Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Commons Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City > Commons Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Commons Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Ascots Lane
Welwyn Garden City
Hertfordshire   (Browse area)
AL7 4HJ
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 68
Open: 01/01 To 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alk47 15 reviews from this member

The usual high standard facilities of a Caravan Club site and friendly wardens. A surprising countryside atmosphere given its very close proximity to the urban environment of Welwyn. Not very peaceful thanks mainly to (a) the ever presence of yapping dogs (b) what must the loudest ever petrol hedgecutter and grass mower as used for long periods during the day by the wardens (c) aircraft noise from nearby airports. Don't expect to be able to snooze or relax in your chair on a sunny afternoon. The walk through the woods adjacent to the site is absolutely littered with dog poo which is a shame and quite disgusting. Coming from the rural North we were surprised to find how overcrowded this area of England is, the number of people, the very busy roads and the density of housing. On the plus side it is only 18 minutes train ride from London, so if you want to visit the capital it is the perfect location. We enjoyed visiting the local points of interest including Hatfield House, the delightful town of Hertford, George Bernard Shaw's House and the De Haviland aircraft museum.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TurboFurby 2 reviews from this member

Due to living in a caravan full time I am extremely well travelled and visited lots of campsites over the years but I can honestly say after staying at this one for a week it is by far the worst and I would not recommend it at all.

Good points:

Some pitches are separated by a hedge making you feel enclosed

Pitches are very wide creating a nice spacious feel

Good access to water points as there are a few on site

24 hour access with a gate swipe card

Bad points:

Staff are extremely rude and accused us of damaging the electricity point when we didn't even touch it. Left us without electric all evening and late in to the night

Shower blocks are very outdated and a bit grubby

Showers are cold

No play areas for children and signs up all around the campsite stopping them riding bikes, scooters or playing outside

Drinking water tastes foul and is very heavy with chlorine

No TV signal at all on this site. Very poor

No on site shop

Far too overpriced for the basic old fashioned facilities you get

There are definitely better campsites at a cheaper price in the area than this one. Would not recommend at all.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vangoman1 3 reviews from this member

We visited this caravan club site in september 2015 and had a great time, the toilets where very clean and well looked after also the site was a pleasure to stay on, if I had one criticism it would be that I think the hard standing under the trees could do with updating, a word of warning if you decide to stay under the trees you could be woken up by the sound of squirrels dropping acorns onto your caravan roof early morning, Nice site pleasent staff will stay again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Miles1966 22 reviews from this member

This isn't a bad site at all for visiting London. The wardens are friendly and the showers aren't bad at all. Unfortunately, when we visited there appeared to be travellers staying on the site who made and left a total mess behind. Thankfully we had a few days after they left, but it felt a bit unsafe whilst they were around. Apart from that, this is a very pleasant site. Not sure how the CC can stop this happening elsewhere??

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colinlob 12 reviews from this member

Commons Wood is a pleasant, well laid out site, roughly half way between Hatfield and Welwyn Garden City. The only pitches in use during a damp February half-term were the hard standing ones. The site itself was up to the usual CC standard. The toilet block was clean and tidy. Glass recycling wheelie bins adjacent to the information shed, with mixed recycling and general waste in the usual places. When outside there was some traffic hum from the nearby main roads, but this was very low level, and imperceptible from inside the caravan. The site is next to the local A&E hospital, which was handy for returning to the site as the hospital was signposted locally. There was the odd siren, but nothing intrusive or continuous. Several supermarkets are available within a ten minute drive, as well as the Galleria outlet at Hatfield, with its shops, cinema and restaurants for all tastes.

The site was convenient for travelling into London, but at the time of our visit the car park at Hatfield was being built on, so we took the train from Welwyn Garden City. The huge, half full, long term car park near to the station took a picture of the car at the entrance and we paid on exit by putting in the letters on the registration number. £5 for a day until midnight seemed reasonable for a day’s parking, with a short walk to the station adjacent to the shopping centre. It cost £9 for an off peak return to London with a travel card, which could be used after 9:30.

Overall, a pleasant site, which we may return to for another London and the South East visit.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Arma3 5 reviews from this member

The Poisoned oasis!

Surrounded by trees this is a beautiful campsite with good clean 80's style toilet block with plenty of hot water. 4g & 3g internet are all good.

The Down side for me and a few others was the constant barrage of noise! Not from Planes, passing cars or playing kids, NO! But the 7hrs worth of grass cutting every day from one of the older staff members. It didn't matter if family's was sitting outside enjoying lunch time as this chap was going to cut his grass, which incidentally is like a bowling green. So for that I'll give it 7/10

Nice place, just take ear plugs.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kennyboy2831 31 reviews from this member

Arrived after a 5 1/2 hour journey only to find the wardens on lunch even though when we booked we told the warden we would be arriving between 1pm and 2pm, so had to wait another 25 minutes for wardens to finish lunch.

Once we were booked in were told to find a pitch and report back to office of our pitch number which was great. The site itself is excellent well laid out with generous pitches whether grass or hardstanding. Toilet/shower facilities were spotless. We chose this site as it is close to London (only 25minute train journey)and the trains from Welwyn were quite frequent.

Didn't visit Welwyn but is only a short journey from the site. Site very easy to find from A1M and is next to a Hospital but you would never know until you venture off site. There are Plenty of the large stores etc close by but we didn't use them. We would definitely visit this site again if in the London area

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JuliedMellish 1 review from this member

Just bought our first caravan from friends. Organised storage at Commons Wood, reception staff very helpful and informative. Stayed on site for the first time to practice towing and setting up, very friendly site with good/clean facilities. Although in a residential area, once on site it has a countryside feel as surrounded by woods and playing fields. Dog friendly. Very good pub 5 mins walk called The Beehive its a carvery, great food, good prices. Look forward to another lovely stay very soon :-)

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wsseaman 64 reviews from this member

Site is easy to find with good access and is sandwiched between a Hospital and Hatfield Cricket Club with on-site access to some woods. You wouldn't know the Hospital was there so don't let that put you off.

I found the woods a bit unsafe being a lone female and apparently its very easy to get lost in so I only ventured in there once! The King George IV playing fields are approx 15 min walk and are dog friendly so worth the walk.

There is a small shop and takeaway about a 10-min walk. Apart from that you would need to use public transport (bus station just down the road)or a car to get anywhere else.

The site is equal distant between Welwyn Garden City and Hatfield, approx 2 miles. The Wardens were very friendly and helpful and the site itself appears very well kept.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jmb1727-2 6 reviews from this member

Third time on this site, so has to be ok.

We stayed again and enjoyed the site as convenient location.

Everything nice enough. Facilities ok, clean as you would expect but a little dated.

Pitches are ok size - a few smaller ones if you are late arriving. Mainly hardstanding - a few grass pitches in centre.

Access to London transport links great, we had a day out in London.

Biggest disappointment with site was that everything needed the car - could not go out in evening without driving.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hertfordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4313 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019