Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hebden Bridge Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Lower Clough Foot )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge > Hebden Bridge Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Lower Clough Foot ) Reviews

Hebden Bridge Caravan And Motorhome Club Site ( Lower Clough Foot )
Cragg Vale
Hebden Bridge
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HX7 5RU
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 47
Open: 30/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boldie42 8 reviews from this member

Lovely site and easy to find 2 miles outside Hebden bridge, bus stop outside entrance, no showers or lavatory but didn't bother us, we had a fab time in Hebden bridge with its cafes, bars and some great local shops, it also has a craft market which was interesting. I would rate this site 8 out of 10 but if it had showers etc I would have said 10 out of 10. We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kelly Turner 1 review from this member

I have just got back after a 2 night stay here with my 7 year old son. Right from the time we arrived on Friday to when we left on Sunday, the staff couldn’t have done more to make us feel welcome and offer advice (I’m new to towing). They told me where would be a good and easy place to reverse my caravan on to a pitch and also told me to let them know if I was struggling. The other campsite users were really friendly and helpful too. A lovely, peaceful and friendly place to go to and we’ll definitely be returning. I would highly recommend staying here!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From south on M1 leave at junction 42 and take M62. At junction 26 leave motorway and head towards Halifax. Proceed through the town and follow signs for Sowerby Bridge and Hebden Bridge. In the centre of Mytholmroyd turn left over bridge. Take care as the section between the bridge and the Shoulder of Mutton Pub is quite narrow. Continue under Railway Bridge and continue uphill and the campsite is just beyond the 40 mph sign on the right. An alternative route from the M62 from junction 21 is to take the A64/B6225 to the A58 and descend to the site on the B6138. (Be aware that there are currently ongoing road works on the main road in Mytholmroyd which will cause delays at peak times)

This is a lovely little campsite about a mile from the village of Mytholmroyd. It is classed as a non-facility site which means it has no toilet or shower block so you have to be self-sufficient in that respect. It is open from early March to early November and accepts non-members. It is set in a valley, bordered by a stream on one side and surrounded by beautifully mature trees. There are 42 pitches, all but six are on hardstandings, the remainder being on grass. Some are divided by hedges and shrubs. A recent refurbishment of the site has converted six of the standard pitches to serviced ones with individual water supply and waste water disposal. The refurbishment has also provided one of the new drive over, open grill, motorhome grey water disposal point this is combined with the only service point on the site. Electrical points are convenient to all pitches and use CEE17 blue connectors rated at 16amps. TV reception is not always good so a TV Co-Ax booster system is provided which is free to use but you must provide your own cable. During our visit there appeared to be a few issues with the TV system. The reception of satellite TV will very much depend on where you are pitched because of the tree cover. The site (as of July 2018) does not have WiFi but they are hoping to install a hot spot soon. I found the 4G signal reasonable for those who prefer to use their own data. There are no play facilities for children. Reception sells a few essentials and there is a small information room.

There is a lot to do and explore from this site either by car or by public transport. It is a downhill walk to Mytholmroyd of about a mile, but a steep coming back! There are bus stops outside the campsite gates with options to travel to Hebden Bridge in one direction and Huddersfield in the other. There are further choices of routes from Mytholmroyd including to Halifax and Todmorden. For shopping there are small Sainsbury and Co-Op supermarkets in Mytholmroyd. A must during your stay here is to visit Hebden Bridge itself which is a delightful place with lots of cafes/pubs/restaurants. The Rochdale Canal will also be an attraction and you can walk from Mytholmroyd and Hebden Bridge along the towpath. A recommended trip during your stay would be to Haworth and visit the Haworth Parsonage where the Bronte sisters lived and wrote during their tragically short lives. You can go by car but perhaps a more exciting form of transport is to take the Brontebus across the Moors from Hebden Bridge to Haworth.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChampersCrean 8 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site a few weeks ago and really enjoyed it. Friendly staff and a pub within walking distance. Nice pitches. Would definitely stay again. Hebden Bridge is close by and worth a visit. Discovered rhubarb gin too. Scrumptious.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue ec 3 reviews from this member

This was our first trip in our motorhome so it was all very exciting and we couldn't have picked a better place. The usual wardens were away the day we arrived so we were dealt with by a very helpful chap who sorted us out with water and parking, etc. He then went straight into our van and started opening cupboards! He did take his shoes off to be fair. Although he seemed a bit bossy, in hindsight and in light of the 2nd site we visited which was very unfriendly, we were happy that he was so knowledgeable and helpful. The usual wardens returned the next day and they were also very friendly and helpful. There were no facilities as in toilets/showers here, but there was a little shop of sorts. It was very pretty, with flowers everywhere and it's clear that the wardens tend the place very well. As we had our car on this visit, we didn't really notice how far away we were from shops, etc, but we had a brilliant breakfast at a café on a bridge that was recommended by the wardens. Nicest breakfast I've had out in ages. We wouldn't hesitate in returning.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Annie-may21 1 review from this member

Booked this site for 1 night as on way to have a service, habitation check and repair. It is only 6. 5 miles from where we need to be in Halifax. Lovely small quiet site. It didn't bother us that there was no shower/toilet block. So long as we could get fresh water and empty elsan. Will definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Santa cruz 20 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this site and second review (see review of August 2013). No point repeating what I wrote back then but a short update is in order.

There is now a TV booster system in place so provided you have a 10 metre cable extension (can also be purchased in shop on site) you can get all the yorkshire area channels.

Still no dog walk of course but the morning constitutional can be accomplished 'out of the gate' and there are just miles of 'footpath' walks in this part of the world.

Other than the 'Coiners' in Mytholmroyd (turn left out of the gate) and the 'Robin Hood' & 'Hinchcliffe Arms' up Cragg Vale (turn right out of the gate) we have found another gem in the 'Shepherds Rest Inn'. Fantastic views, lovely old pub, good food and drink and great staff. Head through Hebden Bridge picking up the Todmorden/Rochdale road and look out for the brown info signs. Really worth the narrow road that takes you up the hill.

Negatives? Well not much good if you have children (no play area) and also the (well advised) lack of toilet/wash facilities make it less than ideal for families. On the flip side the aforementioned does mean it is very quiet and tranquil for us 'older ones'

Other than that we can't fault it, we love it and will return for a fourth time, maybe as early as this autum.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smarksmith 27 reviews from this member

This site is set half way up Cragg Vale just down the road from Hebden Bridge its pretty easy to get here the roads are a bit hilly around so make sure your outfit is happy on hill starts. The site is well laid out and mostly hard standing which is all pretty level. One side is fairly close to the road which you may be able to hear but its not a busy road, on the opposite side runs the river Cragg down a steep embankment which was running quite fast as we had the Bank Holiday rain, otherwise its a very peaceful site, theirs no kids play areas or other noisy environments.

When we arrived the site office was closed and only opens for a few hours twice a day, our choice of pitches was clearly shown and a map of the site so we could get pitched up, when I went back to pay and book in I was warmly welcomed and given all the information I needed, It was reiterated that there is no toilet or shower block on this site.

The Points that you need to be aware of, There is no toilet/shower facilities here so you need to use your vans facilities, TV signals here are really bad, there is boosted TV connection points for you to connect to but even this can only get around a dozen of the freeview channels.

Everything else about this site, its a really nice peaceful site, its very well maintained, clean and tidy. Mobile phone signals are pretty good on EE and Three. There are shops only a 10 minutes drive away.

Would we stay there again, Yes without hesitation. Its a nice clean well maintained site that although it has no on site facilities you are made fully aware of that and that doe not take from any of the charm of the site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boltonpete57 4 reviews from this member

Just stayed here for 3 nights over bank holiday. What a lovely site a credit to the wardens. Site has no toilet block but don't let this put you off there is also no play area for children so mainly adults. Site shop is stocked with all your basics Sainsbury's local + co-op in mythmroyd 10 mins walk. 2 pubs one in either direction from site entrance did not try either but both recommended by previous site users. Good dog walks just off site plus information slip given on arrival with one hour flat(ideal says my wife)walk along canalinto hebden bridge with numerous bars, cafes, etc to suit every taste.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Median 15 reviews from this member

What a super little site. The wardens couldn't be friendlier and the setting is lovely. To give a balanced review I should state that there is no shower/toilet block and no play area for kids, also some pitches are near the road so suffer from noise at certain times.

This small site is well situated for Mytholmroyd, a short walk away, and Hebden Bridge, a longer walk away. It is also on the doorstep of Cragg Vale and close to the Calderdale Way. The area is very pretty with lots of lovely countryside to explore. Hebden Bridge has many places to eat and shop and has a laid back feel to it.

This was our first time to a site with no 'facilities' and we would have absolutely no hesitation in going back. Apart from the lack of a play area for our little ones the site has everything else you could need. As I said at the start, a super little site.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2643 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019