Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Heads Of Ayr Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Ayr > Heads Of Ayr Caravan Park Reviews

Heads Of Ayr Caravan Park
Dunure Road
Ayr
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA7 4LD
Tel: 01292 442269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 36
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Glende 1 review from this member

 Very friendly staff and owner.

Toilets etc clean.

Facilities very good given the current restrictions.

Didn't venture into the lounge bar because of Covid19 but would do so under normal conditions.

Well kept camp site 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Robertf 1 review from this member

 This was my first visit to this site and it wont be my last.

This is a caravan park but it has an area for touring caravans and tents, there is an on site bar and an office which sells all the basics and is open till 6pm.

The site itself is very well maintained and clean and the staff I met in the reception office were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. The toilets and showers were clean and well looked after.

There is a path to the beach which is the start to an excellent walk along the coastal path towards Ayr and the scenery is stunning, the hill back up to the site has some steep parts but it is manageable (even for an old boy like me).

Overall highly recommended for a visit 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: William scott 21 reviews from this member

 Top class site right on our door step only a few miles away from home

Great free showers and very well kept toilet block water and waste points near to pitches

Small shop in office area papers rolls gas

And products for the kids on sale also lovly pub and lounge with games room also on site

Plenty to do in ayr

And a great fish supper down next to the cooperative store at doonfoot busy car park but you will always get a space

Only dislike is perhaps better signs on site for directions to find office to book in and find touring pitches any signs that are there are well hidden with bushes or too close to turning points but once in its easy to find way in and out 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Chelle25 4 reviews from this member

 This is a nearby site for us and one we have gone to on a few occasions when camping with niece and nephews. They love this site with its park right outside the tent at the camping area. This is great as it allows the adults to sit and relax while still being able to see the young ones playing with friends. Site is situated well away from main road so there is no need to worry when visiting with young ones.

Apart from the park, bar when it's open with pool and some games there is not much to on this site. There is a little walk down to a shingle beach which is nice and you can walk some distance along. There is, however, loads to do in the local area including farm park, walking, fishing and heratige site. There is a terrific cafe 5 mins car journey from site if you want a night off from cooking.

Pitches are fairly well spaced with EHU.

Toilet and shower blocks are spacious and clean with hair dryers situated near the sinks. Small on-site shop which is open daily. Washing up area and laundry room available. Drying green beside car park if you wish to dry off some clothing or towels. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kiltoony 4 reviews from this member

 Just been to this site and I was really impressed with it. The toilet and shower blocks where first class and cleaned every day, the club was good with entertainment for the kids and prices for the drink was reasonable. The only thing I was disappointed in was we have a 6 man Zenobia tent with a porch and there wasn't enough soft ground to put our pegs in for the porch so the porch wasn't put up right. Apart from that would go back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gallachers 6 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely clean and well looked after place to visit. We have been several times with our two grandsons. There is a super play area with swings and climbing ropes etc. The staff are welcoming. The facilities are clean. Showers are free to use. There is a small shop which sells groceries rolls and newspapers. A lounge bar which allows children in early evening with a games table. The bar serves nice meals. All in all a great place to go to 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marty2711 8 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from a 3 night stay at Heads of Ayr Holiday Park, here's what we thought.

Upon arrival we went straight to the tent/ touring field as my mother and father-in-law had already arrived with their touring caravan. We were allocated two pitches against the back of the owners house, both of which were reasonably flat and with power available. Another family were pitched near us although there wasn't really any pressure on space.

The tent field is largely flat and benefits from well cared for grass. There is a good kids play frame with plenty for them to do and seemed to keep our two busy for hours and hours.

Since this was the Jubilee weekend the touring field was quite busy but crucially, not overcrowded. At night there was a bit of noise but nothing too raucous and it all seemed to calm down when the kids were going to sleep.

The toilet facilities are pretty well described in the other reviews that have been written. They are a bit dated but immaculately clean. I would agree with the others who have said that the pressure in the male showers is woeful, they start off well but soon become nothing more than a drizzle. My wife didn't seem to have a problem with the facilities in the ladies. None of us had to wait at all for a shower despite the park being busy. I suppose by avoiding the peak times, it helps.

There is a shop on site selling the essentials and it is open at good times. The site also has a lounge bar which is spotlessly clean and has good character. There's also a function suite/ family room which when we there had a family fun night on for a few hours. A local entertainer provided games and activities for the kids to take part in and they all had a great time. A musician played the night before although we never managed to get to that. The bar is reasonably priced and the staff were very attentive and friendly - an overall impression of everyone working at the site.

Facilities for washing dishes and doing laundry are available although I would comment that for washing dishes there are only two sinks allocated, another two for doing clothes. This seemed a bit of an imbalance as I never saw anyone using the laundry sinks whilst the other two often had people waiting.

The surrounding area has bags of things to do. You can walk the disused railway line to Dunure, a really nice walk or you can walk down to the beach (10 minutes each way, fairly steep but all pathed) and once there the kids can spend their time foraging in the rock pools looking for all sorts of small sea creatures! Care is required though as the sea weed can be quite slippery and deceptively deep often with a few inches of water under it. You can drive the short distance to Culzean Castle or the Heads of Ayr Farm Park or to Alloway which is the heart of Burns country and has all the attractions you would expect to find. The town of Ayr is a fifteen minute drive and has everything you would expect of a fairly large seaside town.

So, all in all - a really well run friendly site, beautifully looked after, situated on a flat stretch of land with some clues of it's railway heritage still to be seen (the old platform is still there but has been so well landscaped you'd never know) and with just enough facilities to keep everyone amused. It's far enough from the main road to mask any noise of passing traffic and to be safe for young kids. Will we be going back? Yes, most definitely, a gem of a spot only 45 minutes from Glasgow. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dman_if 11 reviews from this member

 Mixed views about this site, firstly when booking I found it quiet hard to understand the (male) owner, due to his broad accent, & when I asked him to repeat what he said a few times he became a bit off with me! I continued with the booking paid deposit, but didn't realise that even a tourer, or tent full amount had to be paid prior to arrival, Website was unclear about this, as only mentions Statics, but owner confirmed we could pay on arrival.

On arrival meet site owners (husband & wife), they were welcoming, and proceeded to show us our pitch, we were shown to a small area adjacent the dishwashing/ laundry facilities, & my first impression was we were going to drive through this area, as it didn't appear we could get 2 x caravans in!.

We were shown our pitch, which we reversed into, sloping both ways. So had to use blocks which we had brought (thank goodness), ground was very wet, had to put our breathable ground sheet over sodden muddy ground, so came straight through into the awning. We were told that the sited tourer next to us wasn't returning this week so we could park next to our van as opposed to the car park. The other van with us as placed in front of us, on the corner of the grass area, not ideal, but at least they were level, & on good grass.

The facilities on site were pleasing, the toilet, showers, dishwashing, & laundry were all good & kept clean.

Spent an evening in the Clubhouse, which we enjoyed. Shop well stocked.

Kids loved the playground.

Heads of Ayr Farm Park within walking distance, well worth a visit on a sunny day, Culzean Castle, good to for a sunny day out.

Ayr town centre, 15-20 mins drive. (larger supermarkets, swimming pool etc)

I wouldn't return to this site, as I think its more for sited tourers & Statics, & I believe the tourer area is not up to expectations, although a bit of investment to ensure sufficient draining of the ground, and more space per pitch would certainly help. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jim154 2 reviews from this member

 We are just back from here just two nights away good and clean the toilets were clean with loads of hot water.

The owner pointed us out to our place right outside

Of his house on the site the shop was well stocked

For day to day things. At night the club was good cheep for the drink. If you wanted to go up to Ayr without the car the bus is right outside the site and for the fare of 2 was ok the times of the buses are at the camp shop. The beach not to far a walk from the site and my son likes the playground

The noise was not too bad being not that far from the club house. We will be back again nice place to chill out at.

What more can I say about the camp but try it out and the views over the sea from the top of the beach are great if you like it. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jiminy Cricket 2 reviews from this member

 Our first attempt with our new Fuji 5 tent. On arrival at site the owner walked with me to the tent area and showed me where to pitch my tent. I managed to get the tent up without too much trouble.

The site is kept very clean, and the toilet shower block although perhaps a little dated, are kept clean. Water pressure in the showers was a bit low although I did manage to shower.

The tent area also has a children's play area and can be a bit noisy during the day, but you expect noise when there are kids about. This area would benefit with it's own toilet/shower block as it can seem quite a walk if you have to go during the night.

There is a small shop on site which sells the basics with fresh rolls delivered every morning.

The club has a lounge bar and a large room in which they have kids games and bingo on a Friday night, and entertainment for the adults on Saturdays.

Drinks are reasonably priced although buying cola for your kids could be a bit pricey at 1. 50 a can. I believe they used to serve food but have stopped. Not sure why as you would have to travel a few miles to get any restaurants or takeaways.

Mostly statics on sites with a small area for tourers/tents and another area for larger motorhomes.

Laundry facilities are excellent and there are electric hook ups available on part of the site. All in all a pleasant site and we will be visiting again. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Heads Of Ayr Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Heads Of Ayr Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Heads Of Ayr Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ayr      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1561 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement