Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Meadow House Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Meadow House Holiday Park
Summerhill
Amroth
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA67 8NS
Tel: 01834 812438
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 14 Reviews
                6/10 from 14 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robanddeb281006 5 reviews from this member

Just spent a week at Meadow House. Touring field had grass and hardstanding pitches with lots of room for kids to play despite being quite busy over the Whitsun holiday. You get handed a set of rules and regulations on your arrival - some of the things they don't allow is kids on bikes, skateboards or battery powered toys. When we were given these, I thought we'd be subject of close scrutiny during our stay but to be fair we didn't see anybody checking up on anything. Good base for getting onto the coastal path - the site has its own gate that leads directly onto it with good walks to Amroth, Wiseman's Bridge, Saundersfoot or further afield. The toilet block was of a good standard, regularly cleaned and had plenty of hot water. Sorry, BOILING water! Same with the dishwashing sinks - the temperature and force of the water meant you were getting a scalding hot shower each time you turned a tap on! We used the clubhouse on 2-3 nights and it was generally very quiet. Pint of lager 3 upwards. The 'entertainment' on one night was very poor. We didn't use the pool as the kids preferred to go to the local beaches instead. The park was popular with all the children. A bit pricey when there are a huge choice of other sites in the area. Would highly recommend Lisa's Restaurant at Telpyn Farm (2. 5 miles away) for the best food you'll ever taste!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan100 1 review from this member

Let's start with what's good, the children's playground is OK and the pool is OK but everything else well what can I say, it seems as if all the money is spent on the static area of this park. I feel the shower/toilet block needs knocking down and replacing. The area with the pitches needs proper road surface. The clubhouse need updating. I would not recommend this site apart from its location. It is a real pity because it is a fantastic part of Pembrokeshire.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rachel200 1 review from this member

Before coming to this campsite, I read lots of reviews. Most of them were good with about three criticising it. I so wish I had taken note of what people were writing.

The park is a lot smaller and a lot more run down than I was expecting.

The pool is a lot smaller, the games room/arcade is very old and extremely messy! It had a small bar, with no entertainment through the week and not great on the weekend.

The toilets and showers are extremely run down and not cleaned regularly. On the plus side, the water was warm.

The site has no shop and it's a long walk to find one!

The only good thing about this site, is the amazing view from the bottom end if the park by the static caravans.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Henrythechef 1 review from this member

We were lucky with the weather on the bank holiday. A few showers to start on Friday afternoon but weather settled. Pitch was wet but no issues. Camp site is great. Club house is of a high standard with good quality entertainment.

Men's toilets could do with cleaning more often. Showers were generally clean but wash basin area looked unhygienic. There was toilet paper left on the floor in the urinal area for over 18 hours.

Playground for the kids was good.

Saundersfoot is a scenic 5 mile round trip walk (uphill on the way back) but is well worth the effort. (you can always stop at the Wiseman's)

My moans are picky. The site is expensive to stay at but I feel is worth the money.

I'll be back. (book early)

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camptastic31 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 7 nights in the last week and what a find!

The pitches virtually have their own water tap. They are of a decent size, very well drained and you are in with the camper vans so a real upgrade compared to most campsites.

There is a great outdoor play area for the children which they loved. It was a nice quiet site with no noise at night.

The showers were good- free, just the right temperature- but might be a little hot for the very little ones) and didn't queue once and nice and close to the tent.

Everyone was friendly and helpful. The pool was fine it has a approximate 1 metre long shallow end(18 inches deep) for the toddlers then approx 10 metres for swimming and for us with young children it was perfect, not cold at all showers were just right - all you had to do was press the button. It wasn't busy even though it was raining.

Nearby there are so many beaches, Amroth, Wisemans Bridge, Coppet Hall, Saundserfoot- all within 2 miles - perfect, and the walk from Wisemans bridge(free parking) to Saundersfoot was a delight and even saw a seal-brilliant!)

There is a multi storey carpark in Tenby which is good value but with so much on hand(including a good grocery shop in Amroth) - we rarely went to Tenby.

All in all we would definitely recommend this site and we intend to return again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hellocampers 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here at the beginning of August. The staff here are polite and very helpful. The toilet/shower block is clean, however the tap water comes out very fast and was very hot. The pitches are well spaced out with water taps near most electric hook-ups. The tent pitches are near the main road but to be honest we only noticed the odd 'boy racer' driving along the road.

The on-site pub had a large games room for the children. The pub was reasonably priced but didn't serve food and only had entertainment on the weekend.

The pool does not have any cubicles or lockers and the chlorine when you walk into the pool area really burns your eyes, and that's before you enter the pool. The pool itself is a little small, cold and the shower didn't work properly. We only went swimming once.

Considering the price of the pitch, we found the campsite a little run down and needed a bit of tlc.

It wouldn't take much for this great little site to be a fantastic camp site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BeeCamper 1 review from this member

I am first time camper, stay in this park for 3 nights purely because they have pool for the little one and close the beach.

The pitch is quite spacious with simple fencing around. Overall quite happy with the basic, there are 3 shower cubicles and are very small. One of the pipe fitting is leaking.

Quite disappointed with the opening hours for the pool, as we were visiting nearby area during the day,by the time we got back to the tent around 5ish, the swimming already close.

However I have to say all the staffs friendly and helpful.

I probably won't go back purely based on the shower facilities and not able to use the pool.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rik666 22 reviews from this member

A nice site which is one of the Celtic holiday parks.

This is one of the better parks in the Celtic holiday group. The touring pitches are separated from the camping field & well apart from the static caravans

The touring pitches are reasonably sized, fairly flat & divided by simple fencing, some have gravelled hard standing & It looked like most had there own water.

The showers and toilets are OK but far from immaculate & I would imagine that in a busy period there would be queuing.

The club was looked fantastic, but unfortunately was only open for the weekends.

The surrounding area is great with some of the most beautiful coastal areas in Wales, there are plenty of great walks & lovely places to visit.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markjennison 3 reviews from this member

Meadow House Holiday Park is a nice site but personally, I would look elsewhere if I visited the area again.

We were on the electric hook-up field which is dominated by caravans and due to the excessive rain and poor drainage, the pitch we were allocated was soon waterlogged. Others pitches weren't as bad but drainage could have been improved.

Even though the toilet block was small, it was rarely busy due to the number of caravans I guess. We rarely had to wait to wash up even though there were only 2 sinks! It was not until the end of our stay, bank holiday weekend when the site got busier, that the hot water ran out! There was soap by the sinks sometimes and they were clean for saying how wet and muddy the site was.

Having a water tap per 4 pitches is an excellent idea and we barely used our water container. Other nice features were the small fences that partially surrounded the pitches.

I was told by a regular visitor that the site ownership has recently changed. Previous owners used to make good use of the large clubhouse putting on regular entertainment. Now, apart from one seasonal fund-raising event, there is little in the way of organised entertainment. It is a shame because the clubhouse is large and it has a massive bar, but no real reason to take the family in there. When they did have a wild west themed day, the bar was packed! Hopefully the owners will take note and arrange more things to do. Our children would have loved a kids disco which is so easy to arrange and gets the family in buying a round or 2 so would soon pay for itself.

This lack of added value is my main reason why I would not go back. The pool was nice but small, the site itself is well maintained and in an excellent position on the coast path, but they just need to make use of the excellent facilities more and make it a holiday park and not just a camping and caravan site which is all it is at the moment.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Got the tshirt 14 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week at Meadow House, it was lovely, hot clean showers [but only found 3 for women and same for men], loads of hot water for washing up, we were the only tent on the tent field for most of the week, our youngest loved the play area, not sure how the facilities would cope if the site was full though. We all enjoyed walks/bike rides to Saundersfoot, Wiseman's Bridge and Amroth.The site staff are helpful and froze our icepacks with the lollies for a donation to charity. The pool is good we used it every day, it could do with staying open slightly later although someone said it closes early to stop people washing children who have been on the beach all day in it! Fair point ! Some lovely beaches locally [Wiseman's Bridge at low tide] and loads to do all around this area. We will probably use this site again but probably out of season again.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2261 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019