Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cobleland Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Gartmore > Cobleland Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Cobleland Camping In The Forest Site
The Trossachs, Station Road
By Aberfoyle
Gartmore
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK8 3RR
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01877 382392
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 126
Open: 11/04 To 21/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 97 Reviews
                9/10 from 97 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert2510 5 reviews from this member

Very friendly, helpful, highly professional staff. Facilities were very clean and the staff were always out and about removing litter and maintaining the grounds. A lovely site, beautiful location.

Slightly expensive in comparison to other sites, which offer free wifi. But I guess good staff cost more money.

Overall great camping experience.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bailey500 4 reviews from this member

A lovely well kept site in a beautiful location, the wardens were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

This was our first visit and we were very impressed. There is a lovely walk into Aberfoyle from the site.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GillOK 8 reviews from this member

10th campsite out of 11 that we stayed at while touring parts of Scotland. We stayed 3 nights. Excellent facilities (showers separate from toilet block), friendly helpful reception, pitch reasonably level, quiet, sheltered, close to Aberfoyle.

Ideally situated for cycling, walking, day trips to Loch Lomond, Loch Katrine, Loch Venacher, Lake of Menteith and Callander. We don't have young children, but they have trails, activities and a play area for children. There's an area for dog walking and fishing.

Local pub in Gartmore has a pick-up and drop off service, needs to be booked - we walked, well worth it - very friendly and excellent food - don't forget your torch for the walk back! and preferably some high vis gear, as no footpath!

If you are planning a trip to Loch Lomond and the Trossachs, you won't be disappointed if you stay here, got busy on the Friday, so I imagine school holidays you'd need to book in advance. Reported sightings of otters, red squirrels and pinemartins.

We saw deer and red squirrels during our stay, but not at the site, heard some owls too.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Izzy58 3 reviews from this member

Great site. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Great walks and with Aberfoyle a 20 minute walk away with cafes and food.

Also a free bus service to the Black Bull in Gartmore who serve amazing food. Just had a relaxing few days with the dog chilled as well. We will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shelleypops 1 review from this member

Our second time to this brilliant little site. Toilets and showers are clean and warm. There is a lovely walk straight into town and a lovely pub for a bite to eat.

I would say if you have a family you will love this site. We will be back!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 50 reviews from this member

Great site in the forest. There is a large grassy area beside the river, which was mainly tents when we visited and then various small terraces which were for caravans and motorhomes.

The grassy area had lots of large groups camping together so it was quite busy, noisy and family oriented, whereas the terrace areas were quieter. The toilet blocks are clean, although I was surprised that, on such a busy weekend, 3 of the 8 cubicles in the ladies were locked and out of use with no explanation. I have never had to queue for a pee at 2345 before!

The site reception has books to swap and DVDs to borrow and binoculars to hire.

Easy walk into Aberfoyle, we went through the forest but I gather you can also use the cycle path. We recommend the butcher in Aberfoyle, we had takeaway hot food (venison burgers and pies) and they also sold pies and ready meals to cook at home or in your van.

Word of warning, this is a very midge area, so bring plenty of midge repellent!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 123-bluetomato 1 review from this member

What an amazing site. The staff are really friendly and cannot do enough for you. The location is amazing on the banks of the infant River Forth. Free fishing is included. Wildlife is great - I forgot my binoculars but spotted Treeceepers, male and female Goosander, a Mallard with chicks and a possible Kingfisher.

You can hire binoculars from reception. The shop/reception has books and dvds for sale (2nd hand with proceeds to charity), leaflets on all the local attractions, walks and cycle rides and there are bird/wildlife quizzes for the kids with prizes.

I cannot recommend this place enough.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piggle28 23 reviews from this member

Stayed here in a motorhome on our last night of our trip, very friendly welcome from warden and given our pitch which was hard standing down by the river and near the facilities.

Facilities were immaculate and warm. Walked into Aberfoyle in the afternoon down a Tarmac path by the river for a look around and in the evening got the free mini bus to the local pub (recommended and leaflet given by warden ) where we had a fabulous meal and drinks and then brought back to the site.

Fabulous site and I'm sure we will return.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: McCarron 13 reviews from this member

3rd visit to this site over a few years and consistently to a good standard. This time in our motorhome, previous visits in our caravan. Wardens welcome is great, we had booked a hard standing pitch but wanted to be down near the river this time, wardens changed our pitch no problem.

Main area beside river is mostly grass pitches in a large field but benefits from less tree shade hence more sun ( when it comes out) compared to other pitches which are terraced and on higher ground. Down side of this is, if in a tent, some pitches don't fully drain that well after rain.

Site has had some upgrading since last visit mostly due to hard work of wardens with some improved landscaping and planting. Motorhome service point at entrance just after warden’s office, with drain down facilities, drinking water and grey water disposal.

Great walks from the site into surrounding forests and paths to Aberfoyle (approx. 20min walk Co-Op store, pub/ hotel /garden centre/cafe's, petrol station), including tarmac cycle path on opposite side of river (takes you past Rob Roy Hotel, good food/drink).

Use my own facilities on board but had a look and toilet block was very clean. Chemical waste point (with hand sanitiser is a nice touch) and pot wash areas adjacent to toilet block. If you want a quiet pitch choose one of the hard standing pitches up on the terraces, otherwise the main field which is a bit noisier ( kids play area etc. ) but not a problem really for us when we visited.

Not the cheapest, but standard price for Camping in the Forrest site, you get a discount for Camping and Caravan Club members.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GraemeR 1 review from this member

Lovely camp site with the river forth running down 1 side

Toilet block and shower block very clean, didn't have to wait once to use showers. Small playground for kids my 10 year old son enjoyed playing with other kids. We were allowed to fish in the river within the camp site as part of the price for camping but with no success (Can't blame the camp site for that though).

Several walks in the surrounding area Aberfoyle approx 1/2 hour walk along cycle path with pubs and shops etc. Well situated for touring around central Scotland and the Trossachs even did a trip to Oban one day.

Very peaceful and relaxing very helpful and friendly warden answered any questions we had about the area. Only slight criticism the site has a policy of silence from 11pm, I thought that 10pm would be more suitable.

This wasn't an issue most of the time as everyone was very considerate of each other and seemed to settle down from 9pm but unfortunatly on one of the nights one of the familys didn't seem to take much notice of this and had to be asked to be quiet at about 11:30 (To be fair they were quiet after this and settled down earlier every other night)But it was peace and quiet the rest of the time.

Will certainly visit again.

Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Stirlingshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2771 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019