Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Akebar Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Akebar Park > Reviews

Akebar Park
Akebar
Leyburn
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 5LY
Tel: 01677 450201
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 175
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kismet dal 5 reviews from this member

 Really nice site. Loads of walks straight from site.

Pub was sadly closed but we are going to come back so hopefully it will be open then.

Kids (12 & 15) played on play area and said it was a good one.

Toilets and shower block was spacious and clean.

Canít fault this site and will be returning soon 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Tulipcat 21 reviews from this member

 We returned here after 10 years, it has changed quite a bit and is mostly seasonal pitches statics with a couple of rows for touring.

Facilities were kept very clean. Great for kids, playing field and play area, stream for fishing for tiddlers. Good shop, pub/restaurant on site

Lots of regulars who all seemed to know each other. Felt secure as needed pin code for barrier. Lovely area, plenty to do, Leyburn has everything you would need, we visited the artisan market.

Also a lot of dog lovers go here, there was dogs everywhere. They were well behaved for the most part but there was quite a bit of barking, and you are relying on other people being responsible dog owners. Dogs around my kids make me nervous.

Got a bit rowdy on the Saturday night with big groups shouting and drinking although it did go quiet at 10. 30-11 pm.

We were sent a pin code and pitch number so assumed they wanted contactless check in and made our way to pitch.

Pitches are placed at an angle and itís quite tight to reverse in. Also they are not level, which means more faffing about on arrival, I had to use chocks, for the price of over £30 per night I would expect it to be level. We saw other arrivals with a map etc which we never received. Wardens are going round on buggies.

Would have been nice for them to check on us as they did go past us but didnít say anything to welcome us. We pitched our van going by what the seasonal campers and most other people had done and used the hard standing for our awning.

We had no one next to us for 2 nights but on the third day our neighbours had arrived and pitched parking their vehicle behind their caravan, and their awning on the grass, which I believe was actually half for our pitch.

Consequently our privacy was invaded hugely, and more importantly it was a fire hazard as their guy ropes were touching our caravan in places.

We couldnít access the back of our caravan for the waste water and had to keep the blinds fully closed as they were a big group of people and the man blatantly stared in to our van if they were open.

He was also smoking cigarettes the whole time which wafted into our van and we had to endure passive smoking from his vile habit for 24 hours, and listen to their noise.

This basically spoilt the last night for me, the worry about fire triggered my anxiety. Iím unsure who was at fault for this us or them for pitching incorrectly but maybe some better input from the wardens would have prevented this encroachment.

I felt like I was crammed in at a festival. So unsure if Iíd go back there, cramped pitches and selfish neighbours at a high premium. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Graham White 4 reviews from this member

 Booked 3 nights here at the end of October but only stayed for 1. Unfortunately the weather was very wet.

On arrival we were told they had no hard standing touring pitches only grass. The grass pitches were completely unsuitable due to them being almost water logged. A number of other motorhomes and caravans like ourselves became stuck in what we can only describe as a mud bath ! It took 3 attempts by staff to tow us out.

In our opinion the site should have cancelled bookings on theses grass pitches as they were totally unsuitable.

It was such a shame, the site is well located, has a nice pub serving food and appeared well managed Covid wise.

They definitely need to change some of the grass pitches to hard standing ones to accommodate people when the weather is inclement 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Roman_1 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic family friendly site with a great play area for the kids, a massive area of grass for kids to play on.

Toilet and shower block are spotless and constantly being checked and cleaned. Nice clean dish cleaning area.

Close to local attractions and towns.

Friendly staff and the site warden is always on hand to help and nothing was too much bother for him.

Nice pub on site at the entrance of the campsite.

Would have recommended it for any camper but sadly Iíve heard they are no longer taking tent bookings and are mainly concentrating on statics and tourers / motorhomes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueh91 7 reviews from this member

 Love this site and everything it has to offer, Ammenites always clean, warm and fresh.

Nice walks, great location for surrounding attractions, Towns ŗnd villages. Level spacious pitches.

Shop selling everyday essentials.

My grandkids love the park and the streams to mess about in and fish. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Muffler121 1 review from this member

 Akebar park was very nice site. Toilet block and showers very nice. Lovely clean site.

Can be a bit boggy on grass area if lot of rain, also they leave wet grass cuttings which could be better if they used a mover with a collection bag, saves bringing wet grass in to your unit.

Apart from that good site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mjh73 16 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fabulous 3 night break at Akebar Park. Pitched on the St. Andrews part of the site and it was lovely and quiet although not quite as level as first thought!

Plenty of EHU's although some needed very long cables to reach! Facilities were only a short walk away (only 1 block for the site) and although the site was very busy, never seemed to be over occupied - there were always showers available when needed.

In the block were also the dish washing area, waste water disposal and chemical toilet disposal areas - ALL of which were kept very clean, as was the rest of the park with pitches clearly marked out and a friendly park warden to ensure you got to the correct pitch.

The Poplars part of the site was a lot busier and noisier, due to the amount of children, as it is right beside the children's play area. We will be returning! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ddlkc 22 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a Tuesday when it was quiet, we checked in at reception and was given a print out map of where to pitch tent and that was it we were given no other information. We were pitched in front of dog walk which is a nice row to be in although just after finishing pitching tent hubby walked right in a pile of dog poo !

The toilet and shower block is kept immaculate at all times by the cleaning staff. There is no water stands on or near any pitches there is only the one outside of the shower block. I would not bother to buy any internet as it is very hit and miss and slow.

The site was fairly quiet until Friday morning and by the evening it was just about full and very very busy but was not at all loud just campers having fun, lots of children about playing.

The site is in a good location for visiting various attractions 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jadey1233 1 review from this member

 The site was considerably busier than when we visited in May, but the standard remained the same.

The toilets and showers are exceptionally clean, there are also plenty of them. Washing up facilities are good too, very clean and under shelter in case of rain.

May kids loved the play area, I'd say it caters for all ages. We were allocated a pitch on stream side, we had plenty of room, although we don't have a huge tent. They ask for your tent size so if imagine they would just allocate you a bigger pitch to fit.

The staff here are by far the friendliest and most helpful I have come across. They always say 'hello' when passing and make an effort to ensure you are enjoying your stay. They are easy to find and are often patrolling the campsite. The site goes quiet around 10pm and the no noise policy is adhered to, I had no problems getting a 3 & 4 year old off to sleep.

It has a bar/ restaurant and a golf course, although we didn't make use of these facilities. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced, and Leyburn is just up the road if you need a bigger shop.

It's a great site for families. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BRanger5104 12 reviews from this member

 Heard great things about Akebar Park and decided to visit especially as less than an hour from home so great for those Friday night getaways after school.

Unfortunately the weather hadn't been great before we arrived and this meant that ALL of the touring pitches were soft and muddy (hardstanding only on seasonal pitches). Can't blame the owners for the weather and they were happy to refund the money I had paid for an awning as there was no way I was going to put up given how soft the ground was.

There is no clear markings for the pitches which makes it a bit of a free for all but I can understand the owners wanting to retain that natural beauty of the grass over the sometimes harshness of gravel pitches.

The toilet/shower block has undergone a facelift and the facilities were excellent. Free showers and 2 family shower rooms which is an excellent idea. The fresh and waste water facilities and elsan point is also good but the elsan could do with a higher lip for 'splashback' and a hose and some handgel would be good additions.

There is only one toilet block and elsan point near the touring/seasonal pitches and a seasonal owner told me that it can be sometimes quite busy during the high season. There is another block sited near the wntrance but that is a good walk from the touring pitches.

The children's play area is good with lots of room to sit and watch the kiddies and if you have little ones you will want to pitch on 'The Poplars' as this directly looks onto the park.

The Friars Head is a great pub at the entrance to the site but prices are on the expensive side but bear in mind it is also for people who aren't staying on the site. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is very warm and inviting and the log fire was crackling away nicely when we were there.

There are loads of local attractions including Forbidden Corner (don't forget to prebook) and Lightwater Valley as well the lovely market towns of Bedale and Richmond.

I would definitely come back but due to the all grass touring pitches would limit any visits to when the weather is warm and the ground is dry. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Akebar Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Akebar Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Akebar Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leyburn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55556 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement