Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Brixham > Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hillhead
Brixham
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ5 0HH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 256
Open: 16/03/2021 to 03/01/2022
           16/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 22 reviews from this member

 Nearly cancelled after reading some of the previous reviews so was pleasantly surprised how good the site was. Although we were lucky to be on a service pitch on the top half of the site, with a lovely sea view.

Not sure I would like some of the pitches at the bottom of the site as very enclosed with no views. Some of the pitches were also rather cramped, only room for the caravan and awning and had to park the car across the front.

Wifi hit and miss, no idea how it has a silver rating. We had glorious sunshine so disappointed that the pool was closed along with the restaurant on two of the nights of our four night stay.

Plenty to do in the surrounding area and Burgh Island, Bigbury on sea not to be missed.

One downside, on checking in my wife had been overcharged, I did get a refund. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 43 reviews from this member

 We were unsure about this site, given its size, but found ourselves pleasantly surprised. Although large, pitches are generally in small areas, surrounded by hedges.

There was almost a continental feel about this layout. The views were superb from much of the site (although I think the hedges may have blocked this from many of the pitches).

Large dog walk, with plenty of room to let dogs run off lead and an adjacent field for ball games and general exercise. Both overlooked the bay.

There is also a very adventurous looking playground, but we didn't use that, lol! neither did we use the pool, but it looked lovely.

The shop had basic stocks - bread, camping stuff, some chilled items, newspapers etc.

The site was very busy, especially with motorhomers, who used the buses which stopped outside. One bus goes down to Kingswear for the ferry to Dartmouth and the other way is Brixham.

Lovely friendly wardens, although we had little interaction with them. Usual CAMC quality as regards cleanliness etc.

We would go again (and that surprises us too!). 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 26 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Spotlessly clean.

2 miles from Brixham and Dartmouth (via ferry) Lovely sea views from many pitches.

We walked to both Brixham and Dartmouth, the walk to Dartmouth is lovely, take the lanes & enjoy the scenery. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Whatamess 33 reviews from this member

 We booked here for three nights. It is hard to find a reasonable pitch in the middle of the site, where there were sea views, as the roads are cul de sacs, mostly going in the wrong direction and it wasn't easy to find the way in.

We eventually found a suitable pitch but the pitches in general are quite short.

We had a dispute over the carvery with the restaurant manager who was quite aggressive.

We will not stay here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marham2 8 reviews from this member

 Although this site is a Caravan and Motorhome site it is not the least typical. It is very big and is more like a "holiday camp" with swimming pool, shop, bar and restaurant.

If that is what you want this site will be good, however if you want peace and quiet don't go here! Apart from these criticisms the facilities and reception are as good as usual.

Some pitches are sloping with blocks very necessary. Not for everyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jadsett 50 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 5 nights. We received a warm welcome and had no difficulty in finding a suitable pitch. I don't understand some of the comments regarding the hedging between pitches as this clearly gives some weather protection when south-westerlies are blowing.

The site facilities are first class and are maintained at the high standards we have come to expect from C&MC. There is an outdoor pool which was quite popular. The bar/restaurant was on low season hours and offered a restricted menu. We ate there once and found the food adequate and reasonable value.

There is a bus stop at the site entrance and days out included Totnes, Teignmouth, Brixham and Torquay. Most of these require a change at Paignton, which continues to be a huge disappointment

We will certainly be going back to Hillhead 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site that we have stayed on many times in the past.

Arrived after 12 noon (but have now been told by the wardens they accept arrivals from 9am!) to a lovely welcome. We knew roughly where we wanted to be so drove round and found a lovely large hardstanding pitch that 2 of the wardens were working on (hedge cutting). We asked if the pitch was free and if so how long they would be. They allowed us to put our 'in use by motorhome' sign on the pitch and told us to wait on a grass pitch while they finished. Thank you Fred! We had distant views of the sea from our pitch and it was very private being hedged either side.

Facilities on site are excellent and could not be faulted. Never had to queue whatever time we frequented them.

Great bar/restaurant on site (that we showing the world cup football when it was on!). We ate in there twice as the food was so good and not overpriced. Good choice of cider and real ale although they sold out of Doom Bar the day before the England game! Good little shop too, expensive but convenient.

Excellent bus service from right outside the site. Expensive for single fares to encourage you to buy a day rider which is actually very good value at 5 pp per day. It allows you to travel on any bus in the whole Torbay area. We used to it go to Brixham then caught the ferry to Torquay (only 2 each single), then back on the bus from Torquay to Paignton then back to the site from there later! We also used the bus the next day to go to Kingswear where we caught another ferry across to Dartmouth (1. 50 pp single).

Another great stay at this fantastic site. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Opal0313 28 reviews from this member

 Arrived just after the said arrival time of 12pm. Lovely helpful staff. We were with friends and they told us where they thought there where 2 available pitches adjacent. We went to the two pitches which were small only enough space for caravan and awning then you were scratching your head as to where to put the tow car safely without it getting knocked. We had a quick look round for 2 more pitches but as with all CMC sites everyone is driving around looking for a pitch themselves as they do not reserve pitches. In the end we stayed put. There are bigger pitches but it makes it difficult if you want 2 together. Swimming pool is lovely bar not so good. We went in on our first night to be told only a third of the menu was available. 9 for ham egg and chips, a little pricey so did not visit again. Shop was not well stocked went twice and came away empty handed. The area is beautiful plenty of places to visit. Several supermarkets within around 15 mins drive. Bus stop outside site. The high hedges does give you privacy but can also be very claustrophobic too. We were in a cul-de-sac and felt the other caravans were a little too close so it was good we got on with our neighbours. While we were there the site was very busy and we noticed the 12pm arrival rule went out the window, someone near out pitch came on at 9. 30am. Two large toilet blocks which were lovely and always clean. We did enjoy our 9 night stay and would visit again and hopefully get larger pitches. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fonsi 3 reviews from this member

 This site is perfectly placed for walks along the coastal path, just turn left out of the entrance along the grass bank for 100 yards and you're on the footpath down to the coastal path, so I don't understand the previous comment! It took us about 1. 5 hours to walk into Brixham and a similar time to Dartmouth in the opposite direction. This is a fairly typical CMC site, it has a lovely bar and restaurant, plus a great children's play area, and unusually a large dog walking field. We liked the high hedges, giving a good deal of privacy. Some with great sea views. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jk1947 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Hillhead last year, the site itself is well laid out with a blend of hard and grass pitches, each area has it's one small toilet block with single cubicles separated for gender, out side of which is a fresh water tap and dustbins, then there is the two main toilet/shower blocks which are kept in immaculate order, these also include washing up, laundry and Elson emptying points.
The site also has designated areas for tents which are sheltered by hedges for privacy.
The site has a nice bar/ restaurant with occasional entertainment and there is also a small shop for essentials and their is also an ATM by the reception area.
There is chargeable Wifi on site and most of the hook up points also offer a direct TV aerial plug in connection.
Overall impression is that Hillhead is a superior club site and we will be revisiting this lovely well maintained site this summer as a base for exploring the South West. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brixham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2877 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement