Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clarach Bay Holiday Village

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Site Reviews

Clarach Bay Holiday Village
Clarach Bay
Aberystwyth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY23 3DT
Tel: 01970 828277
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Easyroy 6 reviews from this member

We had a brilliant week we also had a bit of bother which the staff and owners came and sorted within minutes of going to the office

The pool was warm and hardly used the grandson loved the amusements, the food was good and the place very clean we did look next door and it does look better with a bigger pool but was a bit rowdy so we went back to a lovely quiet van if it was nearer we would be there a lot more times

Thanks all the staff at clarach holiday village for a pleasant holiday

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Asml 1 review from this member

Clarach bay was amazing experience. I loved it. The facilities are good. We didn't use the pub. We used swimming pool, we were the only ones in there so it was fun, we had it to ourself and the staff was very nice and friendly and then gave us game equipment to play with. Me and my family loved it and the basket / football thing is good, marked out as well. Its okay when your waiting for your dinner and you get bored and there is a gym on site. We stopped for a week but on Sundays the pool was shut so I went over to glan y mor to use their swimming pool, 1 pound for kid and 2 pound for adult. The pool was way better then Clarach because it was bigger and then they had a jacuzzi. It was very clean as well. But that's the only thing I prefer about glan y mor, but every thing else I would give to Clarach bay and it's a good value for money. The week passes were 5 pound so I was impressed. It was quiet site as well and definitely going again and we have booked a another holiday in March 21st to registered :D

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tinkerash 1 review from this member

Clarach bay is a lovely clean site with a nice beach and facilities. The Entertainment was great and my little boys loved the kids Club and the entertainer Barry wayne.

The staff are friendly and there's plenty to do. However the touring Area is a bit rustic to say the least. The shower block is a portable cabin that's showing its age and the pitches are close to a disused swimming pool. The chemical toilet disposal point is raised which can be difficult to use.

But saying that we still had a great time there and would go back there again as happy kids mean happy parents. We just hope to see an improvement in touring facilities maybe a nice new shower Block where that old pool is.

We would definitely recommend to families with young children who don't mind roughing it a bit. But please be aware the electric hook up is on a card system at £5.00 a card which was not mentioned in the brochure.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandra Stubbs 5 reviews from this member

Having just returned from this site, we felt very strongly about informing others of our awful experience there.

The Positives:

The area is truly beautiful. This site has beach access with lovely views and is largely clean and tidy.

The Negatives:

The touring area: Not as shown in the brochure! This area is largely taken up with seasonal tourers. The main touring area is at the very far end of the site, a long way from the facilities, which looks like a car park with weeds and a skip.

There is a disused swimming pool next to it, with loose bricks in it, which children were throwing around. The toilet/shower facilities are very poor, being the portacabin type.

The chemical waste point is raised, making it very difficult and there are no washing up facilities.

Our experience:

On our arrival we found our pitch in the 'car park'. We did pitch up, but felt very disappointed and uncomfortable there. We expressed our concerns and were offered two other pitches, in the area shown in the brochure, which we thought would be much better.

One on an incline and one was by an enclosed games pitch, which we were told may be noisy. We did not mind this, after all children have to play, so we moved our caravan to this pitch.

It was soon brought to our attention by other caravanners in this area that there had been problems with this pitch. People having previously moved due to balls coming over the fence and hitting their caravans. Unfortunately, the fence is nowhere near high enough to stop balls coming over.

After one day on this pitch, our vehicle and caravan were bombarded with tennis balls, causing a rather large dent. The people who caused it, a lovely gentleman and his children, were very apologetic, but I explained that it was not their responsibility, but that of the site - they should have a higher fence or not have pitches right next to it. My husband was furious - we had been warned about the noise, (not a problem), but this was damage to our unit.

On our complaint, we found the owner to be rather dismissive of the damage, asking if we had a witness! (Yes). They tried to pull out the dent, but gave us their insurance details in case we needed to claim. The games pitch was then locked until they could find us another pitch.

From then on our holiday was ruined. We spent hours going around the area trying to find another site as we just did not feel comfortable there any more. Unfortunately, as it is August, all the good ones were fully booked.

The next day we were offered another pitch, but when we went to look at it, it was the parking space at the side of a static caravan! We could not quite believe it. That was it, we decided to cut our holiday short and get a refund on the remaining days.

In all our years caravanning, we have never had anything like this happen. We normally go to Devon and Cornwall, so I think we shall stick to that in future.

We feel that the brochure is very misleading regarding the location of the touring pitches and that you should be told upon booking if you are going to be located in the area at the edge of the site.

Finally, it is worth mentioning, that there is a stream that runs at the back of the touring area which would be dangerous for younger children.

You would probably have a great time on this site if you were in a static caravan or cabin, but I would give it a miss if you have tourer.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leabad 1 review from this member

We visited the site during the half term holidays. The price of the holiday was good, the private beach, pool, and site facilities looked great on the web site. The site is made up mainly of wooden cabins, with a small 12 - 15 pitch touring area.

Positives - Good location, beach, funfair, and food areas all lived up to expectations. Charges were to be expected, and in line with other sites we have visited. Pool very small but adequate to keep the kids busy during the breaks in the weather. The club house looked newly refurbished and was excellent. The entertainment was very very good for the size of the camp, with bbq's and parties, wrestling, magic etc etc

Shop stocked basic's to keep you going, although you would need to visit the local town for more.

Negatives - the touring facilities were very poor. Toilets were a metal portable cabin, we took one look and simply could not use them. One elsan point and waste point which was raised up. This meant you had to lift your 50litre waste up to empty it?. Did not find any washing up facilities.

We did have a good holiday, would we go back. Maybe, although there lots more sites we also want to see.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Farside1 17 reviews from this member

We have been visiting Clarach for years - since we were kids. Now we come with our children and grandchildren and we still love it.

Nothing to find fault with - always plenty to do. Possibly the only issue is that it's too easy to spend money :)

If you are looking for somewhere around Aberystwyth this is perfect. Great walk over the hill and down into town or a short drive to the dunes at Ynyslas. There's something for everyone.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: WelshBoa 3 reviews from this member

We stayed in one of the chalets which are on the site, which was booked privately (not through the site themselves).

The site consists mainly of these wooden type chalets, many of which have telephone numbers in the windows to book through the owners, statics, and then small areas for touring caravans.

The site itself is clean, and whilst in a beautiful location is only five minutes off one of the main roads leading from Aber to Machynlleth.

The site has the main club house which has children's activities during the day for a small period. If you are booking through an owner and not through the site directly you will need to pay admittance into the club. This is either a £1 a night per adult (kids free) or £5 a week per adult.

As mentioned in other reviews it tends to get busy before Bingo, and then kids entertainment takes place at 8:30pm, the bingo players then moving to one of the other rooms within the club. Prices for beer were ok, around £2.50 a pint of Strongbow. There was a toy shop within the area and also a tuckshop. Luckily unlike other places they were not too expensive and were not in your kids face meaning you got nagged constantly!

Entertainment was pretty good each night in fairness. We did not try any of the food places on the site further down, but prices looked ok. Laundrette on site and the amusements and fairground rides which operated on coins but didn't all seem to work annoyingly.

Also a convenience store but this was expensive.

There is a chain linked fenced football area which was good and suprisingly quiet. Did see the portakabins for the tourers which looked as they sounded but cant comment on what they were like inside.

Beach leads off the site and although not a true sandy beach was pleasant enough with lifeguards present.

The swimming pool on site was ok but again had to pay a £1 to use it if renting privately. Pool ok with plenty of shallow areas but changing rooms were tiny with no benches or chairs to actually sit on.So when showering had to avoid soaking clothes and was a bit of a nightmare. In warm weather I expect people simply walk back to their caravan or chalet though.

Site also leads onto another site where you can use their amenities and bar.

Field behind site also holds a large boot sale on a sunday but as the weather was pretty poor not much of a turnout.

Site is ideally located for a stunning beach (Borth) which is only 10-15minute drive away.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Big Pat 1 review from this member

We have had several holidays at this site & once again we had a brilliant time. The staff are extremely friendly, the caravans are clean & comfortable. The club is excellent with three really good bars with a good selection of reasonably priced drinks. The entertainment is first class & the resident duo Aquarius are brilliant. The location of this park is stunning with a pebble beach on one side & a wonderful view of the hills on the other. The town of Aberystwyth is just five minutes away where there is a good selection of shops & an excellent Morrisons. A bus service runs regularly from outside of reception into the town & back.There is a small children's playground & there is a small funfair on the front along with a picnic area,launderette, fish & chip shop, a mini-mart & restaurant. There is also a takeaway inside the club which is open at busy times.We will certainly be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maddy68 6 reviews from this member

If you are looking for a green leafy, quiet site then this isn't for you. The touring pitches are in the minority with mainly static caravans.
The showers/toilets are in portacabins and you need to get a key to use them at the begining of your stay. These are clean and adequate.
But the main reason you should visit  is the location, the site is right next to the beach. The beach is stoney rather than sandy but it is nice and clean.  There are amusments, crazy golf, games pitch and fantastic entertainment. I have seen worse entertainment on a cruise ship, there was something for everyone. You need to get in the clubs early at a weekend to get a seat (having said that, you can usually get one after the nighly bingo!)
The swimming pool was warm and clean.
 
We went with 3 teenagers, who really enjoyed this site with plenty to do for all.
Everyone was really helpful and friendly, but the site shop was very expensive.
 
You can walk through, along the beach to a neighbouring caravan park and use their facilities which included a bowling alley etc.
  
I can highly recommend the greek restaurant the olive branch on the front in Aberwystwyth, you can watch the sun set through the large windows and pretend you are in Greece

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuartbroome 1 review from this member

A lovely camp site with plenty to do in and around the park, there is a very clean beach which is safe for the children and plenty of play areas in and around the site. Nightlife is very good in the showboat club with top class acts performing and excellent cabaret for young and old alike.
The site is clean and tidy with no litter etc and the grounds are well kept.

The site owners went out of there way to ensure we had a good holiday with the personal attention you would expect from a cruise not a caravan holiday. Very good all round family site with some excellent countryside to explore for the fitter holiday maker. We had a lovely holiday there and we will definitely go back again.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019