Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pencarnan Farm Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > Pencarnan Farm Caravan & Camping Site > Reviews

Pencarnan Farm Caravan & Camping Site
Pencarnan Farm
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6PY
Tel: 01437 720580
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 29 Reviews
                7/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Graymol 1 review from this member

 We had a pitch in the bottom field directly above the beautiful cove below.

Stunning location right on the beach and the coastal path.

Fab bar area and takeaway pizza.

Couldn't fault it. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ktmund 1 review from this member

 Very relaxed campsite, beautiful location and chilled out friendly staff. Shower and toilet block in need of updating.

Too far to walk to St David's, 20-25 minute walk to Whitesands via beautiful coastal path. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mikro 30 reviews from this member

 Most expensive site I've ever stayed in. Toilets full of cobwebs obviously never cleaned above eye level.

Great situation above beach. The upper field was almost empty, even in August, and we had to throw our lead over the hedge to hook up.

Service was friendly and helpful, 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JMurphy 16 reviews from this member

 The site is in an amazing location (if the weather is kind to you) and is an ideal location to walk or cycle from the site. It's a nice 40mins walk to St David's. There is a small beach just below the 'beach camping field' which is a lovely place to watch the sunset, tides permitting.

We were there for 4 days and the toilets were not cleaned once during that time and the boiler broke down on the Saturday afternoon, so no hot water was available. The comments were that the boiler was broken and that the back-up boiler was 'a bit unreliable'.

It was a real shame as the far-too laid back approach was not what I expected. You pay on arrival so you expect to get the facilities that you pay for.

This site is all about the location and it is amazing but a better maintained site would make it even better. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jack and ellen 1 review from this member

 We stayed here in early July 2017 for a week. The campsite is in a glorious location, right on the coast, with stunning views. No more than a 5 minute walk to a dog friendly beach (depending on where you are pitched), where the coast path runs next to. No restaurant on site but a shop with all the essentials.

There is a van that came around selling hot meals (on two nights only!), we had a cauliflower pakora and a chicken quesadilla. Both meals was very tasty. If you have cheap tents or awnings stay away as it can get very windy!

The toilet blocks are modern, in the ladies for the week, about 3/4 toilets ran out of toilet paper during the week which was only replaced on the Saturday! can't have more than 2 people in the showers as the water pressure drops too low and you end up showering with a trickle of water.

We found the invite to the wedding blessing that was held on the beach on the Saturday for a glass of champagne a nice touch.

We would happily recommended the site and come back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Glanv47 1 review from this member

 Fantastic 3 days on a great site. Fabulous sea views. Friendly staff and well maintained showers and toilet blocks. Clean and perfect temperature in showers with free hairdryers.

Shop stocked basics but only 5 minutes from a supermarket and local butcher in St David's.

Weather was fab so spent everyday on the small beach below. Accessed down steep steps but not too bad.

Great beach with safe swimming

Overall, one of the nicest sites we've stayed on 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elle12345 1 review from this member

 Been campin here for 34 years, , , always remember Edwin as a kid, brought my daughter now 9 years old here, 3 weeks after her being born for 3 weeks, amazing place, times memory's!

fond times every time pitch up! Special!

Lovely family run site, good facilities, showers etc, , , good shop, , amazing walks, beaches! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Agjb 5 reviews from this member

 Positives: Exceptionally beautiful surroundings & views, very easy-going, good water/waste/chemical disposal points

Negatives: Windy to point of damaging our awning, unbelievably narrow access from St David's with mad speeding locals- beware, as no-one warned us and they knew we had a 29' van which is 8'wide, appalling toilets and shower blocks (half toilets without paper, one week no hand soap, apparently cleaned by hosing everything leaving even toilets looking like its rained indoors), near zero for sale in small shop (not even milk or bread on our arrival) and zero info on local attractions, tourers mixed with tents which sometimes caused our toddler not to be able to sleep, outrageously expensive for what you get apart from views and finally- esp given what we paid- could not believe a marathon event was held with around 50 cars parked hemming us in- and not a word was said to forewarn us. Wouldn't have minded but all the frantic grass-cutting and pothole-filling the previous day wasn't for our benefit at all! Wouldn't have hurt for someone to let us know, so left a bad taste I'm afraid. Finally, we endured a week of apparently refurbishing a fast-food 'van in our field, with what looked like two dumped fridges left once it was done (still there). Not on for what we paid, I'm afraid.

We won't be returning, but can see why it appeals to some. Just don't expect much for your money beyond the views. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RobLucking 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a couple of nights in the May half term week as part of a short stay in Wales. We'd booked in advance and turned up expecting to find the site busy but to our surprise it was relatively quiet. The camping field closest to the beach was pretty full but the field itself was on quite a slope so we elected to pitch in the inland field which was level, more sheltered and virtually empty.

The facilities were pretty much immaculate. Both male and female toilet/shower blocks were very clean. The shower cubicles were spacious and there was free hot water throughout. Given the price (see below) you wouldn't expect anything less!

The site is located above Porthsele Beach with easy access to the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. St Davids is only a couple of miles away and easily walkable / cycleable / driveable for supplies etc. The campsite itself has no cafe although it does sell basics - milk etc.

One thing to note is that this isn't a cheap campsite. For our family of four we paid over 80 for two nights - a Premier Inn would be cheaper! The site also appeared to have quite a loyal following from the 'glamping set'. Expect to see wigwams and yurts, yummy mummys wearing South American ponchos purchased from the ethnic shops in Primrose Hill whilst their other halves desperately try to remember the fire lighting skills they learned on their Ray Mears survival weekend when trying to get a camp fire going on the beach.

Although we enjoyed our stay, I did resent the price. Camping is supposed to be an affordable pastime but at this site, the prices are approaching those of budget hotels. For a more affordable, basic campsite in the same area try Rhosson Ganol just down the road. In retrospect I wished we'd have stayed there. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sher Dyfed 1 review from this member

 Great location. Beautiful coastal views with close proximity to St. Davids, Pembrokeshire coast and beaches.

The site is well laid out and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Numbers in my party changed over our four night stay and they managed to wiggle there bookings around so I could stay on EHU when I asked for an additional nights stay. Nothing is a problem for the staff.

They brought me up some concrete slabs so I could use my 'fire pit' type barbecue. The grass was very dry and we didn't want a fire.

My pitch was huge. 5 meter bell tent, 9x9 feet Malu shelter (or Gazebo type), toilet tent, barbecue, huge trailer and three cars.

Shop is well stocked with free to use ice packs.

The wash up area is now covered and even has some nesting House Martins in the rafters.

Yes the toilet block may not be up to some standards but we found it ok.

There maybe a play ground I don't know as I didn't see all the site but the nearby beach and sea is all the playground you need. Plenty of open space for ball games and playing.

The site was nice and quite and with the lovely weather we had a great time.

Bearing in mind all the kit and size or my pitch I found the price to be reasonable.

I would recommend this site and will return this September.

This is my first review. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Pencarnan Farm Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pencarnan Farm Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Pencarnan Farm Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3103 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement