Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Ventnor > Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park > Reviews

Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park
Appuldurcombe Road
Wroxall
Ventnor
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO38 3EP
Tel: 01983 852597
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 135 Reviews
                9/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nigelt 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite.

Very nice amenities which were always clean and warm during our stay.

Great walks from the campsite and a very good bus service just down the road. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 456charlie 7 reviews from this member

 A really lovely and well kept site, with good sized pitches which are fairly level, and a modern amenities block in the main field. The site is family run and it is very well looked after.

There's small lights on top of the EHU boxes in the middle pitches, and it's a shame they are quite bright because these are lit all through the night and can make it difficult to sleep in a tent - but we easily fixed this by judicious use of paper and selloptape each evening to cut out the light in our direction.

BBQs are also permitted as long as they are off the ground, and for us, it's not proper camping without at least 1 BBQ tea!

We particularly liked the outdoor pool which was a great way to cool off after a day out exploring. The licenced coffee shop was in fact a proper bar that had a nice coffee machine with it. During our stay it was open from 18:30 to 10pm, and they also offered very nice pizzas up until about 8pm. The timing for us were spot on in that you could go out for something to eat and come back for a nightcap before turning in.

Location wise the site is well placed in a quiet valley next to the entrance to the ruined Appuldurcombe House which is certainly worth a stroll around. There's bus stops on the main roa2 with regularly services linking to Sandown, Shanklin and Ventnor, and it was nice to find that the services run up until about midnight, so no problem taking the bus to town for an evening meal and leaving the car behind so we could both have a drink.

Also easy to get to was Morrisons and Aldi in Lake, about a 10 minute drive, and easily found on the site-provided sketch map of the area.

Just up off the main road is access to the Squirrel Trail, and the part down to Shanklin is a multi-use traffic-free route on a former railway. We cycled and it took about 20 mins, walking was about an hour taking in the views as we went. Yes it was uphill on the way back, but not that arduous.

Cycling wise, we traced the squirrel trail all the way round to Godshill, then used the trails signed back to Wroxhall, so about 19 mile round trip.

Pub-wise we can highly recommend The Pointer Inn at Newchurch (cycled to this along the Squirrel Trail), and the Griffin in Godshill - both reasonably priced and have welcoming staff.

The Taverners in Godshill was good for food, but not quite so reasonable priced. There's a pub in the village of Wroxhall now an American themed place we are told - unfortunately despite trying 4 times during the early part of our stay, at different times of the day and evenings, we kept finding it shut, so we gave up and stuck with the ones's we'd already found.

A lovely site, and the only reason for not giving it 10-out-of-10 is the push-button showers which give you less than 10 seconds of water - come on folks, we get that push-button probably does save water, but at least make them 20 seconds, or even better 30, so you have a chance at rinsing shampoo without the water stopping almost immediately and you scrabbling around blinded by soap in the eyes trying to find the button. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Michelm 6 reviews from this member

 An excellent site with well spaced pitches. The numerous toilet, shower and washing up facilities were clean.

A very nice bar besides a lovely pool which I appreciated due to the warm weather.

The only thing that could be improved is by having designed shower facilities where the toilet, shower and wash basin are in the same cubicle.

An excellent bus service with a stop just nearby allows you to tour the island easily by public transport. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: J P S 3 reviews from this member

 Thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Lovely friendly staff welcomed us at reception and assisted with queries when needed. The site was spotlessly clean and tidy.

Lovely shower and toilet block always clean too. One shower was lacking pressure when I used it but that's a minor complaint.

Bar and pool area were lovely too, pool was a little cold but again a minor complaint imo. There is a play area for the children too

There is a very small crazy golf on site which looks like it hasn't been maintained in years but overall we loved the site and would happily go back 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stonestreet 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, really quiet, no road noise, we were on a hard standing which was almost level. Great location for picking up walking trails and cycle paths such as red squirrel trail.

Easily walk or cycle to Ventnor and Shanklin. Campsite is set in a little valley.

Nice showers and toilet block, well kept. Huge bonus is the wonderful swimming pool and bar area, we had the pool to ourselves as it wasn’t a school holiday.

Small supermarket less than a mile walk, bus stops nearby, number 3 takes you to Ventnor.

Would go again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: V8vite 1 review from this member

 A fantastic friendly, clean and tranquil site.

Lovely setting and ideal as a base for island excursions.

The grounds are well kept.

Very safe and secure site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Melmel74 33 reviews from this member

 Nice site with an outdoor pool which was just warm enough to swim in before breakfast. There is a bar on site which we didn't use and good toilet blocks.

Nice walks from the site and easy to drivd to Sandown ( where my mum was staying in a B&B).

I much prefer this type of site when visiting the island - away from the ones which have entertainers etc

This has a great balance of facilities and would love to go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Snasha 13 reviews from this member

 Lovely site - very well looked after ! Great facilities. Would definitely visit again.

Lovely walks just a few mins from the site. Showers etc were spotless and water always beautifully hot no matter what time of day.

Generous pitch sizes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon Butt 1 review from this member

 We had stayed on other IOW campsites previously, and while they were excellent we found that our children needed something more on a holiday - namely evening entertainment. Appuldurcombe fitted the bill perfectly with good sized pitches, spotless toilets & showers, a handy cafe & shop, lovely outdoor heated pool, and a bar and function room where evening children's entertainment and bingo kept the kids (and parents) happy. We liked it so much we booked for next year before leaving!

Unfortunately our hope's of another fantastic holiday have been dashed as we have been informed that our booking has been cancelled due to the main field now being closed, the shop and cafe being closed, and the evening entertainment no longer taking place. Booking is now apparently only through Red Funnel and 3 or 10 days packages.

I wish Appuldurcombe's family owners the very best of wishes during this transition, but the site no longer retains the same features that would persuade me to re-book for a family holiday after the planned changes.

My review scoring is based on the site as it was, as I wouldn't choose to go to a site without additional facilities, so it would be unfair to grade the site without visiting after the transition. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rgeo4 4 reviews from this member

 Just spent an enjoyable 10 days at Appuldurcombe. The weather was fantastic with the exception of two wet and windy days.

If you have a young family the campsite is perfectly situated for most family friendly days out. Only having to travel 5 or six miles to visit most attractions.

The toilet and shower facilities were always spotless. The only downside was that the shower cubicles were quite small with the exception of a family cubicle which was plenty big enough, if you managed to get it!

The swimming pool was a decent size, and heated. There is an on site cafe with good reasonably priced food.

The bar was good, and there was child friendly evening entertainment, which was a good laugh, even for adults. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Is Appuldurcombe Gardens Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ventnor      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2334 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement