Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fernwood Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Fernwood Caravan Park
Lyneal
Ellesmere
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY12 0QF
Tel: 01948 710221
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jed and Mag Morg 17 reviews from this member

We stayed recently for a few days at Fernwood. Our pitch was fully serviced and was tranquil in a beautiful and peaceful setting. Manager was very polite and helpful as were all staff. Recommended without reservation! We look forward to returning soon

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: BROCKLEHURST 1 review from this member

Stayed in one of two 'dog-friendly' statics whilst attending a dog-training course in Oswestry. Excellent caravan on an excellent, beautifully maintained site and all looked after by very friendly proprietor and staff. Would be very happy to return if ever visiting the area again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Gban 1 review from this member

Stayed in the pet friendly caravan it was absolutely fantastic brand new this year. I have stayed in pet friendly units before and even the premier ones that you pay a premium price for were not a patch on this one would recommend this to anyone. The site is well situated for exploring all the Shropshire places of interest iron bridge, Ludlow etc.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ambrade56 1 review from this member

We visited the site about two years ago just to look around and we loved it. As soon as we were in position to site our touring caravan there, we acted at once. ( my sister taking the next pitch to us) we love it there and are now seasonal. We hate coming home but we look forward to going back each time, mainly week ends and a full week at least once a month. We just cannot get enough of one of the loveliest caravan parks we have seen. The views are breathtaking. The site is beautifully maintained. The waste area looks lovely all closed in and away from sight. The water waste area is pretty enough to have photographs next to. ( who would have thought that ) the staff work so hard keeping the site looking as lovely as it is. Toilets and showers are immaculate.

We love the wild life. There is plenty of it too. The site is animal friendly so pets are welcome. The woodland offers endless walks for folk and pets. We often walk our dogs to the canal side and watch the barges pass by. So tranquil! life is lovely here. We are making so many friends there too, many we see each time we go. The staff are friendly and the owners are only too happy to make our stay a pleasure. Its well worth every penny. We feel we have a corner of the world to be proud of.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phishing 19 reviews from this member

Really nice site. Warm welcome and shown to pitch. We had fully serviced although full range of pitches are available. Everything worked as it should. Gravel Pitches are big enough for unit and awning but not parking as well, but there is plenty of space to park. Pitch was level and reasonably spaced to the next pitch. Site has shop but we didn't use it. Facilities were very good and I never saw another person in the toilet block when I was there, everything clean and plenty of showers and toilets. The site is a mix of static and tourers, no camping. The site is quiet and has 40 acres of woods and grassland so was ideal for the dog. Onsite fishing is available. Wildlife is everywhere with excellent birdlife and many rabbits some even on the pitches if you are quiet. Excellent base to walk to the mere areas and along the canals.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alimark8 3 reviews from this member

Just returned after a 3night break at Fernwood and what a lovely site. The site was immaculately kept, there are grass pitches, hard standing service pitches and even an adult only field. The toilet and shower block are excellent and closest to the adult pitches. There is a small shop on site for essentials. From the site you can walk through the woods to the fishing lake and canal. Children will love the maze of different paths which all lead back to the park. You will need a car on this site as the nearest shops are in Ellesmere about 3 miles away which also has a tesco, the nearest pub is about 1mile away and would definitely recommend the food. The site warden is one of the most pleasant we have met and always happy to see you. We will definitely return to Fernwood ( don't go if you want a phone signal but t. V was fine )

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: W140186j 3 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site. Owners can't do enough for you. Small on site shop but perfect for basic needs. Lovely walks and extremely peaceful Location. Would definitely recommend this site to anyone. Although we only travelled 14 miles to get there we could have been 150. Miles from home. Simply brilliant. Shower block and laundry very clean indeed.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lrobbo 2 reviews from this member

We have been going to Fernwood Caravan Park for about 25 years now - so it goes without saying, we love it. It is the most peaceful site you could wish for. There's no club house or restaurant, just a small shop, which supplies basic stuff and a daily newspaper if you want one. (There is a surcharge of 5p for the paper, to cover the cost of them going to pick the papers up, in Ellesmere)I think that's fair enough. The toilet block is very nice and kept immaculately clean, although we don't use it, but I always have a little look, anyway !

If you like to walk, there are some great walks from the site (the canal walks go for miles and miles, all on the flat, which I love) or you can just meander around the on site woods, with the most beautiful rhododendron bushes. Its great for dogs, as you can let them off and run round the woods, without bothering anyone.

There is is a small lake on the park, for fishing. We don't use it but my children did, years ago, when they came with us. They said it was great. The site also has a park for the little ones

There is a pub, serving meals, just a short walk from the site, which I believe is very good.

If you just want to relax and have a peaceful break, Fernwood Caravan park fits the bill.

My favourite time to visit, is spring, when the bird song in the adjacent woods, is beautiful.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TJB1 19 reviews from this member

This site is in a lovely location near to the canal with woods to walk through on site and is very peaceful despite it's size. If you don't like rabbits don't visit, the site was overrun with them! You cannot access the towpath from the site, this is a short walk away. The walk along the canal to Colmere Lake was nice and still quite enjoyable even though it was extremely wet when we visited. Fishing pool again was lovely and I'm told fishing is ok. Toilet/shower block ok. Didn't like that you could only get a 10 second burst of water from shower each press (15 seconds if you count the dribble after the press button stopped!) - who can shower in 10 seconds. There is a shop on site (didn't visit) and newspapers can be ordered at a 5p surcharge. The biggest problem with this site is the cost. At 27/night it was just not value for money. I have visited much nicer sites for half the price with equivalent or better facilities such as a water point and grey waste disposal on the pitch. It all felt a bit money orientated with the shower timing, cost of pitch and things like the 5p surcharge.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

Didnt expect to like this site as much as I did we had a great 3 night bank holiday break.

Beautiful location really felt like you were away from it all. Very quiet family site no noise at all.

Pitches ok in size grateful that we had a hard standing as the grass pitches are very boggy when wet but boy did it rain.

Wildlife, woods, Lake and grounds especially the fantastic Rhododendrons were awesome, fab walks, access to the canal from site some of the best grounds on a campsite we have ever been too fab for dogs.

Small shop where you can order newspapers for an extra 5p and sells necessities and a traditional children's park not really enough for teenagers but my 10 year old loved it and had a great time.

Owner brusque but very kind and fair as didn't charge us for fishing when we went one afternoon at 2pm which brings me to our only disappointment if you are a serious fisherman this is a pleasure fishing lake only not a specimen lake and it is unlikely you will catch anything bigger than a goldfish it is however beautiful, the pegs are easy to access and its a 5 for the day however I think the advertised fishing details are very misleading we were disappointed.

Showers push button but clean and presentable as were the toilets only 3 though so maybe a queue at busy times. No wash up facilities first time we have ever encountered this we were told when we asked we could use the laundry sinks but they are a long way from the pitches I don't mind washing up in the van but no good for bbqs or large pans etc this is a major annoyance I think.

Overall I really liked it and would not hesitate to recommend to all the area is gorgeous, Ellesmere is a gem and the site a haven.

Site laid out very well and static owners very friendly we were thoroughly refreshed after our break.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2585 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019