Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glendaruel Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Colintraive > Glendaruel Caravan Park Reviews

Glendaruel Caravan Park
Glendaruel
Colintraive
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA22 3AB
Tel: 01369 820267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: 1st April - 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Really well kept site just 8 miles up from the ferry terminal at Colintraive.

We were in the touring area, large hardstanding on gravel with grass between pitches, all with ehu. Ttwo water taps and grey water dumps within a few yards. The loos and showers look new in a wood cabin, although only 1 loo for each and a shower there is another block they open when busy.

On arrival if reception is closed you go into the red phone box and speak to the owner via a radio - quirky.

For some reason the site was really quiet, only 4 tourers and a handful of tents, however the statics seemed much busier.

Site info shows they have a shop, as does the sign on the main road - shops sells sweets and a few bits only. Make sure you take what you need as there isn't a shop we came across between here and Lochgilphead (or over to Bute on the ferry).

Plenty of walking, from the back of the campsite you are on the Cowal Way, we walked for an hour and never saw a car.

At 23 per night its fairly priced for really good facilities.

Perfect for a stopover either to or from Isle of Bute but worth a few days if you have time as its a very relaxing and peaceful site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: SmedmorDCH 10 reviews from this member

What a find through UKCS,

A very quiet site,

Plenty of walking for Maggie (our dog), and us.

Annie and her team, Andy n John, are very helpful

Showers and toilets are spotless,

Laundry, and a small kitchen area with microwave and sink and a covered seating area for campers,

Will be returning soon.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Magnusspuss 10 reviews from this member

Visited Glendaruel at the end of April. Stayed one night because we didn't get going the day before. We plan to visit again, we enjoyed the campsite a lot, also the local short walks from camp and hope to visit the surrounding area and lovely beaches the next time.

The host Annie was very nice, kind, relaxed and friendly. She helped me source dog friendly walks and walks for my little boys too.

The other campers were also friendly, some having their touring caravan there permanently.

The facilities were very clean, hot water, warm shower cabin. The dish washing area was nice to use, being covered, spacious and shaded in trees. My son's, aged 9 and 6, enjoyed climbing trees, den making, the babbling brook and the park set aside for kids and ball games. There was also a bench near reception with WiFi. They had a fine time and played with the other children. They want to return too.

The site is peaceful, with hills, plenty of trees, little birds and the neighbouring sheep in fields. There are some walks around that dogs can avoid the sheep areas.

Reception has a small shop for frozen meat, milk, odds and ends, sweets and crisps, water. Local eggs are available at neighbours with honesty box.

There is plenty of recycle bins and water taps. Nothing was too far to walk to and plenty of little paths. We had ehu on a hard standing.

A nice place to relax.

Although there were a lot of static homes for rent they were not very close to the tent/camp area and therefore didn't overpower the camp and even seemed like a little village area on the other side of the site in the trees.

Very nice.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vicbrown 9 reviews from this member

This peninsula does not get the same amount of visitor numbers as Kintyre, but if the qualities of this site are typical, then it deserves to get many more.

We were greeted by name - and had a delightful pitch overlooking scurrying red squirrels. There are delightful short walks in the vicinity including the lovely walk up to 'ladies pool' cataracts ( no ladies bathing!).

All site facilities were excellent, with plans to upgrade the adequate toilet block for the 2016 season.

We would certainly include this site on any future visit.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

A nice quiet campsite at this time of year and the midges were not yet out in force. Nice grounds in a small valley with high hills all around. The shower block is small with free showers - one gents, and 1 ladies - but is nice and clean.

The friendly owner told me to use the men's shower rather than wait for the other one to become free, as there was no-one using it (perhaps the mens/ladies signs could be removed from the doors so that they are available for anyone to use?).

We saw lots of birds, squirrels and rabbits around the site and the sunset reflecting off the hills was beautiful.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leolion 12 reviews from this member

Was wanting to come to this site earlier with a caravan but never managed so brought along the tent instead.

Upon arriving the lady who was Ann was helpful got leaflets and guided us to the tent area and advised best place (keep midgies in mind) but was our choice. Anything we needed she was there to help.

We had 2 Adults 2 Kids 6 + 10 and a dog. Thankfully when we arrived on the Monday it was dry we pitched up the tent parts of the ground was a bit soft so never left car beside tent so we never churned up grass but with the Scottish West Coast weather you will never have a firm ground all year but I will also add that this was no means boggy, we had a choice where we wanted to pitch.

The site is nice itself surrounded by loads of different walks and trees all around it's a quite site at night and loads of room for kids to play and great walks for the dogs.

Toilets/shower are a bit dated and maybe bit small but were clean enough and attached was a laundry with a selection of leaflets, books and films. Next to the toilets/shower was a kids wooden climbing frame which was a bit shaky and behind that through a path was swings beside a massive area for balls games or anything else and the back of that was a path which takes you on a walk.

My only downside (if you can call it that) would be that if there was a toilet next to the tent area it's maybe about 3-5 minute walk to the toilet which may not be far but during the night when your desperate or taking kids if your both desperate.

In general great site for a long weekend or a week as loads to do around Dunoon and surrounding area, staff great and friendly, site and toilets clean at the reception there is a shop basic general stuff anything more then need to go to supermarket which Ann will tell you but best thing that I bought was the midgie nets

But the good side was dry when took tent down. Would I go again YES

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Humber 5 reviews from this member

What a cracking site hid away in argylls secret coast. This is a quiet peaceful very well run site. The lady that owns and runs the site makes you feel very welcome and relaxed.

The site benefits from having a lot of experienced caravanners that know how to behave and they are a good friendly bunch.

I have been to lots of sites, some I would never go back too, some I was glad to get out of, but after a 6 week stay at glendaruel me and my kids were sad to leave and are looking forward to getting back there, this place is well worth a visit.

The site is great and there is a vast beautiful area surrounding it to explore. You will enjoy a holiday there

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 180 reviews from this member

I last visited this site in Cowal over 10 years ago, and I suggest potential visitors set aside the oldest reviews as they no longer apply.

The house and its courtyard, where Reception, toilets, shop etc used to be are now self-catering, and not part of the site. Reception is in a new curved roof profiled metal unit that matches the one chic camping pod (looking up the glen).

The owner is very friendly and helpful, and easily found. We chose our own pitch amongst the big trees backing onto the field of beef cattle, but the ground was sodden after the rain so even the hardstanding was waterlogged. About half the pitches are seasonals - mostly guys there for the fishing.

The toilets are in what looks like a former army hut; they are clean and fresh, albeit with an oddly eclectic mix of fittings.

The shower (one ladies, one gents) is free, and in a room big enough to take the family. We never had to queue, but the site was quiet due to the wet weather. We didn't need the laundry or play area.

The covered pot wash has picnic tables for tenters, which was a nice touch. The recycling facilities behind it are comprehensive.

The site is totally silent (apart from the cattle lowing) - we slept in both mornings. Pleasant walks (with or without dog) in the woods above the site, past pretty waterfalls and up onto the open hills.

Cowal has enough pottering for a long weekend. Yes, the ferry to the Isle of Bute is pricy but a visit to the remarkable Mount Stuart fills a day, topped off with seal watching on the west coast.

Views down the Kyles of Bute en route to Tighnabruaich are tremendous - it's much closer than Dunoon for essential shopping, or seafood dining, or to admire the yachts at anchor. Benmore Botanics by Dunoon are worth visiting at Rhododendron time.

For larger motorhomes crossing to the mainland rather than drive 2-3 hours round, pre-paid Western Ferries tickets cost less than buying them on the roll-on-roll-off ferry (Western Ferries are more frequent than CalMac.) In addition, the vehicle length for tickets steps up at 5.0 metres. We are 5.3 m long and were advised that next time we should buy *two pre-paid single car tickets (plus the occupants' tickets) from the shops in Dunoon: it's much cheaper than one motorhome ticket.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnabacus 17 reviews from this member

Very enjoyable two night stay here. Satellite plug in was available at no extra charge. Site facilities were good and we had no problem with cleanliness as mentioned in another review.

My grandaughter made friends with some other kids, managed to ride her two wheeler bike for the first time and didn't want to leave. Site owner very friendly.

We had an overheating problem with the van just after we left and had to pull in. The owner was following us and stopped to help, giving us details of where we could find a garage to have it checked.

Dunoon is quite handy for stocking up as the camp site shop only has very limited supplies.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark spurling 1 review from this member

An excellent camp site for exploring this wonderful area of argyll.

Spent the weekend at a geocaching event and was pleased with the campsite owners help and advise for the weekend.

The site itself is exactly as a camp site should be, all the amenities that you would require for camping are here on site and clean, well maintained and open all night. If yopu are looking for 5 star then go to a hotel.

Overall a brilliant site that we would be glad to come back to again and again.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Colintraive      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6711 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019