Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of The Apple Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > Europe > S Ireland > Cahir > The Apple Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

The Apple Camping & Caravan Park
Moorstown
Located On The N24 Between Cahir And Clonmel
Cahir
S Ireland   (Browse area)

Tel: 052 41459
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 32
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen98 24 reviews from this member

On arrival at this site we booked in at the fruit farm shop. We were then given a complementary bottle of their apple juice, which was a very nice touch. We were allowed to pitch wherever we liked - the camping field was large and flat with neatly mown grass.

All of the facilities are based in one of the large barns at the farm which, on the downside, meant it was a bit dated, industrial and impersonal. However all of the facilities were clean and dry, there was plenty of hot water and watching the swallows flying in and out was lovely. There are also washing up sinks, fridges and freezers and picnic tables in the barn. It is also ok on a rainy day (we had a few of those) to take your camping stove into the barn and cook in there, out of the elements.

Both me and the kids loved the tennis court. It is free to use and there are rackets and balls you can borrow from the shop, you just have to wait your turn at busy times. There is also a kids play park.

So all of the basics are taken care of here, but it didn't seem to be a site that people come to for a long holiday - we stayed 3 nights and just in that time we saw many people come and go - it is more a touring site. I would stay again, but more for a stop-over, for a longer break I'd rather somewhere a bit further from the main road, with a nice view and a bit more peaceful. But for a night or 2 to visit the Rock of Cashel and Cahir Castle (both worth a visit) it has everything you need.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SamandRose 19 reviews from this member

This site is accessed from the busy N24 trunk road from Cahir to Clonmel, but the drive from the road to the site is long enough that you won't hear any traffic from your pitch - the only motor vehicles that might disturb you are tractors. The site is converted from a farm that still includes a working orchard, and visitors are free to walk amongst the apple trees and strawberry canes. It's beautiful and peaceful (unless some children are having an argument on the play area or tennis courts. Which are also free to use).

Site fees include a complementary bottle of home-made apple juice, which is a lovely touch and tastes delicious. And the cider that's available to buy in the site's own farm shop is even better.

We stayed for a three-night 'stop over' between Galway and Rosslare, which was (just) enough time to visit Michaelstown Caves, the Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle and the beautiful Glen of Aherlow, all of which are within easy driving - but not walking - distance.

With all this on offer at only EUR14. 50 a night for 2 adults on a hardstanding pitch with electric hook-up - the fees we'd paid on a site in Connemara the previous week were double that - you could argue that any small niggles are a price worth paying. And I wouldn't disagree. The fact is though, there are a few. The free wifi is hopelessly slow - certainly if it did cost extra, you would want your money back. But mostly the issues relate to the facilities, which (a) whilst functional and plentiful, are a little bit old-fashioned, and (b) are located within a big barn, that also includes some picnic tables and benches. That's fine, but the farm also use the barn to store crates of apples. Which means that you can step out of the shower in your pyjamas and be immediately confronted by a fork-lift truck.

But if that makes you feel uncomfortable, and you have a caravan or motorhome with a shower in it, be prepared to use that during your stay. Then you've got a bargain, in a beautiful part of Ireland to boot.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DEMENTEDAUNTIE 4 reviews from this member

A lovely site and really friendly. The apple juice is lovely, the camping area charming. The facilities look rustic but are everything you need and very clean. This is camping as it should be everywhere else. Would definitely return and recommend. We were only passing through so sadly only stayed one night and did not visit the various tourist sites nearby, but hope to go back one day. Ireland is delightful. Onsite there is tennis and a children's playground and there is even charging for electric vehicles. Well thought out site, one of which has been to space the pitches so it is relaxing and not a car park like so many greedy sites these days.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TheFultons 10 reviews from this member

Fantastic little gem of a site. Very peaceful and quiet enough though the site was also most full. A couple of tents and then a 50/50 split between caravans and motorhomes.

When we drove we were greeted by a lovely young girl who offered to help with settling us in. I was directed to go and pick a pitch, while my wife paid. All pitches are much the same so pick away. The wash facilities were so good we didn't even need to use our own onboard ones. All the toilets and showers were spotless and very tidy.

There was an information room with a pool table and then in the main shed a number of picnic tables to sit at while making use of the free WiFi (a little slow, but it was free and I was just checking directions so it was fine).

We were the only people staying with small children so the kids had the play park to themselves which was great, a fantastic big slide and the biggest swing I have ever seen, I had to try it out myself.

Cost was 24. 50EUR per night which includes everything. Elec. etc.

We will be back that it for sure, oh and please try the juice it is fantastic !

A 9/10 site !

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hoedown 42 reviews from this member

This is a really quiet and peaceful site even when full and it was nice to sit out in the evening and enjoy the free apple juice, which we were given on arrival as well as taking advantage of the farm shop. The raspberries and plums were delicious and we had a lovely walk around the orchards.

There are toilets, showers, washing-up sinks and picnic tables in a barn which are a bit out-dated, but they are spotless with plenty of warm water. We were a little unhappy with the birds flying around us whilst washing up or showering.

The children seemed to be well-catered for, a play area as well as tennis courts.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, so could stay here for longer. We visited the Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle, Swiss Cottage, all within a half-hour's drive, but it is also ideally placed for an overnight stop for ferries or travelling further, either north or south.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs king 5 reviews from this member

Great welcome lovely grass and very relaxed and friendly site. The nights were very quiet despite it being a busy weekend and I really have no complaints.

The weather was mixed and this limited what we did whilst there but can't blame this site for that! The apple juice on arrival was delicious - such that despite very limited space we bought some to take with us on the next part of our travels.

All the facilities the camp kitchen complete with fridge, electric kettle lots of sinks with hot water tables and chairs and a piano should you feel so inclined were kept spotless as were the toilets and showers.

The toilets and showers are in excellent condition and very clean but are somewhat dated if I was being really fussy. Being a working farm there is some noise from machinery and some times this was intrusive but seemed to be only for short periods of time.

The owners are very welcoming and bend over backwards to help you. There is a big tesco24 about 5 mins away but to have had bread and milk on site would have been an asset.

Being able to wander around the fruit growing areas was lovely and fascinating

Would return and hopefully in better weather see more of the area

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeff + Sharon M 19 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night on our way to Cork for the ferry to France. We received a very warm welcome on arrival.

Our kids loved the site, especially the resident donkey. They also used the free tennis court(we used our own bats and balls) and we all had a walk round the orchard.

Although the toilets, showers etc are in the barn and are old, they are spotless with plenty of warm water.

The site is really quiet and peaceful and it is nice to sit out in the evening and enjoy the free apple juice, which you are given on arrival.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area, so could stay here for longer, but is ideally placed for an overnight stop for ferries or travelling further, either north or south.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Carlin Family 3 reviews from this member

Great campsite. Apple juice which was given to us on arrival was lovely, ended up buying three bottles to take home with us. We only stayed one night as a stop over but wished we'd stayed longer.
Will definitely be back if we're ever in the area again. Facilities are good, all situated in a big barn. There is also a playground for the children. Our children even helped the workers pick some apples the next morning.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sudimary 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights en route from Kerry to Dublin.

Lovely informal site. Full because it was Bank Holiday Weekend but still peaceful. Good facilities and enjoyed walking round site and orchards.

A good stop over point but try and get at least a couple of nights.

Shopped at Dunnes Supermarket Clonmel on Friday evening.

A visit to Cashel is a must.

Very easy to get on main route to Dublin. Will definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sazza42 17 reviews from this member

We spent 2 lovely nights here over the May bank holiday. We had a very friendly welcome along with a free bottle of apple juice from the farm. We were the only tent on the site and ended up surrounded by a protective ring of caravans and campervans. Even though there was a caravan rally there on the Sunday night, the site didn't feel crowded or noisy - plenty of space for everyone. The site is in a beautiful setting, all the apple trees were in blossom when we were there.

The facilities were extremely clean and there seemed to be enough toilets and showers to go round - we never had to wait for a shower.

The only (very slight) downsite of this site was the noise of the road. It didn't keep us awake though.

A very relaxing place - we didn't want to leave.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in S Ireland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019