Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wern Newydd Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Wern Newydd Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Wern Newydd Caravan & Camping Park
Llanbedrog
Abersoch
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7PG
Tel: 01758 740220
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Enid-hartshill 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, great views, friendly owner, good clean facilities.

It was very windy whilst we were there but our pitch and most of the site very sheltered.

Ideally situated for exploring the Peninsular shop, pub and beach only a few minutes by car maybe 20 minutes to walk. Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happysoul123 2 reviews from this member

 Having spoken to Mrs Valentine during the pre booking, she sounded really friendly and helpful we were really looking forward to our break on the Llyn peninsula and we received a warm reception from her and her husband on arrival. They kindly squeezed us into a gap between the many seasonal pitches.

The campsite has magnificent views over the Rivals ridgeway, a series of peaks which extends up the northern side of the peninsula and down into Pwllheli. We were fairly well protected from the wind by a high rocky bank which shelters most of the campsite. We used Wern Newydd as a base to explore Snowdonia and the beaches. This worked well but we were surprised how many miles we covered in a week!

The toilet/shower block is presently being extended, cleaned daily with slate floors but currently only has one male and one female shower costing 1 for approx 5mins. The nearest shop is a pleasant 5 min walk from the campsite.

The site was very quiet for the time of year with only a few other visiting weekenders. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DavidW50 8 reviews from this member

 I selected this site rather than a Caravan Club CL as I have found these rather basic in the past. The website promised first class facilities and friendly helpful staff. I was encouraged by the personalised letter 'looking forward to welcoming us' and assumed that the list of 29 rules to which I had to sign my agreement meant a well-run site, though I was a little surprised that I had to pay the whole amount three weeks in advance. From the moment we arrived, however, I felt the whole experience was no better than a CL, at twice the price. Firstly there were no signs indicating where we should call to report in, or any apparent provision for our arrival. I went hesitantly towards the house, was run at by two dogs which fortunately turned out to be non-aggressive, and just happened to catch the attention of the owner's daughter. She explained that her mother was unwell and could not see us, which we were sorry to hear, but feel there should be arrangements in place to cover such problems. After a very brief indication of the facilities we were left to pitch our caravan, and had no further approach from anybody for the five days we were there. Most of this time we were the only people on site, since all the rest were seasonal. The so-called 'first class' facilities consisted of a small, draughty toilet / shower block where I was not pleased to find we would have to pay extra (on top of 26 a night) for a shower (though since there were no explanatory signs in the block it took a little while to realise this). We used our caravan shower the whole time. So - facilities definitely not at all first class, no sign of friendly staff. The sting in the tail was that on our journey home we found serious damage to the side of our caravan. I concluded that this was consistent with a large object hitting it, which could well have been the parasol left outside the caravan next to us being blown in the wind. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: DplusG 19 reviews from this member

 Another cracking Easter trip to Wern Newydd and excellent weather to boot! Little had changed since last year although the new ablutions block had progressed a little.

This is the ideal tranquil location for us and we always enjoy ourselves when we visit. We made the most of the electric hook up at this time of year in the cooler evenings and that makes tenting comfortable in April.

Thanks to Maria and the team once again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynphillier 1 review from this member

 This is our second year here as seasonal campers (Caravan). This is a really child friendly site. My grandchildren love it and are out playing with other children 8-8. The site has a large bracken covered tump that is ideal for absorbing loads of children and gives opportunity for really imaginative play.

Facilities are clean and tidy with new toilet block in the pipeline.

No problem with dogs now a particular unit has left.

Because many pitches are seasonal the site never seems busy. Beautifully situated and very relaxed I would recommend to anyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trenchfoot2010 9 reviews from this member

 First solo trip with our caravan. But not a journey into the unknown. We have been holidaying on the Lleyn for years. Usually camping in Abersoch. But with the big white box on the back we weren't confident negotiating the winding roads and one way system through Abersoch. So Llanbedrog seemed a good fit.

The site - idyllic setting and safe but exciting for young children. No play area didn't bother us. Plenty of room to play. The focal area is the standing stones or climbing 'the hill'.

The site is mainly seasonal pitches with big tourers and permanent awnings. This was great as most of these units were empty the week we stayed so the site was quiet.

Welfare block - always kept clean, but very small. Most visitors must have used their vans because we never had problem accessing the loos or shower. Plenty of space in the wash up. I guess old camping habits die hard, as we tend to use the site facilities rather than our creature comforts in the van.

Free Wifi - wasn't advertised but was available. I'm never sure if that is a good thing or not. I like to get way from everything but the family were happy!

Access to the site? - pretty good. Narrow road up to the site through Llanbedrog, but certainly not squeaky bum time.

Only down side on the site? dogs, we have our own although he doesn't usually travel. The real problem? Dog owners I had to get poo bags out to clean up other peoples mess. Not what you would expect. It seemed to be the seasonals who viewed the dogs on lead rule as not referring to them.

The dog control issue is the only downer, but big enough to make this not an automatic return site for us.

Local area - hints and tips

Must dos

A beer on the beach at Port Dinllean.

Body boarding at Hells mouth

Super cheap food and drink at Weatherspoons in Pwhelli

There is a hidden Lidl in Pwhelli too.

People watching and shopping in Abersoch

Bistro or an ice cream on the beach at Llanbedrog. Watch the slippery steps down from the NT carpark. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: DplusG 19 reviews from this member

 Another lovely Easter break with excellent weather. The site is well situated, very well run and maintained- mainly seasonal caravan pitches but all are excellent and we had a choice of several good positions. Great views east and south east.

Highly recommended as a quiet, relaxing and well situated friendly place to be! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: DplusG 19 reviews from this member

 This a really quiet, nicely located site that is relatively easy to get to since the main coast road is only less than a mile away. The facilities are appropriate to the main users (we were the only tent amongst caravanners), so were not too busy or overloaded.

The lady who runs the show, was extremely approachable and friendly. We loved it and will definitely go again.

I would highly recommend Wern Newydd 


Reviewer: mhutch 2 reviews from this member

 July 2004
Pitch sizes are big, we have a Diablo 900 which filled the pitch, but they are flexible, just mention your tent size.

Mainly caravans there when we stayed, very pleasant area, nice views of the mountains.

There were two rooms (men/women) with shower, toilet and sinks. One disabled toilet room with toilet and sink. Sockets for hair dryers in both toilets. Toilets were very clean but they could do with a few more, When full I would imaging there would be a bit of waiting.

Showers were 50p but they were good for ten minutes.

There is a chemical disposal, drinking water, dish/laundary (sink) areas.

They have a freezer for freezing your ice packs for free.

The owner is very friendly and helpful. You have to be off the site for 10:30 but she did say to ask and if they are not busy we could make the most of the day.

The toilets are a short walk and there are a few small low level lights a long the way.

Quiet site, kids met new friends and enjoyed the stay.

A nice little 10min walk through the bracken to the bottom of Llanbedrog and the beach. Short distance to Abersoch by car. Shop selling all sorts on the main road in Llanbedrog, next to the pub/restraunt.

Well kept pitches, We would go again.

They are about 19 beaches and these are amoung best beaches in Britain. Beautiful area. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wern Newydd Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wern Newydd Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wern Newydd Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abersoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4884 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement