Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of La Garangeoire

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Saint Julien Des Landes > La Garangeoire Reviews

La Garangeoire
Route De La Chapelle Hermier
Saint Julien Des Landes
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85150
Tel: 0033 02 51 46 65 39
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 356
Open: May 7 To September 20

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 19 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Green wellies 5 reviews from this member

 We absolutely love this site! We have been for six years running now and have become addicted - itís like coming home each year.

It is a bit of a distance from towns and beaches, you really need a car.

The facilities are wonderful, great restaurant and bar, the swimming pool area is always spotless and well cared for and there is a gorgeous spa.

There is a large lake for fishing and boating and a lagoon with a man made beach for small children. The washrooms are always clean and there is a well stocked shop plus a great take away.

Numerous activities on offer - walks, boules, riding (on site!) occasional coach trips, yoga, bike rides, French conversation, quiz evenings and lots more.

In the high season there are countless activities for families.

The very best thing about La Garangeoire are the owners and their wonderful staff team, so friendly, so welcoming, so helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cateletho 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at La Garangeoire 5 times now, and will be returning next year. It is a fabulous site- extremely well kept, wash blocks are spotless and cleaned regularly. The owners are hands on and do everything they can to ensure you have a great holiday. We have stayed at many sites in France and this one is by far our favourite and the one our children constantly request to return to.

The location is very rural, so you will need to drive if leaving site, but there is lots to do in the area. We go to the beach, visit town markets, cycle around a nearby lake, vist the castle at Apremont, spend at day at La Rochelle and a bit further a field Puy du Fou historical theme park is well worth a day trip.

Evening Entertainment is good, and focussed around the bar and garden area, which is away from where caravans and tents are located, so it isnít Ďin your faceí if you prefer not to be involved. You can hear bands and music some nights though from the camping areas, but these are normally finished by 11pm ish, so not a big problem.

Our children love the pools, the riding centre, and activities such as scuba diving and archery that are provided on site. We love that we feel confident enough to give them the freedom to go off on their bikes around the site without us.

We still have things we want to do on our sixth visit next year that we havenít done before - both on-site and off-site, and that speaks volumes about the place. Lots to do if you want to, but a chilled and relaxed place if you donít. I highly recommend a stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cazdavies 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say, this campsite is fantastic. This was our third year in a row of staying and we are booked again for next year.

The pool, lagoon, lake are all great with plenty of activities going on. Our children are 10 and 12 and are so excited knowing we are going back.

There's loads of choice in sports activities, great evening entertainment and two different bar areas to choose from. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 66 reviews from this member

 I have reviewed this site before and nothing about the site itself has changed since then. There are still enormous pitches, the pool area is still good, the services and facilities are all great but one thing has changed dramatically since our last visit in 2006 and that is the mix of people staying on the site.

We like camping in France due to the cosmopolitan nature of the sites. A nice mix of French, Dutch, Brits, Irish, Germans etc makes for a really interesting holiday experience. However, during our two week stay at La Garangeoire at the end of June 2018 there was definitely no cosmopolitan feel to the campsite.

As a rough estimate, 90% of those on site were Irish, 8% were British and 2% were from other nationalities. Don't get me wrong, I have nothing against the Irish, in fact I was born and brought up in Ireland although I have lived in England for a number of years now since marrying an Englishman, however, this campsite might as well have been in the middle of Ireland (apart from the weather) and had no cosmopolitan feel at all.

We will definitely not be returning here again, not because there is anything wrong with the site, it is very nice, but because it does not give a true French camping experience. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharpe417 3 reviews from this member

 What can I say that hasn't been said before, everything was excellent.

The owners the staff the facilities and the really large pitches.

Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you have a super holiday. One you won't forget 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Declang 5 reviews from this member

 In June 2017 we stayed here for a week. We hadn't booked and as it turned out there was penty of space available. The welcome was very nice and an English guy showed us around the pitches available on a a golf buggy, which I thought was a nice touch.

We chose our pitch and he brought us back to reception where his colleague got us checked in. They still had our details on file from a previous visit, 9 years ago !

The pitch was nice, big, and grassy with minimum levelling needed, and some nice shade from the mature trees at the back. We had a pitch with a tap and a waste drain, although there was also a decent motorhome service point near the central shower block.

The pool is nice and although busy there were plenty of loungers available. The pool slides were good fun.

The small bar area was nice with nice friendly staff, with a small TV room off one end which showed the Formula 1 live, even though only 4 or 5 of us went to watch it ! There were only a few small tables outside the bar, so it wasn't easy to get to sit outside, with people sitting at the tables just to use the free wifi.

Shop was good and well stocked, with nice friendly staff

Take-Away was good, with very good chips and Pizza. We even got chips to go with our own BBQ some evenings.

We didn't use the restaurant, although it seemed to be popular.

A nice 'eco' initiative was the water system. For a deposit of Ä20 (or was it Ä10 ?) you get two 1L plastic bottles and a card liek a credit card size. Then you buy credit to put on the card. In a few places around teh site are the water 'machines' where you can fill your water bottles using your card. The water is micro-filtered and chilled. You have a choice of still or sparkling. It costs Ä0. 15 per litre. We used this system and we liked the water. We havent seen this idea anywhere else, but we all thought it was very clever.

There are both pedal boats and canoes availabel to use on the small lake and the first hour is free. You leave a deposit for the key to unlock your boat from the jetty. We were about 10 minutes over teh hour but were not charged the extra 5 Euro it should be.

Also on-site there is a 'lagoon' which is a small man-made beach where sand surrounds a very small 'lake'. The water is less than waist-deep. This was nice and not very busy when we went there a couple of times.

Location is a little inland from the coast, but it was only about 30 minutes drive to Les Sables D'Olonne and about the same to Saint Jean de Monts.

There is a signpost with the rule about no cycling after dusk, but people seem to ingore it and we saw quite a few kids cycling around in the dark, mostly without lights, and it was a bit dangerous.

Seems to be a popular place with English and Irish people as the majority of cars & campervans were UK or IRL plates.

All in all the site was very nice and we would go back in a flash. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyorp 6 reviews from this member

 This really is an excellent site. We stayed here for seven nights in early May. It was the first week of opening. First off, the welcome was excellent. The young lady who booked us in spoke very good english. She gave us a tour of the site in a golf buggy and told us to pick a pitch.

The pitch itself was enormous. The largest we have ever stay on. The pitches were separated by large hedges. All the facilities were spotless. As it was out of season, use of pedal boats and tennis courts was free of charge. We ordered baguettes from the shop each morning.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly. Despite it being early in the season all the facities were open. It had a restaurant on site although we never got around to using it. We had a very enjoyable tour of the estate by the owner. This lasted a couple of hours.

We quite liked the surrounding area. It was very neat and clean. There were a few shops in the local village with larger supermarkets 15 mins drive away.

Overall this really was a superb site. Probably the best we have stayed on in all our years of caravanning. And all for 18 euros a night (which included 16 amp hook up). This was tbe ACSI rate. Loved how you just pay for one night in advance and then pay the balance when you depart.

We would love to return to this site at some stage in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Newodyssee 6 reviews from this member

 This really is a superb site, and I cannot find fault with it. Firstly, from the moment you arrive you feel welcome and are offered a seat while you check in- having arrived at many sites tired after a long journey and stood in a queue this is much appreciated and highlights the emphasis on customer service.

Staff are obviously treated well and enjoy their jobs- they always look happy and will go out of their way to ensure you are enjoying your stay and are happy with your pitch.

The pitches are the largest we have stayed on, and each pitch is surrounded by hedges giving you privacy. The football training sessions every morning are a hit with my sons.

Also, the free entertainment is superb in the evening, as are the daytime tournaments. Another highlight for us is the clearly marked running routes, colour coded according to distance.

The running club is also fun. The new lagoon was great for the kids with inflatables. Superb holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: ShortHamstrings 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, we stayed in a mobile home but had a good look round and there are good sized pitches, most with decent privacy. Toilet blocks are clean and well kept.

There is plenty for kids to do: a playground, lake with pedelos (free), horse riding, go karting, a decent pool complex with slides and also a man-made lagoon where little ones can splash around and build sand castles.

We have given the location an 8 because off site there isn't much without having to drive but there are decent beaches about a 15 minute drive away and a huge Super you around 15 mins away by car.

The on site restaurant is ok, a bit expensive for the quality we felt, bar meals are better value for money but you can't get these in the evening.

There are a few nice walks directly from the campsite, our kids weren't interested but we did them while the kids were in the kids club!

We are going back this year, loved the site, plenty to do but with the bonus of no noisy discos going on till all hours. Perfect! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 7 nights in July 2015 with partner and daughter.

What a fantastic site, cannot recommend it enough. We will be going back.

Welcome was excellent and the receptionist was friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English.

Site is well laid out with pitches away from the main activities but still well serviced. Pitch was a decent size and we were able to get the RV in 'length ways, thus freeing up the front of the pitch totally and creating a more open feel. That said the pitch was such a size this wouldn't have mattered if we couldn't.

Facilities were very good; modern block with laundry, washing up and ladies and gents showers/toilets with plenty of facilities to choose from. The site pool and bar area were excellent. The activities were beyond expectation and kept my 10 year old constantly occupied. There is a shop on site and this is very well stocked. The restaurant was always busy so didn't get the opportunity to use it, the take away was ok.

We hired a car whilst here and spent the afternoon on the Velorail - worth it for the novelty and exercise! Also visited Puy du Fou - absolutely amazing and well worth the visit. At 30 euros it is incredible value as well.

Will undoubtedly return. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is La Garangeoire child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does La Garangeoire have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to La Garangeoire?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is La Garangeoire dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Julien Des Landes      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1799 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement