Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Brixham > Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hillhead
Brixham
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ5 0HH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 256
Open: 16/03/2024 to 03/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 121 Reviews
                8/10 from 121 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracy+Charlie 26 reviews from this member

 What a little gem! Unfortunately we arrived on the last day the pool was open, but as it was lovely and sunny hubby enjoyed a quick swim.

We could pick our own pitch, and the wardens were so helpful and cheerful. The site is very hilly ( as the name suggests) so maybe not so suitable for the les able.

Toilet and shower facilities immaculate.

There is a bar which serves food and has entertainment - fairly basic bar meals, but handy for a night without cooking. Entertainment typical campsite singers!

Bus stops outside for various destinations.

Definitely will be going again 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 199 reviews from this member

 Back at Hillhead for the first time in 5 years and we still love it.

Friendly, quick check in and love to be able to choose our own pitch.

Managed to get a large hardstanding pitch with stunning sea view for 4 nights.

Brilliant facilities and always clean and warm.

Lots of water points, bins (including recycling) etc. , around the site.

Well stocked shop on site (even out of the main season).

Bar and restaurant on site - for us the only negative during out stay! Called in for a drink first night, no real ale (had apparently sold out that day. Really?). We were told it would be on the next night so we planned to have our evening meal there. Arrived to find it was still off - settling apparently - and wouldn't be on until the next day! Their loss, no money spent there again. Didn't bother to go back during our next 2 nights. Entertainment on 3 out of our 4 nights.

Good walks from the site into Kingswear and Brixham, although the Brixham directions are VERY confusing (even our neighbour couldn't work it out and opted for the bus!).

Excellent bus service in the Torbay area, right from outside the site entrance. £2 per person per trip or £6. 50 per person for the Torbay Day Rider. Well worth the money as we went from the site to Paignton, Babbacombe, Torquay, Paignton, Brixham and back to the site all in one day.

It would've been 10/10 for us but dropped a point for the disappointing bar facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: The cat 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent 10 days here.

Great location, toilet blocks always clean.

Pitches OK but varied in size.

Didn't use the pool but looked great for the kids.

Nice bar, was able to find seats every night,

Good reasonably priced food & drink and good entertainment every night 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jonesy103 7 reviews from this member

 Our first time visit to Hillhead was as part of a Dorset/Devon/Somerset ten day road trip.

The site is big and has a mixture of grass and hardstanding pitches all in nicely landscaped avenues and cul-de-sacs and given the bad weather while we were in this area, at least one of the grass pitches we tried proved impossible to get onto and to get level so we gave up and moved onto another pitch. The site appeared to be fully booked during the time we were there.

The grounds are well cared for, and the facilities across the site are excellent.

Iím not sure how many wardens and staff worked at Hillhead, but there were quite a few if you include the bar staff and kitchen team in the restaurant. All the staff we came across were effective and efficient.

We did have two nice meals in the bar, and on both nights there was entertainment too. The swimming pool was open, and it looked a fair size but we didnít use it.

There is a bus Stop at the gate for buses into Kingswear (for Dartmouth), Brixham and Paignton help keep the site connected just check the timings.

Loved Dartmouth and would certainly go back, not so much Brixham and definitely not Paignton - but each to his own, I can see the benefit for families. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 76 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to Hillhead with friends, initially planned to go to the Dartmouth Music festival which had unfortunately changed dates due to the Kings Coronation, which we only became aware 3 weeks prior.

The site is big and has a mixture of grass and hardstanding pitches all in nicely landscaped avenues and cul-de-sacs. There are also tent pitches.

The grounds looked well cared for, and the facilities were good too and clean.

Not sure how many wardens and staff worked at Hillhead, but there were quite a few if you include the bar staff and kitchen team. All the staff we came across were helpful and cheery, and put on a really good get together in the the on site club and bar which included a glass of bubbly and a tasty free BBQ, whilst we watched the Coronation on the big screen in the club.

The site was quite quiet for a bank holiday, probably put off by the awful weather (rain and hill mist every day except one during our stay) and staying at home for the Kings Coronation.

We did have a nice meal in the bar on our last night, and on many nights there was entertainment too. Not sure if the swimming pool was open, but it looked a fair size.

We would come back again, like this time out of season, as I can imagine how busy this site must be like with 250+ pitches full.

Bus Stop at gates for buses into Kingswear, Brixham and Paignton help keep the site connected and a great National Trust house and garden at Coleton Fishacre is a great place to visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sueve6 1 review from this member

 Clean and tidy as you expect from a caravan motorhome site.

Breathtaking panoramic views, beautiful places to visit for days out.

Excellent facilities, reasonable size pitch, welcoming staff.

Only downside was the cost for this at this time of year, at £52 a night we thought this expensive! Especially as the pool was dirty and grubby which is in included in the charge.

We didn't use the bar or shop on this stay so unfair to comment. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Harrietliberty 5 reviews from this member

 A fairly large site with 243 pitches and lovely views over Torbay.

There is a large enclosed dog field and the site has a bar and restaurant, playground and shop. We visited first in November 2020 when the site was quiet and the restaurant, shop and bar were closed.

Our second visit was in August 2021 when the site was fully booked and all the facilities open.

Even full, the site wasnít noisy and the site has some nice little sections shielded by hedges which makes it feel more intimate despite it being a large site.

Our third visit was in March 2022 and the bar and restaurant was open from Wednesdays onwards. We had dinner in the conservatory which is dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Npkent 58 reviews from this member

 Nearly cancelled after reading some of the previous reviews so was pleasantly surprised how good the site was. Although we were lucky to be on a service pitch on the top half of the site, with a lovely sea view.

Not sure I would like some of the pitches at the bottom of the site as very enclosed with no views. Some of the pitches were also rather cramped, only room for the caravan and awning and had to park the car across the front.

Wifi hit and miss, no idea how it has a silver rating. We had glorious sunshine so disappointed that the pool was closed along with the restaurant on two of the nights of our four night stay.

Plenty to do in the surrounding area and Burgh Island, Bigbury on sea not to be missed.

One downside, on checking in my wife had been overcharged, I did get a refund. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 51 reviews from this member

 We were unsure about this site, given its size, but found ourselves pleasantly surprised. Although large, pitches are generally in small areas, surrounded by hedges.

There was almost a continental feel about this layout. The views were superb from much of the site (although I think the hedges may have blocked this from many of the pitches).

Large dog walk, with plenty of room to let dogs run off lead and an adjacent field for ball games and general exercise. Both overlooked the bay.

There is also a very adventurous looking playground, but we didn't use that, lol! neither did we use the pool, but it looked lovely.

The shop had basic stocks - bread, camping stuff, some chilled items, newspapers etc.

The site was very busy, especially with motorhomers, who used the buses which stopped outside. One bus goes down to Kingswear for the ferry to Dartmouth and the other way is Brixham.

Lovely friendly wardens, although we had little interaction with them. Usual CAMC quality as regards cleanliness etc.

We would go again (and that surprises us too!). 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Doulajulie 56 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Spotlessly clean.

2 miles from Brixham and Dartmouth (via ferry) Lovely sea views from many pitches.

We walked to both Brixham and Dartmouth, the walk to Dartmouth is lovely, take the lanes & enjoy the scenery. 
via mobile


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Brixham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59373 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement