Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nant Y Big

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Nant Y Big
Cilan
Abersoch
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7DB
Tel: 01758 712686
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: March 22nd To October 31st.

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robinezekiel 1 review from this member

In behalf of my group, we truly appreciate the warmed welcome by the staff in Nant Y Big to us. As this was our first ever camping experience, we never regret choosing this site. Our kids have a lovely, amazing, remarkable, wonderful and ' best ever' experienced in this place. On top of that, the place was so tranquil and solemn that makes it so relaxing. Although the toilet facilities are not quite modern, it was still well maintained and cleaned. The 11pm 'no noise policy' was beneficial to our group and provided us restful evening that was calmed and relaxing without any disturbance noise at night. Added to these, the site was not overcrowded and provided plenty of space for our children to play. But if you are looking for a site that has children amenities and entertainment in it, this place is not best suited for you. However, the site is close to the beach where children and adult will surely enjoy surfing. The beach is stunning and the views is spectacular to those who wanted to bond with nature. I will truly recommend this site

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pilotpaul 3 reviews from this member

Stopped here last weekend and have to say the guy that was the warden for that day could not have been any more helpful, he even took the time to remember my name. It's not often that you get that sort of personal touch.

The showers and toilets are limited to two gents and I assume the same for the ladies ! however this wasn't a problem when we visited and it was nice to have a 'proper' shower as opposed to one where you had to press button every two minutes to get water and both the toilets and showers were very clean.

The site also represents great value for money so we would most certainly visit again.

Paul Sears

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stanmoor 6 reviews from this member

Sadly our visit to this well reviewed site was not as positive as many others. We found the site to be poorly run with basic facilities and a terrible approach lane. The booking system appears to be ad hoc and disorganised with a very flippant attitude to enquiries. The approach to the site requires you to ring and arrange to be met by a warden at the bottom of the lane to ensure that no one meets you on the narrow single track lane. So getting booked in and arriving at the site is made trickier than need be. The wardens seemed friendly but also seem to have excessive rules posted around the site. We were told to pich where we liked in the field, very relaxed we thought, and then when set up instructed to move as they didn't like the way our unit was positioned. We returned from our visit extremely angry as our caravan had been damaged by rocks protruding into the lane as we left the site, the caravan following also had damage. If the staff could make the approach safe instead of enforcing petty rules then they would demonstate a basic knowledge of how to run a site successfully. As it is we have a hefty repair bill and wish that we had never set foot on the poorly managed place.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rebecca Ashley 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a stay at Nant Y Big, and it was excellent. We are a family of 5 - 2 adults, three children (9, 6, and 4). We actually arrived a day late (dreadful traffic on the A55, coupled with a road closure meant that we had to stay in a guest house in Rhyll on the Friday night). The campsite owners very kindly did not charge us for the Friday night, even though it was a bank holiday weekend. The campsite is extremely spacious - we stayed in the 'panoramic' field which, unsurprisingly, had an amazing view (we saw dolphins in the bay on one of the evenings) and I think there was probably an average of 50 metres between each tent / group of people which meant we had the luxury of not being woken up in the morning by other people passing by. The beach is a 5 minute walk away (down quite a steep hill) and it is beautiful - a mix of rock pools, sand, pebbles. The facilities are basic but adequate - although perhaps my only criticism is that the hot water in the dishwashing area is only luke warm (it's hot in the free showers though). The campsite is near enough to civilisation (Abersoch - circa 5 min drive) to be convenient, but situated in a way that makes you feel you are fabulously remote. The wardens were all extremely helpful and friendly, ensuring you felt welcomed and relaxed. All in all a truly fabulous campsite. Lots of space, amazing views, gorgeous beach.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjolleys 2 reviews from this member

If you want a quieter more peaceful site, a few minutes drive from abersoch and 10 minute walk downhill to stunning sandy beach, then nant y big is perfect! Three fields in a row, with first two seasonal s, we had the the whole grass touring/tent field all to ourselves due to high wind forecast. Was actually sunny and caught the sun on beach! No shop but spar few mins away. Tight entrance, single track approach, but owner met us as I phoned ahead which calmed my nerves. Excellent service for worried tourer!. Fantastic friendly warden. Only downside is possibly only one shower block but we had no issues. Beach felt almost private to site and was glorious when tide was out. Yes it's a walk up/ downhill but our 6 & 9 year kids didn't complain. All in all just fantastic and will return.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tbear123 1 review from this member

Just returned from 4 nights at Nant-Y-Big camp site. The site is clean, well laid out and the staff and wardens were fantastic. The facilities were excellent also - very clean, warm and again well laid out. The real jems of this site however are the views afforded from the top field and the beach just 5 minutes walk away. Absolutely stunning. Five minute drive and you're in Abersoch but we walked along the tops and dropped down onto the golf course one evening which took just under an hour and gave us some great views of Abersoch beach.

Criticism? only one. The lane to the site is very narrow and if you're in a motor home and meet something coming the other way it can be a bit hairy.

We will definitely be back though as we really enjoyed our time here well done to all concerned.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spotter5 1 review from this member

This was our second camping trip and now we are hooked!

There are three different campgrounds, they only have electric in the caravan and family area but we wanted a view of the beach so went for the “Panoramic” campground.

The view was “Panoramic” and the beach was even better with interesting rock-pools at one end and the beautiful sandy beach at the other.

Nice quiet site with very friendly campers and plenty of space. The toilets and showers are in quite old portocabins, but the showers are lovely and hot with no time-limit and free! The toilets do feel very far away when it is raining, but in fairness we could have camped closer.

The weather was changeable like on our trip at the beginning of the month, but when the sun came out it made it worth putting up with the rain (not the best year to start camping). As we were newbies the warden let us know when the wind was picking up and explained the weather forecast that they display at the office (small caravan!), so we moved near to a wall on our third day and all was good.

The coast walk past the islands to Abersoc is lovely and we saw hundreds more rabbits. There are plenty of cafes and pubs for lunch but we went for good old fish and chips. While there we booked what turned out to be quite a wet fishing trip, but on the upside it did provided Mackerel for our disposable barby, and some great shots of inquisitive seals.

Our first camping trip was not to a coastal site. After visiting this great area I’m sure there’s a good chance we will be back and its likely that we will hunt out coastal sites from now on.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Siloans 16 reviews from this member

This site was a very nice place to spend a week so much to do nearby

The best site wardens anywhere

Nearly all the pitches are seasonal but they do cattery for some caravans but tents seem to be best for the best views some have cliff top views

No shop on site good electrics slow water for drinking

Elsan waist is very poor just a pipe in the ground could do better same for grey waist

Showers free and fantastic even if the port cabins are a bit tired

No hard standing but the ground was so well drained except for the path

Getting in and out was the worst we have seen so tight and timing is everything if you meet another coming out beware

The warden set off up the lane to keep the lane clear when we left so thanks for that

Very exposed site well you are right on the coast so take some straps for your awning just in case

The beach was great but quite a walk would say 10 mins from pitch to sand

Horse riding recommended and the welsh coastal path was fantastic

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boris2 1 review from this member

Very helpful and friendly staff made for a fantastic 2 week break. Excellent beach nearby and lovely coastal walks. The site was always clean, tidy and well kept.

The wash facilities although basic were nice and clean with good showers and free hot water. Washing up area ok but perhaps could do with a cover and bin for waste.

Lovely open pitches though some in the family field with electric hook ups are quite sloping and plenty of space for kids to play in, though having a young family a bit of a play area would be most welcome.

Overall a great campsite which I will definitely return to and very good value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: T-o-n-y 2 reviews from this member

We have being visiting Abersoch for years now, but this was the first time we had stayed at Nant Y Big.

We were greeted by site warden Eifon, who is really helpful and a top guy. He pointed us in the right direction to the family field and told us to take our pick of the EHU pitches, great start.

The majority of the pitches are flat until you get up to the top end of the field where there is a slight slope, but we've camped on worse inclines.

The facilities are in portacabins, they are kept spotless and the showers are free. Pot wash is adjacent to one of the portacabins but could do with a cover for when it's raining. Which it did!

There is the option to camp on the top field (no EHU) which has stunning views over Porth Ceriad. From the family field you can use the private road to get to the beach which is only 10/15mins walk away. Ideal spot if you're a surfer.

Although a short run in the car to Abersoch or the Spar shop for provisions, it means Nant Y Big is away from it all and have to say we like it like that.

Not that we're sticklers for rules but they seemed to be adhered to and all was quiet after 11pm.

Great spot for chilling out, walking on the beach and headlands.

We would happily recommend this site and we will be returning to Nant Y Big, its a great site, lovely location and friendly staff!

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3228 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019