Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Brynrodyn Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Borth > Brynrodyn Caravan Park Reviews

Brynrodyn Caravan Park
Upper Borth
Borth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY24 5NR
Tel: 0844 5617257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: 01 March - 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 23 reviews from this member

 We booked this site last minute as the poor weather forecast suggested that the area was better in Borth. We nearly gave up as we tired to contact the site by phone unsuccessfully over several hours but kept trying as other sites where fully booked. After finally speaking to the site the booking needed to be done on line.

Borth is a small village that is basic but we were lucky enough to visit during their carnival weekend, which involved all the local community from the youngest to the oldest plus the site had a float which children in the know dressed up for and took part in the carnival. Brill day.

The site is set up for static caravans with a smaller area for caravans and a separate field for tents and motor homes. This field is extremely hilly. The EHU is 16A and is located around the edge of the field, which meant despite the amount of space the field has you ended up close if you had EHU. There were few flat spots.

We pitched at the bottom of the hill nearest to the facilities, due to the large amount of rain we had did flood a little. Been so close to the sea it did mean the field had no shelter from wind and strong winds did damage a few of the tents and awnings, but that is one of the joys of camping.

The showers where hot, too hot on a couple of occasions and would have been unusable if we had had small children. Overall they where clean and ample. The pot washing was ok but only one sink so I would guess at busy times this was just not enough.

The site boasts a lovely club house and clearly this is geared to weekend fun and aimed at the weekend visitors. Music could be clearly heard into the small hours but there was little noise of people returning after their night in the club house.

The games room is disappointing and the wifi (something our kids wanted) was extremely poor to none existent. Children needed to be supervised in the games room which for us made it useless.

There is a small pebbly beach privately owned a few minutes away which was lovely to rock pool in and offered some amazing sunsets.

The biggest issue for this site is that cars don't observe speed limits and the road that runs through the center of the site saw cars traveling quickly down it, signs are there but as not controlled is an accident waiting to happen. We did speak to the owner who sadly wasn't all that interested.

It's missing a play ground for the kids which it would benefit from.

It is reasonably priced if only for the fact it has 16A EHU.

Would we go back? for the carnival yes, otherwise no.  


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallzg 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from our first stay here and loved it!

You're pretty much left to your own devices which suits us, pitched up and went for a walk around, the facilities were good and clean, they get busy in the mornings but that's to be expected.

The staff at reception were extremely polite and very helpful

Cant wait to go back! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Splodge_gop 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the late May bank holiday weekend. Upon arrival there wasn't a reception but a bar upstairs in which to book in. We were served immediately, despite it being noisy and busy. We were shown out of the window where the field was and told how to get there, and then left to go and find a pitch. A laid back approach!

Borth is a sad little town where many of the shops and properties have not been kept nicely, with some having piles of old used wood and DIY rubbish outside heaped up. Some are boarded up and there are quite a few shops boarded too. Some houses are lovely and a few shops are great (see below). There are 3 or 4 'grockle' shops selling holiday tat and two shops we went in smelt terrible. However, this is the fun of mooching around seaside resorts isn't it?!

The good points -

- the views, natural beauty and wildlife is stunning. We saw rabbits, oyster catchers, robins, swifts, lots of other birds, a wild stoat etc. You can see dolphins later in the year

- toilets and showers are clean, the showers nice and hot, although they have push buttons

- the evening entertainment is very good, with some fantastic singers (weekend only when we were there)

- small private beach is fascinating with slate stone and rock pools when the tide is out. The WWI monument is a walk up steps from here and you can see for miles on a good day

- the hairdryer in the ladies is free (but makes a scraping noise and hasn't got a pac-tested sticker - maybe it's not compulsory in Wales though)

- the second field has loads of space in the middle for families to play games without being too near the caravans and cars (I didn't see a designated play area)

- the staff are friendly and did help immediately when asked

- we booked the week before and there was plenty of availability

- the price was quite fair

- in Borth there is a shop called the Pine Centre selling lots of beautiful gifts and stuff, some made locally, other fairtrade, that is worth a look. One other shop has retro sweets and stock. It's a gem. There is a chip shop and takeaway but we didn't use these

- The Victoria Inn did a cheaply priced Sunday lunch, but had no menu! They just told us what was available, which was ok but not great for vegetarians as there was only one choice

- The railway museum on the platform was charming with some second hand books for sale to help raise money. The staff were lovely

The not-so-good points -

- when I phoned to book (I was having trouble with the internet) the person on the phone wanted me to use the internet instead of doing the job herself. NOTE - they have two phone numbers, one starts 088 (more expensive?), the other is a normal landline number.

- 2 out of 3 of the ladies loos have loose seats; toilet roll ran out in 2 of them one day. There is one soap dispenser right by the door, meaning when you're getting soap and someone walks in, they nearly hit you with the door!

- there are only 4 unisex showers for the whole site

- there are no visible speed limit signs, meaning that quite a few people whizzed around making it unsafe for small children to play freely

- the site we chose had a melted hook up, meaning we had to move the next morning due it not working and it was unsafe to touch. Being late at night visibility was poor meaning we made a bad choice, but a melted hook up should be sealed off maybe?

- the second field gets very muddy at the entrance after rain, making quite a few cars wheel spin

- when the entertainment is on, it can be heard all over the site until 12pm. This didn't bother us as we liked the music and fell asleep to it. However, if it's not your thing, it may put you off this site at weekends

- the site is sloped nearly everywhere, going from mild to very steep. Take ramps if you're towing or camper-vanning

- no shop for milk and bread, but you can walk about 10 minutes down the road, or drive 2 minutes into Borth for the well stocked Nisa shop

- the club house loos were clean early evening, but on a busy night I found lots of loos with no toilet roll, they were dirty and, again, some loo seats were loose. (can't speak for the mens, sorry)

- when leaving, we tried to take the main exit route out but the speed hump on the hill meant that the van grounded-out meaning we had to reverse and take the narrow exit

Would we go to this site again? No! Borth is worth a visit because of the natural beauty, but it's not a great campsite, just one that does the job ok. If you like to drink at night and be entertained, you would definitely enjoy this and probably be able to overlook it's shortfalls. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dabchick 1 review from this member

 Booked a few days having no prior knowledge of the site, and turned up on foot, with rucksacks and two kids in tow to be greeted by a very friendly young guy who showed us to the tents/tourers field and carried the tent the rest of the way as he did so. As we were travelling as light as possible I had asked via email if the site had the cable available for a hookup, which they were very happy to lend us. Bonus points!

The site is clearly geared up for statics, but that's not a problem, the field for tents and tourers is lovely, has a great view into Borth from the top, electric hookups round three sides. It does have a slope in the middle but nothing unmanageable (and we camped on a flat bit anyway). It's regularly mowed. In heavy rain it is VERY wet underfoot, but I find it hard to imagine that's unusual.

Given the size of the site the toilet blocks are small - three cubicles and two showers in the ladies and I think the same in the gents but with the addition of urinals. However, as most of the visitors are in statics this is easily adequate. We never had to queue. There's even a free hairdryer in the ladies! Showers are hot, clean and free, though a swimming-pool style where you have to keep pressing a tap for water.

There's a very nice little laundry / dishwashing room, with amazingly hot water! - the washing machine was out of order when we were there but we didn't want to use it. The dryer is excellent and only 50p for a very long cycle which dried even a handwashed beach towel.

There's a little path to a private-ish cove, and at low tide you can walk along the beach into Borth (check tides first) or there's a walk along the cliff - or you can follow the road back down!

Before Borth beach proper the rockpools are amazing, and there's loads of birdlife. Fab location.

We didn't eat in the club, but it looked lovely. The site is more expensive that some for a tent with no car, but I'm not complaining. We were impressed. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stacey6184 2 reviews from this member

 Great location to explore Borth and surrounding areas and fab sea views from the site. Although the nearest shower block only had 2, they were cleaned regularly along with the toilets. The on site bar/restaurant provides a nice facility to chill at the end of the day. However, although not rude staff could have been friendlier. We ate in the restaurant once. The food was adequate but perhaps some items are slightly overpriced.

The site was nice and quiet at night and our two boys had a fab time exploring the private beach.

We would return. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J Steele 2 reviews from this member

 Good site for access to beach 5 mins walk, only people on site use, great for crabbing and a barbie! Approx 15 mins walk to other beach near town and a good shop called Nisa where you can get your provisions.

You have to go in the car to the sand dunes which are brilliant, there is an ice cream van on the beach and toilets.

Site is very clean and someone was always cleaning areas. Showers are free and powerful lovely with plenty of space to get changed in. Fridge and small freezer for food and ice packs.

The View is a lovely bar, restaurant, decor lovely and very clean. On a Friday night there was a singer on but we could hear this from our tent and went on till after 11 which we thought was a bit too late, otherwise it was lovely and quiet.

A very small amusement arcade for children, small play area. On the camping field there was plenty of space to fly your kite and let the children play safely.

We shall definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robshazankids 1 review from this member

 What a Gem! Our first time out in our new caravan so we went a little local to start! Checked in by the owner who could not have been more helpful if she had tried!

The pitch was lovely lots of room between each van and enough room for the kids to play around outside. I don't think I went into the toilet block without a cleaner being present or just leaving the block this reflects the whole site clean and bright!

The club does meals and entrainment with a brilliant view over the bay. The meals are very reasonably priced and really good quality. There is a little amusement arcade and a small play ground to keep the big and little kids amused! There is no shop on site but Borth is just a little ride down the hill or if your feeling fit a good walk but bear in mind that is a big hill coming back.

In all brilliant! I would and plan to comeback and stay again! Thank You 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camper72 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site for 5 nights. General location very good. Toilet block and shower facilities adequately clean and plenty of hot water.

Locals in Borth very friendly. Restaurant above nisa open at weekends and well worth a visit. Borth and nearby Ynyslas beaches good for kids rock pooling.

Our stay was spoilt by 2 things: 1. Play area on site was shabby and 2. Some staff lacking in customer service skills (not reflected by all of staff)

Borth well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wife2kidsdog 3 reviews from this member

 Nice setting, clean toilet block, free showers and hot water. However spoilt for us with a couple of things. No plugs in the sinks for washing, and tales of the owner being rude to people - not just from the site but people in Borth (when we told them where we were staying we got some knowing looks too). Close to the sea, not sure if I want go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tour de Wales 6 reviews from this member

 Wow factor Borth location. Clean and tidy toilets and showers with large cubicles, free hot water. Well kept site. Nice air conditioned bar that serves decent and reasonably priced pub style food. Second storey balcony in the bar where you can take in the views. Tent field has a slope, but more level top and bottom of the field. Short walk to stoney cove or sandy beach in Borth itself (but told by local not to swim in beach at end of town due to strong undercurrent). We will be visiting this campsite again. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Brynrodyn Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Brynrodyn Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Brynrodyn Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Borth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3143 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements