Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Benson Waterfront Riverside Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Benson > Benson Waterfront Riverside Park Reviews

Benson Waterfront Riverside Park
Benson Cruiser Station
Benson
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX10 6SJ
Tel: 01491 838304
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 8
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marion 1 review from this member

 Loved the peacefulness of the site, friendly nobody bothers you,

Appreciated that we were able to stay later than the 12 noon departure time,

Also the facilities were 5star and beautifully clean.

We will most definitely be visiting again.

Thank you Marion & Graham Smith 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sheryl 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely relaxing stay and will definitely come back.

Very clean showers and helpful staff.

Idyllic setting to watch the river activities and close to a lovely bar/restaurant 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Withnall 2 reviews from this member

 Try to visit Benson twice a year. A gorgeous, tranquil site as a rule.

The view of the Thames, water activities, wildlife and tow path walks, not to mention the on site Bistro, make for a perfect location.

A lot of work goes into maintaining the site as a whole - our thanks to the management and admin team.

David. Buckingham 😎 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Stokes11 15 reviews from this member

 Wow. Like most of you we all are always looking and listening out for new sites and my wife said she'd like to sit outside van with a cupper next to a river, chill and watch the boats go by.

Well, tick, tick and tick only has 8-10 pitches but couldn't be any closer to the water, a great location a small very clean modern shower block but with so few pitches how many do you need.

This is part of a bigger site with statics and lodges and well looked after has a cafe/bar 200 yards away to which we walked down in the evenings for a cheeky couple and found it a very nice comfortable place and my wife said with stunning cakes lol

I always take my bike with us and riding along the river in the mornings was one of my favourite parts.

A bus outside site takes you into Oxford prob 25-30 mins ride. Already looking to book next year.

Not one them sites with loads going on but if you want to get away and forget about all the hustle and bustle PERFECT 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barge 1 review from this member

 Am afraid I agree with most of the other comments with regards to noise from others using the camp and access to the site, some constructive criticism would be to have a curfew and add some clear signage on the approach to this otherwise good site.

Another little niggle was being woken at 07:55 by a gardener with a petrol driven leaf blower blowing non existent leaves but mainly dust off the road and around the site, this was then followed by him getting out his petrol mower and cutting equally non existent grass thatís brown and hasnít grown in 6 weeks!

Itís challenging to offer constructive advice when the people itís meant to assist are equally culpable! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 66 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a Saturday - Tuesday break at this delightful spot, we had pitch 4 which was hard-standing and facing the river, pitches a bit tight to get car parked once you have an awning on, ok if no awning.

When you enter the site from main road turn immediately right to face white gates that have keypad (a sign would be handy), this is a very busy place at weekends with many cyclists, motorbikes etc visiting the cafe/boats etc so looked chaotic when we arrived lunchtime. Didn't use the cafe but prices looked a bit high.

We had lunch in Benson at the local pub The Horsehoes, was just ok!

Toilet/showers room located on road as you drive through lodges, husband said showers ok, I think you share them with the boat people.

Adrian who runs the touring site is a very nice, helpful guy who is easily approachable.

Up from the site is the Benson weir and lock, crossing this then takes you to a good route into Wallingford 1. 5 miles away, which is worth a visit

Nice location, we enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bobalobs 1 review from this member

 What a pleasant surprise. We have driven past this site many times with relatives in the area but the restricted views from the road and some of the reviews did not encourage a stay.

As the Mikron Canal boat based theatre were performing next door at The Waterfront Cafe ( Brilliant Food ) we decided to try the site if only for the convenience.

Pre armed with the gate code and our pitch number and knowing the general site entrance layout (go in and immediately right) you drive through a boatyard and into an immaculate parkhome site of 30 or so units with the touring area of 8 units at the far end.

Yes the site is tight for big units and being in the back row the outside spa bath unit for the 'Bijou Break' Parkhome behind us was little more than 20 foot from the back of our unit but it was not in use. As a result we had a very pleasant stay with views of the river and the only noise being a combine harvester some distance away on the other side of the river.

Yes we would visit again but not if there were drunken noisy revellers in the jacuzzi behind us at midnight! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AceCamper 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site but with a few problems that could so easily be sorted out.

When we arrived the camping / caravan site was very badly signposted. Actually it was non existant. The situation is bedlam with people coming and going at the entrance. You have water sports and the cafe traffic as well as the lodges and the camping. To arrive towing a caravan not knowing which direction the camp site is, is really difficult as you are on a very busy road.

The reception is not obvious. If it hadn't been for a lady spotting us and coming out to greet us, I'm not sure what we would have done. We were then given a code for the gate but you can only fit one vehicle through at a time and if there are cars coming through from the opposite direction, it's chaos !

We chose this site for its location right on the river and preferred a smaller site in the hope that it would be quieter. However when you reach the pitches you realise that there is no turning space for getting on to your pitch. Luckily other campers came to our rescue, we unhitched and pushed the caravan into place. Also the pitches are very close together with no clear identification for where to put up your awning or park your car etc. Some of the larger motor homes had problems fitting onto their pitch.

There are four rear and four front pitches, two of them are Hardstandings.

The shower block is actually two large wet rooms complete with toilet and basin with two additional toilets and two additional sinks. It always seemed to be nice and clean, however the wet rooms did indeed get very wet (it's hard to find a dry piece of floor to get dressed on)

Washing up, and washing machines/ dryers and elsan waste point are nearby.

There is an M&S garage food outlet across the road, a CO OP in Benson and a Waitrose in Wallingford.

The Waterside Cafe is wonderful. It has a good menu, great service and a lovely view.

Behind the small camp site are rented chalets with hot tubs overlooking the tourers. Next to that are owner occupied riverside log cabins/chalets.

Whilst the noise from the road wasn't too bad and didn't disturb us, we found some of the guests staying in the rented chalets very inconsiderate -

The location by its very nature attracts those seeking peace and quiet in the beautiful natural surroundings by the river, however this was spoilt by some guests staying in the chalets.

Either playing music and shouting in their hot tub without any due consideration to those around them,

Or other guests sitting outside, laughing and talking loudly until midnight.

We have stayed on many sites where there is a rule of no noise after 11pm and most campers are all too familiar with this rule and respect those around them. I think a notice to this effect should be placed in each chalet, as noise really can spoil other people's enjoyment.

Unexpectedly there is WiFi available. I think this should be advertised on the web site, however the signal could be stronger.

The main plus point for this site is the location. When you haven't got noise from the chalets to worry about, and you can sit in peace. Watching the boats going by on the river, it really is idillic.

All in all, a lovely site, so long as you can get on to your pitch and bring your ear plugs!

A little gem. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

 On arrival the reception wasn't easily identified. We had been given the gate code and were directed to the site by staff from the adjacent cafe. We chose this small site for its location beside the Thames. We had supplied the length of our motorhome but on arrival we had difficulty fitting on the pitch. There are four rear and four front pitches with two Hardstandings. We were able to relocate to a larger grass pitch on the river side.

The toilets are in reality two large wet rooms complete with toilet and basin with additional toilets. Washing up, and washing machines/ dryers and elsan point are housed nearby.

This is a multi function site with boat hire and cafe it is well located for the Thames path. Wallingford is walkable along the riverside.

There is a marks and spencer garage food outlet across the road. We were not disturbed by road noise at all. I

The bus to Oxford stops outside the gate. The staff in reception are friendly, helpful, and informative. Behind the small touring site are rented chalets with hot tubs overlooking the tourers. Adjacent are owner occupied riverside log cabins. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely little site. There are just eight touring pitches, but they are in prime position right on the riverbank. All are spacious and level, six grass and two hardstanding. The toilet block is excellent, quite luxurious even, with posh soap, a choice of paper towels or hot air dryer, and a free hairdryer.

There are two shower rooms - cubicles is the wrong word, they are actually large wet rooms, each with a toilet, washbasin and shower. They're bigger than our bathroom at home! One is equipped with handrails for disabled users, but the other is equally roomy and would accommodate a wheelchair if necessary. There are also two standard toilet cubicles and 2 washbasins. The men's is a similar size.

The nearby Waterfront Bistro is very good indeed. As well as plenty of seating inside, there is an extensive terrace overlooking the river. We haven't had a meal there, but can vouch for the excellence of the cakes! It's a popular place to sit with a drink and watch the passing boats, or the sunset, but noise is not a problem as it's far enough away from the pitches.

It's a great location for people keen on all kinds of boating activities, but even if, like us, you're not into boats, it's still a wonderfully relaxing place to sit and watch the river, admire the passing 'gin palaces', canoes and rowing boats, and feed the ducks. (Duck food is on sale at the cafe!)

There's a reasonably-sized Co-op in Benson, a good butchers, several takeaways etc. Of the two pubs, we preferred the food and the beer at the Three Horseshoes. There are plenty of nice little towns and villages to visit, such as Wallingford, and Oxford is an easy bus journey.

Highly recommended! 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Benson Waterfront Riverside Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Benson Waterfront Riverside Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Benson Waterfront Riverside Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Benson      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2361 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement