Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Hillhead Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hillhead
Brixham
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ5 0HH
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 256
Open: 16/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 109 Reviews
                8/10 from 109 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 43 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for 5 nights. We received a warm welcome and had no difficulty in finding a suitable pitch. I don't understand some of the comments regarding the hedging between pitches as this clearly gives some weather protection when south-westerlies are blowing.

The site facilities are first class and are maintained at the high standards we have come to expect from C&MC. There is an outdoor pool which was quite popular. The bar/restaurant was on low season hours and offered a restricted menu. We ate there once and found the food adequate and reasonable value.

There is a bus stop at the site entrance and days out included Totnes, Teignmouth, Brixham and Torquay. Most of these require a change at Paignton, which continues to be a huge disappointment

We will certainly be going back to Hillhead

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Beautiful site that we have stayed on many times in the past.

Arrived after 12 noon (but have now been told by the wardens they accept arrivals from 9am!) to a lovely welcome. We knew roughly where we wanted to be so drove round and found a lovely large hardstanding pitch that 2 of the wardens were working on (hedge cutting). We asked if the pitch was free and if so how long they would be. They allowed us to put our 'in use by motorhome' sign on the pitch and told us to wait on a grass pitch while they finished. Thank you Fred! We had distant views of the sea from our pitch and it was very private being hedged either side.

Facilities on site are excellent and could not be faulted. Never had to queue whatever time we frequented them.

Great bar/restaurant on site (that we showing the world cup football when it was on!). We ate in there twice as the food was so good and not overpriced. Good choice of cider and real ale although they sold out of Doom Bar the day before the England game! Good little shop too, expensive but convenient.

Excellent bus service from right outside the site. Expensive for single fares to encourage you to buy a day rider which is actually very good value at £5 pp per day. It allows you to travel on any bus in the whole Torbay area. We used to it go to Brixham then caught the ferry to Torquay (only £2 each single), then back on the bus from Torquay to Paignton then back to the site from there later! We also used the bus the next day to go to Kingswear where we caught another ferry across to Dartmouth (£1. 50 pp single).

Another great stay at this fantastic site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Opal0313 21 reviews from this member

Arrived just after the said arrival time of 12pm. Lovely helpful staff. We were with friends and they told us where they thought there where 2 available pitches adjacent. We went to the two pitches which were small only enough space for caravan and awning then you were scratching your head as to where to put the tow car safely without it getting knocked. We had a quick look round for 2 more pitches but as with all CMC sites everyone is driving around looking for a pitch themselves as they do not reserve pitches. In the end we stayed put. There are bigger pitches but it makes it difficult if you want 2 together. Swimming pool is lovely bar not so good. We went in on our first night to be told only a third of the menu was available. £9 for ham egg and chips, a little pricey so did not visit again. Shop was not well stocked went twice and came away empty handed. The area is beautiful plenty of places to visit. Several supermarkets within around 15 mins drive. Bus stop outside site. The high hedges does give you privacy but can also be very claustrophobic too. We were in a cul-de-sac and felt the other caravans were a little too close so it was good we got on with our neighbours. While we were there the site was very busy and we noticed the 12pm arrival rule went out the window, someone near out pitch came on at 9. 30am. Two large toilet blocks which were lovely and always clean. We did enjoy our 9 night stay and would visit again and hopefully get larger pitches.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fonsi 3 reviews from this member

This site is perfectly placed for walks along the coastal path, just turn left out of the entrance along the grass bank for 100 yards and you're on the footpath down to the coastal path, so I don't understand the previous comment! It took us about 1. 5 hours to walk into Brixham and a similar time to Dartmouth in the opposite direction. This is a fairly typical CMC site, it has a lovely bar and restaurant, plus a great children's play area, and unusually a large dog walking field. We liked the high hedges, giving a good deal of privacy. Some with great sea views.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jk1947 1 review from this member

We stayed at Hillhead last year, the site itself is well laid out with a blend of hard and grass pitches, each area has it's one small toilet block with single cubicles separated for gender, out side of which is a fresh water tap and dustbins, then there is the two main toilet/shower blocks which are kept in immaculate order, these also include washing up, laundry and Elson emptying points.
The site also has designated areas for tents which are sheltered by hedges for privacy.
The site has a nice bar/ restaurant with occasional entertainment and there is also a small shop for essentials and their is also an ATM by the reception area.
There is chargeable Wifi on site and most of the hook up points also offer a direct TV aerial plug in connection.
Overall impression is that Hillhead is a superior club site and we will be revisiting this lovely well maintained site this summer as a base for exploring the South West.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 61 reviews from this member

Nice clean and tidy site with lovely wardens.

All facilities are to hand and always clean and tidy, warm to plus the Bus stop is just outside the entrance.

Out and about though a major problem as we found.

1. Bus to Brixham 2 adults and 2 Dogs £10 return !

2. No walks from site anywhere as you had to walk down a road with no footpath to get to a start point.

3. Brixham harbour lovely but in our view the shops/town were all sad and the place seems to be dieing.

On site the shop was poorly stocked and the hedges between pitches were very high so once parked it felt very claustrophobic.

Our summary;

If you want to stay put and enjoy the facilities then a great but expensive site, if you wish to walk around don't stay here.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Terry prue 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at Hillhead CC Site. What is there not to like about this site, superb. Spacious well maintained pitches, lovely surroundings with sea views from certain areas of the site. Add to this a well stocked bar, restaurant (food we had was excellent), entertainment on certain nights, pool closed but out of season so no complaints. Only one toilet block open but as there were not too many people on site not a problem. Toilets, showers and washing facilities spotless. A friendly welcome awaited us, the wardens very friendly and helpful. So many places within easy reach, i. E. Brixham, Paington, Dartmouth and Plymouth to name but a few. Aso a good bus service if you want to leave the car (or motorhome) on site. Bus stop right outsde the site entrance. Not forgetting people with their dogs a very good area for their walks. All in all, a great site and we will be making a return visit in the New Year.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 212 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From North on A380 follow signs for Paignton and Brixham, then take A3022 signed for Brixham. At traffic lights turn right onto A379 signed for Dartmouth and Brixham. In about two miles at mini roundabout, signed for Dartmouth/Kingswear, turn right and immediately fork left onto B3205. The site is second on the left with clear signs at the entrance.

Hillhead Caravan Club site is what you might call one of the Club’s all singing, all dancing campsites in that it has a swimming pool and a bar/restaurant plus proper shop. It is open from around March to early January and accepts non-members. The topography of the site is as the name suggests it is on a headland overlooking the sea and many pitches do have a nice sea view. The very nature of the site means that some pitches will require levelling blocks although the hardstanding are quite good and only require minimal levelling in most cases. Hillhead is a large campsite with 256 pitches in total. They are mainly on grass but there are 111 hardstanding pitches and included in that number are 27 serviced pitches for which an extra charge applies. Thirteen of the pitches are designated for tents. Some of the pitches are divided by hedges which not only gives some privacy but also shelter from a stiff sea breeze. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. The bollards also have a TV co-ax hook-up but you have to provide your own cable or purchase one from reception. There are several service points dotted around the site. The motorhome service point is outside the toilet block near reception but does require heavy covers to be removed before emptying waste water. There are two modern toilet blocks of excellent quality. The lower block is usually closed at the end of September and only the main one nearer to reception kept open. The main one does have the advantage of a fully enclosed washing up area. For families the major advantage of this site is the facilities for children. It has a swimming pool (seasonal) and a fairly extensive adventure style playground, in addition there is a large field for kick about sports. The site also has a bar/restaurant and a shop selling everyday essentials and some camping accessories. There is site wide WiFi and time can be purchased online, however I found it frustratingly slow a lot of the time during our stay.

This site is conveniently close to many of the attractions of this part of Devon. Brixham and Torbay are close by as is Kingswear and Dartmouth. The Dart Valley Railway runs from Kingswear to Paignton. The two ferries across to Dartmouth open up more opportunities for exploration including cruises on the River. If you prefer to use public transport the site is well served with regular bus services from immediately outside the campsite to Kingswear, Brixton and Paignton with further connections from all those places. For shopping, apart from the on site shop, there are supermarkets en route to Torquay.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

We've just had a fantastic 5 nights at this excellent CC site.

Small'ish B road down to the site but with passing places so nothing to worry about.

Easy, friendly, efficient booking in. As with most CC sites you get to choose your pitch. We always prefer hardstanding pitches but these are quite limited here and usually the first to be pitched on. We were very lucky this time and got a very secluded pitch with a glimpse of the sea up 'the avenue'.

Great facilities on site. 2 toilet/shower blocks, both always spotlessly clean and never had to queue for a shower once. Plenty of water points dotted around the site, with bins, recycling, and covered washing up areas too. Small but well stocked shop where you can buy daily newspapers without ordering and a good selection of food and drink. Bar and restaurant on site (which we didn't use this time). The wardens kindly recommended a local Indian takeaway that delivered to the site and it was excellent.

Plenty to do from the site without moving our motorhome. Bus stop right outside the site. £4 each return to Brixham which turned out to be expensive as we later discovered the 'day rider' ticket for £4. 90 which allowed you unlimited travel within the whole of the Torbay area (to Torquay, Paignton, Brixham, Newton Abbot, Totnes, etc. ). £3. 40 each return to Kingswear where you can catch the steam train, ferry over to Dartmouth, etc. , etc. We purchased the Jubilee Pass which allowed us unlimited travel on the train, ferry across to Dartmouth and numerous boat trips. The cost was £37 each for a 3 day pass and in our opinion it was well worth it. We certainly got our moneys worth. We did the Round Robin, a sea cruise and the steam train twice!

I have no doubts we'll be back to Hillhead again at some stage.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beltie 4 reviews from this member

Having read previous reviews of this site, I had high expectations. Unfortunately they were not to be fulfilled. All the facilities appear to be up to normal Caravan Club standards, but the site itself had an unpleasantly cramped and crowded feel. When we arrived, the only available hardstanding pitches were tiny 'lay - bys' alongside the site roadways, with no view and very close in all directions to adjacent units.

We were assured by the warden who booked us in, that the available grass pitches would be fine for our 'van. The fact that we subsequently had to spend a pleasant half-hour extricating the 'van from a bog, cast some doubt on that assertion. We also noticed considerable road noise on substantial areas of the site. Eventually, we gave up trying to find a suitable pitch and agreed with the warden that we would effectively transfer the booking to nearby Ramslade.

The site's key asset is it's location and there is no doubt that it is well placed for Brixham, Dartmouth etc. There are, however, altogether more pleasant sites in the area offering similar access.

Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019