Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Akebar Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Wensleydale > Akebar Park Reviews

Akebar Park
Akebar Park
Wensleydale
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 5LY
Tel: 01677 450201
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 175
Open: March To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Muffler121 1 review from this member

Akebar park was very nice site. Toilet block and showers very nice. Lovely clean site.

Can be a bit boggy on grass area if lot of rain, also they leave wet grass cuttings which could be better if they used a mover with a collection bag, saves bringing wet grass in to your unit.

Apart from that good site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mjh73 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fabulous 3 night break at Akebar Park. Pitched on the St. Andrews part of the site and it was lovely and quiet although not quite as level as first thought!

Plenty of EHU's although some needed very long cables to reach! Facilities were only a short walk away (only 1 block for the site) and although the site was very busy, never seemed to be over occupied - there were always showers available when needed.

In the block were also the dish washing area, waste water disposal and chemical toilet disposal areas - ALL of which were kept very clean, as was the rest of the park with pitches clearly marked out and a friendly park warden to ensure you got to the correct pitch.

The Poplars part of the site was a lot busier and noisier, due to the amount of children, as it is right beside the children's play area. We will be returning!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ddlkc 22 reviews from this member

We arrived on a Tuesday when it was quiet, we checked in at reception and was given a print out map of where to pitch tent and that was it we were given no other information. We were pitched in front of dog walk which is a nice row to be in although just after finishing pitching tent hubby walked right in a pile of dog poo !

The toilet and shower block is kept immaculate at all times by the cleaning staff. There is no water stands on or near any pitches there is only the one outside of the shower block. I would not bother to buy any internet as it is very hit and miss and slow.

The site was fairly quiet until Friday morning and by the evening it was just about full and very very busy but was not at all loud just campers having fun, lots of children about playing.

The site is in a good location for visiting various attractions

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jadey1233 1 review from this member

The site was considerably busier than when we visited in May, but the standard remained the same.

The toilets and showers are exceptionally clean, there are also plenty of them. Washing up facilities are good too, very clean and under shelter in case of rain.

May kids loved the play area, I'd say it caters for all ages. We were allocated a pitch on stream side, we had plenty of room, although we don't have a huge tent. They ask for your tent size so if imagine they would just allocate you a bigger pitch to fit.

The staff here are by far the friendliest and most helpful I have come across. They always say 'hello' when passing and make an effort to ensure you are enjoying your stay. They are easy to find and are often patrolling the campsite. The site goes quiet around 10pm and the no noise policy is adhered to, I had no problems getting a 3 & 4 year old off to sleep.

It has a bar/ restaurant and a golf course, although we didn't make use of these facilities. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced, and Leyburn is just up the road if you need a bigger shop.

It's a great site for families.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BRanger5104 12 reviews from this member

Heard great things about Akebar Park and decided to visit especially as less than an hour from home so great for those Friday night getaways after school.

Unfortunately the weather hadn't been great before we arrived and this meant that ALL of the touring pitches were soft and muddy (hardstanding only on seasonal pitches). Can't blame the owners for the weather and they were happy to refund the money I had paid for an awning as there was no way I was going to put up given how soft the ground was.

There is no clear markings for the pitches which makes it a bit of a free for all but I can understand the owners wanting to retain that natural beauty of the grass over the sometimes harshness of gravel pitches.

The toilet/shower block has undergone a facelift and the facilities were excellent. Free showers and 2 family shower rooms which is an excellent idea. The fresh and waste water facilities and elsan point is also good but the elsan could do with a higher lip for 'splashback' and a hose and some handgel would be good additions.

There is only one toilet block and elsan point near the touring/seasonal pitches and a seasonal owner told me that it can be sometimes quite busy during the high season. There is another block sited near the wntrance but that is a good walk from the touring pitches.

The children's play area is good with lots of room to sit and watch the kiddies and if you have little ones you will want to pitch on 'The Poplars' as this directly looks onto the park.

The Friars Head is a great pub at the entrance to the site but prices are on the expensive side but bear in mind it is also for people who aren't staying on the site. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is very warm and inviting and the log fire was crackling away nicely when we were there.

There are loads of local attractions including Forbidden Corner (don't forget to prebook) and Lightwater Valley as well the lovely market towns of Bedale and Richmond.

I would definitely come back but due to the all grass touring pitches would limit any visits to when the weather is warm and the ground is dry.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joym 2 reviews from this member

Wow what a fantastic site. Site was immaculate and the staff polite and very helpful. The friars head is a lovely setting to have a meal with a lovely selection on the menu.

The children's play area is the best I have seen on a park as big as this. Well done to everyone at the park we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diesel2000 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, the pitches aren't marked but everyone seemed to have enough space. The warden is excellent, so helpful and seems to enjoy his job which always helps. The play park is great, well maintained and plenty to do.

Only minor gripe was that one person had a large fire pit on the go while we were there, I'm not against fires but if they are banned then everyone should adhere to the rule.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Retep123 3 reviews from this member

Lovely place, beautiful location, Its a large site and it can get quite busy but everyone we met was respectful of others, they have an all music off by 10. 30 rule that wasn't too strict but again folk were respectful of others and it wasn't too noisy at all after dark, Great play area for the kids with plenty of room for them to run around :-)

Designated fenced in dog walking area so dogs can be off the lead for a run around the field. Wardens are around to help if needed when first arriving, Toilet, shower, washroom facilities absolutely spotless shower area is cleaned 3 times a day.

Great location just a short drive to Hawes, Masham etc We will be back again for sure.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LouBi 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site. The toilet block was constantly being cleaned and was immaculate. The playground was great and the golf driving range was a bonus for older children.

The Friar's Head pub on site was superb, food and service excellent. The location is handy for Asgarth Falls, the Forbidden Corner, and many pretty Dales towns and villages. The only slight negative was a noisy group on our last night and not being able to contact anyone to speak to the offending party.

It would have been appreciated if the site had a warden checking for this sort of selfish behaviour but it wouldn't put me off going again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jano1974 1 review from this member

We visited this site on 14th May 2016. The site is 9 miles from the lovely town of Richmond, where there is a choice of shops, pubs, etc. And 6 miles from a Tesco.

We were very impressed with the welcome, the instructions and map of where to pitch, although, as they were not busy the very friendly and helpful lady said choose anywhere you like. She told us about the golf (you can hire clubs etc. ) and places to visit in the area.

The site itself was immaculate, the grounds were lovely, the shower and toilet facilities were spotless and the toilets/showers were lovely and warm(even in the middle of the night!). The water was hot enough and the showers great. There is a little shop, and although small it had all the basics. There is a very nice pub/restaurant looking over the golf course and although a little pricey, it was lovely.

The pitches themselves were level, clear and hook up on every one. There is a great park for the kids, which is in view of some of the pitches which is great for parents.

The only negative about our stay was that we couldn't of stayed longer than one night. We would have quite happily stayed there for a week.

I would give this park 9. 5/10 only losing 0. 5 for the tiny shop. We would highly recommend!

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4072 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019