Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Croft Farm Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Croft Farm Holiday Park
Luxulyan
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 5EQ
Tel: 01726 850228
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 57
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pogster 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 16 nights in August and would thoroughly recommend it.

We are 2 adults and 2 boys(aged 8 and 5)in a tent and loved the quietness of this site. There are only about 5 spaces for tents, but we picked it because of its size.

Had read previous reviews so were expecting it to be quiet - we have no desire to party until all hours so it suited us ideally.

The play area - well field, allowed plenty of room for the boys to run around and cycle and the woods were a delight. They loved the zip wire as well.

Its ideally located for visiting areas all around.

Have to comment as well on the cleanliness - it was spotless. I have stayed on many sites over the years and never stayed at one as clean as this. There were 3 showers for ladies and 4 toilets, so never had to wait - at first I thought they were dated looking, but the cleanliness outweighed this. I believe the men had much the same. The family bathroom was a bonus as after a very wet day, combined with the play area getting very wet - we needed to use the bath to clean the boys off !

We will definitely return to this site if we go down to this area again - as other reviews have said, if you want a loud busy site, then this is not for you !

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cazmum 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely quiet campsite, very few tourers, mostly statics, there is a table tennis room, zip-wire, beautiful dog walk and a very nice clean shower block.

It is situated very near to St. Austell and the south coast of Cornwall, but within half an hour of the north coast too!

We had one incident with a flooded awning, but this was down to exceptional yellow weather warning rain.

The owner was very friendly and so were the other campers that we stayed with.

Overall this was excellent value for money and a lovely place to come back to.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vickihelyar 1 review from this member

Amazing campsite and park! Excellent staff, facilities and location.

We arrived in the rain doing a charity off road bike ride from Land's End to John O Groats and Croft Farm kindly helped us out and donated and were incredibly helpful. This park and site is picturesque, quite and dog and family friendly and I would highly recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tess and Mist 3 reviews from this member

Spent a week at Croft Farm site, what a lovely quiet site, don't go there if you want drinking and dancing the night away, because there is not any there, but if you like peace and quiet and a laid back way of camping, this is the site for you.

Shower and toilet block was spotless, nice little dog walk for the family pets. The campsite is centrally located so you have plenty of choice in places to visit.

Will make a point of going there again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cassini987 3 reviews from this member

We've just had a lovely 2 night break at this campsite, and really liked it there. The toilets and showers were the cleanest I've ever experienced at a campsite, and the showers were nice and hot. The washing up facilities were excellent, and we made use of the freezer for our ice-packs and the spotless microwave for heating up beans one evening.

We had great fun in the table tennis room, and the play area with swings and zip wire was excellent too. The site is ideally located for the Eden Project, we spent the day there and had a go on the zip wire over the domes - highly recommended!

The only thing that we would change is that the pitch boundaries aren't marked and we ended up with another tent pitching so close to us that they were practically in our bedroom! I think normally this wouldn't happen as most campers are hopefully too considerate to do this.

All in all it is a superb site and we will definitely return in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonboy100 1 review from this member

We have just spent a week at croft farm.

If you want peace and tranquillity this site is perfect you could here a pin drop, There was mostly static caravans there approximately only 10 touring pitches so very quiet.

The site included added features of a free bath facility, nice hot showers, hairdryers, microwave (staying in a tent felt like we found gold) and a free pool table and table tennis for the kids, The location was a good central point for us to explore Cornwall.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bruce Pargeter 4 reviews from this member

Having spent two nights here we were very pleased and satisfied with the facilities. The site is within easy reach of the Eden project and surrounding area has some great walks to suit all ages. The village pub approximately 3/4 mile or 1/2 mile by field footpath, serves great food at very good prices

The owners are very friendly and very helpful, would visit again to do some more of the walks. I have only one criticism and that is because my motorhome needs a drive over waste disposal and there wasn't one.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Gill up thill 1 review from this member

I booked by phone, about 2 weeks beforehand. Weather had been so bad I couldn't build any enthusiasm for a camping holiday. Booked for 7 nights, with the agreement that I could extend it to 11 nights if I wasn't fed up with the rain!

The couple manning the reception when we arrived were friendly and helpful. The chap offered to help us push our folding camper into position, and expressed interest as he hadn't seen one like ours before. They had actually been expecting a campervan!

The site manager visited us to check everything was ok. He has been in post since earlier this year, and he has already made improvements to the site and has plans to continue doing so. When he realised we had family coming to stay in a tent during our stay, he kindly offered to move them nearer to our pitch and also lent them an extension cable for their electric.

The site was quiet and clean with plenty of taps and recycling facilities. The shop has essentials such as milk, there are items left from the previous management which have to be sold off before the shop can be restructured.

The toilet block was thoroughly cleaned each day. The walls and ceilings of the block have been painted white, giving a fresh, hygienic appearance. If there was any dirt here, you'd see it!

There did tend to be a smell of drains present in the ladies, but this is probably because the site is not connected to mains drainage and definitely not due to lack of cleanliness. The (free) showers had plenty of hot water and water pressure was pretty good. Saw a hedgehog one night outside the toilet block, first time I've seen one for ages.

The family bathroom needs a lick of paint, but the actual bath and loo were spotless.

There were good pot washing sinks with plenty of hot water, also a free microwave and freezer. Nice touch.

We used the table tennis room every day, haven't played for years and I had forgotten how much fun it is. The room has been whitewashed so it's light and airy, decent bats and dentless balls are provided. Again, there's no charge. It was an excellent way to spend an hour whilst waiting for the weather to brighten up. There is also a pool room, but the site manager hasn't reached it yet with his mop and paintbrush, no doubt he will in time. So at the moment it doesn't look too inviting and you also have to pay to play.

Children are catered for with a good play area including a very tempting zip wire.

There are separate sites leading off from the touring site housing mobile/holiday homes. If you didn't go and look at these, you wouldn't know they were there.

The Eden Project is only a mile away, and there is a nice pub in Luxulyan (Kings Arms) which has a good selection of food, beer and a real joker of a landlord. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the pub along a busy, narrow lane, make sure you have a torch or fleuresent jacket, you'll need it. Pub serves a variety of veggie dishes too.

Other places nearby we visited were Charlestown (go visit the heritage centre and also try the icecreams made and sold in the little shop in the middle of the car park) Bodmin jail, Wheal Martyn China Clay Centre (far more interesting than it sounds!), Megavissey, Par, Lostwithiel, and Fowey. All were only a short journey by car, and the roads have been much improved since the arrival of the Eden Project.

So, we stayed for 11 nights although the weather didn't improve, and we felt sad to leave. But we hope to return to this hidden gem of a site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shastings 11 reviews from this member

Booked by email/phone 48 hours before arrival. No problems here: reception was closed as we arrived on Sunday but instructions were posted on the door as promised. Pitched in a more open plan area of the site so pitch boundaries were a little difficult to work out but after a couple of minutes and a quick chat with other campers it became pretty obvious.

No problem with Montana 6 and front awning, so plenty of space. Electrical hookups required a twisting motion, presumably to set the earth protection switch, unusual but easy enough. Plenty of hookups and water supply points, also picnic benches & tables scattered around, which was nice.

Facilities on the site include a shower/toilet block (with baby changing), washing up area (with microwaves & freezer - again a nice touch), separate toilets in the other touring field, laundry, table tennis room, a great kids play field (with swings, slide and zip wire), shop (in reception) and most unusually a complete family bathroom (so useful for sorting out the little boy who doesn't get on so well with showers).

Chemical toilet disposal was conveniently located and bin/recycling facilities well distributed and well hidden. There may well have been other things that I simply didn't spot, but shal we say that every reasonable need is catered for at this site.

The site is peaceful, well kept, nicely sectioned off (you're never aware of more than say another dozen units) and very conveniently located for the St Austell Bay area, Bodmin, or easy transport to other parts of Cornwall - with the A30 just a few minutes away. If you're interested in the Eden Project this is within walking distance (a fairly decent walk mind you).

The site is mainly occupied by holiday homes, with some permanent residents in more substantially constructed retirement homes, there are also a few holiday cottages for rent. Touring pitches include both hard standings and grass pitches.

Our 6 night stay was brilliant! Weather was gorgeous and we had absolutely no issues with this site. In fact I'm sure we will return. The site seems very well managed and facilities were perfectly clean and well stocked throughout our stay.

I've noticed that other reviewers have commented adversely on the toilet and shower facilities, which are clearly older. However all seem well maintained and as already said perfectly clean. I'm not sure what other campers have come to expect, but in my experience there are many sites, charging considerably more that the 16. 50 per night that we paid, with much worse facilities than evident here!

In short a delightful, quiet little site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ewitty 2 reviews from this member

Booked into stay for 6 nights but due to very bad weather only stayed for 3. Good communication for booking and follow up enquiries.

The shower block needs updating. The showers in ladies & gents were cold so had to use the bathroom.

No-one at reception for check-in, which seemed odd As not shown pitch, or the pitch boundaries before setting up. Pitches are not level, which was not great in poor weather.

Reception friendly enough, but site doesn't seem very child friendly, which wasn't great with 4 young boys. The first meeting with site staff started with being told my 3 year old was being a menace! I can understand their concerns for safety, but not a great first impression.

Play area is good, games room is not. Good base for exploring local area.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2257 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!