Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cambrian Coast Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Borth > Cambrian Coast Holiday Park Reviews

Cambrian Coast Holiday Park
Ynyslas
Borth
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SY24 5JU
Tel: 01970 871233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 46 Touring 8 Camping 13 Static Holiday Homes
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Hacksaw Bob 10 reviews from this member

Situated in a quiet area about midway between the tip of the Ynyslas peninsula and the town of Borth, this site is easily accessed from the coast road, via a barrier-controlled level crossing.

It seems to be a well-run site, with any rubbish cleaned up promptly and toilet/shower/laundry block always clean and adequately supplied with soap, toilet paper and hot water. (The hand basin hot taps did need to be kept pressed, but I suspect this may be intentional, perhaps to prevent unsupervised children being scalded or simply wasting hot water, so in my view is acceptable. Running hot water was available, however, in the sinks in the laundry area. )

Pleasant clubhouse - we were particularly impressed with the gentleman who, when not serving in the bar, organised various children's activities in the adjoining room.

The tent area at the far end of the site had short grass and was flat and reasonably level, but seemed to have quite a lot of stones (or slate?) a few inches beneath the turf. Thick wire pegs (as supplied with tent) did cope OK but rock pegs might be preferable if available.

Borth, a couple of miles or so from the site, has a selection of shops, pubs etc and its railway station (which apparently also houses a museum, not open at time of visit), as well as a short section of patrolled beach near the lifeboat station.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deano1161 3 reviews from this member

This is a mixed review!

We wanted to try somewhere new, so we came here. The bar area is very nice, clean and modern. The pool is the best part of this park and the rates all round are good value - we were camping while my in-laws hired a static caravan.

However, the receptionist seemed desperate to get us out of the building and was watching our kids like a hawk in the little store area(now I would say this but they do know how to behave!).

The site in general seemed a little neglected, overgrown grass, useless washing up facilities and a play area that no kids would use. The idea of mixing touring units with tents is not a good one and seems chaotic. The toilet blocks were an interesting experience too!

The location is good. Borth is a nice little place and Aberystwyth is only down the road.

We would score lower but the caravan my in-laws hired was pleasant. However we wont be back

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AL53HX 18 reviews from this member

Try as I might, I cannot think of anything good to say about this site, I was talking to people that stayed a few years ago and they all commented on how it had gone downhill.

It appears to me that it is a static park with a touring field tacked on as an afterthought, called into the reception on arrival, told to drive round and find a pitch, found the last one available, and set up, and tried to find the dog walk to exercise my two dogs(2 pounds each per night) surprised to find that there wasn't one, when I enquired I was told that everyone takes them onto the beach(5 minute drive)so not a good start, next the toilets, showers/toilets/sinks, no plugs in the sinks and press down taps, (running water time 3 seconds)had to buy a plug, also very run down and not too clean, the dish washing up area is in a poor state, two sinks, no plugs and worst of all no hot water(all week and the main holiday time also)rubbish not cleared up, didn't see any staff (think they were hiding from people complaining)so all in all, I wont be returning and wont be recommending this site to friends and family. One last thing, this is the first time that I have come across a site that mixes tents and caravans together, large tents guy ropes encroaching on neighbours pitches, cant blame the campers at all, they can only pitch where they are told to, there is a potential camping field if cleaned up on the site but very overgrown.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pop765 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week in our caravan on a super pitch, site only has two super pitches but all pitches have electric and and TV aerial point and water points close by.

The wash block was very clean and tidy if a little walk for camping area.

The lounge bar is very tidy and tastefully decorated, staff could not have been more helpful.

We used the site in door pool which was great, the pool was clean and even though it says it's heated it was not as warm as hoped but still had great time. The pool is only a metre deep all over it is deep enough to swim in.

The toddler pool is heated and was being enjoyed by a toddle when we where there,

The jacuzzi was lovely and warm and great way to end a swim, all of these are free to use, you just need to leave a five pound deposit with reception for a key and you can swim for as long as you like.

The site is located close to the beach which you can drive you car on for only a pound a day and it is clean, did not see any rubbish any where.

The local town Borth only a two minute drive away has everything you will need for your stay, we would highly recommend the Victoria pub for food, you get more than you can eat and is all home made.

We would not recommend the first chip shop you come to in Borth, we ended up throwing it away, even the dog would not eat it.

We are planning to go back Cambrian coast in September as enjoyed it so much, one week felt like month away as its so laid back and quite.

If you require fuel for you car I would recommend you get icy before you arrive as did not see a petrol station in Borth.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lewiss22 7 reviews from this member

We have been here before they were Cambrian Coast, the site needed work then but was a lovely site. It is still a lovely site but the only things they have done is put new signs up and filled in the out door pool, which is a real shame. We were told it was a health and safety reason? They have tried to put a rock garden in but it was full of weads! Club house nice and smart but where not doing meals which was a real shame because they used to be lovely and good value. They do have a lovely indoor pool which is still well kept, but they really need to smarten up the grounds. Good value site and pitched nice size, toilet/shower block good and clean. I will visit agein but maybe not for a year or so when they have tidied the site up. Previous comment 'Dog Walk' beach is perfect to take dogs and the walk to the beach is not far at all. Dog Walk. Walking is part of this??

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Haribosnanny 1 review from this member

Having read previous reviews I thought this would be the last place I would want to visit. But curiosity got the better of me. We arrived on speck at 10am sat 9th sept, we were meet at reception by a very pleasant and helpful young lady, we said we only wished to stay one night, there were 3 adults and 2 young children, 2 vehicles and a very large family tent. No problem that will be £8.00 pounds. We were given passes for the club swimming pool etc and told we could choose which pitch we wanted. WOW.

We chose our spot and set up camp, then decided to explore the facilities, the toilets were exceptionally clean fresh and well presented mens as well because I went in and checked. Laundry the same excellent. The swimming pool was spotlessly clean and just £1.00 extra per child and £2,00 per adult,

The club was very welcoming to all and well organized with a lovely paddling pool area right outside the door for youngsters. I know we were only there one short weekend but we loved it I just don't understand the nasty comments others have left for this campsite,

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aed2010 1 review from this member

We visited this campsite with out Swift Eldiss Kontiki motorhome in July, 2010. We loved it so much we bought a static caravan here and traded in our motorhome, something we had no intention of doing when we started this holiday. We fell in love with the place. The scenery is beautiful and tranquil around this site and Ynyslas Beach is wonderful. When we were there with our motorhome we used the toilets and showers and never once found them dirty and there was never any rubbish anywhere. The staff are really friendly and very helpful. I can't understand the negative reviews. The campsite did tend to flood but where didn't last year with the amount of rain we all experienced. I can assure fellow campers that Swn Y Mor have put in new drainage now.

It is a small site so reception does close at 5 p. M. But you only have to go into the club which is adjoining and someone sees to you. The Swimming Pool and Sauna are fabulous. There are plenty of shops and takeaways just up the road in Borth.

May I say that I would never have purchased a caravan at Swn Y Mor if it was a bad site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindacl 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the Jubilee week and what aweek it was ! We arrived Friday 1st June and we thought it was a great pitch (you choose your own) nice and level.

The toilets (ladies) was very basic but always clean, my husband said the mens toilets were never cleaned properly and smelt. (I think that's just men's toilets in general) He did say that one day he went in and all the showers were full of mud, never found that in the ladies.

Another point, as some have mentioned before, the touring toilet block is in the middle of the statics, and was quite awalk from touring field.

When it rains the road near the toilets floods and you have to walk across 2 of the static pitches or paddle up to your ankles.

We only went in the club once and if you want to spend the night there take plenty of cash with you, we had pint of bitter, pint of lager and a coke and it cost us £7. 50 needless to say we made them last all night but we left after the turn was over. It was a singer and she had a fantastic voice but too loud for the size of the room.

If this site was brought more up to date and with the roads levelled out it could be a good site

Also they charge £2 to use the swimming pool.

Be aware if it rains heavy, as it did this week, you might not be able to get out of Aberystwyth

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Betsy2012 1 review from this member

We visited Swn Y Mor Caravan Park for a couple of nights in October - a great stay. Our son really enjoyed the cycle track and spent a lot of time there, playing with new friends. We attended the Club and enjoyed a meal - good value for money and tasty. We cycled into Borth and had a look around - the distance was perfect with a five year old.

We found the shower block fit for purpose and perfectly adequate - didn't notice any problem with the water pressure/temperature etc.

Everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

We enjoyed the trip so much, we have booked again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pollnbruce 3 reviews from this member

Having read the reviews on this site before we went we were somewhat rather concerned as to what to expect,

On arrival the reception staff were very helpful, we were told we could pick our own pitch,

The site itself was clean,

The toilet and shower block are basic but were clean, the pressure on the showers left a lot to be desired,

The shop, well decide for yourself.

The on site club and entertainment were good, bryony who does the kids club was brilliant.

I do have to wonder why the touring shower and toilet block are located in the static caravan area, this needs to be in the touring field.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3513 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019