of repair, it also smelt really badly. Two camp beds provided plus two foam matresses, the covers on the foam matresses were stained and not enticing at all.

The tent had a very unclean feel about it.

Facilities on the site are fine and have been covered in other reviews.

Only other thing to mention is that the pitches are very small and pretty on top of each other - the least space of any camp site we have stayed on.

Final thing to mention is that on arriving in Jersey on Saturday I tried to contact the site for some directions but could only get a voicemail teling me that the office was closed until the following Tuesday, that didn't make me happy.

Lots of positives about this site but the experience was a little bit off for us as the tent provided was so poor.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnbarclay 2 reviews from this member

Beuveland felt large - not sure of the number of tents etc - more commercial feeling than Rozel. There is a pub / restaurant. Did not try the food but must say it looked very good.

The entertainment was not the 'Butlins' style I was expecting and we saw a couple of very good solo acts - it did not boom out over the site at all. Some nice things for the kids too. The shower / loos / baby changing / laundrey etc was in a block adjacent to the site entrance, as is the shop and pool and pub and games room etc.

Plus point is that the noise is away from a lot of the site apart from the areas right next to the entrance area, minus point is that it's quite a hike to get to the toilets for a lot of campers. The toilets / showers were quite crowded and not well ventilated and stuffy, but adequate.

There is a dish washing hut centrally located as well as the one near the other facilities, so that cut down walking to wash up, and there are plenty of drinking water taps. The play area is good and quite modern, lots of kids playing after dark I noticed.

Minus point about the pool is that at 1. 5m deep with no shallow end or paddling pool for toddlers it is less good if your child can't swim. I did find there was some noise coming from a field next to our bit of the site with what sounded like a generator starting up at 6am and engine noises - seemed to be a digger shifting rubble half the day and did feel like being next to a building site when we first arrived, but I gather that this was not usual and other people did not find it a problem. Was not much of a problem in the end.

Overall rating good but if you like quieter sites with no entertainment etc maybe choose one of the other 2 campsites on Jersey

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mike_f_b 1 review from this member

My wife and I spent two weeks on the Beuvelande campsite and enjoyed every single day.

The site is under new ownership and all the new staff made us feel both welcome and special.

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary in Tilleys, the site restaurant and had a most enjoyable experience. We ate in Tilleys, whenever it was open, because the food was very good and reasonably priced. Opening was restricted at this time of year, which was a shame, but understandable.

There were lots of people staying on the site, especially at weekends, but noise was never a problem. The toilets were always spotless and the site was well maintained. Refurbishment work on some of the buildings was still being completed, but all the main facilities, such as laundry and washing-up sinks were available and clean.

There is a large children's play area and a small outdoor swimming pool on site.

The location of the site is excellent for walking and cycling around the eastern half of Jersey and there are plenty of local buses to take you anywhere on the island.

We have never had a better holiday at this time of year on any other campsite.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Jersey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Channel Islands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4797 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019