Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clarach Bay Holiday Village

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth > Clarach Bay Holiday Village > Reviews

Clarach Bay Holiday Village
Clarach Bay
Aberystwyth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY23 3DT
Tel: 01970 828277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steve2768 1 review from this member

 On arrival we drove through the park towards reception and realised wed made a huge mistake.

The park was mostly full of really old green caravans and wooden lodges /chalets that looked as though they belonged back in the 80s. At reception we were shown on a map where our Platinum 2 bed caravan was.

I quickly realised that it was situated on the most used road into the park.

I asked if there was any others in a better location. And was told that there was only 1 other caravan of the same type, but it was also on the most used entrance road, But was closer to reception where all the amenities were.

Odd I thought as wed arrived just before check-in time. So how come there were only 2 choices.

Disappointed we took the original offer and went looking for our caravan.

When found. I spotted a black and yellow rubber speed hump which was approx. 3 metres from our Caravan. And that pretty much ruined our Holiday. Vans/work vehicles going over it could be felt inside the caravan. As it shook. Plus the noise of it. And very few vehicles/Cars slowed down to the 5 mph speed limit for it not be noticed. And when they did. You could hear them accelerating away.

Putting up with that approx. 30 times during morning and evening would be enough to annoy anyone.

Can you imagine that during busier months !

Caravan itself was Ok. But we have stayed in much nicer Platinum 2 bed caravans.

The park in general. My opinion. Budget quality.

Yes its close to a beach. But its not that impressive.

My advice. If you want to stay at a really nice park in Wales. Go to a Thornley leisure one. And dont ever book a holiday through Hoseasons. As they will not support you if anything goes wrong. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bbbwru 1 review from this member

 Had a few issues when booked with this site I will be honest. I booked a platinum 3 through Hoseasons. 4 weeks later they rang to say it was no longer available and I could only have the platinum 2. Apparently the owners were pulling them all off. 4 months later image my surprise to see the platinum 3 back up for the same dates at 3x the price I was originally paying. Havnt even had a reply from Hoseasons about this.

However The caravan was a platinum 2, it was absolutely lovely. Seems very new, very clean, we were also given a bottle of prosecco on arrival in the caravan as well as tea, coffee sugar, soap. Tea towels. Bedding & towels were there ready for us in plastic covering as were the remotes. Can not fault the caravan or our location on site either.

The site was advertised as having a pool & soft play, however the soft play is no longer there & the pool had to be booked. You needed to be at reception very early to book a 20min slot.

Also the entertainment was cancelled for the rest of the year. That never bothered us at all. We spent most the day at the beach or in town and the evenings on the beach. Lovely chips shop, coffee shop, ice cream, waffles & crepes also sold there, small arcade & small selection of rides for younger kids.

It was fine for us.

I would visit again for sure.

Staff lovely on checking in & out. Maybe a cash point for the arcade would be useful & more things for the kids to do I. E out door entertainment like a kids club on the beach. We didn't use the bars so can't comment on them.

Nice location right by the beach, also a nice mountain walk over to town. Ideally need a car or bike if you want to leave site if you can't do the mountain walk.

My only big negative hear is the owners (so we were told by Hoseasons) cancelled our original booking for a smaller caravan then to re advertise it months later for x3 the price. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jenjenjen 2 reviews from this member

 We went up for the weekend back in may was a last minute trip we had a lovely caravan with beautiful views

Staff on sight were brilliant the little one loved the funfair and it was reasonably priced!

An we also went to the car boot sale in the field on the Sunday definitely going here again! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Easyroy 6 reviews from this member

 We had a brilliant week we also had a bit of bother which the staff and owners came and sorted within minutes of going to the office

The pool was warm and hardly used the grandson loved the amusements, the food was good and the place very clean we did look next door and it does look better with a bigger pool but was a bit rowdy so we went back to a lovely quiet van if it was nearer we would be there a lot more times

Thanks all the staff at clarach holiday village for a pleasant holiday 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Asml 1 review from this member

 Clarach bay was amazing experience. I loved it. The facilities are good. We didn't use the pub. We used swimming pool, we were the only ones in there so it was fun, we had it to ourself and the staff was very nice and friendly and then gave us game equipment to play with. Me and my family loved it and the basket / football thing is good, marked out as well. Its okay when your waiting for your dinner and you get bored and there is a gym on site. We stopped for a week but on Sundays the pool was shut so I went over to glan y mor to use their swimming pool, 1 pound for kid and 2 pound for adult. The pool was way better then Clarach because it was bigger and then they had a jacuzzi. It was very clean as well. But that's the only thing I prefer about glan y mor, but every thing else I would give to Clarach bay and it's a good value for money. The week passes were 5 pound so I was impressed. It was quiet site as well and definitely going again and we have booked a another holiday in March 21st to registered :D 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tinkerash 1 review from this member

 Clarach bay is a lovely clean site with a nice beach and facilities. The Entertainment was great and my little boys loved the kids Club and the entertainer Barry wayne.

The staff are friendly and there's plenty to do. However the touring Area is a bit rustic to say the least. The shower block is a portable cabin that's showing its age and the pitches are close to a disused swimming pool. The chemical toilet disposal point is raised which can be difficult to use.

But saying that we still had a great time there and would go back there again as happy kids mean happy parents. We just hope to see an improvement in touring facilities maybe a nice new shower Block where that old pool is.

We would definitely recommend to families with young children who don't mind roughing it a bit. But please be aware the electric hook up is on a card system at 5.00 a card which was not mentioned in the brochure. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandra Stubbs 5 reviews from this member

 Having just returned from this site, we felt very strongly about informing others of our awful experience there.

The Positives:

The area is truly beautiful. This site has beach access with lovely views and is largely clean and tidy.

The Negatives:

The touring area: Not as shown in the brochure! This area is largely taken up with seasonal tourers. The main touring area is at the very far end of the site, a long way from the facilities, which looks like a car park with weeds and a skip.

There is a disused swimming pool next to it, with loose bricks in it, which children were throwing around. The toilet/shower facilities are very poor, being the portacabin type.

The chemical waste point is raised, making it very difficult and there are no washing up facilities.

Our experience:

On our arrival we found our pitch in the 'car park'. We did pitch up, but felt very disappointed and uncomfortable there. We expressed our concerns and were offered two other pitches, in the area shown in the brochure, which we thought would be much better.

One on an incline and one was by an enclosed games pitch, which we were told may be noisy. We did not mind this, after all children have to play, so we moved our caravan to this pitch.

It was soon brought to our attention by other caravanners in this area that there had been problems with this pitch. People having previously moved due to balls coming over the fence and hitting their caravans. Unfortunately, the fence is nowhere near high enough to stop balls coming over.

After one day on this pitch, our vehicle and caravan were bombarded with tennis balls, causing a rather large dent. The people who caused it, a lovely gentleman and his children, were very apologetic, but I explained that it was not their responsibility, but that of the site - they should have a higher fence or not have pitches right next to it. My husband was furious - we had been warned about the noise, (not a problem), but this was damage to our unit.

On our complaint, we found the owner to be rather dismissive of the damage, asking if we had a witness! (Yes). They tried to pull out the dent, but gave us their insurance details in case we needed to claim. The games pitch was then locked until they could find us another pitch.

From then on our holiday was ruined. We spent hours going around the area trying to find another site as we just did not feel comfortable there any more. Unfortunately, as it is August, all the good ones were fully booked.

The next day we were offered another pitch, but when we went to look at it, it was the parking space at the side of a static caravan! We could not quite believe it. That was it, we decided to cut our holiday short and get a refund on the remaining days.

In all our years caravanning, we have never had anything like this happen. We normally go to Devon and Cornwall, so I think we shall stick to that in future.

We feel that the brochure is very misleading regarding the location of the touring pitches and that you should be told upon booking if you are going to be located in the area at the edge of the site.

Finally, it is worth mentioning, that there is a stream that runs at the back of the touring area which would be dangerous for younger children.

You would probably have a great time on this site if you were in a static caravan or cabin, but I would give it a miss if you have tourer. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leabad 1 review from this member

 We visited the site during the half term holidays. The price of the holiday was good, the private beach, pool, and site facilities looked great on the web site. The site is made up mainly of wooden cabins, with a small 12 - 15 pitch touring area.

Positives - Good location, beach, funfair, and food areas all lived up to expectations. Charges were to be expected, and in line with other sites we have visited. Pool very small but adequate to keep the kids busy during the breaks in the weather. The club house looked newly refurbished and was excellent. The entertainment was very very good for the size of the camp, with bbq's and parties, wrestling, magic etc etc

Shop stocked basic's to keep you going, although you would need to visit the local town for more.

Negatives - the touring facilities were very poor. Toilets were a metal portable cabin, we took one look and simply could not use them. One elsan point and waste point which was raised up. This meant you had to lift your 50litre waste up to empty it?. Did not find any washing up facilities.

We did have a good holiday, would we go back. Maybe, although there lots more sites we also want to see. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Farside1 19 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting Clarach for years - since we were kids. Now we come with our children and grandchildren and we still love it.

Nothing to find fault with - always plenty to do. Possibly the only issue is that it's too easy to spend money :)

If you are looking for somewhere around Aberystwyth this is perfect. Great walk over the hill and down into town or a short drive to the dunes at Ynyslas. There's something for everyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: WelshBoa 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed in one of the chalets which are on the site, which was booked privately (not through the site themselves).

The site consists mainly of these wooden type chalets, many of which have telephone numbers in the windows to book through the owners, statics, and then small areas for touring caravans.

The site itself is clean, and whilst in a beautiful location is only five minutes off one of the main roads leading from Aber to Machynlleth.

The site has the main club house which has children's activities during the day for a small period. If you are booking through an owner and not through the site directly you will need to pay admittance into the club. This is either a 1 a night per adult (kids free) or 5 a week per adult.

As mentioned in other reviews it tends to get busy before Bingo, and then kids entertainment takes place at 8:30pm, the bingo players then moving to one of the other rooms within the club. Prices for beer were ok, around 2.50 a pint of Strongbow. There was a toy shop within the area and also a tuckshop. Luckily unlike other places they were not too expensive and were not in your kids face meaning you got nagged constantly!

Entertainment was pretty good each night in fairness. We did not try any of the food places on the site further down, but prices looked ok. Laundrette on site and the amusements and fairground rides which operated on coins but didn't all seem to work annoyingly.

Also a convenience store but this was expensive.

There is a chain linked fenced football area which was good and suprisingly quiet. Did see the portakabins for the tourers which looked as they sounded but cant comment on what they were like inside.

Beach leads off the site and although not a true sandy beach was pleasant enough with lifeguards present.

The swimming pool on site was ok but again had to pay a 1 to use it if renting privately. Pool ok with plenty of shallow areas but changing rooms were tiny with no benches or chairs to actually sit on.So when showering had to avoid soaking clothes and was a bit of a nightmare. In warm weather I expect people simply walk back to their caravan or chalet though.

Site also leads onto another site where you can use their amenities and bar.

Field behind site also holds a large boot sale on a sunday but as the weather was pretty poor not much of a turnout.

Site is ideally located for a stunning beach (Borth) which is only 10-15minute drive away. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Clarach Bay Holiday Village child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Clarach Bay Holiday Village have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clarach Bay Holiday Village?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Clarach Bay Holiday Village dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberystwyth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2996 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement