Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Benson Waterfront Riverside Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Benson > Benson Waterfront Riverside Park Reviews

Benson Waterfront Riverside Park
Benson Cruiser Station
Benson
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX10 6SJ
Tel: 01491 838304
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 8
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barge 1 review from this member

Am afraid I agree with most of the other comments with regards to noise from others using the camp and access to the site, some constructive criticism would be to have a curfew and add some clear signage on the approach to this otherwise good site.

Another little niggle was being woken at 07:55 by a gardener with a petrol driven leaf blower blowing non existent leaves but mainly dust off the road and around the site, this was then followed by him getting out his petrol mower and cutting equally non existent grass that’s brown and hasn’t grown in 6 weeks!

It’s challenging to offer constructive advice when the people it’s meant to assist are equally culpable!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 49 reviews from this member

Stayed for a Saturday - Tuesday break at this delightful spot, we had pitch 4 which was hard-standing and facing the river, pitches a bit tight to get car parked once you have an awning on, ok if no awning.

When you enter the site from main road turn immediately right to face white gates that have keypad (a sign would be handy), this is a very busy place at weekends with many cyclists, motorbikes etc visiting the cafe/boats etc so looked chaotic when we arrived lunchtime. Didn't use the cafe but prices looked a bit high.

We had lunch in Benson at the local pub The Horsehoes, was just ok!

Toilet/showers room located on road as you drive through lodges, husband said showers ok, I think you share them with the boat people.

Adrian who runs the touring site is a very nice, helpful guy who is easily approachable.

Up from the site is the Benson weir and lock, crossing this then takes you to a good route into Wallingford 1. 5 miles away, which is worth a visit

Nice location, we enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobalobs 1 review from this member

What a pleasant surprise. We have driven past this site many times with relatives in the area but the restricted views from the road and some of the reviews did not encourage a stay.

As the Mikron Canal boat based theatre were performing next door at The Waterfront Cafe ( Brilliant Food ) we decided to try the site if only for the convenience.

Pre armed with the gate code and our pitch number and knowing the general site entrance layout (go in and immediately right) you drive through a boatyard and into an immaculate parkhome site of 30 or so units with the touring area of 8 units at the far end.

Yes the site is tight for big units and being in the back row the outside spa bath unit for the 'Bijou Break' Parkhome behind us was little more than 20 foot from the back of our unit but it was not in use. As a result we had a very pleasant stay with views of the river and the only noise being a combine harvester some distance away on the other side of the river.

Yes we would visit again but not if there were drunken noisy revellers in the jacuzzi behind us at midnight!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AceCamper 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site but with a few problems that could so easily be sorted out.

When we arrived the camping / caravan site was very badly signposted. Actually it was non existant. The situation is bedlam with people coming and going at the entrance. You have water sports and the cafe traffic as well as the lodges and the camping. To arrive towing a caravan not knowing which direction the camp site is, is really difficult as you are on a very busy road.

The reception is not obvious. If it hadn't been for a lady spotting us and coming out to greet us, I'm not sure what we would have done. We were then given a code for the gate but you can only fit one vehicle through at a time and if there are cars coming through from the opposite direction, it's chaos !

We chose this site for its location right on the river and preferred a smaller site in the hope that it would be quieter. However when you reach the pitches you realise that there is no turning space for getting on to your pitch. Luckily other campers came to our rescue, we unhitched and pushed the caravan into place. Also the pitches are very close together with no clear identification for where to put up your awning or park your car etc. Some of the larger motor homes had problems fitting onto their pitch.

There are four rear and four front pitches, two of them are Hardstandings.

The shower block is actually two large wet rooms complete with toilet and basin with two additional toilets and two additional sinks. It always seemed to be nice and clean, however the wet rooms did indeed get very wet (it's hard to find a dry piece of floor to get dressed on)

Washing up, and washing machines/ dryers and elsan waste point are nearby.

There is an M&S garage food outlet across the road, a CO OP in Benson and a Waitrose in Wallingford.

The Waterside Cafe is wonderful. It has a good menu, great service and a lovely view.

Behind the small camp site are rented chalets with hot tubs overlooking the tourers. Next to that are owner occupied riverside log cabins/chalets.

Whilst the noise from the road wasn't too bad and didn't disturb us, we found some of the guests staying in the rented chalets very inconsiderate -

The location by its very nature attracts those seeking peace and quiet in the beautiful natural surroundings by the river, however this was spoilt by some guests staying in the chalets.

Either playing music and shouting in their hot tub without any due consideration to those around them,

Or other guests sitting outside, laughing and talking loudly until midnight.

We have stayed on many sites where there is a rule of no noise after 11pm and most campers are all too familiar with this rule and respect those around them. I think a notice to this effect should be placed in each chalet, as noise really can spoil other people's enjoyment.

Unexpectedly there is WiFi available. I think this should be advertised on the web site, however the signal could be stronger.

The main plus point for this site is the location. When you haven't got noise from the chalets to worry about, and you can sit in peace. Watching the boats going by on the river, it really is idillic.

All in all, a lovely site, so long as you can get on to your pitch and bring your ear plugs!

A little gem.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

On arrival the reception wasn't easily identified. We had been given the gate code and were directed to the site by staff from the adjacent cafe. We chose this small site for its location beside the Thames. We had supplied the length of our motorhome but on arrival we had difficulty fitting on the pitch. There are four rear and four front pitches with two Hardstandings. We were able to relocate to a larger grass pitch on the river side.

The toilets are in reality two large wet rooms complete with toilet and basin with additional toilets. Washing up, and washing machines/ dryers and elsan point are housed nearby.

This is a multi function site with boat hire and cafe it is well located for the Thames path. Wallingford is walkable along the riverside.

There is a marks and spencer garage food outlet across the road. We were not disturbed by road noise at all. I

The bus to Oxford stops outside the gate. The staff in reception are friendly, helpful, and informative. Behind the small touring site are rented chalets with hot tubs overlooking the tourers. Adjacent are owner occupied riverside log cabins.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely little site. There are just eight touring pitches, but they are in prime position right on the riverbank. All are spacious and level, six grass and two hardstanding. The toilet block is excellent, quite luxurious even, with posh soap, a choice of paper towels or hot air dryer, and a free hairdryer.

There are two shower rooms - cubicles is the wrong word, they are actually large wet rooms, each with a toilet, washbasin and shower. They're bigger than our bathroom at home! One is equipped with handrails for disabled users, but the other is equally roomy and would accommodate a wheelchair if necessary. There are also two standard toilet cubicles and 2 washbasins. The men's is a similar size.

The nearby Waterfront Bistro is very good indeed. As well as plenty of seating inside, there is an extensive terrace overlooking the river. We haven't had a meal there, but can vouch for the excellence of the cakes! It's a popular place to sit with a drink and watch the passing boats, or the sunset, but noise is not a problem as it's far enough away from the pitches.

It's a great location for people keen on all kinds of boating activities, but even if, like us, you're not into boats, it's still a wonderfully relaxing place to sit and watch the river, admire the passing 'gin palaces', canoes and rowing boats, and feed the ducks. (Duck food is on sale at the cafe!)

There's a reasonably-sized Co-op in Benson, a good butchers, several takeaways etc. Of the two pubs, we preferred the food and the beer at the Three Horseshoes. There are plenty of nice little towns and villages to visit, such as Wallingford, and Oxford is an easy bus journey.

Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happy holidays 1 review from this member

Good sized all service pitch. Pitch overlooking the river. Lovely little bistro on site. Showers/toilets very clean. Launderette on site. Very friendly owners thanks for helping us with reversing onto main road after passing the main entrance. Short walk to village for a couple of pubs and shops. Boat trips to Abingdon from the site. All in All a lovely relaxing break

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lavlark 10 reviews from this member

Possibly a more up to date review. We had 3 nights on this lovely little site. Hard standing, EHU, £25 per night, no extras for dogs or anything else.

As some folk have pointed out this site is part of a multi use complex. Private cabins, boat hire, and touring pitches. At the moment, there are other cabins being put into place, apparently for rental. The area these are being put, used to be the 'tent' area, thereby limiting the spaces for tourers, whether tents, caravans, or motor homes.

Also, a café/bistro, water front position. We didn't eat here, but stopped off for a couple of drinks - the staff were friendly enough.

There was no 'key deposit money' asked for, and all the facilities were clean and more than adequate.

The site is such a lovely location, with plenty going on. Next to the Bistro area is a council play ground, which we used to exercise the dogs ( on a lead - dog bins just outside the park ) and there are riverside walks either side of the site. We sleep like a couple of logs, so didn't find the road a problem.

There is a bus stop outside the site, which we found very useful to go into Oxford one side - Henley on Thames the other way. It is about £5 + return, but for us bus pass holders - free ! and also the dogs go free. Oxford is a very interesting place, but very busy with tourists - and I mean busy ! However it made for an interesting trip.

All in all, we loved this site and find it hard to criticise anything. Just hope that the rest of the touring area is not taken up with cabins in the future.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bcwench 4 reviews from this member

Had a fab weekend, it was topped off by the Kingfishers we spotted, could have watched them all day. The Kites were something else as they floated above our van. Fantastic!

Back to the job in hand. The review!

Was I think the last weekend of the season so quiet, our other family motorhome and our selves were able to park up to suit our selves with regard to the two different doors, no fuss about the silly rule about safety and privacy some sites operate to. Not that I wish to belittle safety but in an emergency most motor homes once pitched will not be moving too quickly? But compared to a caravan my guess is we would have a better chance of getting out of the way much faster reversing or forward! New to this life this was first time we have used a site with waste and fresh water on the pitch, will look out for that when booking other venues.

Shower block was great, with all the usual other facilities available. WiFi was only available at the restaurant which for me was the only down side, but the exercise did me good! The front pitches right on the rivers edge were lovely and enjoyed watching all the rowers doing their stuff. Not much to do on site for the more active folk out there but a couple of bottles of wine and some rations on board make for a great break, will be visiting again at some point.

Main road busy so not ideal if your cyclists.

Only gave a low score for child friendliness because of the insecure access to the river. If they can swim it isn't such a problem.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hector Dog 4 reviews from this member

This is a relatively small site adjoining a boatyard and café with several attractive static lodges in between. We were lucky enough to get a pitch right on the waterfront and it was a great spot to people watch with several luxury cabin cruisers moored in front of us. The arrangements for picking up the gate code and plan 'out of hours' from the café worked well. It is a beautiful spot with plenty going on around and well-placed for walking the Thames Path in either direction - both ways equally interesting. Showers and loos were lovely and having a café and M&S nearby very convenient. Slight road noise but not enough to spoil our stay and we will return.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3328 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019