Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lomond Woods Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Dunbartonshire > Site Reviews

Lomond Woods Holiday Park
Balloch
Loch Lomond
Dunbartonshire   (Browse area)
G83 8QP
Tel: 01250 878 123
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 140
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 88 Reviews
                8/10 from 88 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nao1 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights over the weekend. Nice site, had to check into reception and pay 5 deposit for a fob to access the loos, the site, everything! The site is well laid out, we had a spot near the river which was nice. 4g on site, free Wi-Fi but it was slow so 4g was faster. Nice location with an easy walk to the loch and balloch. Loos clean, only issue was the push button showers that only lasted 10 seconds between pushes! Got very annoying, particularly as the temperature control gets moved when you press the button!

There is also a games room on site, with air hockey and pool (which you pay for) good for rainy days. It was one of the most expensive sites we have been to, but was nice.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: EmzieP 6 reviews from this member

This site was very well laid out, great location only 5 minutes walk to Loch Lomond.

Nice clean toilets and showers.

There is a pub/restaurant which we could see from our pitch but we didn't go in there because it was a Sunday afternoon and it was very busy with people dining.

Nice walk around Loch Lomond, a few shops and eating places there. There is also a bird of prey center which you can visit.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindylou99 1 review from this member

As with previous reviewer we stayed at this site which is ideally located for Balloch and it's amenities. We were sited in an area where caravans stayed long term but were all empty. It was like staying on an empty site with awful road noise from the A82. Considering our pitch was a service pitch and more expensive and a a lot of the site was not full we were very disappointing as everything else was excellent.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

This is a great site ideally situated just a 5 minute stroll from the lovely town of Balloch and Loch Lomand, there's a carvery, McDonalds & Chinese opposite the entrance too. The site facilities have vastly improved since our last visit a few years ago, with totally refurbished facilities block, new kids play area and a lot of new camping pods on site, a nice site in a nice place with friendly wardens

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jhopey 3 reviews from this member

Great location in Balloch. We only stayed one night but had a very nice pitch.

Friendly staff on arrival and gave us plenty of help when needed.

We didn't use the showers or toilets but the chemical disposal was fine and relatively clean.

Would definitely be back if visiting loch Lomond or the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Danny4 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here in September 2017. The weather varied. We appreciated the camp. Which was clean, and well organised. The toilets were good. One slight snag. The showers are operates with a push in button, which normally lasts for around 30seconds before you need to push again. In the gents, you had to keep your hand on it all the time or it stopped immediately. In the ladies, it lasted for 10 seconds. Apart from that, it was a good site and we enjoyed our time there.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The-Aged-Traveller 8 reviews from this member

This is a great site, location is close to Loch and Balloch lots to see and do, easy to catch the train into Glasgow. The staff are excellent very friendly and nothing is to much trouble, showers and amenities are first class. The only slight niggle is the bin area by the shower block cannot cope with the amount of rubbish so it tends to overflow somewhat, there are skips near the entrance but to far for some folks to walk other than that superb site will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

Stayed here for our summer holiday.

Easy walking distance of Loch Lomnd.

Clean tidy large quiet site, spacious pitches.

Security barrier on entrance and exit.

Facilities well maintained.

Modern children's play area?

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChampersCrean 8 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site recently and the staff were friendly on arrival. The site is ideally located for Balloch and it's amenities. We were sited in an area where caravans stayed long term but were all empty. It was like staying on an empty estate. The showers were awful. The shower fell to bits when my husband used his and the block got very wet. He tried to mop up but the mop head came off. My shower wouldn't work so moved to a new cubicle where it was the quickest 5 seconds on record. The lady in the next cubicle didn't even enjoy three seconds and was most frustrated. Lovely local pub.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TheKings 6 reviews from this member

For us this was a little gem of a site. We're quite new to motorhoming and found the staff very helpful and very clear when we were asking about where to fill up with fresh water and where to dump our grey water. Can't remember our pitch number but we were on an end and we're quite happy with it, water was only 2 pitches away but having filled up at check-in point we didn't need it again.

Got some great advice from some of the long term pitch holders about the local area. Very friendly.

The toilet/shower block was spotlessly clean and also nice and warm with wall radiator (although annoyingly people would hang there towels on that while in the shower). Rainwater showers with temperature control and good size cubicles when taking the kids in too. There's a couple of family rooms appeared to have an extra charge but my kids are old enough to help themselves so didn't bother with that.

Kids enjoyed the park and made new friends everyday.

The location of the site is excellent. Walking distance to the bottom of Loch Lomond we spent an afternoon and a full day on some of the walks around Lomond shore and the castle (closed for renovation, but could still enjoy the view). The train station was 10-15 minute walk from the site and we went into Glasgow one day for only 11. 50 for 2 adults and 2 kids, took 40 minutes into Glasgow, museums are mainly free.

Shops for supplies also in town if needed, we arrived well stocked so didn't use them. No real site shop to speak of, just a few bits available.

There were loads of really good play parks around Balloch too to break up the walk our kids thought they were great. Lots of activities around that we didn't do but would consider when we return, segways/tree high ropes course / canoeing on the loch.

Can't wait to go back.

Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dunbartonshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1173 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019