Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - La Garangeoire

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saint Julien Des Landes > La Garangeoire Reviews

La Garangeoire
Route De La Chapelle Hermier
Saint Julien Des Landes
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85150
Tel: 0033 02 51 46 65 39
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 356
Open: May 3 To September 21

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 48 reviews from this member

I have reviewed this site before and nothing about the site itself has changed since then. There are still enormous pitches, the pool area is still good, the services and facilities are all great but one thing has changed dramatically since our last visit in 2006 and that is the mix of people staying on the site.

We like camping in France due to the cosmopolitan nature of the sites. A nice mix of French, Dutch, Brits, Irish, Germans etc makes for a really interesting holiday experience. However, during our two week stay at La Garangeoire at the end of June 2018 there was definitely no cosmopolitan feel to the campsite. As a rough estimate, 90% of those on site were Irish, 8% were British and 2% were from other nationalities. Don't get me wrong, I have nothing against the Irish, in fact I was born and brought up in Ireland although I have lived in England for a number of years now since marrying an Englishman, however, this campsite might as well have been in the middle of Ireland (apart from the weather) and had no cosmopolitan feel at all.

We will definitely not be returning here again, not because there is anything wrong with the site, it is very nice, but because it does not give a true French camping experience.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sharpe417 3 reviews from this member

What can I say that hasn't been said before, everything was excellent. The owners the staff the facilities and the really large pitches. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you have a super holiday. One you won't forget

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Declang 5 reviews from this member

In June 2017 we stayed here for a week. We hadn't booked and as it turned out there was penty of space available. The welcome was very nice and an English guy showed us around the pitches available on a a golf buggy, which I thought was a nice touch.

We chose our pitch and he brought us back to reception where his colleague got us checked in. They still had our details on file from a previous visit, 9 years ago !

The pitch was nice, big, and grassy with minimum levelling needed, and some nice shade from the mature trees at the back. We had a pitch with a tap and a waste drain, although there was also a decent motorhome service point near the central shower block.

The pool is nice and although busy there were plenty of loungers available. The pool slides were good fun.

The small bar area was nice with nice friendly staff, with a small TV room off one end which showed the Formula 1 live, even though only 4 or 5 of us went to watch it ! There were only a few small tables outside the bar, so it wasn't easy to get to sit outside, with people sitting at the tables just to use the free wifi.

Shop was good and well stocked, with nice friendly staff

Take-Away was good, with very good chips and Pizza. We even got chips to go with our own BBQ some evenings.

We didn't use the restaurant, although it seemed to be popular.

A nice 'eco' initiative was the water system. For a deposit of €20 (or was it €10 ?) you get two 1L plastic bottles and a card liek a credit card size. Then you buy credit to put on the card. In a few places around teh site are the water 'machines' where you can fill your water bottles using your card. The water is micro-filtered and chilled. You have a choice of still or sparkling. It costs €0. 15 per litre. We used this system and we liked the water. We havent seen this idea anywhere else, but we all thought it was very clever.

There are both pedal boats and canoes availabel to use on the small lake and the first hour is free. You leave a deposit for the key to unlock your boat from the jetty. We were about 10 minutes over teh hour but were not charged the extra 5 Euro it should be.

Also on-site there is a 'lagoon' which is a small man-made beach where sand surrounds a very small 'lake'. The water is less than waist-deep. This was nice and not very busy when we went there a couple of times.

Location is a little inland from the coast, but it was only about 30 minutes drive to Les Sables D'Olonne and about the same to Saint Jean de Monts.

There is a signpost with the rule about no cycling after dusk, but people seem to ingore it and we saw quite a few kids cycling around in the dark, mostly without lights, and it was a bit dangerous.

Seems to be a popular place with English and Irish people as the majority of cars & campervans were UK or IRL plates.

All in all the site was very nice and we would go back in a flash.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyorp 6 reviews from this member

This really is an excellent site. We stayed here for seven nights in early May. It was the first week of opening. First off, the welcome was excellent. The young lady who booked us in spoke very good english. She gave us a tour of the site in a golf buggy and told us to pick a pitch. The pitch itself was enormous. The largest we have ever stay on. The pitches were separated by large hedges. All the facilities were spotless. As it was out of season, use of pedal boats and tennis courts was free of charge. We ordered baguettes from the shop each morning. All the staff we encountered were very friendly. Despite it being early in the season all the facities were open. It had a restaurant on site although we never got around to using it. We had a very enjoyable tour of the estate by the owner. This lasted a couple of hours.

We quite liked the surrounding area. It was very neat and clean. There were a few shops in the local village with larger supermarkets 15 mins drive away.

Overall this really was a superb site. Probably the best we have stayed on in all our years of caravanning. And all for 18 euros a night (which included 16 amp hook up). This was tbe ACSI rate. Loved how you just pay for one night in advance and then pay the balance when you depart.

We would love to return to this site at some stage in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Newodyssee 6 reviews from this member

This really is a superb site, and I cannot find fault with it. Firstly, from the moment you arrive you feel welcome and are offered a seat while you check in- having arrived at many sites tired after a long journey and stood in a queue this is much appreciated and highlights the emphasis on customer service. Staff are obviously treated well and enjoy their jobs- they always look happy and will go out of their way to ensure you are enjoying your stay and are happy with your pitch. The pitches are the largest we have stayed on, and each pitch is surrounded by hedges giving you privacy. The football training sessions every morning are a hit with my sons. Also, the free entertainment is superb in the evening, as are the daytime tournaments. Another highlight for us is the clearly marked running routes, colour coded according to distance. The running club is also fun. The new lagoon was great for the kids with inflatables. Superb holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: ShortHamstrings 3 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, we stayed in a mobile home but had a good look round and there are good sized pitches, most with decent privacy. Toilet blocks are clean and well kept. There is plenty for kids to do: a playground, lake with pedelos (free), horse riding, go karting, a decent pool complex with slides and also a man-made lagoon where little ones can splash around and build sand castles. We have given the location an 8 because off site there isn't much without having to drive but there are decent beaches about a 15 minute drive away and a huge Super you around 15 mins away by car. The on site restaurant is ok, a bit expensive for the quality we felt, bar meals are better value for money but you can't get these in the evening. There are a few nice walks directly from the campsite, our kids weren't interested but we did them while the kids were in the kids club! We are going back this year, loved the site, plenty to do but with the bonus of no noisy discos going on till all hours. Perfect!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

Stayed for 7 nights in July 2015 with partner and daughter.

What a fantastic site, cannot recommend it enough. We will be going back.

Welcome was excellent and the receptionist was friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English.

Site is well laid out with pitches away from the main activities but still well serviced. Pitch was a decent size and we were able to get the RV in 'length ways, thus freeing up the front of the pitch totally and creating a more open feel. That said the pitch was such a size this wouldn't have mattered if we couldn't.

Facilities were very good; modern block with laundry, washing up and ladies and gents showers/toilets with plenty of facilities to choose from. The site pool and bar area were excellent. The activities were beyond expectation and kept my 10 year old constantly occupied. There is a shop on site and this is very well stocked. The restaurant was always busy so didn't get the opportunity to use it, the take away was ok.

We hired a car whilst here and spent the afternoon on the Velorail - worth it for the novelty and exercise! Also visited Puy du Fou - absolutely amazing and well worth the visit. At 30 euros it is incredible value as well.

Will undoubtedly return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahlr 10 reviews from this member

We spent a lovely fortnight at La Garangeoire in August. The weather was mostly warm and sunny, but we did also have a few rainy days and very cool nights (more on that later). Our pitch was grassy and fairly flat, in one of the terraced areas to the north of the main toilet block. Our pitch was long and narrow though, which meant it was a bit of a squeeze to get our day room tent (kitchen) up in the place we wanted, but it worked out ok in the end. Some pitches have much more shade than others, so it's worthwhile asking when you book. The site is very quiet at night, which was perfect for us.

The facilities on site are superb. All were clean and well maintained. The kids loved the pool and slides, play park, table tennis, go karts, pedalos//canoes etc. It is a bit of hassle to get a sunbed at the pool sometimes, but we found that if you just hung around for a few minutes or timed your arrival just right (eg just before lunch) then it was easier. The on site restaurant was excellent, a much higher standard of food than most uk high street establishments! The café gourmand is something not to be missed. We also found the pizzas from the takeaway to be very nice. The mini market is basic but has most of the emergency supplies you'll need - including a small 'English' section and a large wine section!

Throughout the site the staff are very helpful and polite. The reception staff are there as a fountain of all knowledge. I saw one of the team outside helping a uk car owner get his car towed to the garage for repairs. We saw the owners out doing jobs, Anne helping out at reception, Eric cutting hedges. Their pride in the site is there for all to see.

There is a good selection of beaches nearby depending on whether you want calm waves/big surf/rock pools. Most have beach cafés and toilets. St Gilles and Les Sables d'Olonne offer a big seaside town atmosphere, both with large marinas, little shops and the usual ice cream and waffle sellers! These towns make good places for an evening out too.

In all, we had a great time, but were a little disappointed with the cold nights (10 degrees) which meant it was too cold to sit outside the tent at night, once the kids had gone to bed, with a quiet drink. This is usually our favourite part of camping, so I feel I have missed out! The cold evenings also meant that the garden behind the site bar was completely empty every night and everyone was crammed onto the inside space. Each night we gave up trying to get a table. People came at 6:30and didn't leave until 11. 00. The staff said that this was the worst August they had had for several years, and as we have camped in the area before we had to agree. We are hoping to go back next year, so fingers crossed for warm evenings.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 33 reviews from this member

Just left after 8nights on premium tent pitch-sites is very good and has bar/restaurant/shop/pool as you would expect for 5 star site. However would not pay extra for premium pitch again-there were much bigger pitches on site and fridge hire is available.

Also had to pay 60 euro deposit which we could not see mentioned in the paperwork anywhere.

The atmosphere of the site changed dramatically with the arrival of the retires and their caravans / motorhomes - most seemed to be return visitors - all very friendly and informative. Puy du fou cinescenie spectacular and worth the hours journey back at 1am!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ponciauman 11 reviews from this member

Stayed at La Garangeoir for two weeks in July with my wife and three of our children aged 17, 16 & 14.

The site is kept immaculately clean and boasts a large range of activities for the younger age group, 5-12. That said, my children love this site and this was our third stay in as many years. The restaurant has a limited menu, however, they have introduced a specials board which does vary the menu. It is nice to book an outside table for one night whilst you are there and enjoy the atmosphere.

The staff are all very friendly and generally all speak English. The toilet/shower blocks are very clean with plenty of hot water.

The site does get very busy in July/August as it is very popular, however, it does cope well.

It is approximately 5km from a beach and 5km from a supermarket.

They do arrange entertainment at night and you can sit in the garden behind the bar in the sunshine to watch.

I would definitely recommend this site to anyone, however, if you want a beach holiday then you would have to travel every day.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Saint Julien Des Landes      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6915 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019