Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Ventnor > Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park Reviews

Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park
Appuldurcombe Road
Wroxall
Ventnor
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO38 3EP
Tel: 01983 852597
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stonestreet 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, really quiet, no road noise, we were on a hard standing which was almost level. Great location for picking up walking trails and cycle paths such as red squirrel trail.

Easily walk or cycle to Ventnor and Shanklin. Campsite is set in a little valley.

Nice showers and toilet block, well kept. Huge bonus is the wonderful swimming pool and bar area, we had the pool to ourselves as it wasn’t a school holiday.

Small supermarket less than a mile walk, bus stops nearby, number 3 takes you to Ventnor.

Would go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: V8vite 1 review from this member

 A fantastic friendly, clean and tranquil site.

Lovely setting and ideal as a base for island excursions.

The grounds are well kept.

Very safe and secure site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Melmel74 28 reviews from this member

 Nice site with an outdoor pool which was just warm enough to swim in before breakfast. There is a bar on site which we didn't use and good toilet blocks.

Nice walks from the site and easy to drivd to Sandown ( where my mum was staying in a B&B).

I much prefer this type of site when visiting the island - away from the ones which have entertainers etc

This has a great balance of facilities and would love to go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Snasha 13 reviews from this member

 Lovely site - very well looked after ! Great facilities. Would definitely visit again.

Lovely walks just a few mins from the site. Showers etc were spotless and water always beautifully hot no matter what time of day.

Generous pitch sizes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon Butt 1 review from this member

 We had stayed on other IOW campsites previously, and while they were excellent we found that our children needed something more on a holiday - namely evening entertainment. Appuldurcombe fitted the bill perfectly with good sized pitches, spotless toilets & showers, a handy cafe & shop, lovely outdoor heated pool, and a bar and function room where evening children's entertainment and bingo kept the kids (and parents) happy. We liked it so much we booked for next year before leaving!

Unfortunately our hope's of another fantastic holiday have been dashed as we have been informed that our booking has been cancelled due to the main field now being closed, the shop and cafe being closed, and the evening entertainment no longer taking place. Booking is now apparently only through Red Funnel and 3 or 10 days packages.

I wish Appuldurcombe's family owners the very best of wishes during this transition, but the site no longer retains the same features that would persuade me to re-book for a family holiday after the planned changes.

My review scoring is based on the site as it was, as I wouldn't choose to go to a site without additional facilities, so it would be unfair to grade the site without visiting after the transition. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rgeo4 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent an enjoyable 10 days at Appuldurcombe. The weather was fantastic with the exception of two wet and windy days.

If you have a young family the campsite is perfectly situated for most family friendly days out. Only having to travel 5 or six miles to visit most attractions.

The toilet and shower facilities were always spotless. The only downside was that the shower cubicles were quite small with the exception of a family cubicle which was plenty big enough, if you managed to get it!

The swimming pool was a decent size, and heated. There is an on site cafe with good reasonably priced food.

The bar was good, and there was child friendly evening entertainment, which was a good laugh, even for adults. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 95 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights here as part of a package with Red Funnel ferries.

The welcome was very friendly and detailed although there was some confusion about our booking.

We chose the Meadow Bluebell hardstanding area as one tree there gave us a bit of welcome shade in the hot sunny weather and it was also more secluded and quieter.

The outdoor pool was an absolute delight and though busy on our first day, we virtually had it to ourselves on subsequent days, even though the site was almost full.

We ate in the cafe on our first evening and although basic, the food was tasty and good value. The bar wasn't too busy and we enjoyed one drink there, although the background music was slightly intrusive.

Both shower blocks were open and were absolutely spotless.

As a base for cycling, Wroxhall was fine and we rode easily to Godshill, Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor.

We were a bit disappointed with the Botanical Gardens, expecting much more colour, but the Pavilion Cafe was excellent.

We used the local bus to get to Osborne House. It turned up over half an hour late and packed solid, only letting a few of us on. Additionally, the driver didn't advise us of the offer for 24 hour group ticket and we paid £11 too much. However, the driver of the second bus, from Newport, told us we had been ripped off and advised us to complain back at the bus station. After a bit of a fuss, we were given a refund, which we spent in the Griffin pub in Godshill on the way home.

Altogether this is an excellent site and we would certainly revisit if ever we went back to the IOW. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grandad Kenny 33 reviews from this member

 Great staff in the reception and very helpful. We had a grass pitch which was slightly undulating and some are sloping, there are flat pitches both on grass and hard standing. Cafè was closed whilst we were there and the bar stank of cigarette smoke on our first visit to it but was fine a couple of nights later. Pool looked very good although we didn't use it. The showers in the old block were closed and in the new block they get a 2 out of 10, push button lasting a few seconds and no pressure at all, why do sites insist on push buttons?

20p hairdryer in the Ladies did not work! Lots of stuff to do around the island.

Will return if it remains open to tourers, a static caravan dweller was telling us the site was up for sale and an offer was on the table, she suspected a vast majority of the site would be used for chalets as some of the statics had already been taken over by a holiday company, not sure how true it all was but there was also the same conversation going on in the bar a few days later! 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andrew schofield 5 reviews from this member

 A really lovely site with great facilities and beautiful location. Lots of walks nearby and half hourly bus service to other towns closeby. Dog friendly, staff very pleasant and helpful. An easy recommendation. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camping73 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely our favourite campsite. Cannot fault it. We have have been every year for 5 years and book the following year before we leave. The staff are accommodating and friendly and the facilities are clean and well maintained. The site is ideal for families. It is safe, contained and has a play park and playing field. Our children (15, 13 and 10) have the freedom to roam and make friends. They all look forward to returning each year and catching up with friends from previous years, such is the obvious level of repeat business. The evening entertainment is totally centred around families and has a fantastic ‘one big family’ feel to it. The location is great with easy access to the whole of the island, great beaches nearby, idyllic villages, good pubs, and fantastic walks to Godshill and Old Shanklin. The pool has recently been refurbished and the on site cafe serves good food. Give it a try! You won’t regret it! 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ventnor      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1980 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement