Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - La Bailloterie Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Channel Islands > Channel Islands > Guernsey > La Bailloterie Camping Reviews

La Bailloterie Camping
Vale
Guernsey
Channel Islands   (Browse area)
GY3 5HA
Tel: 01481 243636
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shani torp 1 review from this member

This was our first time in Guernsey and we were delighted to have chosen this camp site. The owners are utterly charming and so helpful. We stayed for two weeks and were lucky enough to have glorious weather for most of it. The camp site allowed us lots of room and we never felt crowded. The shower block was housed in a lovely old building and all the facilities were kept clean and well equipped. There is a big supermarket nearby which was very helpful and also a nice little M&S 'simply food' for all the treats!

We brought our bikes and found all the bicycle lanes useful and safe. The drivers, by the way, are the most courteous we've ever found. The beaches are really beautiful.

It really wasn't difficult to find amazing quiet bays with hardly anyone on the beaches and equally there were huge sandy beaches packed with opportunities for water sports and children's games etc. We brought our two dogs and found a dog friendly beach near by. It was a very relaxing holiday…exactly what was required!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 90 reviews from this member

Our second stay here, but with a 19 year break in between. Lovely, spacious site with clean and tidy facilities including free Wi-Fi and hairdriers. There is a supermarket 5 minutes walk down the road and bus stops nearby too. £12 per adult per night is expensive but this is an island economy and to put things into perspective you should see the house prices! There is a good butchers at Bridge and an M&S opposite Guernsey Freesias.

The girls enjoyed the candle making experience down the road and finding Orma shells on Herm. The Café Terrace in town was a favourite, as was lunch at The Jerbourg Hotel.

Walking distance to beaches at Ladies Bay and L'Ancresse and only a short bus ride back into St Peter Port.

Our return visit to Bailloterie did not disappoint although the traffic on The Island had increased significantly, so we chose to use the buses most days. Thank you for another enjoyable stay.

Management response: Just to clarify, the reviewer has said that £12 a night is expensive - but high season is actually £11 per adult per night and £9 in low season.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Gi11 19 reviews from this member

We booked one of the new log cabins, as were're getting too old for beds on the ground and any distance to loo in the night. What a disappointment - no bathroom, not even a sink in the kitchen. The cabin itself was lovely and the beds were comfortable, but without a bathroom it wasn't worth the price. The shower and loo block isn't far away, but up steps and down a steep slope in the pitch dark until the floodlight comes on when you're nearly at the door. The block is newly refitted, clean and very good - but a long way from most of the site, over a small road.

The web site needs updating, it's very misleading. Shop? No, not worth their while with a supermarket 5 minutes away, and they are too busy. Cafe? Well, if you say you want a baguette they'll cook one and it will be ready in 20 minutes. IF you can find them. No opening times for the office are displayed and their cars seemed to have gone before 5.

All in all, pleasant enough site, but didn't live up to expectations.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alastairandalice 9 reviews from this member

We had a lovely stay here, camping is spread over a number of sheltered fields and it was really quiet during our end of season stay. The owners were really friendly and helpful. The facilities block is spot on. Don't forget a torch though as the trek from the motorhome field to the facilities block was very very dark.

Guernsey is a lovely island but seems to have a few problems, boy racers make themselves heard after 8pm tearing around the place and the police are a problem, basically there don't seem to be any and we were awoken several times between 2 and 3am on Sunday morning to loud buzzing exhausts and screeching tyres!

There is a superb supermarket across the road and nowhere is that far away on this compact and very busy island. Use the excellent busses and avoid the heart stopping roads that vary in width every few yards and the locals all whizz around with impunity, not ideal in a camper-van would not fancy it in a motorhome! Although the drive from the port following the given directions is fine. Might consider hire a small car next time to avoid the worry of damaging the van and to reach some of the remoter and terrifyingly narrow lane areas.

Will be back for sure.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Titch24 1 review from this member

Stayed in August 2014 for 4 nights. Greeted my a lovely French girl who with her sister are working on the campsite over the Summer. Very polite and showed us various areas we could camp in and mentioned the shortcut to the beach and where the supermarket is. Supermarket is a 3 min walk and has everything you could need and more, beach is a 10 min walk. Bus stop is 10 min away and the buses are very easy to use and cheap £1 for all journeys. Moulin Heut in the south of the island is beautiful as is Fermain Bay. Useful leaflets in the 'barn' and the owners are very helpful and always on hand. Lovely BBQ on the campsite, including lovely Sticky Toffee Pudding. Boules pitch and table tennis. It seemed that all the children were on one part of the campsite which was lovely for us child free and perfect for the children on the campsite as they made friends quickly. Clean, modern shower and toilet block, regularly checked, hairdryers available and all free! 50p to charge your phone and free wifi. Would definitely recommend!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissan 1 review from this member

We stayed at La Bailloterie camp site for ten days in June. This site is spacious and peaceful. The site is split into small fields which are sheltered and are not at all crowded. Richard the owner and Carol are both charming and helpful. We stayed in a pre erected tent and this exceeded our expectations. It was about 18 foot square with full standing height and bed compartments. The equipment was excellent and included beds, gas hob, fridge, pots and pans, plates and cutlery. There were a table and chairs outside. We just needed sleeping bags.

This camp site is in a lovely part of the island. Pembroke Bay is about a 4 minute drive away and must be one of the best beaches around. There was an very good bar and restaurant at this beach too. A huge supermarket that sells everything is only a 3 minutes walk from the site.

The facilities on the camp site are excellent with a clean well fitted shower block, coffee shop and plenty of places to sit and relax. St Peter Port is a 10 minutes drive away. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend La Bailloterie

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: True ah 1 review from this member

A very pleasant site tucked away in a quiet location. Showers and toilets very good and kept very clean, with lots of hot water available. The ladies shower block would benefit from an electric socket to enable the use of a personal hair dryer as the one installed was not very efficient. The site is located about 5 minutes walk from the Alliance store for groceries. The owners were very friendly and helpful in every way. Having camped on many sites both in Europe and the UK, I would thoroughly recommend this site and we will certainly be returning to this site next year.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tim790 1 review from this member

This is a truly lovely campsite. I have just returned from a 5 night stay with my son at this site and we both had a lovely time. If I was returning to Guernsey I absolutely would stay at this site again.

I have camped at many camp sites and always try to steer clear of the busy 'holiday camp' type campsites, and I loved this campsite.

It has recently been refurbished and the facilities are excellent, and were always kept very clean and tidy. It has a lovely feel to the site with a nice mix of being a beautiful, spacious site with modern and practical facilities based around the refurbished barn area.

The area around the barn makes for a very relaxed atmosphere complete with boules area and table and chairs for enjoying coffee and croissants, as well as a lovely garden play area for the children.

We stayed in a hire tent and were very impressed with the level the tent was kitted out to, complete with fridge which makes everything so much easier. It made for a very hassle free camping trip.

The owners were lovely and always very friendly and helpful and made me and my son feel very welcome.

I will definitely stay at site again on my return to Guernsey.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Happiestundercanvas 1 review from this member

We (family of 6) stayed here for 2 weeks and had a fantastic time. It is almost a hidden secret - considering how nice the site is, it is amazing it is not so much busier. The pitch sizes are generous (most space we have had so far in many years of camping). Facilities are clean and well maintained. The proof of the pudding is that so many of the people staying there return year after year. We will definitely go back soon. You are never far from anywhere in Guernsey, so this is an ideal site for families just holidaying, or walkers / cyclists that need a base to tour the island / islands. The nearest beach is great and within 30 minutes you have loads more great choices. The fishmongers on the harbour is well worth a visit for fish for BBQ and great value too. Make sure you follow their advice and book your ferry through the link they provide, it will save you money. The facilities are as we like them, simple but clean. The only thing that would have been helpful is a freezer to chill freezer blocks as we don't hook up, that said ice is available from the Co-op that is an 8 minute drive.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SteveeBee 1 review from this member

Spent a lovely week at this site last year. Looked nice even in the pouring rain that we arrived in. Clean, spacious and well positioned for cycle rides. Friendly, helpful owner and a nice veranda area alongside a café that sits above wash block. Supermarket at end of road as is a bus stop (but don't rely too much on timetable). Recommended for touring or beach holiday.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Guernsey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Channel Islands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4329 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019