Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dalraddy Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Aviemore > Dalraddy Holiday Park Reviews

Dalraddy Holiday Park
Dalraddy And Alvie Estate
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1QB
Tel: 01479 810330
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75+
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 61 Reviews
                8/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jocks Away 3 reviews from this member

A couple of nights camping in November meant that I had the park more or less to myself. So some of these comments may not apply if you're going in the summer season. On the other hand, autumn/winter is the ideal time of year if you want to be completely alone.

The camping pitches are nicely set into 'bays' in the woods, each surrounded by trees on three sides and sharing a common access track. I was able to park my car in an adjacent pitch, but I imagine it could be quite a squeeze if you had to park on your own pitch. A few pitches have wooden picnic tables, so ask for one of these when you book if that is important for you. The pitches with electric outlets are in a separate area. There is also the private 'quarry' area, which can be booked by groups. The ground everywhere is mostly flat and not too stony.

There are toilet/shower/washing-up blocks at each end of the park. The main building is sited amongst the caravans, while there are cabins next to the electric tent pitches. If you have a non-electric tent pitch, you are going to have a long walk to either - at least a couple of minutes each way (so don't leave it to the last minute if you need to spend a penny!). The facilities are adequate, but there are not many of them: a couple of showers in the tent block and only four in the main building means that it must get busy when the park is full. They were piping hot though, even in the winter. The washing-up area in the main building only has a couple of basins but the brand new cabin near the tents is much better with five basins. There are no disposal facilities in either washing-up block or even any bins nearby, so don't expect to get rid of food waste while you are cleaning your plates.

The site has a small shop with all the essentials (if you need anything else, Aviemore is just a few minutes' drive away). There is a substantial and well-equipped fenced-off play park near to the shop for the kids.

Although the site is beautiful, there is one feature that you will not get from the pictures: the noise. The park is bordered to the east by the Glasgow-Inverness railway and to the west by the main local road south from Aviemore. The A9 is a couple of hundred yards further away. This all means that there is a lot of traffic noise, especially into the evening when everything else gets quieter. If, like me, you are a light sleeper you may be woken several times by trucks or boy racers. Unfortunately, this knocked a couple of stars off my rating. For peace and quiet, there are probably better options in the area.

All-in-all a great family camping site and excellent value for money. The woodland setting is very well done, even if it *sounds* like you are in the middle of a town.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Truediamond 81 reviews from this member

We had Pitch 260 for one night. It was well situated for the Amenities block but it did feel a bit odd being in among statics. There is plenty of shelter under well established Pine Trees and the pitch was a good size too. The Amenities block has two sets of Mens toilets and showers, was well heated but felt as if it was cleaned once a day and not checked too frequently after. At £28 with EHU, the most expensive of the 8 Sites we stayed at. Good wifi though.
Access to Aviemore is ~4 miles by road or walk/bike along the Speyside Way which passes just behind the Site

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardh1905 15 reviews from this member

Spent a pleasant evening and night here on our way back home after a week in the Lake District; on one of the electric tent pitches. We have also previously stayed here in a camper van, and in one of the lodges.

The pitch was pleasantly situated amongst young Scots Pines, and was fairly level and took the pegs OK. It was a bit of a walk to the main toilet block, but a couple of Portacabin type toilet blocks had just been installed nearby; these appeared to be brand new. The shower was good; plenty of hot water and a spacious shower room. One minor irritation is that there were no bins in the dishwashing room down at the main block; nowhere for people to scrape food debris (some of which was still in the sink that I used!)

There is a small shop on site, and a children's play area. Also, Dalraddy is a good site for dogs (unlike Rothiemurchus); lots of walks through the site and into the woods to the south; also the delightful Badenoch/ Speyside Way.

Aviemore is just a few miles away for shops, equipment, eating out, and there are LOTS of other attractions in the area. Do visit Loch Morlich for it's unique sandy beach, and the walk from there through the Scots Pines to stunning An Lochan Uaine is highly recommended. Also recommended is the beautiful walk around Loch an Eilein. Well placed for the Cairngorms too!

Overall, Dalraddy is a pleasant place to stay, whether it be in a tent, camper van or in one of the lodges. I recommend this site, and will in all likelihood stay again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trouble2 2 reviews from this member

Just home from 5 night camping with electric hook up. Tent space T109

Large site with mix of static caravans, hard standing tourers, large field for tents, some individual space for tents and ehu tent space.

Our space was large enough for our 6 man tent, surrounded by trees separate from the next space. The ground was pretty uneven, stones. Nearest toilets were about 5 pitches away but were a poracabin. 2 ladies, 2 men's and 2 showers. Not great locks for kids as stick a bit and lights come on automatic at night but quite late. No wash up area for dishes, which is a pest results in long walk to the main block. There was only 2 sinks which isn't great for a site that size

Small play area for kids which was enclosed with a fence.

Lots of room for cycling etc

We had family join us for few nights, there hard standing was poor. Very uneven. No suitable space for awning. Looked like previously uses space for static caravan.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Knakau 1 review from this member

We had tent pitch with electric hook-up, individual pitches separated by wooden fence and each pitch had own water supply. Shower block one of the warmest and cleanest I have encountered. New wet-room style showers (men's currently being upgraded so temporarily using part of the women's block -not invading female privacy though!) High power shower, no problems with temperature of water. Loads to do in the area, recommend the zip-wire park! Cycle path right next to site makes it excellent for getting out and about on two wheels.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Essendy 8 reviews from this member

We needed a site near Aviemore on our way back home from the North of Scotland. We called en route to ask for a pitch and declared an arrival time after 7pm. They were very friendly on the phone, allocated us a pitch with hookup and said that we could pay in the morning.

The site is just South of Aviemore and we found our pitch and hook up alright. The facilities were clean and tidy and everything you would expect.

In the morning the staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carlos725 9 reviews from this member

First visit 1 Jan 2015 and after setting up, close to amenities, were told to move as had been allocated wrong pitch by site staff. Moved to a pitch at point furthest from amenities. However due to the site proximity to Aviemore it was a good visit.

Second visit 1 Jan 2016. Arrived to find that despite confirmation of allocated hard standing/electric pitch booking six months previously and as little as 4 days before arrival, our three night stay could not be accommodated without moving pitch each day or move to soggy grass pitch a good distance from amenities. This was not acceptable and a chalet offered as substitute. Chalet toilet failed on day 2 and was not able to be repaired during our stay and no alternative accommodation available unless we resorted to daily touring pitch moves. We opted for the manual 'bucket flush' offered. Management were less than helpful and were not available to be seen. No formal apology, refund or other explanation offered. Based on my experiences exactly one year apart, I will not be back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Graham Haddow 11 reviews from this member

I'll start with the only poor feature. The showers are barely warm, and I notice other reviewers have made similar comments! So please resolve this and for me it would be a 10/10 place to stay.

Although it's a big site, pitches are separated by lovely silver birches, natural rocks and grassy areas.

Great safe dog walking just off site, good shop, friendly staff and great location near Aviemore.

We were visiting the Scottish Chainsaw Carving Championship (as one does!) at Carrbridge which is held every September. And as a plug for the area, it's a wonderful experience and day out!

Great value for money. Definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brucera 4 reviews from this member

We spent 4 nights at Dalraddy, on a large pitch with electric. No problem when we arrived. The warden was very polite and quickly dealt with us, pointing us in the direction of the pitch. The pitch was set nestled in low trees with a huge gap between the pitches, filled with more trees. It's a large site but still very quiet.

The toilets were a short distance away but there is a short cut through the trees which is well signposted. They were quite clean, with great showers.

The shop is reasonably stocked with the prices being as you would expect.

There is an excellent cycle path being completed to the rear of the site, accessed from the campsite car park, which goes all the way north to Aviemore and south to Kincraig. Some steep sections but enjoyable for a family, and a lot safer than cycling the main road. In fact, apart from a few road crossings, you can cycle from the campsite all the way to Loch Morlich on cycle-paths.

Overall the site is perfect for people wanting to access the Aviemore area and Cairngorms. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Dalys 6 reviews from this member

We spent a nice few days here at the end of July - a well-kept site with pitches surrounded by trees which gives a lovely private feel.

There is a superb view of the mountains but you need to move away from the trees to see it.

The toilet block was clean and usable, though the water wasn't very warm one of the mornings.

The only other issue we had was needing to queue up to do our washing up one evening - 2 sinks was not enough for the number of people on site that evening.

The shop was well stocked and the staff polite and helpful; we would definitely stay here again.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4697 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019