Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Ardlui Marina & Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Loch Lomond > Ardlui Marina & Holiday Park Reviews

Ardlui Marina & Holiday Park
Ardlui
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 7EB
Tel: 01301 704 243
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 16 Reviews
                6/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cammie1912 3 reviews from this member

Considering the price charged for this site, to say I was disappointed would be an understatement. We were basically pitched in what appeared to be an old car park. Not pleasant but as the outlook was stunning I was prepared to overlook this. That is until I had the misfortune to visit the facilities. Broken lock on toilet door and rat dropping on the floor. Certainly wouldn't want to venture into the showering facilities. As for the chemical toilet disposal, I can only say that emptying the contents of my cassette toilet only improved it's cleanliness. That said, the staff on the 'site' were very nice as well as the staff in the hotel where we had a very nice meal. If it were not for the price I would say it could be a very serviceable stop over site, but overall I could not recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peter and Jennifer 9 reviews from this member

Funny isn't it - different people's experiences. Yes, does resemble a car park but ok for a, midjourney, overnight. Yes, if you don't get a loch side pitch you will be butted up to a holiday cabin or another vehicle. However we found the site managers friendly, the hotel welcoming and the facilities, both warm and clean. The showers, included in the pitch cost, were hot and powerful. There were good free hairdryers. The position on the loch is good for an evening walk, the hotel is handy for an evening meal or breakfast and the facilities, when we visited, were just fine. We were particularly pleased to be warmly welcomed as the CCC site down the road had been very snooty and dismissive when we had dropped in on the off chance. Not quite the 'friendly club' that afternoon. No we hadn't booked as we weren't sure how far we get that day, but it wasn't high season. So Ardlui was quite a relief for us that night. I do agree with other reviews, it's not somewhere for a longer stay, unless you have a loch side pitch. However we would definitely go back en route for Skye or higher. Unfortunately they had no room for us in 2015 so we drove all the way up to the far end of Glencoe for the night. Next time we will ring early afternoon.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fatsdom 4 reviews from this member

One night stay in the car-park of this loch-side hotel and pub.

Hook up easy but the proximity to the other vans was disappointing.

Easy access and beautiful views - very quiet.

Toilet block disappointing and cold - well past their best.

Conversely hotel/pub warm and welcoming with good menu.

Largely a site for static and cabins but worth a stop if only for the beautiful morning view over water.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AlanG66 1 review from this member

Just back from a 2 night stay at Ardlui, Have been there before and managed to get a decent pitch with enough space for privacy.

Have to say thoroughly enjoyed it, weather wasn't great but the scenery is amazing, found the site warden to be very helpful and the facilities although fairly basic were always clean and tidy, and there was always plenty of hot water when you needed it.

I understand what folks are saying about the Tarmac pitches, they do look a bit like a car park.

All in all thoroughly enjoyed it, great location with all that you need. Will be back

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dogs 14 reviews from this member

We stayed in June of this year for 3 nights, & having read previous reviews were aware of the set-up arrangements & toilet facilities, but were unprepared for it`s reality.

All units are asked to set-up on a 'car park' within car park space lines. No side blinds could be opened because of the closeness of the next unit. As it`s tarmac no chance of an awning, we had to park our car some distance away from the van. They have an enclosed camping area across the busy road which is accessed through a small security gate so all kit has to be transported by hand to enable pitch set-up!

My wife also agreed the toilet facilities are past their 'sell by date' Old, Disgusting & filthy in a poor state of repair. The worst thing was they had the 'wash-up' sink in the mens toilets adjacent to the urinals

The laundry room was as bad, hotel bedding left for almost a day on the old worktops, mis-working dryer & one out of permanent order. No instructions as to pricing or usage -- total guess work!

The positive side being the views & the Hotel itself was of the highest standard.

We had to stay for our booking as asked to pay up-front none returnable, 'would not return'

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wynnie69 4 reviews from this member

Used this site in a friends seasonal caravan which was down near the water, lovely location couldn't ask for better. We have booked to come in our own van in sept. I do agree though with the other reviews that the only available space is going to be on a car park so no awning I'm afraid

I found the toilets okay, standard but clean and free hot water in the showers also free hairdryer. Shop was well stocked, good opening hours but closed all day on a Thursday. Only criticism was a lot of dogs off leads and nobody with them to see if they were doing the toilet! Also signs everywhere to clean up after your dog but not one poo bin

Hotel was nice,staff friendly, breakfast pricey but tasty, and yes nothing for kids, think its more a relaxing, boating,fishing type of site

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ALISTAIRANDSHEENA 4 reviews from this member

We used this site for our 'support vehicle' while walking the West Hiighland Way. We arrived on a very rainy evening so didn't appreciate the stunning views the site has. The space for the motor home was, as others say, on a car park, which was okay for one night. The toilet block was old but we appreciated the hot water in the shower after a long hard day on the trail. We also utilized the tumble dryer to get a few things dry for the next day. The hotel next door was friendly in the evening and the shop was open early with a good stock of plasters!

Okay for a one night stay but not really for a longer period.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DavieG 2 reviews from this member

We came here for the night to try out our new VW Camper. The weather wasn't great but then that's Scotland! The bar in the nearby hotel kept us entertained though and it had a nice atmosphere.

The view's from our pitch were excellent, looking over Loch Lomond. This site is in a great location especially if you like to get out on the water. There is a small marina next door.

The pitch itself was like being in a car park and there's no way you could get an awning up.The toilet block was cold with basic facilities. There was a small shop next to the hotel which sold everything you would need and the lady was very pleasant.

The warden was helpful and the place was laid back. A nice place for a couple but unsure if the kids would be entertained on those wet days.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Acano 2 reviews from this member

Well we thought that its been some time since anyone had been here and it couldn't be that bad so We thought we'd give this site a go also as we had left it a bit late to book anywhere else with space for Easter weekend. The hard standing pitches are I agree like being in a carpark in fact it is a carpark with no space for awnings even if you had pegs strong enough to go through the tar.

We were asked to park our cars in the space next to the van which came as a bit of a shock as fire regs state 6m between vans for fire spread so I refused and parked elsewhere on the carpark / pitch.

The site itself was fine although not a lot for kids to do, kids play area consisted of 3 swings at the side of a road and nowhere to kick a ball around other than the hill behind the carpark / pitches.

Toilets and showers were of poor standard which left you feeling that you really didn't want to use them but you either stay dirty or shower in them!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahleigh 5 reviews from this member

We left the Lake District early due to the bad weather and arrived 2 nights early at the site. The staff were fantastic and couldnt do enough to help us. The hard standing pitches are I agree like being in a carpark but this was only because it was peak summer and pitches closer to the shore were taken. The views though from any pitch were breath taking and it was fantastic waking up to the loch.

There is a hotel attached to the site which did gorgeous food, we had 3 lovely full breakfasts there and also ate there on an evening as well, the restaurant was always busy with people from off site as well which showed how good the food was. The pub attached to the hotel was lovely, traditional and cosy with a pool table which kept me and my other half amused for a few hours.

I didnt use the toilets/showers but my other half did and he said they were clean and of a good standard. There was also a small very friendly shop which sold the basics and daily newspapers. We had a really good time at this site and would definitely go back.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Loch Lomond      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2565 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder