Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pencarnan Farm Caravan & Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Pencarnan Farm Caravan & Camping Site
Pencarnan Farm
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6PY
Tel: 01437 720580
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: April To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JMurphy 5 reviews from this member

The site is in an amazing location (if the weather is kind to you) and is an ideal location to walk or cycle from the site. It's a nice 40mins walk to St David's. There is a small beach just below the 'beach camping field' which is a lovely place to watch the sunset, tides permitting.

We were there for 4 days and the toilets were not cleaned once during that time and the boiler broke down on the Saturday afternoon, so no hot water was available. The comments were that the boiler was broken and that the back-up boiler was 'a bit unreliable'. It was a real shame as the far-too laid back approach was not what I expected. You pay on arrival so you expect to get the facilities that you pay for. This site is all about the location and it is amazing but a better maintained site would make it even better.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jack and ellen 1 review from this member

We stayed here in early July 2017 for a week. The campsite is in a glorious location, right on the coast, with stunning views. No more than a 5 minute walk to a dog friendly beach (depending on where you are pitched), where the coast path runs next to. No restaurant on site but a shop with all the essentials. There is a van that came around selling hot meals (on two nights only!), we had a cauliflower pakora and a chicken quesadilla. Both meals was very tasty. If you have cheap tents or awnings stay away as it can get very windy!

The toilet blocks are modern, in the ladies for the week, about 3/4 toilets ran out of toilet paper during the week which was only replaced on the Saturday! can't have more than 2 people in the showers as the water pressure drops too low and you end up showering with a trickle of water.

We found the invite to the wedding blessing that was held on the beach on the Saturday for a glass of champagne a nice touch.

We would happily recommended the site and come back

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Glanv47 1 review from this member

Fantastic 3 days on a great site. Fabulous sea views. Friendly staff and well maintained showers and toilet blocks. Clean and perfect temperature in showers with free hairdryers.

Shop stocked basics but only 5 minutes from a supermarket and local butcher in St David's.

Weather was fab so spent everyday on the small beach below. Accessed down steep steps but not too bad.

Great beach with safe swimming

Overall, one of the nicest sites we've stayed on

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elle12345 1 review from this member

Been campin here for 34 years, , , always remember Edwin as a kid, brought my daughter now 9 years old here, 3 weeks after her being born for 3 weeks, amazing place, times memory's! fond times eveyr time pitch up! Special! Lovely family run site, good facilities, showers etc, , , good shop, , amazing walks, beaches!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Agjb 5 reviews from this member

Positives: Exceptionally beautiful surroundings & views, very easy-going, good water/waste/chemical disposal points

Negatives: Windy to point of damaging our awning, unbelievably narrow access from St David's with mad speeding locals- beware, as no-one warned us and they knew we had a 29' van which is 8'wide, appalling toilets and shower blocks (half toilets without paper, one week no hand soap, apparently cleaned by hosing everything leaving even toilets looking like its rained indoors), near zero for sale in small shop (not even milk or bread on our arrival) and zero info on local attractions, tourers mixed with tents which sometimes caused our toddler not to be able to sleep, outrageously expensive for what you get apart from views and finally- esp given what we paid- could not believe a marathon event was held with around 50 cars parked hemming us in- and not a word was said to forewarn us. Wouldn't have minded but all the frantic grass-cutting and pothole-filling the previous day wasn't for our benefit at all! Wouldn't have hurt for someone to let us know, so left a bad taste I'm afraid. Finally, we endured a week of apparently refurbishing a fast-food 'van in our field, with what looked like two dumped fridges left once it was done (still there). Not on for what we paid, I'm afraid.

We won't be returning, but can see why it appeals to some. Just don't expect much for your money beyond the views.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RobLucking 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights in the May half term week as part of a short stay in Wales. We'd booked in advance and turned up expecting to find the site busy but to our surprise it was relatively quiet. The camping field closest to the beach was pretty full but the field itself was on quite a slope so we elected to pitch in the inland field which was level, more sheltered and virtually empty.

The facilities were pretty much immaculate. Both male and female toilet/shower blocks were very clean. The shower cubicles were spacious and there was free hot water throughout. Given the price (see below) you wouldn't expect anything less!

The site is located above Porthsele Beach with easy access to the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. St Davids is only a couple of miles away and easily walkable / cycleable / driveable for supplies etc. The campsite itself has no cafe although it does sell basics - milk etc.

One thing to note is that this isn't a cheap campsite. For our family of four we paid over 80 for two nights - a Premier Inn would be cheaper! The site also appeared to have quite a loyal following from the 'glamping set'. Expect to see wigwams and yurts, yummy mummys wearing South American ponchos purchased from the ethnic shops in Primrose Hill whilst their other halves desperately try to remember the fire lighting skills they learned on their Ray Mears survival weekend when trying to get a camp fire going on the beach.

Although we enjoyed our stay, I did resent the price. Camping is supposed to be an affordable pastime but at this site, the prices are approaching those of budget hotels. For a more affordable, basic campsite in the same area try Rhosson Ganol just down the road. In retrospect I wished we'd have stayed there.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sher Dyfed 1 review from this member

Great location. Beautiful coastal views with close proximity to St. Davids, Pembrokeshire coast and beaches.

The site is well laid out and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Numbers in my party changed over our four night stay and they managed to wiggle there bookings around so I could stay on EHU when I asked for an additional nights stay. Nothing is a problem for the staff.

They brought me up some concrete slabs so I could use my 'fire pit' type barbecue. The grass was very dry and we didn't want a fire.

My pitch was huge. 5 meter bell tent, 9x9 feet Malu shelter (or Gazebo type), toilet tent, barbecue, huge trailer and three cars.

Shop is well stocked with free to use ice packs.

The wash up area is now covered and even has some nesting House Martins in the rafters.

Yes the toilet block may not be up to some standards but we found it ok.

There maybe a play ground I don't know as I didn't see all the site but the nearby beach and sea is all the playground you need. Plenty of open space for ball games and playing.

The site was nice and quite and with the lovely weather we had a great time.

Bearing in mind all the kit and size or my pitch I found the price to be reasonable.

I would recommend this site and will return this September.

This is my first review.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Noimad 4 reviews from this member

Positives: This is a beautiful campsite above a glorious beach. Spacious pitches, lots of room for children to play. Lovely women's loo and shower block. Excellent walks and local area.

Negatives: Very very expensive in high season. Can be very windy at times - our friends' gazebo was destroyed! There are only two men's shower trays in a strange communal changing area. The men's loos and showers are tired looking. No fires allowed which meant the windy evenings sitting outside while our children were asleep in the tent were particularly cold. Very few flat pitches in the lower two fields.

However the fires and early evening barbecues on the beach below the campsite were a magical part of our holiday. We were very lucky with the weather and the tides.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ClifdenCampers 1 review from this member

Update on facilities. There are now 4 spacious private showers on the women's side, and there is still the family/disabled shower room. Another improvement this year, as far as we are concerned, is the wireless, which now reaches to the bottom field (I am writing this/listening to my radio on my iPad in my tent. ) It costs 10 for more or less unlimited use.

Other reviewers have complained about value for money. As we don't go anywhere else I have nothing to compare Pencarnan to, but you would be paying at least 4 times as much for a decent cottage in Pembrokeshire in August.

As far as we are concerned you are paying for very low density of tents, incredible views, a lovely beach that is effectively private, and a great location - and being with other people who feel the same way who come back year after year.

My only warning would be to bring a robust tent, spare poles and/ or an emergency tent, as strong winds are a regular feature of this headland.

Last week even the top field got caught, with five tents damaged. I find having more than one door to my tent also helps to deal with the changing wind direction.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pault61 1 review from this member

Great location but a bit exposed for tents if the weather is bad. A few tents collapsed this weekend - with a moderate wind hitting the lower camping field.

There is a great cove just below the campsite and Whitesands beach not far away.

Very expensive and, for the money, poor facilities - for example toilets dirty with no paper in some cubicles, only two male showers and these were communal - who does communal showers in this day and age!

There are plenty of other campsites to choose from locally so my advice would be to pick and choose - although you wont get a better view than you get here.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3237 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019