Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bendholm Farm Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Bendholm Farm Caravan Park Reviews

Bendholm Farm Caravan Park
Newtown
Egglestone
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0AX
Tel: 01833 650457
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 34
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dushara 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a last minute stay at Bendholm caravan Park. Couldn't find anywhere available for a Bank Holiday weekend and was a bit dubious about this site as it hadn't had a review since 2009 and plenty of them were pretty negative about the toilets and showers, but when I looked at their website it said they had 34 tourer pitches and it was recently modernised so decided to give it a go.

We were quite late arriving but Linda, the warden was there waiting for us and helped us find our pitch. We were surprised to find that there were only 4 pitches, not 34 but it was close to the toilets and the site was very well maintained. We had electric, water and a drain at the pitch and were not charged extra for awning or dogs. On the first visit to the toilets, I found that they had not been modernised and weren't in the best condition. The one available toilet was clean and the showers were good and hot, though full of cobwebs! Also the lights didn't work, though this was quickly fixed by Linda. We had a lovely, peaceful three nights here. The site is very quiet with no road noise. There was a great, well signposted walk right from the site that we did on the first day and on the second we went in the car to Bowlees car park and walked to Low and High Force. Gorgeous. We ate at the Moorcock and Three Tuns pubs in the village and enjoyed our meals. Despite the toilets/showers needing a refurb, we thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would stay again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rungirl 1 review from this member

 The warden was very friendly, we did not arrive until half seven at night and that was no problem. Quiet location with stream nearby. There is a communal campfire which is a nice touch, but the wood available was too large so smaller logs or something to chop the wood may be a suggestion. There is a lounge area as well with a library of books and DVD's if the weather turns too nasty.

Only down side was toilet block was situated too far away from camping area and toilets and showers themselves were not clean and toilets did not flush properly both in the mens and womens.

Plenty of walks around this area and a great pub in Egglestone called Three Tuns which was lovely and very welcoming and make great meals. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smoggydunc 7 reviews from this member

 This is a great little site- mainly statics but ideal for campers whos are wanting to fish in the nearby reservoirs for a few days- great stop over and only 8 for the tent.
Owners were brilliant- only downside is that the toilets need a little modernisation and we were positioned on the corner of the road junction which wasn't very private. All in all a great beautiful site- and only 8 for a tent! Brilliant- this is value for money! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lbeev 1 review from this member

 The campsite is in a really nice location with a stream running close by. The wardens are extremely friendly and welcoming. Be aware of blood sucking midges that are not very pleasant so don't forget to take repellent with you but they only come out at dusk.

There are a couple of really great pubs one being the Moorcock Inn about 5 mins drive, with great food at a good price and a great atmosphere.

The toilet blocks are a real let down to the campsite and are on the verge of being grotty, so could do with a good refurbishing. I hope that this has been done as we are planning on staying there again in May. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Biscuit_man 1 review from this member

 I visited this camp site with some friends and it was great, the owners were great and there was a communal camp fire where lots of people sat around for warmth and to talk, which I found great fun.
Only down fall was the toilet block but it was still good enough and it was clean just needed a bit updating.

I was so happy with it I've just got off the phone to them to book this weekend.

Would recommend this as a first time or a regular camper. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffy64 1 review from this member

 Very clean, very tidy, very friendly. I arrived in the afternoon on a bank holiday weekend and the warden found me a spot for my small tent. In the afternoon the sun came out and the wardons wife came out and offered me a deckchair.
The toilet block was no frills but did the job required, with lovely hot showers. This is a very quiet site and if i'm in this area again, I will look forward to staying here again.
 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: J Hodgson 11 reviews from this member

 Very warm helpful welcome. The warden held a torch as we arrived at night while his wife made us coffe! They couldn't do enough. But this site is not really for tourers - only enough space for 4 family tents, and the toilet facilities are very poor. There is a small shop with a few basics. On the plus side it is excellent for walking and very peaceful. A stream runs through the site. Children need to be watched as it is dangerous in spate. The best thing about it is the friendliness of the wardens. OK for a no frills couple of nights. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bev-knows-best 1 review from this member

 This was our first time camping in about twenty years,we found this to be a nice site with very helpful and friendly wardens, my two boys loved this place. The only downside I would say is the toilet/shower blocks could have done with a bit of an update 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D.cowley 5 reviews from this member

 This site was the closest to the reservoir we were fishing at so took a chance and was really surprised. Charged us 8 for a three man tent. Site was down a track and in a beautiful ravine with a fantastic stream running through. The owners were amazing and offered me coffee and biscuits and we also got complimentary toilet roll each. The owners and the residents were just o nice and friendly.

Site is mainly statics with a small area for tents and tourers and not many people there, no areas for kids to play and no adventure park and toilet block okay with hot water. Going there again when fishing next but be careful of the Chickens who wander the site. Also the wildlife is spectacular with Red kites, rabbits, pheasant and deer in the next Field on the morning. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy1114 1 review from this member

 This was our very first outing in our tourer and we couldnt have picked a better site to go to for the novice. The site is presently undergoing a change in ownership,and is being run by Terry, who is one of the most helpful men you could ever want to meet.His son Terry just as helpful ranging from basic touring advice to helping me put the awning up when we got there!

Honestly couldnt help us enough - even lent us a blanket when our quilt was soaked in the shower! Statics on site mainly occuppied by retired people and were just as helpful. A basic site with lovely surroundings with nearby Middleton in Teesdale and High Force waterfall,if you want peace and quiet this is the site for you.Watch out for the chickens!  


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bendholm Farm Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bendholm Farm Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bendholm Farm Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2107 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement