Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Commons Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City > Commons Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Commons Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Ascots Lane
Welwyn Garden City
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
AL7 4HJ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 68
Open: 01/01/2021 to 01/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 23 reviews from this member

 Site is at this time year peaceful and relaxing. Wardens were very welcoming and helpful, and allowed us to move to pitch not under trees.

Not many sites look at their best in Dec, however Commons Wood felt a little tired. The pitches were flat but a few were unkempt.

There appeared to be quite a few units, both Caravans and MH’s, that we’re being used by long staying trade residents.

The facilities were functional, but my wife on two occasions found toilets had been disrespected by a club member, and left in a filthy condition.

As was seeing family, didn’t use any local transport or shops/ sightseeing. TV reception is poor and requires and external aerial cable, WiFi was good though.

All in all am not sure I would return in a hurry 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trevor caravan 10 reviews from this member

 I was very disappointed with the Caravan and Motorhome Club regarding 'guests' at this site. There were numerous tatty caravans (one held together with silver gaffer tape) whose occupants obviously lived and worked from the site. One old motorhome left for one night and was back again the next day. I also saw two unmarked police knock on a caravan door, call for a marked police car who took a male away. The warden then hooked up the caravan on his tractor and removed the van.

Not what I would expect trying to have a few days rest. I accept that the 'residents' were not noisy or obtrusive (although I did hear one male say there was a 'good community' here on the site), surely Commons Wood shouldn't be a residential site. Also, just before the barrier in the car park, I saw a white car with a mattress in the back with a male and female living out of it - they also used the facilities. This vehicle was parked adjacent to the reception building.

Poor wardens, bet they can't wait to be moved to another site. Poor show all round Caravan club. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alk47 15 reviews from this member

 The usual high standard facilities of a Caravan Club site and friendly wardens. A surprising countryside atmosphere given its very close proximity to the urban environment of Welwyn. Not very peaceful thanks mainly to (a) the ever presence of yapping dogs (b) what must the loudest ever petrol hedgecutter and grass mower as used for long periods during the day by the wardens (c) aircraft noise from nearby airports. Don't expect to be able to snooze or relax in your chair on a sunny afternoon. The walk through the woods adjacent to the site is absolutely littered with dog poo which is a shame and quite disgusting. Coming from the rural North we were surprised to find how overcrowded this area of England is, the number of people, the very busy roads and the density of housing. On the plus side it is only 18 minutes train ride from London, so if you want to visit the capital it is the perfect location. We enjoyed visiting the local points of interest including Hatfield House, the delightful town of Hertford, George Bernard Shaw's House and the De Haviland aircraft museum. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TurboFurby 2 reviews from this member

 Due to living in a caravan full time I am extremely well travelled and visited lots of campsites over the years but I can honestly say after staying at this one for a week it is by far the worst and I would not recommend it at all.

Good points:

Some pitches are separated by a hedge making you feel enclosed

Pitches are very wide creating a nice spacious feel

Good access to water points as there are a few on site

24 hour access with a gate swipe card

Bad points:

Staff are extremely rude and accused us of damaging the electricity point when we didn't even touch it. Left us without electric all evening and late in to the night

Shower blocks are very outdated and a bit grubby

Showers are cold

No play areas for children and signs up all around the campsite stopping them riding bikes, scooters or playing outside

Drinking water tastes foul and is very heavy with chlorine

No TV signal at all on this site. Very poor

No on site shop

Far too overpriced for the basic old fashioned facilities you get

There are definitely better campsites at a cheaper price in the area than this one. Would not recommend at all. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vangoman1 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this caravan club site in september 2015 and had a great time, the toilets where very clean and well looked after also the site was a pleasure to stay on, if I had one criticism it would be that I think the hard standing under the trees could do with updating, a word of warning if you decide to stay under the trees you could be woken up by the sound of squirrels dropping acorns onto your caravan roof early morning, Nice site pleasent staff will stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Miles1966 22 reviews from this member

 This isn't a bad site at all for visiting London. The wardens are friendly and the showers aren't bad at all. Unfortunately, when we visited there appeared to be travellers staying on the site who made and left a total mess behind. Thankfully we had a few days after they left, but it felt a bit unsafe whilst they were around. Apart from that, this is a very pleasant site. Not sure how the CC can stop this happening elsewhere?? 


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colinlob 14 reviews from this member

 Commons Wood is a pleasant, well laid out site, roughly half way between Hatfield and Welwyn Garden City. The only pitches in use during a damp February half-term were the hard standing ones. The site itself was up to the usual CC standard. The toilet block was clean and tidy. Glass recycling wheelie bins adjacent to the information shed, with mixed recycling and general waste in the usual places. When outside there was some traffic hum from the nearby main roads, but this was very low level, and imperceptible from inside the caravan. The site is next to the local A&E hospital, which was handy for returning to the site as the hospital was signposted locally. There was the odd siren, but nothing intrusive or continuous. Several supermarkets are available within a ten minute drive, as well as the Galleria outlet at Hatfield, with its shops, cinema and restaurants for all tastes.

The site was convenient for travelling into London, but at the time of our visit the car park at Hatfield was being built on, so we took the train from Welwyn Garden City. The huge, half full, long term car park near to the station took a picture of the car at the entrance and we paid on exit by putting in the letters on the registration number. £5 for a day until midnight seemed reasonable for a day’s parking, with a short walk to the station adjacent to the shopping centre. It cost £9 for an off peak return to London with a travel card, which could be used after 9:30.

Overall, a pleasant site, which we may return to for another London and the South East visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Arma3 5 reviews from this member

 The Poisoned oasis!

Surrounded by trees this is a beautiful campsite with good clean 80's style toilet block with plenty of hot water. 4g & 3g internet are all good.

The Down side for me and a few others was the constant barrage of noise! Not from Planes, passing cars or playing kids, NO! But the 7hrs worth of grass cutting every day from one of the older staff members. It didn't matter if family's was sitting outside enjoying lunch time as this chap was going to cut his grass, which incidentally is like a bowling green. So for that I'll give it 7/10

Nice place, just take ear plugs. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kennyboy2831 31 reviews from this member

 Arrived after a 5 1/2 hour journey only to find the wardens on lunch even though when we booked we told the warden we would be arriving between 1pm and 2pm, so had to wait another 25 minutes for wardens to finish lunch.

Once we were booked in were told to find a pitch and report back to office of our pitch number which was great. The site itself is excellent well laid out with generous pitches whether grass or hardstanding. Toilet/shower facilities were spotless. We chose this site as it is close to London (only 25minute train journey)and the trains from Welwyn were quite frequent.

Didn't visit Welwyn but is only a short journey from the site. Site very easy to find from A1M and is next to a Hospital but you would never know until you venture off site. There are Plenty of the large stores etc close by but we didn't use them. We would definitely visit this site again if in the London area 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JuliedMellish 1 review from this member

 Just bought our first caravan from friends. Organised storage at Commons Wood, reception staff very helpful and informative. Stayed on site for the first time to practice towing and setting up, very friendly site with good/clean facilities. Although in a residential area, once on site it has a countryside feel as surrounded by woods and playing fields. Dog friendly. Very good pub 5 mins walk called The Beehive its a carvery, great food, good prices. Look forward to another lovely stay very soon :-) 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Commons Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Commons Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Commons Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Welwyn Garden City      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3967 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement