Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barns Ness Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

CLOSED: Barns Ness Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barns Ness
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Campsite Is Now Closed

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Christineb 1 review from this member

A Beautiful site which closed in October 07. A new one will open not far from the original one hopefully sometime this year 08.

It was in a lovely area well away from noisy roads.The showers were most original with swallows nesting in the roof.

The site which was run by the camping and caravanning club ,I had used for over ten years As I am a member. It was seven miles to the nearest town of Dunbar for all the shops you could need for a camping holiday. Pubs and Resturants; swimming baths and beaches. I am sure the new one will be just as good.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobjan21 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site in September for a couple of nights as a stop over on our way to the Highlands.

The sight of a power station as we approached the site was daunting, but in reality it's almost out of sight from the pitch. Anyway the view out to sea much more than compensates for it.

A length of the approach road is single track and we were thankful not to meet another caravan coming the other way. There are passing places but they looked to be barely big enough.

The actual entrance to the site; which is locked at night, appears to be more difficult than it actually is. There appeared to be two distinct areas, one on the left and one at higher level on the right. This was on terraces with grass and good views over the sea. We were on the lower one which was a mixture of sand and grass with a number of what we took to be rabbit holes. This is separated from the foreshore by an earth bank which no doubt keeps the wind off, but has little visual appeal.

The staff were always helpful and friendly and the toilets clean, but the best part of the site is the shore. A short walk across a grassed area brings you to a fascinating area of rock pools which are uncovered at low tide. In the distance can be seen Bass Rock with it's Gannet colony and at the end of the beach is a lighthouse.

This is a friendly convenient site to which we would certainly return.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redguscat 15 reviews from this member

Good site, very friendly and helpful staff. We were in a small group and were made to feel very welcome, lots of families and a good mix of tents and caravans. A short walk to a lovely sandy beach.
 
We were in a nice spot at the far side of the site but a *long* way from the toilet block, and I think if I had young children I would probably have asked to be nearer. Toilets and showers were good and clean (once you got there!).
 
Quite a distance from Dunbar itself but a reasonable train service to Edinburgh (about 20 mins) once you get there.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TekkieAnne 10 reviews from this member

When we approached the site, we were a little concerned to see the cement works and power station. However, these were not visible from the site and, with the exception of the odd warning siren and dull explosion from the cement works, they didn’t really cause a problem.

The approach to the site is very narrow but there are passing places. There is also a narrow humpback bridge which should be approached with care as you cannot see what might be approaching from the other side.

The site itself is beautiful with lovely sea views. One word of warning though! Being on the coast it can get very windy. The forecast one night warned that it might be breezy” but I think the Scottish breezes may be the equivalent of a force 10 gale in England. We lost our Sunncamp Ultima awning and had to retrieve our chairs etc from the top of the campsite. We had a 100 mile round trip to the M9 to buy a more substantial replacement awning.

Dunbar is a very nice little town but there is currently no major supermarket there. While we were there, the land was being cleared for an Asda superstore which should be finished by the time the 2008 season starts.

We had chosen this site as a base to visit places in and around Edinburgh but in retrospect, it was a little far away for this. We used the Park and Ride service into Edinburgh (only £1 per person) but it was a very long journey with the bus stopping at every bus stop. We managed a visit to the Falkirk Wheel which was amazing but on the whole, we stayed around the campsite and chilled out.

The site was well managed and the staff were very helpful as is usual on C&CC sites. If I wanted a quiet chilling out type of break I would certainly return but I wouldn’t use it again as a base for exploring the Edinburgh area.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Highlandgranny 8 reviews from this member

Another great Camping and Caravanning Club site. We visit this one often as we have relatives living in Dunbar. The shower blocks are spotlessly clean, the site is fairly well sheltered from the on-shore breeze! Another great dog walk accessible directly from the site, plus the beaches are quiet (well they were when we visited). Rumour has it that this is the last year here and they are moving nearer to Dunbar because of the cement works. Hope it does not alter too much.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pennys 1 review from this member

As first time campers we chose a campsite close to home (in the event of a disaster). Booking the campsite was a straightforward process and upon arrival the site manager was very helpful showing us on his mountain bike too our pitch. We had a HUGE 9 berth tent so had a choice of a large are of a field. FANTASTIC. Being novice campers the manager sorted out a gas canister at a reasonable price.

The toilet block/showers/pot washing area was spotless closed everyday from 10.30-12 for cleaning. No litter on site and dogs kept on a lead at all times with a special area for dog walking.

The location once you are on the site is perfect, nice coastal walks clean beach just be aware the approach to the site is a bit daunting as you pass the power station, landfill site and cement works but once on the site, perfect. Play park for children with swings and slide and plenty of grass for playing, nice and quiet at night.

Just one word of warning if you have a fairly big tent do not pitch in the middle of the bottom field in heavy winds. Came back to the tent of the Sunday to find tent blown down as there was no shelter luckily nice gentleman from the site helped us get it down.

All in all a great, clean well run site just a bit open to the elements if not situated in a sheltered spot. Would go again.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leantientice 2 reviews from this member

Thoroughly enjoyed our maiden caravan voyage to Barns Ness. The site has beautiful views over the coastline and is very clean and well maintained. The site managers were extremely friendly and helpful and even helped us construct the awning (or arguement in a bag) when we were having difficulties and lent us a spare awning pole when ours was missing. This is a very friendly site which is a good spot for all the visitor attractions in the Dunbar area or indeed enjoying the lovely scenery from your caravan. The toilets and showers are spotlessly clean as is the norm with the CCC. Will definitely return

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bellasbus 4 reviews from this member

We used this as a stopping off site on the way up to the Highlands. It is a well maintained site right on the edge of the sea. It even has a lighthouse close by but not in use. Within easy walking distance, there is a golf course and beautiful silver sands with clear sea. It is either a 5star beach or blue flag beach. I can't remember which but the highest grade attainable.
The site is directly off the A1 but down a single track with a sweeping bend access. A bit precarious for larger caravans, I would think. It stands between a cement works and a nuclear power station but don't let this put you off because they are some way away and do not interfere with your holiday enjoyment at all.
The site is locked at night. There are hot showers at no extra cost, play area for the children, washing up room etc., all well maintained and clean. There are even fresh flowers in the ladies.
I certainly recommend this site as a value for money stopping off point. The site has a camping and caravaning rating of 99.75%.
If you really want an experience - visit the award winning loos in Dunbar, I couldn't believe there splendour.

Rating:
Reviewer: Mike Richardson 7 reviews from this member

May 2005
Love the coast? you will love Barns Ness. This C&CC site is on the beach just south of Dunbar. Usual club facilities, all excellant. Dunbar is the nearest town and has plenty of shops, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants. Drive to St Abbs, you will not be dissapointed.

Reviewer: Ahill92 8 reviews from this member

March 2005
I recommend Barns Ness because it is a lovely site for members (non members welcome). It is great for dogs as it has sandy beaches just next to the site. It also has great walks if your the outdoor type! When I went to Barns Ness I had a great time. This is the first review I've ever written so I thought I'd give it to Barns Ness.

Sophie (aged 10)

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1863 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019