Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Green Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

The Green Caravan Park
Wentnor
Bishops Castle
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY9 5EF
Tel: 01588 650605
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 140
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 163 Reviews
                8/10 from 163 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <10 miles 

Reviews:  163 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richg57 13 reviews from this member

Very nice family site next to an excellent pub. The main feature of the campsite is the small river used by loads of children to paddle, play, build dams and fish for minnows. There are some small trout in there too.

The pub (The Inn on the green)serves food at reasonable prices and the on site shop isn't overpriced either. Booking is recommended. There are loads of small villages in the area with quaint pubs to match. Pitches were spaced well. There are a couple of things that let the park down but not enough to spoil a holiday. The entrance needs sorting out, it's a bit awkward with no view of oncoming traffic and a large bump as you leave the road. The toilet and shower facilities were clean enough considering the wet weather but the showers lacked any power. Showers cost 20p but they work whether you put 20p in or not. The whole block is a bit dated with peeling paint and cobwebs etc. The Only other downside (for me) was the lack of wifi, phone signal and TV reception. I appreciate that this can be a blessing but that depends on your point of view. Overall this is a lovely site in a good location where children can roam around or cycle and play in a nice traditional atmosphere.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoJo19 5 reviews from this member

This site was deeply disappointing. If you are thinking of going for the pristine environment and peace and quiet my advice is, DON'T!

You may, like me, think you'll overlook the rough facilities, more reminiscent of the late 70's camping as a child and assume that you will be staying on a pristine, award winning site. I mean they won the David Bellamy Gold conservation award for ten yes running right? It must be good mustn't it! Wrong. They haven't won that award for nearly ten years now. Things look like they have taken a dive in the intervening years and you won't get the peace an quiet you crave because it seems at odds with both some of the clientele and not really a priority for the management either.

We arrived to a note left on the board outside the closed reception telling us where to pitch. That should have been a clue about the general 'culture' of the site I guess! Nevertheless, we were on the apparently very desirable 'Island' with the river Onny running around it, and told to pitch anywhere. I was really excited about the Island!

My excitement was short lived. On arrival we were the only ones on the Island but a quick perusal presented evidence of previous residents, lots of it. What should have been an idyllic little spot away from the hub-bub of the main area, the Island was strewn with sweet wrappers, discarded tissues and tea bags in the hedge, crisp packets floating in the river Onny - the list goes on. Now you might suggest that a site can't entirely control how it's visitors behave but this site is the only site I have visited in recent years where no checks were carried out between visitors. On top of this no demands seemed to be made of visitors to respect the environment at all. Given this is the sites only real selling point, particularly with the aging and poor state of the facilities, you might imagine more effort would go into enforcing some respect for the natural surroundings rather than trashing them.

After pitching I checked out the 'facilities'. I had read other reviews so wasn't expecting very much, but, having recovered from the initial gag inducing stink of sewerage outside the toilet block - a foul stink that was evident the whole time we were there - the block revealed itself to indeed be basic. Very basic. On the plus side there was hot water, hand soap and hand dryers and it was fairly clean - but that's about as far as I can go on the positives. Put bluntly it needs knocking down and rebuilding to meet 21st century needs. Oh and if you are a disabled or infirm visitor don't expect to get any 'special' treatment - there are no facilities for you here. Ditto if you have a babe in arms. Those fancy, clean changing and bathing areas for babies, forget it.

Back at our tent more visitors arrived, lovely people, so I thought I could over look the small issues of litter and toilet stink as we at least had nice people next to us. The village shop was just across the road and a pub next door - all great assets for any camp site. We had a peaceful night and both parties on the Island were pretty chilled out with our respective children quietly getting on with fishing in the river.

The site though has a policy of allowing children's bikes on site. And so it was that a gang of what can only be described as 'feral' children, riding at full pelt careened through the island and run straight into my neighbours tent. The site has a policy of allowing children to run riot it seems regardless of danger to themselves or others. This became more evident when the next day a big group with six children arrived on the island and proceeded to drop litter, shout and scream (both parents and children)and play ball games near our tents, cars, tables and chairs with utterly no respect for anyone else or their property. We all know these things unfortnatley happen and there are some very inconsiderate or just plain ignorant people out there. But even after I complained the owner seemed to feel I was being too harsh, 'It's just children' she said by way of ducking the issue. Given that I have them myslef I am aware of the pitfalls of 'children', this seemed more about not wanting to really take on board the scale of the problem and the impact on other visitors. I'll leave you to make up your own minds as to whether the management are relaxed or just a bit negligent. Later our nice neighbours had a run in with the feral kids again - it really became quite unpleasant what with noise and the general sense that you didn't want to leave the tent or indeed anything else unguarded.

Then, just as you hope it can't get much worse, we were kept up until just before midnight by the adults in the noisy group that I had already complained about. But as this site has a policy of not policing anything after reception shuts you can't expect any back up on that front.

At that point I gave up and voted with my feet and my wallet. Despite having made a reservation for longer we came back home early with a refund for the additonal days we would have stayed.

It's a real shame as this site was probably once really worthy of the David Bellamy accolades, it is situated in an outstandingly beautiful and quiet part of the country, but it sure isn't worthy of any awards any more. There are better sites locally who take the environment and the well being and enjoyment of all of their visitors seriously. If these things matter to you, don't waste your time and money here.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MaisieMeg 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful tranquil site during the week. But transforms into Butlins on a warm sunny weekend! Such a shame as minnows in stream and lots of butterflies when quiet. Helpful owners who moved us from a very hot pitch in exceptionally warm weather to a cooler one under the trees. Pub on site serving good food and real ales. Also The Crown up a very steep road 10 mins walk does good food and real ales. Lovely walks nearby to The Stipperstones. Showers hot for 20p in basic toilet block. Would go again during the week but not at weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mabby3 1 review from this member

Been here loads of times with family and friends. A real getaway from it all kind of place where you can simply chill down. Kids can spend time playing traditionally and giving their eyes a rest from their tablets and game consoles (as can adults). Facilities are basic but itís clean and functional so if itís luxury youíre after, this place isnít for you.

Two pubs, one literally at the top of the lane and the other, 5 mins walk up the hill road (where the village shop sits), youíll find the Crown Inn. Stunning views from the garden, of the long mynd and its rolling hills - not to be missed! Food is amazing and the pub has oodles of charm. Stayed bed & breakfast once too which was lovely!

Bishopís Castle is about 5 miles away where youíll find shops, and lots of pubs to choose from.

Great campsite and lots of returning campers suggest itís worth a try!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nick56 8 reviews from this member

A very pleasant Caravan/Camping site in the heart of Shropshire. The site is divided into about 8 different areas although all of the Electric Hook Ups are in one area. It is a well kept site with a decent size shower toilet block, this was clean and tidy. There is a pleasant stream that runs through the camp site there were mad bonkers children in it in their swimming costumes 'good for them' brrrrr. The site appears to attract people from all walks of life, both young and older. There is pub/restaurant right next to the site and a small village shop selling what you need just across the road. There is a lovely walk from the site up into the hills.

Do make sure you follow your road map and not your satnav if towing a caravan there are a lot of very narrow lanes that you really don't want to get stuck in.

Cons: No phone signal and no TV Reception. The play area needs expanding and include some infant friendly swings. But I do have to say that most of the kids found that ability to play without the aid of tablets and phones. Nice place highly recommended

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jusbluey 20 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 4night stay at this campsite. The owner was very friendly & told us we could choose our pitch. As there are only a few (maybe 4/5) hardstandings we chose a grass pitch with EHU. The site was fairly big & has a number of camping fields. I would imagine it gets busy at weekends & school holidays as there were a quite a few children there over the weekend. I would prefer it if children were kept away from motorhomes while riding bikes or playing ball games. Monday & Tuesday were bliss when families had left. The shower facilities were clean but I think it would be helpful to have somewhere to be able to put your toiletries & maybe a stool, as a mature person it would make life easier to be able to sit down. The shower was not very powerful, but 20p was a fair charge. The grass pitches are not level & are quite bumpy in places but as the ground was very firm it did not pose a problem, maybe different in wet weather. The area is fabulous for those who like walking, we did over 30 miles & loved it. We had Sunday lunch at the pub next to the site & it was fab, food, beer & service. We would go back to this site but would definitely avoid school holidays & weekends.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Christinashaw 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite for one night as we were passing through in our touring caravan.

The pitches were mostly grass with a few hard standing pitches in between, one of which we used (it was level and it took no time to pitch up). There were several separate additional fields for just tents as well.

The campsite was generally well maintained with a nice airy feel to it. It was surrounded by trees with a little stream in which the kids played straight away (and even caught 2 little fish).

The toilets and showers were basic but clean and the staff was very friendly.

Overall I can recommend this lovely site if you want to get away from big touring sites. Lots of nature to play for the kids and a little play park on site as well.

The pub just next to it is a bonus.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jasmined 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this wonderful site for 4 days over the August bank holiday weekend. Despite the site being full due to the time we stayed, it never felt over crowded or squashed. Each pitch was very generous in size. The site itself was laid out very well. With bridges over the river leading to additional secluded camping areas.

There is a stream which the kids can play in and it kept them all thoroughly entertained. There was also hot water in the washing up area- which I don't think I've ever known before.

The children's park is great, as was the shower block.

This was one of the best sites I have ever stayed on in over 10 years if caravanning.

We will definitely go back again. You can even store your caravan for free there for a week to return the following weekend 😀

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philippa Kay 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite, set in the most amazing countryside and by a beautiful stream teaming with wildlife (saw a kingfisher). Very friendly staff who will go out of their way to help and accommodate you. It is run in a relaxed but efficient manor and seemed to attract a pleasant considerate type of camper. Very clean toilet block which never ran out of soap or toilet rolls and even had fresh flowers in and pretty hanging baskets outside. The site has a shop which has all the essentials, even strips of ice blocks for 40p. Ate at The Crown one evening which was well worth the climb up the hill for a pint of three tuns ale and gorgeous homemade steak and Stilton pie. Kids loved playing in the stream (bring wet suits and beach shoes). Take time to explore the wonderful countryside - Heaven! Thank you.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Team Zaza 1 review from this member

Just spent the most wonderful few days at this gorgeous campsite. We were 6 families and lucky enough to book 'The Island'. An area encircled by the Onny Brook and accessed via a charming bridge. The weather was terrible but the children, aged between 2 yes and 14 had an amazing time. The facilities were fab with lots of hot water on tap for washing up and spotlessly clean Loo's. Even a spray of carnations decorated the shower rooms. This is my 4th visit and I still love it, as did all the friends I invited along. The on site shop is well stocked and the local pub provides delicious chips to take out and the essential WiFi to keep in touch with important emails. Love this charming campsite and will be back soon. Thank you !

Previous     163 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Shropshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth £109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8474 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977