Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bradley Burn Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Bishop Auckland > Bradley Burn Caravan Park Reviews

Bradley Burn Caravan Park
Wolsingham
Bishop Auckland
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL13 3JH
Tel: 01388 527285
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 4
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 603 reviews from this member

 Great little site.

Excellent, modern facilities, nice pitches and good scenery.

Farm shop and cafe are both very good too.

Good base for Weardale and Wolsingham. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grainne3 1 review from this member

 This is a certified site therefore cheap with limited facilities, no complaints there. 5 reasonably sized pitches with ehu and a basic shower and toilet area.

However no soap provided in the toilet/shower block is inexcusable on health and safety grounds especially as the site is advertised heavily as being on a 'working farm'. No mop or non slip mat in the shower area either, definitely a fall hazard!

The site is next to a main road and hgvs, motorbikes and commuter traffic scream past from about 0530 onwards until late evening. Not the peaceful haven advertised. If you visit this site, use the money you have saved on fees on a bottle of liquid soap and some earplugs.

Apart from the main road and the toilet issue the site was picturesque and with a huge field for the kids to play in. Lots to do round about, close to Durham and Beamish and the bigger north east cities. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gill1222 8 reviews from this member

 We have just had a 2night stopover at this super little site, the farm shop cafe and toilet/ shower block were both excellent.

Although close to a main road it was very peaceful at night. It's a really good location for exploring both Weardale and Teesdale.

2 mile level walk into Wolsingham where there is local shops and pubs. Hamsterley forest is just a short distance away and is well worth a visit.

We definitely hope to return to Bradley Burn in the future. , 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 100 reviews from this member

 As other reviews have said, this is a small site with about 5 or so flat, grassy pitches, each with EHU. It is just off the A689 road from Crook to wolsingham in very quiet countryside. Although just off the road, we found more noise at night from an owl screeching and the next night, cattle in a nearby barn.

Both reminded us of how pleasant this area of the North East is. Toilet and washing facilities are in a separate part of the Farm Shop/Café across the lane.

While we were staying, hot water supply to the sinks had failed but we were told that it was on the to do list. This was the only reason to mark the Site down.

The Farm Shop/Café seemed very popular and the cakes were well worth a stop.

It is ~2 miles to Wolsingham for shops and the Weardale Railway. There are plenty of good walks on the doorstep and we'd have no hesitation coming back here. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TracyJen 13 reviews from this member

 This site is lovely, the touring site is opposite the farm shop. As you drive into a large field the pitches are on the left in a row. They do seem close together, but there is still room for a caravan plus awning etc. Each pitch has electric hook up, fresh water, chemical disposal point and dustbins are at the entrance to the field. The field itself is huge, partially devoted to crops with a lawned dog walk round the edge. There is plenty of space for children to play. The facilities are excellent, based just in front of the shop and accessed via a key pad door. There is a double drainer washing up sink, a door at the end leads through to a toilet, sink and large shower. A spacious room with a heater and plenty of hot water. The farm shop has a cafe, plenty of tables inside and out, there is also a children's play area. I can recommend the Archers ice cream. There are plenty of walks around the site and they have their own farm trail. The static caravan park is well worth a walk round, it is situated around a stream and is very well kept. All in all I think this is a lovely site, booking in was easy and informative, there are information leaflets in the shop. The road is busy, but as I live in a town centre it didn't bother me. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JackieHarvey 8 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little site.

When we booked we were asked if we had our own toilet and shower as they do not have a toilet and shower block. Which we don't mind as we would rather not have to walk to use these facilities.

The shop and cafe are nice and very up-market. They sell the basic groceries and some very good quality items which could be given as presents. I noticed that the cafe is also used by people who are not staying at the campsite.

The dog-walk area is lovely. It took me a while to work out where the dog waste bin was, its just near the entrance to the dog walking area.

We really enjoyed our stay in such a beautiful and peaceful place. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Busdriver799 4 reviews from this member

 Not very impressed with site ok only had room for 5 pitches. Toilet block was in farm shop and when that closed you had nowhere else to use. Its close to a main road so had a lot of traffic noise. Staff in the shop where ok. Food looked ok and will say the shop/cafe was very clean but a bit over priced - had a slice of cake and tea nothing else took our fancy. We had 2 dogs with and could not find a doggies waste bin 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravancan 1 review from this member

 Tourers no longer allowed on the static site, but 5 new pitches have just been set up for tourers next to the farm shop, near the road. Very basic facilities - electric hook up, tap and waste disposal point. Big field, loads of space, clean and tidy and quiet. Camping and caravan club only, but they let us join on arrival. Nice area with lots to do locally. Cafe / reception helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Galley Wench 5 reviews from this member

 The immediate reaction on arrival at the park was quite favourable, with the pleasant timber buildings of the farm shop and cafe – which is incidentally much better as a cafe than as a farm shop – nestling against the trees and the single track approach road winding between fields on one side and the wooded burn-side on the other. There was a similar feeling on arriving at the park itself, with a clean, new timber office block - although there is nowhere to sensibly park a vehicle and tourer whilst registering your arrival.

The site has presumably moved deliberately towards statics and tourer pitches are few and far between. The majority of them also appear to be either static pitches currently without a static in situ and the rest seem to be pitches which are too small to squeeze a static onto. And as often seems to be the case with static parks, the pitches are – or certainly feel to be – very much cramped together. This, coupled with the static owners' propensity to personalise their plots with gnomes, decking, outhouses and glo-lights, tended to create the feeling that one was camping in someone's back-garden.

There are two facilities blocks, only one of which we visited but understand them both to be very similar. The one we did use was uncared for. Although there had been some basic attempts made to keep it clean – probably by others users, following the numerous printed exhortations to clean up after yourself pinned on each available surface – there were cobwebs in most corners and a general air of neglect hung over the whole block. (Not everyone followed the clean up after yourself requests: a puddle of muddy water appeared on the top around the wash basin in the Gents on Friday – possibly left by some workmen who had been re-laying the asphalt outside – and was still there when we left on Monday.) That said, the water for the showers/basins was hot and the toilets functioned. There were no vegetable preparation or washing up areas and no allocated waste water disposal point that I saw, but we used the drain on the pitch as we would on a fully serviced pitch. What others without this facility did I have no idea.

All in all, the site is in a very pleasant situation, in a lovely part of the country but if asked would I go back, the answer would have to be a resounding: no. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bradley Burn Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bradley Burn Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bradley Burn Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bishop Auckland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1220 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement