Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Constable Burton Hall Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Constable Burton Hall Caravan Park Reviews

Constable Burton Hall Caravan Park
Constable Burton Hall
Leyburn
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 5LJ
Tel: 01677 450428
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 23
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 37 Reviews
                8/10 from 37 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JuliemaxW 3 reviews from this member

 Third visit to this quiet attractive site.

The wardens keep it immaculately clean and tidy and have all the facilities well organised to cope with the current COVID situation.

We would confidently return, despite the pandemic.

It is a pound or two more expensive than some but there is always a good chance of getting a pitch 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: AWilliams3 1 review from this member

 Hosts very welcoming. Guided onto the pitch. Lovely attractive and very well cared for site.

Showers the best we’ve used. One in, one out policy for toilets and showers in view of COVID-19. Plenty of sanitisers available everywhere.

Had a very peaceful few days and definitely plan to visit again.

Visited nearby Bolton castle, which was amazing. Also visited Leyburn which was pretty and staff in the local Co-Op very friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Liamduck 1 review from this member

 What a lovely clean site in a beautiful location. We had a great visit to places nearby including Richmond, Catterick, Bedale, Leyburn Barnard castle and Ripon also Middleham castle (the home of King Richard the 3rd).

The campsite is well looked after and the facilities are spotless and complemented by helpful and pleasant staff.

Well worth a visit and we would certainly be going back. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 30 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as we wanted to visit Leyburn area again after many years. We arrived at the site to a warm welcome, was going to be put in the paddock field, takes nine vans but none in when we arrived. Hubby likes to see people coming & going so we asked for a pitch in the main area.

Pitch looked OK at 1st although uneven, in fact all the site is uneven & no hard standings, just grass. By the time we had put our awning up we were walking in mud, never had a pitch like this before, so the field does not drain well.

We could not use our awning at all, as soon as you walked on the breathable carpet mud/water just seeped up, really we should have asked to be moved, so that was our fault, but by the time we had set up we could not be bothered as the damage was done. It was bad enough thinking about taking the awning down at the end of our stay never mind taking it down & putting up again, then down again.

It rained at some point every day, so the field never dried out & was like a mud mire where we walked. As others have commented, the site looks full but most are seasonal touring caravans, so until the weekend there didn't look to be many people about, we should have after all gone into the paddock field which at least looked flat, not sure if this field drains better than where we were.

There is 2 toilet blocks but the one higher up in the site was closed off as it was nearing the site closing down for the winter, so only using the one nr the main entrance. Having said that I never had to wait for a shower. There was 2 in the ladies block as well as 2 toilets & 2 sinks. They were spotless if a little dated, but they did their job, just leave the shower running a minute or 2 till it gets lovely & hot, no complaints here.

There is nowhere to walk from the site, private land & a grass verge outside the site only goes so far so really you need to use your car which was not a problem for us. We visited Ayesgarth Falls a couple of times, the 1st time we only put about £2 in the parking meter & walked down the middle & lower falls, then the higher falls.

The next time we visited we decided to do more walking so put about £4. 50 in for all day parking, we walked down the middle/lower falls again but as it was coming up to Halloween there was a Halloween trail which was great for children, we even liked it.

From the end of the trail we took the sign to Castle Bolton, well sign posted & just a little bit of road to walk on, the drag up to the castle though is not too long. The views from up there are great. From there we walked to a village where James Herriot used to drink in the Wheatsheaf, which is where we stopped off for a late lunch, it was lovely too. It was only 3/4 mile back to Ayesgarth visitors centre from there & a 5. 5 mile walk all told.

Another day we parked the car in Leyburn, free but donations are requested & we walked on the Shawl above Leyburn, 3. 5 miles there & on the way back we had a double rainbow. We also visited Middlam, Masham, Bedale & Jeuvoux Abbey (think I have spelt this wrong) the abbey is free entry & there is a 5 van caravan site there too.

We enjoyed our stay in the area but would not stay at this site again due to the uneven ground, being very muddy when it rains, & lastly the flies. We were overrun with big black flies, never ever had that before.

They were getting in through anywhere we had windows on the security setting, so ended up having to buy a fly spray & closing all the windows. I mentioned it to a lady who was a seasonal caravanner, she said they had problems too but thought they came off the trees, her friend was in a van at the back of us & they had them too, did not like.

If I were to stay in this area again I would look for a site with hard standing pitches, especially at this time of year. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shazzy-t 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the first time for our first camping trip since upgrading from a camper van to a motorhome. The site is beautifully maintained and the facilities are lovely and clean and well kept (toilets, showers etc). Extremely quiet and it seems there are a lot of seasonal pitches punctuating the touring pitches which makes it ideal if you are looking for peace and quiet, which we certainly had.

I had to ring the site as we took a wrong turn and ended up in Constable Burton Hall car park. For those who are going, bear in mine it's not the turn off for Constable Burton Hall, but the turn off after on the right almost opposite the pub. The staff were lovely and helpful and checked us in quickly. They had kindly thought where to place us - next to the dog walk as we had noted that we have 3 dogs. We were shown to our pitch which seemed to be among seasonal pitch holders as there was no one about.

The dog walk itself was fine, as far as dog walks go. Although it wasn't a problem for us, it should be noted that signs tell you to keep your dog on a lead even in this area of the park.

My only feedback for the site itself is something that has been brought up before and that is the amount of 'rules'. Everybody who we spoke to, staff and other campers, seemed pleasant, friendly and helpful. And, I can understand how important it is to keep the site this way. However, the signs around the site, made it feel a little strict (nothing else about the site did). For example, in the women's toilets, the whole top of the mirror was taken up with signs about things that campers shouldn't do. Eg walk their dogs on other pitches, play ball games, have sound after 11pm and keep sound from televisions and sound systems down at all times.

Perhaps it was the wording of the signs and the frequent underlining of the word not, but they came across as a little bit moany. I didn't feel like that at all when speaking to the staff - they seemed laid back and I can't say enough about how polite they were. I just felt that this may explain why people, particularly people with children, have felt a little put out. I must admit, having read some of the reviews, I was concerned that my dogs whimper and cry a bit at tea time or if they need the toilet. On the other hand, the site could definitely be described as 'tranquil' and perhaps this is the reason why. However, I do feel the warning signs and rules could be toned down or reworded in a friendlier way.

The showers were lovely and hot, clean and had everything you needed (a stool, shelf, hook and curtain) and very quiet - no one came in on both occasions I was in the toilet block). I also liked the small 'tourist information' building which had brochures, a book exchange and various useful (paid) appliances such as washers, driers and an iron and ironing board.

One thing I must stress is that, as far as we could see, there was nowhere within safe walking distance from the site except for the pub across the road. So, since I didn't want to move the van once it was parked, we were a bit grounded (fine for a couple of nights but no good for us for longer holidays - in this way I do feel this park is more suited to caravans). I asked in the pub across the road where the nearest shop was as I'd forgotten to bring a toothbrush and hairbrush and the answer was down a very busy road with no paths or grass verges to walk on. There was nothing within walking distance.

We had decided on having a meal out or a take away one night but because the site was so quiet I didn't feel OK leaving the dogs in the van in case they barked so we ended up trying Just Eat for a take away. There were only 2 takeaways 'willing' to deliver and those charged £3 or £3. 50 delivery. However, after making our order, we ended up getting a message to say the take away had cancelled the order, I'm guessing because of the distance. Anyway, my point is, if you're not planning on driving, make sure you have enough food supplies as there didn't seem any way of getting food once you were on site. Except for the pub across the road which, in my opinion, was a little pricey. We got a lager shandy and a Koppaberg for £7. 50.

In all, we enjoyed our short stay at the park and would recommend it to those with transport to leave the park and visit Bedale and surrounding areas. The park itself is lovely and I must say we were both impressed with the facilities. It's probably not for those with children as it is a quiet park with not a lot to do for children and rules about noise and ball games would make it difficult for the little ones to find something to do. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sjd224 4 reviews from this member

 Very good site, very good facilities - but where was everybody?

Arrived midday on the Saturday, easy book in, took possession of a smart card to swipe on entry to the site, no problems. Drove round the site perimeter, well kept grass, neat, tidy pitches. Found our pitch, having had it pointed out by the warden on an easily understood map, no problem. Hooked up, set up, all fine. Then I looked around and began to wonder where everybody was? Practically every pitch was occupied, but I quickly realised that pretty nearly everyone was a 'seasonal' touring van. Some beautiful vans, made ours look tiny, but very few of them were occupied.

Once you get over the feeling that you've arrived in the middle of winter by mistake, this is a very nice site indeed. Clean, efficient showers and toilets, good facilities for washing clothes (and drying) with a small charge. Good location for the parts of the Dales we like, (Leyburn, Richmond, Middleham) and a little further for other places - but that's what you have to put up with in the Dales.

Difficult to comment on the site under full occupation, although more began to arrive at the weekend (Bank Holiday, but overall, a good site with extremely good facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gerry31 16 reviews from this member

 Quiet, clean site with attractive grounds. Helpful owner on arrival. Showers & toilets spotless. Atmosphere around the site was friendly enough. Handy pub/restaurant across the road although we didn't try the food, only the beers. Only stayed 1 night as passing through the Dales but seemed like a pleasant enough place to stay again. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NikkiJohn 2 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic weekend at this site when we went this year. It is an excellent site. We also stopped here last year for a weekend which was our first time ever in a caravan. The owners were brilliant nothing was a problem for them. As it was our first time he helped us set up and showed us how everything worked in the caravan. I'd highly recommend this caravan site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ksaint 6 reviews from this member

 Having decided to site our van this year at the site, we have been thrilled with the once again exceptional standards of cleanliness and tranquillity of the site. Wardens are so friendly and go above and beyond what is expected of their roles. Helpful both with advice and actions. Feel a little aggrieved that we must pay every time we walk the gardens at the hall, even a one off yearly fee could be implemented for those of us who wish to use the facilities more, so room for improvement by the owners.

But back to the site, peaceful, well maintained, friendly seasonal users, good dog walk. Highly recommend for peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Burkey58 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely quiet peaceful site, Spotless and clean, Showers and toilets warm and spotless. Very nice friendly staff. If you like a pint as my wife and I do don't go to the local they are not interested in drinkers only eaters mores the pity. But don't let this put you off this is a very peaceful site just what you need to unwind we will definitely return. 


Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Constable Burton Hall Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Constable Burton Hall Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Constable Burton Hall Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leyburn      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1545 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement