Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Aldridge Hill Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Site Reviews

Aldridge Hill Camping In The Forest Site
New Forest
Brockenhurst
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO42 7QD
Tel: 02476 423008  or  01590 623152
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: 23/05 - 03/06 & 27/06 - 09/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Team Monkey 17 reviews from this member

This is by far our most favourite place! Total back to basics camping and we love it!. From the pretty stream that runs through the site to the ponies and cattle that meander through it too. Flat spaces to pitch.

An idyllic place, I recommend to anyone

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slimsim60 1 review from this member

Just Got back from this wonderful site. Kids loved it despite the weather(Hurricane bertha's Remains). Site staff very helpful and always cheerful. A very basic site that more than makes up for lack of facilities with it's charm. Despite 'nothing to do' the kids had to be near dragged back to the tent at night as they seemed to be too busy to come back on their own. Ponies, cows, deer, and donkey's roamed about freely from the forest and through Brockenhurst nearby. If you are looking for a full service site this is not for you, if you are looking for a site with character, then I can't recommend this site enough.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ronnie Egg 5 reviews from this member

Wow. Just as I remember as a child!

We used to go every year as children and I didn't want to have my memories shattered - but wanted to take our children, aged 8, 9 and 12.

This is a real back to basics site, with the only facilities being chemical disposal points and bins.

We eeked out our electricity, so that we could shower the children after a day in the muddy streams. They had such fun on the rope swings over the water and riding their bikes around exploring and so did we!

The staff in the hut at the entrance are really friendly and helpful. There are lots of things to do locally and the nearest village is 5 mins in the car, or not too long a walk.

Horses and horse poo everywhere, I even had a pony come and sniff my head while I was reading my book in the sunshine. But somehow, it is all part of it.

As long as you don't mind camping a bit wild, then you will have a fab time.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BadBoyBushy 15 reviews from this member

Situated in the middle of the New Forest about a 1. 5mile walk from the village of Brockenhurst is this gem of a camp site.

Run by the camping and caravan club on behalf of the forestry commission this is a basic site with no facilities, so if your a glamper don't bother reading any further.

We stayed after prolonged rain, and signs of flooding were very evident in parts of the site. Although you can pitch anywhere you like we were also advised by the staff where not to pitch and we found a pitch which was firm and dry. Pitches are fairly flat throughout the site.

There are several water points around the site, as well as waste disposal, rubbish and recycling points.

The river Ober runs along one side of the site, and at this point it is little more than a large shallow stream which the children enjoyed paddling in. There are also other activities run by the managers for the children. Some kind of treasure hunt, a nature trail thing. Not too sure what they all are as we only have a baby who's too young for that stuff.

The site is open to nature so the ponies have a free run of the site, however I think someone must clean up after them as there wasn't that much mess about.

The site managers were helpful and friendly, and offer mobile phone & leisure battery charging for a fee as well as freezer pack re-freezing.

To further annoy glampers, we found only a very weak O2 mobile signal available, and very sporadic signal on Orange & T-Mobile, and no network on Vodaphone. Digital TV signal is good.

Generators are permitted between 9-11am and 3-5pm only.

The village of Brockenhurst has a variety of shops for souvenirs, cream teas and the like as well as 2 small supermarkets (Tesco Metro and Nisa). There is also a pet shop/camping supplies shop just in case you forget anything.

For those who like a take away, I can vouch for the Chinese and fish & chip shop.

Would we visit this site again. Yes

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The High and Lo 24 reviews from this member

A great get away set in the New Forest with the moorland on one side and a stream in the trees on the other side. The site has basic facilities of providing just water and a wonderful view.

We were here as it was close to Brockenhurst so we could cycle over and see the Olympic Torch. So although you felt you were miles from any where Brockenhurst has shops, pubs and takeaways if you do not want to cook on site.

Staff were also very friendly with activities for kids to boot. An excellent escape to the New Forest

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scallywags 4 reviews from this member

This site is set in a beautiful area in the middle of the new forest, with heathland to one side and trees and a stream to the other. You pitch where you like and where you can, as when we were their it was very busy and incredibly wet.

The site has a tendency to flood and there was lots of standing water. I wouldn't have wanted to have been in a tent.

This site is great for dogs and there were plenty there, there are no facilities apart from water and CDP.

Ponies and fouls wander between the caravans and tents

The site can be very peaceful apart from people running generators. We had four around us and the noise and smell was a nuisance

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jessegee 5 reviews from this member

Simply beautiful with natural untampered charm, no facilities except drinking water and toilet empty point, all neat clean and easy to use.

I think it has a special something that made us relax and not want to go home. We cant wait to go back and explore some more. We pitched near the front with tree line behind us, facing the sun set over the heath.

Deer are regular visitors which you can see from the paths around the heath, and there is woodland with a stream, perfect for well behaved dogs. We saw many birds including woodpeckers, lapwing, stonechat and a tree creeper right beside us, and fortunately not too many noisy carrion types, so it was peaceful at night.

In June/july there are foals lying around everywhere snoozing in the sun. The staff were friendly, at the reception hut in the mornings, It was also brilliant value compared to many sites, 3 nights cost us about 30 with our camping club discount card.

I cycled almost completely off road to Brockenhurst village 1. 5 miles away. There are mostly caravans and campers, but we were in a tent and didn't feel awkward, and the toilet tent was easier than I imagined.

This site is lovely if like us you like to be peaceful, walk with nature and finally get around to reading that new book. We cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hawkeycampers 5 reviews from this member

A lovely peaceful site in beautiful surroundings. You can pitch in the open, facing heath land, or in amongst the trees. There was plenty of room, and the stream that runs through the site was a delight to my two children. If you have children I would recommend taking extra trousers/shorts and socks as mine seemed to get through an awful lot during a weekend here.

Horses, ponies and rabbits were seen often, and come right into the camp.

Staff were friendly. There are no facilities at this site apart from water and waste disposal, so your own toilet is a must.

A lovely site that we would recommend and will be returning to soon.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joannedell 5 reviews from this member

We like to travel/explore and have never visited the same site twice. Until this one.

Aldridge Hill is a perfect escape for families. There are no facilities (apart from a water tap and a waste emptying point). There are no white pegs to park against. There are no hard standings. There are no silly rules.

A wonderful and beautiful site.

If you like socializing, being near nature, watching your kids play in a stream then this is the place for you.

If you like to own your pitch and would not want people walking across your pitch then it is not for you.

The Forestry commission do a great job at this site. They understand that the forest benefits nature, the horses and even people too. There are rope swings that are not cut down, children in the stream most of the day everyday. Ponies regularly walk through the site.

You can choose to be in the shade under a tree or in the open with a wonderful view of the sunset.

A great location to go with friends with a mix of units/tents. You can pitch however you want and form your own little circle as we saw some people doing.

Both times that we have been there has been plenty of space. Although I'm not sure how you would fit in 200 units and retain that same spacious feel.

We loved it and so did our kids. I'm sure we'll be back again.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Holtpj 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this site, during the May school hols. Although busy it did not feel to packed. Unlike other forestry sites this one did not appear to have any seasonal site campers, but full of families with children like ourselves, which was great!

Brockenhurst is just up the road, hosting shops, cafes, banks etc. Watch out for the highland bulls roaming the streets of the town, amazing!

Also try ford farm horse riding stables, for 18 the kids go horse riding in the forest. Any age welcome. And don't forget fishing nets as a stream runs through the site.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2741 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019