Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glendaruel Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Colintraive > Glendaruel Caravan Park > Reviews

Glendaruel Caravan Park
Glendaruel
Colintraive
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA22 3AB
Tel: 01369 820267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 45 reviews from this member

 This is a really nice site set in a quiet glen with woodland. The site is a mixture of statics and a small touring park.

Shared facilities are clean and with an extra block that appeared closed but ready for busier times.

Recycling, dishwashing, grey water and CDP facilities available.

Some nice short walks available from the site. Heard an owl and a woodpecker. Annie is very friendly and able to provide information and discounted tickets for Benmore Gardens.

If you can, bring levelling blocks as some pitches gave a slight slope. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: AngharadHafod 4 reviews from this member

 I originally booked for 3 nights, but extended to 4 because of both the area offering more than I expected, and the site facilities being what I need.

Camper's Kitchen is always a bonus, with an electric kettle (which I used) and a microwave (which I didn't). There's space in there to charge your mobile devices too.

The site is mainly statics, though those are in their own separate area. There is a caravan/mobile home field, and a separate field for tents. There are plenty of trees around, providing shelter when needed (and it was very hot when I was there, so that was a good thing). There is a network of footpaths around and near the campsite too, for those evening strolls.

Cowal offers a wild Scottish land and seascape without having to travel too far. Yet relatively few people visit it. Whilst there, I looked around, and although I saw a few other sites on my travels around Cowal, there's no question that this would be the one I would return to. The facilities, Annie's friendly and extremely helpful approach, the central location on Cowal and the peaceful setting make it close to the perfect site. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: ShirleyAS 2 reviews from this member

 We came to Glendaruel because the site we planned to visit on Arran was fully booked - but in the end it was the highlight of our fortnight's touring. We booked for two nights initially but extended it to four.

The site is very well run with good facilities that are kept spotless. There are little extras such as covered clothes driers, a disabled user's shower, cooking basics such as oil, salt and pepper in the kitchen.

When we arrived I explained to the owner Anne that we didn't want to be adjacent to other dogs due to our nervous barky one. She could not have been more helpful, walking round the available pitches with us to find the best option. As a result we had a relaxing and peaceful stay.

The site is in a wide flat-bottomed valley with local walks along the Cowal Way and round the former estate land. As mentioned elsewhere you need to bring provisions as there are no village nearby (though a fish and veg van visits on Tuesdays). Then you can relax and enjoy this quiet and pretty part of Scotland. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Really well kept site just 8 miles up from the ferry terminal at Colintraive.

We were in the touring area, large hardstanding on gravel with grass between pitches, all with ehu. Ttwo water taps and grey water dumps within a few yards. The loos and showers look new in a wood cabin, although only 1 loo for each and a shower there is another block they open when busy.

On arrival if reception is closed you go into the red phone box and speak to the owner via a radio - quirky.

For some reason the site was really quiet, only 4 tourers and a handful of tents, however the statics seemed much busier.

Site info shows they have a shop, as does the sign on the main road - shops sells sweets and a few bits only. Make sure you take what you need as there isn't a shop we came across between here and Lochgilphead (or over to Bute on the ferry).

Plenty of walking, from the back of the campsite you are on the Cowal Way, we walked for an hour and never saw a car.

At 23 per night its fairly priced for really good facilities.

Perfect for a stopover either to or from Isle of Bute but worth a few days if you have time as its a very relaxing and peaceful site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: SmedmorDCH 10 reviews from this member

 What a find through UKCS,

A very quiet site,

Plenty of walking for Maggie (our dog), and us.

Annie and her team, Andy n John, are very helpful

Showers and toilets are spotless,

Laundry, and a small kitchen area with microwave and sink and a covered seating area for campers,

Will be returning soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Magnusspuss 10 reviews from this member

 Visited Glendaruel at the end of April. Stayed one night because we didn't get going the day before. We plan to visit again, we enjoyed the campsite a lot, also the local short walks from camp and hope to visit the surrounding area and lovely beaches the next time.

The host Annie was very nice, kind, relaxed and friendly. She helped me source dog friendly walks and walks for my little boys too.

The other campers were also friendly, some having their touring caravan there permanently.

The facilities were very clean, hot water, warm shower cabin. The dish washing area was nice to use, being covered, spacious and shaded in trees. My son's, aged 9 and 6, enjoyed climbing trees, den making, the babbling brook and the park set aside for kids and ball games. There was also a bench near reception with WiFi. They had a fine time and played with the other children. They want to return too.

The site is peaceful, with hills, plenty of trees, little birds and the neighbouring sheep in fields. There are some walks around that dogs can avoid the sheep areas.

Reception has a small shop for frozen meat, milk, odds and ends, sweets and crisps, water. Local eggs are available at neighbours with honesty box.

There is plenty of recycle bins and water taps. Nothing was too far to walk to and plenty of little paths. We had ehu on a hard standing.

A nice place to relax.

Although there were a lot of static homes for rent they were not very close to the tent/camp area and therefore didn't overpower the camp and even seemed like a little village area on the other side of the site in the trees.

Very nice. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vicbrown 11 reviews from this member

 This peninsula does not get the same amount of visitor numbers as Kintyre, but if the qualities of this site are typical, then it deserves to get many more.

We were greeted by name - and had a delightful pitch overlooking scurrying red squirrels. There are delightful short walks in the vicinity including the lovely walk up to 'ladies pool' cataracts ( no ladies bathing!).

All site facilities were excellent, with plans to upgrade the adequate toilet block for the 2016 season.

We would certainly include this site on any future visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

 A nice quiet campsite at this time of year and the midges were not yet out in force. Nice grounds in a small valley with high hills all around. The shower block is small with free showers - one gents, and 1 ladies - but is nice and clean.

The friendly owner told me to use the men's shower rather than wait for the other one to become free, as there was no-one using it (perhaps the mens/ladies signs could be removed from the doors so that they are available for anyone to use?).

We saw lots of birds, squirrels and rabbits around the site and the sunset reflecting off the hills was beautiful. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leolion 12 reviews from this member

 Was wanting to come to this site earlier with a caravan but never managed so brought along the tent instead.

Upon arriving the lady who was Ann was helpful got leaflets and guided us to the tent area and advised best place (keep midgies in mind) but was our choice. Anything we needed she was there to help.

We had 2 Adults 2 Kids 6 + 10 and a dog. Thankfully when we arrived on the Monday it was dry we pitched up the tent parts of the ground was a bit soft so never left car beside tent so we never churned up grass but with the Scottish West Coast weather you will never have a firm ground all year but I will also add that this was no means boggy, we had a choice where we wanted to pitch.

The site is nice itself surrounded by loads of different walks and trees all around it's a quite site at night and loads of room for kids to play and great walks for the dogs.

Toilets/shower are a bit dated and maybe bit small but were clean enough and attached was a laundry with a selection of leaflets, books and films. Next to the toilets/shower was a kids wooden climbing frame which was a bit shaky and behind that through a path was swings beside a massive area for balls games or anything else and the back of that was a path which takes you on a walk.

My only downside (if you can call it that) would be that if there was a toilet next to the tent area it's maybe about 3-5 minute walk to the toilet which may not be far but during the night when your desperate or taking kids if your both desperate.

In general great site for a long weekend or a week as loads to do around Dunoon and surrounding area, staff great and friendly, site and toilets clean at the reception there is a shop basic general stuff anything more then need to go to supermarket which Ann will tell you but best thing that I bought was the midgie nets

But the good side was dry when took tent down. Would I go again YES 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Humber 5 reviews from this member

 What a cracking site hid away in argylls secret coast. This is a quiet peaceful very well run site. The lady that owns and runs the site makes you feel very welcome and relaxed.

The site benefits from having a lot of experienced caravanners that know how to behave and they are a good friendly bunch.

I have been to lots of sites, some I would never go back too, some I was glad to get out of, but after a 6 week stay at glendaruel me and my kids were sad to leave and are looking forward to getting back there, this place is well worth a visit.

The site is great and there is a vast beautiful area surrounding it to explore. You will enjoy a holiday there 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Glendaruel Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glendaruel Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Glendaruel Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Colintraive      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


48249 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement