Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Aboyne Loch Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Aboyne Loch Caravan Park
Aboyne
Aberdeen
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB34 5BR
Tel: 01339 886244
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 15
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kittybeldie 6 reviews from this member

Nice site and the wardens are very helpful.

You can walk around the lake which is nice on a sunny day.

Toilet block is old and could do with a bit of TLC, but they are clean.

Internet is only available in the vicinity of the pool room and we couldn't get a 3G signal for mobile phone.

Deeside has plenty to offer with several Scottish National Trust sites nearby and of course Balmoral Castle, but this is only open to the public in spring.

There are lots of places with good food on offer. The World Horse Welfare establishment at Belwade Farm is well worth a visit and they offer good food with a view over the Dee Valley. (Not open Monday or Tuesday)

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SkyeMarnie 1 review from this member

Lovely right beside the lake very quiet and all the neighbours were nice. Definitely recommended for water activities fishing ect. Only an hours drive for Aberdeen as we had children was okkie drive for amusement.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lorna1979 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this caravan park for 3 nights, actually extending our stay by one night. We were put beside the BBQ area which was absolutely perfect! There is an undercover area with a log burner, picnic bench and dish washing facilities which we made great use of. I would say that the tent area has been upgraded since the tent review in 2014 as the ground was grassy and it was easy to get the pegs in.

The toilets and showers are immaculate and nice and hot and there is also a very handy laundry room.

Both the lady and gent who run the caravan park (not sure if they are the owners) were very friendly and welcoming.

Absolutely no complaints and I'm sure we will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martin5a 3 reviews from this member

Although this is a very large site with many static caravans, we had a fully serviced pitch with a view of the loch. The shower Block is large but kept very clean and the showers were hot.

The wardens were most helpful in setting us up and pointing out some of the best local eateries.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tudorose 3 reviews from this member

Stayed on site for one week to visit Braemar gathering and visit. Local area. Had a fully serviced pitch

Near to the entrance a little road noise as described on previous post but not a problem. The shower block

Yes a little dated but excellent hot showers(no buttons to press) spotlessly clean. Most of the site occupied by very modern holiday homes around the loch with residents always willing to chat and pass the time of day some giving useful information on local walks and beauty spots to visit. It is a very mature site with tarmaced roadways and lighting. We would recommend this site and will certainly be returning to

Visit more of the local area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rooftent90 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Aboyne Loch on Sat 29th Aug. Site is well kept, pictureseque lochside setting, mature trees offering plenty of shelter. Shower/toilet block immaculately clean, good hot showers. A little noise from A93 at one side of site but not really intrusive - probably more noticeable because of very quiet site & surroundings. A pleasant pathway links campsite to Aboyne village. Would use this site again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mandtay 1 review from this member

Brilliant site

We visited this site due to the reviews we had read and we were definitely not disappointed

Super site the park is kept immaculate although the toilet block is old its kept spotless.

There's a golf course either side of the park.

The park itself is surrounded by loch, you can fish take a boat for hire, or take a stroll, great for families and couples, I would definitely recommend this site and will be back again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jaglover 1 review from this member

Called in to use Motorhome facilities and were greeted with friendliness and enthusiasm unlike some other sites where you can be treated as a nuisance !

We took the opportunity to look around the site and were impressed with the general tidiness, the site appears very well kept in all areas and we will be returning to stay in the very near future

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maryfell 1 review from this member

I stayed at aboyne loch camping for the weekend although this park is beautifully maintained.

The one let down was the camping field it has a Stoney road through it mud patches where the grass hasn't grown and the ground was rock hard. So difficult to get the tent pegs in.

Aboyne loch you need to invest some money into laying some turf. Campers don't want to camp on rough ground. We were offered another spot but did not fancy the noise of the toilet doors with people going to and fro.

I will definitely return hoping the changes have been made to the camping field as we love the view, fishing, and the loch surrounding.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DaveBee001 1 review from this member

Arrived on time agreed with owner 3pm. No sign of anyone. Waited about 20mins then owner arrived. Very pleasant. So far so good. Charge was 12. 00 per night. No concessions for children. Was told of 5. 00 deposit for toilet key. Handed over 20. 00 and wasn't given any change, naively expecting my deposit and the change to be returned the following day. Then we were guided to a very small area, completely unsuitable for camping. After several fruitless attempts at constructing the tent (I have camped all over Scotland on all terrains) I went to the office to see if this could be changed and again, there was no sign of anyone. We eventually had to camp on a slope. The ground was rock hard and what was more annoying was that not only was there plenty of soft green areas to camp in that were available, we were camped right next to a road where people were constantly stumbling into our tent. Didn't worry me but bothered my 6yo. This was his first and our first 'father & son' experience of camping. The following morning we went to hand the key in to collect my deposit and again, no one was there. We waited a long time along with several others. We could not wait any longer. Very disappointing. I called the owner the following day and she promised to return the 5. 00 in the post later that week, which she did. Not the 8. 00 I was due. My fault, I should have asked for the change at the time. Despite the beautiful location, its not worth taking your tent and def not worth the money. More suited for motor homes and statics and definitely not for kids. Wont be returning.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4404 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019